Quote Originally Posted by passerrby View Post
    just back from derry
    a pleasure to spend time with people i dont know
    we few, we choosen few
    we band of brothers
    and when they ask where were you on this st crispens day we say
    we were in the branywell beating derry city....
    murfinator if you wish to understand LOI football go to derry and learn from real football people
    alas i fear its beyond you
    Did yous go up to the social club after the match lads, was disgusted so gave it a miss last night

123 Posts
    ya had a great time the usual fantastic hospitality . am now suffering
    I wish i did not know then what I dont know now

238 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ped_ped View Post
    How do we see the Monaghan vs Shels game going, lads?
    Next week I'd go for:

Mons win
    Lims win
    Muckers draw a very tough game with Cork.

Flexy, if most of us had our way, we would still be in the social club. Deadly spot.

Quote Originally Posted by Magicme View Post
    Flexy, if most of us had our way, we would still be in the social club. Deadly spot.
    Thought Monaghan were excellent last night, and fair play to your fans glad yous had a great night, Mons 1st team in a while thats scored 3 at the Brandywell, and well deserved their victory. In a way its good for the league, we have a tough schedule coming up in the next 4 weeks, Cork Home and Limerick, Waterford away and probably next few weeks will determine who wins the league. Only point id raise about last night would be the refs decision not to send Sava off. Think if that happened in the 2nd Half he would have been shown a red card. But a defeat is a defeat and always next week to look forward to.

I can't see Waterford United challenging for promotion after last nights dismal display at home to Shels. Some fans booed the team off and are calling for Stephen Henderson's head. The spirit doesn't look right in the team at all and we've fallen from 1st early in the season to 4th now.

123 Posts
    still a long way to go for all of us. still think derry will go stright up.
    I wish i did not know then what I dont know now

Very, very tight now!!

Fairplay to Alan Matthews, has got Shels firing. Themselves and Cork are both probably fancying themselves now. I don't think they are good enough though.

Derry are just having a wobble they will still see it out. Their run in is fairly simple apart from Mons away on last day but I reckon they will have it wrapped up by then.

I wouldn't fancy us one bit to beat Derry next week and we still have to travel to Mons and Waterford. The RSC in particular has been a graveyard for us for as long as I can remember.

Having said that, our last two games ended up being very tricky but we still got the wins, something we definitely wouldn't have done last season.

What do Waterford fans think?? Stopped the rot to an extent last night but by all accounts still weren't great?? Huge game next week in Cork, if Cork win they'll start sniffing third spot.

So who do we all think will go up?

Derry have it sealed, but I can't decide between Mons and Waterford.

Quote Originally Posted by Riddickcule View Post
    So who do we all think will go up?

Derry have it sealed, but I can't decide between Mons and Waterford.
    Don't be foolish enough to rule out Limerick or Shelbourne or even Cork at this stage. I think a bit of our problem last nite was magical Mick Cooke was away at his son's wedding.(that's our excuse anyway!)

does anyone have aan accurate first division league table? ive seen three differing ones today with mons goals scored and conceaded being differant. also limerick have won 13 or 14 games depending on what paper u read

580 Posts
    www.extratime.ie is prob your best bet

Having seen Limerick, Waterford, and Monaghan recently Limerick definitely looked the strongest. They tore us apart whereas Waterford never really looked a threat against us and Monaghan were more interested in trying to kick us off the park. I still expect Derry to win the division and I think they can take a big step towards doing that with a win next week. I'm delighted with our own improvement over the last 2 weeks. To be only 4 points back on 2nd place after how things have been going this season is a positive. I still dont expect us to get a play-off spot but we could really push forward with our next few fixtures.

It's very very tight. We've been poor for a series and a half yet are still only 2 points off and 9 off Derry. Next week will tell alot. 4 of top 6 playing each other. Proverbial 6 pointer.

Players talking out of class below in Waterford??

Hendo refusing to talk to some players??

Up to four first teamers refusing to train for him??

So the little birdies are saying.

Is it around this time every year that waterford implode

238 Posts
    Eddie Gormley to replace Hendo?

Delighted with our current form, best of the season. A win against waterford would mean a real push, big crowds and a buzz around the city which would be great for us. That said I dont think we're good enough to get the playoff spot, we can hope though! An injury to Cummins would kill us.

Elsewhere, Ive always though Kenny struggles to finish off a season, in the premier anyway, but I still think Derry are too far ahead to be caught. Limerick look the best of the rest but Fridays game could make or break them and Monaghan are going nowhere a while. Itl be fascinating anyway!

Players talking out of class below in Waterford??

Hendo refusing to talk to some players??

Up to four first teamers refusing to train for him??
    No

Yes

No

I'm pretty happy considering we've won 2 of our last 7 games and are still just 2 points off a playoff spot.

Players and manager getting onto each other doesnt bother me too much. I'd be more worried if they were all going about it as usual considering our terrible run at the moment.

Derry and Mons seem to be under pressure atm, Limerick looking good, Shels now coming into it and Cork depending on Cummins to get them promoted, suspension or injury could rule them out.
    I’m not pedantic...I’m merely overly concerned with minute details.

580 Posts
    never taught i'd be so happy to be in 7th, football is a strange game

21. Thanks From:

Page 4 of 23 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast