Thread: Amsterdam for Leaving Cert holiday?

Amsterdam for Leaving Cert holiday?

Right so next year we'll be going on our LC holiday, and most of our group ( 8-9 people) want to go to amsterdam. Half of us will be under 18. We won't have much money.

So my question is, is Amsterdam a good spot for a LC holiday? Will those of us who are under 18 have many problems here? Main concern is getting into nightclubs, not really worried about the coffeeshops as we can just get the over 18 to get it for us.

Probably the stupidest place to go on a leaving cert holiday.
    A) itll be pricey as hell
    B) If half of you are u-18 you have no hope of getting in anywhere and are just risking getting in trouble.

Far better off going somewhere cheaper like santa ponsa. Leave the crazy amsterdam experience till your older/richer.

445 Posts
    Ayia Napa, Went for there for my LC holiday, Unbelievable 2 weeks, the bits i remember anyway
    Here on a technicality.

We could always get fake i.ds

Not the place for that sort of partying mate, I'd recommend a sun holiday for that type of thing...
    And you ask me to help you??!! Man is evil!!!! Capable of nothing but destruction!

Most of our year will probably be going to Santa Ponsa or somewhere like that, we don't want to just follow the rest of the crowd though, a lot of them are eejits.

Napa or Ios would do so.

2,771 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Riddickcule View Post
    Right so next year we'll be going on our LC holiday, and most of our group ( 8-9 people) want to go to amsterdam. Half of us will be under 18. We won't have much money.

So my question is, is Amsterdam a good spot for a LC holiday? Will those of us who are under 18 have many problems here? Main concern is getting into nightclubs, not really worried about the coffeeshops as we can just get the over 18 to get it for us.
    agree you'd be better off in the sunny club 18-30 type places. Gee galore and cheap booze for most of ye.

But Amsterdam would help you forget everything you've just learnt so... depends what youre looking for. Gee or gee-eyed.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

522 Posts
    What in feck's name is a leaving cert holiday?

2,771 Posts
    one of those new fangled things that kids do nowadays, old man hamsta.

I went to Skibbereen and then Galway myself...
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

812 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dahamsta View Post
    What in feck's name is a leaving cert holiday?
    Finish Leaving Cert, celebrate mediocrity with alcohol poisoning and vain hopes of an opportunity of catching a VD in some country where you can cook meat by leaving it on your car.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

522 Posts
    Jesus, in my day we just went to town and got twisted, and I'll wager the vast majority had the night spoiled by at least one knuckle-dragging bouncer.

I guess if they're paying for it themselves then that's fair enough, but if my youngfella comes to me for money for a "leaving cert holiday" he'll find himself flying abroad powered by my boot!

634 Posts
    Jesus, in my day we just went to town and got twisted, and I'll wager the vast majority had the night spoiled by at least one knuckle-dragging bouncer.

I guess if they're paying for it themselves then that's fair enough, but if my youngfella comes to me for money for a "leaving cert holiday" he'll find himself flying abroad powered by my boot!
    You've kids????
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

Ah but its tradition dahamsta, you've gotta let them go!

Just to let everyone know we're probably not going to amsterdam, we're seriously considering Zakynthos, Greece. Thoughts?

A f*cking Leaving Cert HOLIDAY!!!!!!

I remember we all bailed onto the 19A and headed for the few boozers that would let us in!!! - it was 1993, not 1893 either.
    Quoting years at random since 1975

21. Thanks From:

FORMERLY: shannonman Lev Yashin's Avatar
    59 Posts
    We went to a forest and drank ourselves blind....and that was 1999

Holiday me ar*e!!!
    My Goal Is To Deny Yours...

23. Thanks From:

522 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Kingdom View Post
    You've kids????
    Yes, I actually had sex. With a woman. At least twice that I can prove. (And not via court documents either.)

Quote Originally Posted by Riddickcule View Post
    Ah but its tradition dahamsta, you've gotta let them go!
    I am not sure that word means what you think it means.

25. Thanks From:

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Kingdom View Post
    You've kids????
    You bet he does.

27. Thanks From:

522 Posts
    Lolz!

812 Posts
    Yes, I actually had sex. With a woman. At least twice that I can prove. (And not via court documents either.)
    I hadn't realised that paternity tests were so cheap now.
    You can't spell failure without FAI