Page 3 of 13 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Jason Byrne

Quote Originally Posted by Neil
    I'd doubt if he'd get a game with City, Shels or Bohs.
    But he can still walk into the West Ham United first team. Yes, that's the same West Ham who are currently in contention for the play-offs that, if they win, would see them promoted to the English Premiership.

I want some of what you're smoking.

PP
    Semper in faecibus sole profundum variat

Quote Originally Posted by Conor74
    Oh yeah, let's play players based in England because it's a top league and they'll get loads of goals at international level.

PeteF, Carnstein etc., did any of ye ever hear of a player called David Connolly?

I think Byrne and O'Flynn easily merit a runout. I take the point that the top levels of the English league may be more competitive, but the players that we have there aren't up to it so we must look elsewhere, inlcuding here.
    We have guys on this site who say Miller should not get a run unitl he goes to MANCHESTER UNITED, and others saying we should be throwing in Eircom league players!??

I believe Miller should go in NOW, and if an Eircom league player is good enough he should get himself a trial with a Premiership club and go from there.
    Last edited by carnstien; 19/04/2004 at 9:29 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Neil
    I'd doubt if he'd get a game with City, Shels or Bohs.

By the way, petef, how many eL games have you been at in the last 2/3 years?
    Can hardly pop down the road to watch one can I. I dont even support a premier league team so dont go down that road.

Long and short of it all the standard of the Eircom League is not up to scratch to assess a player for the International stage. End of story!

Glen Crowe got his token cap when everyman and his dog pulled out of the Greece game. Connolly is a good First Division player and was never Internatiional standard in the first place, hes good in patches but lacks interest other times, Feynoord saw something that didnt come to fruition in his time there. The Eircom league is not comparable to the Nationwide First Division and is why that our players must at least be tested in a league of that standard or above.

Theres a significant number of people on this board who are somewhat delusional on the merits of the Eircom League. It may have improved but come on guys get realistic.
    Last edited by petef; 19/04/2004 at 11:58 PM.

The idea of EL players doing it at internatinal level is a joke. I remember Crowe after a training session with the Ireland squad saying how fast paced and intense the sessions were. Nuf said.

The EL teams regularly lose to teams from Malta and Cyprus in UEFA cup, Now and agin they do get an upset, but only to be thrashed in the return leg. If the EL had that many good players they would be snapped up by Div 1 & 2 teams.
    Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.

Nationalism is an infantile disease, the measles of mankind

Exactly, out of interest whats the average earner on in the Eircom?

Connolly wouldn't get his game for Bohs? That's a joke. Muck for Ireland but he's one of the best forwards in the First Division and the first divsion is a higher standard than the EL. There are players in the EL with ability there's no doubt about that but they need to play a higher standard of football. You cannot expect someone who plays EL football to make the step up to International Level. It's too big a gap. The English first division is too big a gap for my money.

[QUOTE=1MickCollins]

I remember Crowe after a training session with the Ireland squad saying how fast paced and intense the sessions were. Nuf said.

Err whats he going to say? That its slow and not intense. One of the faults with LOI football is that its too fast, not too slow. Rangers and Celtic of Glasgow derbies may be be fast and intense but that doesnt mean theres much good football on show.

David Connolly (West Ham)
    Born: 6/6/77 Caps: 40 Goals: 9
    First cap: v Portugal 29/05/96 Last cap: v Switzerland 11/09/03
    First goal: v USA 09/06/96 Last goal: v Turkey 09/09/03

While that looks like 1 goal in 4 games think more like 1 in 10 for last 30 as he scored most his goals in first year.

Still waiting for list of striker options beyond Keane, Morrison & Lee.

Connolly,
    Doherty,
    Heffernan
    Burgess,
    Crowe,
    Byrne *2 (dunfermline and sh€ls)
    o'Flynn,
    Elliott,
    Waters,
    Clare

I would think (excluding Doherty and Connolly as they already have played competitively for Ireland)there isn't a whole lot between the above as a striking option but it will depend on how they progress...all of them are young lads...its a pity they don't arrange B internationals to blood them
    Last edited by Ozymandias; 20/04/2004 at 10:52 AM.
    Bring back the plank

I don't know much about the Irish League (mainly cos there's no way I can get to watch any games) but I've got to say I think any standard of football (such as the eL) is better than no games at all.

And anyway, part of our problem in qualifying is not putting the goals past the weaker teams (Albania, Georgia etc.) or teams with poor defences. If you've got somebody at any level with a good scoring record I'd say give them a chance, at least. After all, what have we got to lose?

And before anybody says it again, we've got plenty of choices up front. They're just not any good.

Clinton will do for now but really hope O'Flynn, McGeady, Elliott and Yeates develop into serious options soon. Had high hopes for Walters but not sure move to Hull was best idea. Heffernan if he gets a move to a decent club next year and continues his form could be an option. 22 years old and prolific despite playing for a dreadful team.

Quote Originally Posted by Breen
    I don't know much about the Irish League.
    I agree cos thats played in Northern Ireland.

Byrne *2 (dunfermline and sh€ls)
    Richie Byrne is a defender but then again so is Doherty.

Quote Originally Posted by Bowsy
    Clinton will do for now but really hope O'Flynn, McGeady, Elliott and Yeates develop into serious options soon. Had high hopes for Walters but not sure move to Hull was best idea. Heffernan if he gets a move to a decent club next year and continues his form could be an option. 22 years old and prolific despite playing for a dreadful team.
    Expect to see McGeady feature for Celtic between now and the end of the season. He's getting rave reviews from those who have seen him play at u-21 level - no bad thing at all considering he only made the step-up to that level just before Christmas. Not an out-and-out striker though, but more of an attacking midfielder.

I agree with you about Heffernan as well. He's every chance of establishing himself in the senior Ireland squad if he moves to a higher level and transfers this season's form.

PP

Heffernan even as it stands has done really well..County are poor but he is still banging in the goals for them....like to see him in Div 1 and see how he does....rumour is he is on his way to forest.....would be a good move for him
    Last edited by Ozymandias; 20/04/2004 at 1:20 PM.
    Bring back the plank

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    Richie Byrne is a defender
    And a $hit one at that! I assume your man meant someone else?

I'm guessing Ozymandias was referring to Dempsey at Dumfermline.

Quote Originally Posted by Bowsy
    I'm guessing Ozymandias was referring to Dempsey at Dumfermline.
    I'm guessing Noel Hunt, but then he played for Shamrock Rovers (club based in the country you claim to support, so of course you won't have heard of them) so it'll be a while before he's sufficiently decontaminated of eL links to be considered for the national side.

Quote Originally Posted by Sheridan
    I'm guessing Noel Hunt, but then he played for Shamrock Rovers (club based in the country you claim to support, so of course you won't have heard of them) so it'll be a while before he's sufficiently decontaminated of eL links to be considered for the national side.
    Woooooo! Get you! Meeee-owww!

Mind yerself now Bowsy, pulling those claws out will hurt...

PP

Yeah, of course Sheridan, I know nothing about football because i don't think the EL is comparable with Serie A. Now i wonder if that Nice Mr Beckham would play for us if we asked nicely. Sure wouldn't that be grand.

ignore me lads..I was typing byrne when i thought some smart arse would come back with which one and for some reason richie byrne came to mind.

Noel Hunt isn't up tomit ...I would put him in the graham Barrett category....might yet come good....dempsey is a midfielder...there I think that covers up that **** up

Bring back the plank

Page 3 of 13 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast