Page 8 of 9 FirstFirst ... 6789 LastLast

Thread: Rovers/Sporting Fingal on the Internet?

fingal should have won the first leg never mind going 3-2 down,all they had to do was win 1-0 tonight,they had a great chance of going through.
    they still did them self's and the league proud!

Fingal have done well for their first campaign. The winner for Maritimo last week was always going to turn the tie. They're a team who could benefit from starting at the first round next season because in fairness the draw was always going to be difficult for them this year given their lack of European experience.

However, I think recent results begs the question what direction should summer football take. Looking at the results of the Welsh and Irish league sides(excl. Glentoran) begs the question, is summer soccer necessary for European progression or as suggested in the other threads should the fixtures be arranged to suit the sides participating in Europe. Ok I know we had 2 new representatives this year and Bohs were pathetic, the draw was tough for them two etc and I know Rovers have achieved an excellent result but Cliftonville have just overcame Cibalia, I don't really know their strength or otherwise but the Croatian league is a decent league.

Quote Originally Posted by Cuyahoga View Post
    Hard luck to Fingal and Dundalk. They were tough teams to play in fairness. It will be Tallaght next week definetely and Modena the following week!
    Buffon, Felipe Melo, Momo Sissoko (remember him?), Iaquinta, Del Piero, Camoranesi, Trezeguet, Diego, Giovinco, Tiago, Pepe, Chiellini, Christian Poulsen

lot of famous names gonna be in Wicklow next Thursday night !

2,770 Posts
    might have missed it but is the only reason the game against Juve is on in Tallaght just to play them in your home ground? No problem with it, just curious.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

Quote Originally Posted by abcd View Post
    Fingal have done well for their first campaign. The winner for Maritimo last week was always going to turn the tie. They're a team who could benefit from starting at the first round next season because in fairness the draw was always going to be difficult for them this year given their lack of European experience.

However, I think recent results begs the question what direction should summer football take. Looking at the results of the Welsh and Irish league sides(excl. Glentoran) begs the question, is summer soccer necessary for European progression or as suggested in the other threads should the fixtures be arranged to suit the sides participating in Europe. Ok I know we had 2 new representatives this year and Bohs were pathetic, the draw was tough for them two etc and I know Rovers have achieved an excellent result but Cliftonville have just overcame Cibalia, I don't really know their strength or otherwise but the Croatian league is a decent league.
    Bohs was a freak result

apart from that we've done OK - apart from Dundalk whose maangeer suggested fixture congestion was a factor in the 6-0 loss

Fingal probably would have beaten that Croatian side, probably Honka too

Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    might have missed it but is the only reason the game against Juve is on in Tallaght just to play them in your home ground? No problem with it, just curious.
    nowhere else to go

except limerick !

433 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Tony Soprano View Post
    nowhere else to go

except limerick !
    Could always play it in Dalymount... Just sayin like...
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

397 Posts
    Well done to Rovers, a brilliant result, what a prize that is. Shades of AC Milan v Athlone mid 70`s, fantastic draw, they`ll make a packet, and after this win, they deserve to.

Very decent effort by Fingal, went out fighting fair play.

We were solid in the second half both their goals came in the first, so happy enough in the end, at least we seem to be improving - at last. Levski are a top top side.

A word on the NI teams, Clifftonville through, Portadown drawing away but losing 2-1 on agg, Linfield drawing at home, and only losing 2-0 to Rosenburg, all very decent results.

Summer football................................?
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

Quote Originally Posted by Dunny View Post
    Could always play it in Dalymount... Just sayin like...
    what, to rub it in ? the hooped c*nts........

nowhere else to go

except limerick !
    Well there's Croker too!

Quote Originally Posted by De Town View Post
    Yeah, he only had the record Irish goalscorer in Europe on instead of him.
    Well I didn't say it wasn't a marginal decision. Could have started with the two of them up front, could have played the younger man from the start, but Crowe was the form guy having scored the previous week.

130 Posts
    Congrats Rovers, super result and just what we needed to left the spirits after the Bohs embarrassment.

Hard luck SF, but certainly a good showing for their first European tie, pity they couldnt manage a draw at home for the sake of the co-efficient.

Mixed results overall, how different it would be if Bohs hadnt made a balls of it the other night.

Quote Originally Posted by Darkglasses View Post
    Well there's Croker too!
    down with this sort of thing

Attachment 1677
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Tony Soprano; 22/07/2010 at 9:06 PM.

Buffon, Felipe Melo, Momo Sissoko (remember him?), Iaquinta, Del Piero, Camoranesi, Trezeguet, Diego, Giovinco, Tiago, Pepe, Chiellini, Christian Poulsen

lot of famous names gonna be in Wicklow next Thursday night !
    Alot of them will still be on holliers after the WC.

KOH.
    "Football is a game you play with your brain".

Quote Originally Posted by stojkovic View Post
    Alot of them will still be on holliers after the WC.

KOH.
    nope !

lots of them didn't play at the WC, and those that did have been back in training since Monday (not sure about Felipe Melo)

1,103 Posts
    Buffon's injured I think but the rest of them should be there it's a competitive game.

nope !

lots of them didn't play at the WC, and those that did have been back in training since Monday (not sure about Felipe Melo)
    Buffon, Chellini, Tiago, Melo, Poulson, Pepe and Iaquinta ALL played at the 2010 WC !!!

I was almost sure Iaquinta was ruled out with injury but I can't find anything about it now.

Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    I was almost sure Iaquinta was ruled out with injury but I can't find anything about it now.
    Iaquinta started all three games.
    I agree that it was hard to notice him as he did feck all.

A big well done to Shamrock Rovers (what a great game to look forward too) and Clifftonville tonight, and well done to Sporting on their 1st European campaign.

Page 8 of 9 FirstFirst ... 6789 LastLast