I wouldn't go so far as to say that we have a far far better squad (and I'd point out that we've added players to it over the season, even since the Shels game), but I do think that if I had to choose one, I'd choose ours. I think we're good enough to beat you in Jackman at the end of the season, though I can see from the results that Matthews has got you going well.
I seem to be more optimistic than most Limerick fans on here - I can see us beating Waterford and/or Monaghan away, and securing a playoff place.
Ooooooohhhhhhhhh dear Muckersville, I bet McBrides regret paying out on ye winning the league now.
Fair played to the Mons, I didn't think they would last the distance, hard to see past them now.
Ssssh dont say things like that!! Dont start putting us as favourites yet. Will jinx us!
I think its very easy to see past them, they're still massive underdogs. Derry only have us and Monaghan left to play of the bigboys. Monaghan have Derry, Waterford, Cork and Limerick aswell as 2 big cup games at least. I wouldn't be surprised (but wouldn't particularly expect it either) if they even dropped out of the playoff spots. Derry will still win this league.
Lets redefine what it means to heal
I think lastnight was the start of us slipping to 5th or 6th.
[QUOTE=maseanjo;1399707]A few random questions - What's the capacity at Gortakeegan?/QUOTE]
From a previous thread i think Passerby quoted 560 for the main stand and that their FAI license gave them a total ground capacity of 3,000.
Limerick, shels and cork will have liked the Waterford result tonight. After Limerick drawing last night they really couldn't afford for Waterford to open a gap. It should give Limerick back a bit of hope and lift them again for next Friday night.
Crazy for Waterford to let Salthill get back into it. Good result for Shels, keeping themselves in the playoff hunt.
Thanks for playing.
I actually genuinely had a few quid with one of the lads that a fella called "CSFShels" would reply to me saying Limerick were far far far better.
Seriously though, I do think Limerick have a very good squad this year, arguably the best one we've had in the First Division and IMHO a better squad than Shels. I also think it's not always about who has the better squad (it would be very boring if it was!) you'll notice I have us finishing fifth..........
FWIW aswell I thinkthere's great credit due to Matthews, after ye lost to us it would have been very easy for him to write off this year, knowing that he would be backed for a good crack at it next year and would be able to get rid of some of the Keely follys in the off season, instead he has ye flying.
I thought twas all over walking out of Ballybofey the other night but Waterfords doing of a Limerick in Drom keeps us interested for another week anyway. There's two scenarios that can pan out for Limerick IMO, the nightmare (1) and the dream (2)..
1) We fail to beat FORAS and lose below in the RSC ending the season with five games left.
2) Shels and Waterford kick one another to death in a final day draw, we beat Athlone to sneak third and Monaghan blow the league against Derry, meaning we get to travel to a hopefully knackered and wounded Mons.
1 is far (far, far) more likely at this stage, unlike most of the teams around us, especially Shels and Monaghan we have no real form to speak of.
The rule of thumb of 'flog the tickets and take the money' in Irish football would doubtless be fully in play if the final game is a title contender.
I can't see Monaghan russling up more than around 1,000 fans themselves, so I imagine the rest would be availbale for us. And luckily our fans are a nice lot so there shouldn't be many/any capacity wasted on strict segregation...Though I doubt we'd need more than about 1,500 anyway - even for a title decider.
I was hoping the Harps home game would be the big one, but right now I don't care so long as we hold on and win the feckin thing....!
You are right there I wouldn't be worried about there not being enough tickets. We have shown in the past that segregation isn't needed, just ask., Dundalk, Rovers and Bohs fans bout how they were treated, but especially we welcome our fellow Ulster brethren!
I really hope we are still in the mix for promotion that night coz it will be some party in the club bar after! I posted a list of accommodation on your forum a few weeks back and suggest you stay and party.
So Monaghan can go top if they beat Athlone tonight. Athlone are notoriously awkward customers so it's by no means a foregone conclusion.
If they do get the win, the pressure on Derry going to Longford will be immense, albeit Longford are in awful form.
Longford were as bad, if not worse, last year and had a big say in the title.
*bleuh* Just thought would let you know how I am feeling about tonight. Soooo nervous!