Page 19 of 23 FirstFirst ... 91718192021 ... LastLast

Thread: First Division 2010

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by **FrOsTy** View Post
    Please god let Limerick take something from shels! Last minute goal anyone? :P
    We played well in Monaghan. If all the wide-open goal chances had been taken instead of missed, we'd have won 2-1.

According to my hasty check of extratime.ie, when scoring the first goal, Limerick have only failed to win twice. We really are a side that needs to believe in ourselves to play well. Early goals conceded to both Cork and Waterford destroyed our confidence, but when we matched Monaghan for the (poor enough) first half, we gained the confidence to improve in the second half.

As long as we don't concede early, I'm confident we can get something from the Shels game.

And I shall be very grateful if ye do so

238 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by passerrby View Post
    sam please ive never asked a favour before please please ill have your offspring
    Jeesh, I'll settle for a pint

Quote Originally Posted by Sam_Heggy View Post
    Jeesh, I'll settle for a pint
    Most enthusiastic sperm donor in history.

123 Posts
    what do you think i am a sperm whale
    I wish i did not know then what I dont know now

Also, rumours on muckerchat that Setanta want to show the northwest derby game and want to move it to the Saturday. Any truth in this?
    AFAIK FAI need 14 days notice for fixture changes so setanta are too late on the ball

yeese be bringing many up for the game at the weekend?
    Stewart Byrne - watch ur back on grafton street!!!!

Derry City FC Dublin Supporters Club

1,825 Posts
    Lightening couldn't strike twice?
    I love the rivalry and all but I really do hope that this is the last game against lims til at last 2012.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

164 Posts
    Is Colin Scanlon available?

238 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Schumi View Post
    Most enthusiastic sperm donor in history.
    That's a question for my wife to answer and but give it a half hour or so as she is away picking up one of the kids from school

238 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by scoops85 View Post
    AFAIK FAI need 14 days notice for fixture changes so setanta are too late on the ball

yeese be bringing many up for the game at the weekend?
    Aye, heard there is no fixture change.

I would doubt if there will be much more than a couple of hundred up, if even that. Section A will not exactly be rocking im afraid but we'll make an effort.

164 Posts
    Big weekend ahead, Derry could all but win the league with Victory over us in the Randywell.
    Mons you would think will beat Mervue with ease so if we were to even get a draw it will set up a massive game in Monaghan and probably the biggest crowd the ground will ever see.
    If Waterford beat Athlone and Shels fail to beat Limerick then the play-off places will sorted.
    Derry should win out at this stage, but it could still be really tasty on the last night. If Derry narrowly beat Harps and Monaghan put a good few past Mervue, it could end up with Mons needing to beat Derry by 2 (maybe 3) to win the division. You'd still expect Derry to finish first, but if Monaghan went a goal up it'd be game on.

As for us, we'll be cheering for Limerick this week and Derry next. If we win our two (we hadn't beaten Shels away in 12 years until we won in May), a Derry win in Monaghan would see us finish second. Home advantage would be massive - can't see us winning in Gortakeagan. I'd fancy Limerick to do us a favour on Friday. Otherwise, we'll be in the precarious position of going to Tolka needing a draw or a win.

A nation squeaks it's bums.

123 Posts
    if limerick play the way they played againist us they will be hard to beat... very tough team
    I wish i did not know then what I dont know now

Quote Originally Posted by passerrby View Post
    if limerick play the way they played againist us they will be hard to beat... very tough team
    I'll will be honest with you, as a Derry man, I felt are biggest challenge for the season would come from Waterford and Limerick as Waterford possessed a very impressive team and Limerick in the second fixture of the season outplayed City and were unfortunate to lose. Very well organised team that made three great signings in July with Bobby Ryan, Stevo and Dave "You played wonderful tonight" Rogers.

I'd hate to be in the playoffs as there are great teams in the first division vying for the spot and the idea of going to Galway or Bray (again) in the middle of the week doesn't exactly inspire excitment.

With it being the last game of the season at home i would think Scully and the lads would like to finish with a result. Shels will find it tough but I've a feeling they will come away with the three points. Our record at home against the top teams is awful.

1,825 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bluemovie View Post
    A nation squeaks it's bums.
    If only George had said that in Italy...
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

Gerraway...Ya honestly think Pat Scully is gonna dump on Shels!

Quote Originally Posted by Fermoy Blue View Post
    Gerraway...Ya honestly think Pat Scully is gonna dump on Shels!
    Do you honestly think Scully is just going to let Shels beat us?

There's no way Limerick will be lying down! Infact if they win then have a chance of playoff If we severly slip up against athlone and with our recent history that's a possibility

As far as I know they don't have a chance even if they beat us, because even if yous get no points against Athlone or us on the last day, that means we'll have gotten 3 on the last day. Which puts us ahead of them.
    Lets redefine what it means to heal

No, we are out of it - even if ye lose your last two, and we beat Shels this week, Shels would have to beat ye for you to lose your last two, therby maintaining their advantage over us, so we have no possibility of making the playoffs. That said, I have no doubt we will give it everything v Shels and Athlone.
    LTID

Page 19 of 23 FirstFirst ... 91718192021 ... LastLast