Thread: Markets Fiekd

Markets Fiekd

According to todays Local a deal will be signed by the end of the week between Pat O'Sullivan and BNG for the purchase of the Markets Field.A fee of between 2/3 million has been mentioned.Is it a slow news week locally or is it dreamland for us! This news on top of the new signings is turning the week into one of the best in a long time. Anybody heard different on this story?
    "We've had a lot of good times, but you don't know how good they are until you have the bad ones" Tony Adams

420 Posts
    Ive heard the same please let it be true would be one of he best weeks in a long long long time.

1,025 Posts
    I just checked the sites of the Leader, the Post and the Independent, and it's not there, or on Spin southwest, West Limerick 102 or on Limerick 95fm.

Where did you hear it?

If this is true, it would be incredible news, and I've been wondering why Limerick were bringing in players of the quality they are when their current ground isn't acceptable for Prem Division football.

Best of luck with this lads. would be great news for ye and the league

its on the front page of Limerick Leader web site.
    "We've had a lot of good times, but you don't know how good they are until you have the bad ones" Tony Adams

433 Posts
    LIMERICK FC chairman Pat O'Sullivan will this week wrap up a deal for the purchase of the Markets Field from Bord na gCon for a figure thought to be close to €3m.

The Ballylanders native, who got involved with Limerick FC in June of last year, has been attempting for some time to put a deal together to return the club to the spiritual home of Limerick soccer, and following a recent meeting with Minister of Sport Mary Hanafin, it is understood that a deal has been agreed in principle between the parties.

A source close to the discussions between Mr O'Sullivan and the greyhound board has said that "negotiations are at an advanced stage, and both parties hope to reach an agreement this week".

www.limerickleadler.ie understands that an offer in the region of €2m-3m will be agreed this week.

It is 26 years since senior soccer moved away from the Markets Field, and Limerick FC have made their return to the site a priority over the last 12 months.

Mr O'Sullivan revealed earlier this year that Bord na gCon and the FAI had "funded the preparation of a set of plans" for the site, which is located off Mulgrave Street in Garryowen. Gilroy McMahon, the firm of architects behind the redevelopment of Croke Park, were commissioned to produce plans for the 5.3 acre site.

It is thought that there is also potential for the site to become something of a community centre, as Mr O'Sullivan alluded to in a recent interview with the Limerick Leader.

"This is a really top class 8,000 seater stadium which could then incorporate the VEC and there are other sports bodies that are interested in it," he said, adding: "That corner of the city needs something so we are working along those lines".

Mayor of Limerick Kevin Kiely, who met Minister Hanafin with Mr O'Sullivan, confirmed that an offer had been made but no contracts signed as of yet, but said he wished to "commend" Mr O'Sullivan for his interest in Limerick soccer.

"Pat O'Sullivan has done more in 12 months than anyone has done in the last 100 years and I'd like to commend him for that," said Mayor Kiely.

The current owners of the Markets Field, Bord na gCon, are set for a move to a new €18 million premises on the Dock Road in September.
    http://www.limerickleader.ie/news/Li...-to.6376472.jp
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

This is fantastic news!what a week.Well done to PoS and the rest of the staff, huge credit is due to them!C'mon the super blues!

420 Posts
    Shows what great work is been done off the field these days.

If this happens a massive well done to Pat O'Sullivan and all the lads working behind the scenes at the club is in order.

Edit: Got there before me limunlim

super news reason we got the players coz we got xtra budget of 1700e weekly

46 Posts
    i cant believe this we BOUGHT the markets field for 3mill we are the man city of ireland

all jokes this is the best week for limerick fc in years when this goes through when do you think we wiill move back prob start of next season ya?????

what a week

best of luck lads.. hopefully this is the end of your nomad days and ye will be back in the premier division before too long.. some very impressive signings..

holy cr*p...please let this happen. Fair play to Pat O'Sullivan and all involved if it does.

More great news. I should leave the country more often. Always seems to be good news when i'm away

46 Posts
    does anyone know what plans limerick have for the markets field
    how many seats going in??
    there is massive space in the ground what will pat o sullivan do??
    if i remember right there is two bars in the ground up stairs and down big plus for the club

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thomas72 View Post
    does anyone know what plans limerick have for the markets field
    how many seats going in??
    there is massive space in the ground what will pat o sullivan do??
    if i remember right there is two bars in the ground up stairs and down big plus for the club
    ive heard the plan is an 8,000 all seater.

Quote Originally Posted by thomas72 View Post
    I am only speculating, but I would imagine that the down stairs bar would be converted into dressing rooms. I would doubt if there would major work done in the stadium immediately due to the cost of purchasing it. Although I could be completely wrong about both!

Quote Originally Posted by limunlim View Post
    I am only speculating, but I would imagine that the down stairs bar would be converted into dressing rooms. I would doubt if there would major work done in the stadium immediately due to the cost of purchasing it. Although I could be completely wrong about both!
    there isint very much room on the poplar side or behind the garryowen goals,so must of the work will probably be on the stand side.un less they turn the pitch around?

€2-3m for property that is not zoned for development in the current environment? Seems way too much. Perhaps mention of FAI and Minister suggests that this is a way of funding Bord na gCon without giving them a grant and LFC are simply passing the money through.

The property was hardly worth €3m 4 years ago.

Just hope overpaying for the property doesn't hinder the ability to develop what is really an awful ground in which to watch a football match. The days of watching a match from outside a greyhound track are long gone.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

420 Posts
    Not in Derry and not a dog track but RSC.