Page 37 of 65 FirstFirst ... 27353637383947 ... LastLast

Thread: Limerick Desmond League 2010/11

Saturday 15th January
    FAI Youths Cup 3rd Round (extra time & penalties)
    Rathkeale V Killarney Celtic 2pm (P. O’Brien)

Munster Youths Cup 4th Round (extra time & penalties)
    Ferry Rangers V Kilmallock Utd 2pm (G. O’Connor, T. Fitzmaurice, B. Barry)
    Clonmel Celtic V Ballingarry 2pm

Youths Division 1
    Abbeyfeale Utd V Newcastle West Rovers 230pm (J. Roche)
    Newcastle West V Broadford Utd 230 (P. King)

Youths Division 2
    Bally Rovers V Kilcornan 230 (P. O’Donnell)
    Pallaskenry V Glin Rovers in Salesians College pitch 230 (N. Allen)

Sunday 16th January
    Richard Hogan Cup Semi Final (extra time & penalties)
    Rathkeale B V Askeaton B 2pm (L. O’Connor)

Weekly Observer Premier Division
    Adare Utd V Newcastle West Rovers 1130 (B. Barry)
    Abbeyfeale Utd V Broadford Utd 1130 (P. Manning)
    Newcastle West V Askeaton 1130 (J. Roche)
    Shannonside FC V Killeaney 1130 in Shanagolden (T. Fitzmaurice)
    Glin Rovers V Rathkeale 1130 (P. O’Brien)

Weekly Observer Division 1
    Kildimo Utd V Athea Utd 1130 (D. O’Gorman)
    St. Itas V Abbeyfeale Utd B 230 (P. O’Connor)
    Old Mill V Glantine 1130 (G. O’Connor)
    Kilcolman Rovers V Carrig Celtic 1130 (L. O’Connor)

Weekly Observer Division 2
    Breska Rovers V Granagh Utd 230 (T. Fitzmaurice)
    Ballysteen V Feenagh 1130 (P. O’Donnell)
    Rockhill Rovers V Kilcornan 1130 (N. Allen)
    Knockaderry V Newcastle West B 230 (J. Roche)

Weekly Observer Division 3
    Broadford Utd B V Ferry Rangers 230 (G. O’Connor)
    Glin Rovers B V Bally Rovers at Lanterns Hotel Pitch 2pm (P. O’Brien)
    Ballingarry B V Adare Utd B 230 (P. King)
    Mountcollins V Shountrade 230 (D. Wallace)

Weekly Observer Division 4
    Carrig Celtic B V St. Itas B 1130 (S. Hartnett)
    Glantine V St. Bens 230 (S. Hartnett)
    Pallaskenry B V Shannonside FC B in Salesians College 1130 (C. Dalton)
    Newcastle West Rovers B V Athea Utd B 230 (C. Dalton)

Limerick Desmond Youths Cups

Division 1 Youths League Cup 1st Round
    Ballingarry V Newcastle West
    Newcastle West Rovers V Broadford Utd
    Byes for Abbeyfeale Utd and Rathkeale

Division 2 Youths League Cup 1st Round
    Ferry Rangers V Creeves Celtic

Division 2 Youths League Cup Quarter Finals
    Askeaton V Kilcornan
    Pallaskenry V Bally Rovers
    Glin Rovers V Killeaney
    Ferry Rangers/Creeves Celtic V Carrig Celtic

Limerick Desmond Youths Cup 1st Round
    Carrig Celtic V Rathkeale
    Kilcornan V Askeaton
    Newcastle West Rovers V Breska Rovers
    Pallaskenry V Ballingarry
    Bally Rovers V Killeaney
    Abbeyfeale Utd V Broadford Utd
    Creeves Celtic V Newcastle West
    Ferry Rangers V Glin Rovers

Weekly Observer Premier Division
    Adare Utd V Newcastle West Rovers 1130 away
    Abbeyfeale Utd V Broadford Utd 1130 draw
    Newcastle West V Askeaton 1130 home
    Shannonside FC V Killeaney 1130 in Shanagolden home
    Glin Rovers V Rathkeale 1130 away

Weekly Observer Division 1
    Kildimo Utd V Athea Utd 1130 home
    St. Itas V Abbeyfeale Utd B 230 home
    Old Mill V Glantine 1130 home
    Kilcolman Rovers V Carrig Celtic 1130 away

Weekly Observer Division 2
    Breska Rovers V Granagh Utd 230 draw
    Ballysteen V Feenagh 1130 away
    Rockhill Rovers V Kilcornan 1130 home
    Knockaderry V Newcastle West B 230 away

Weekly Observer Division 3
    Broadford Utd B V Ferry Rangers 230 home
    Glin Rovers B V Bally Rovers at Lanterns Hotel Pitch 2pm draw
    Ballingarry B V Adare Utd B 230 (Home
    Mountcollins V Shountrade 230 (Home)

Weekly Observer Division 4
    Carrig Celtic B V St. Itas B 1130 (Home)
    Glantine B V St. Bens 230 away
    Pallaskenry B V Shannonside FC B in Salesians College 1130 home
    Newcastle West Rovers B V Athea Utd B 230 Away

Why were none of the Rovers lads at the Oscar Traynor game ?

Quote Originally Posted by Have It View Post
    Why were none of the Rovers lads at the Oscar Traynor game ?
    Was talking to some of them at the weekend, 2 were sick and 2 of em were working!!
    Good win for Desmond, when is the Kerry v Cork game meant to be scheduled for?

Quote Originally Posted by walkover View Post
    when is the Kerry v Cork game meant to be scheduled for?
    Heard that it's January 30th in Tralee.

Quote Originally Posted by walkover View Post
    Was talking to some of them at the weekend, 2 were sick and 2 of em were working!!
    Good win for Desmond, when is the Kerry v Cork game meant to be scheduled for?
    Looking at all the past Oscar Traynor panels it seems that mainly Abbeyfeale,Broadford,NCW and Rathkeale are the only clubs interested in representing the Desmond League and credit should be given to the clubs for this.The rest of the clubs should take a good long look at themselves. Going by the paper yesterday Sean Curtin from St. Itas had a good game so fair play to him. Its the clubs that never turn up when asked and there players attitudes which are really disrespecting the Desmond League.
    How do you handle this ? well its all debatable.

Quote Originally Posted by 'El Nino' View Post
    Looking at all the past Oscar Traynor panels it seems that mainly Abbeyfeale,Broadford,NCW and Rathkeale are the only clubs interested in representing the Desmond League and credit should be given to the clubs for this.The rest of the clubs should take a good long look at themselves. Going by the paper yesterday Sean Curtin from St. Itas had a good game so fair play to him. Its the clubs that never turn up when asked and there players attitudes which are really disrespecting the Desmond League.
    How do you handle this ? well its all debatable.
    I'd say it's much easier to keep the interest for players in the starting eleven (which alot of players from the mentioned clubs would be).
    It's harder for player's from other clubs to break into the team mainly because the manager would know less about them as they never see their games, unless the manager has an affiliation with their club.
    Again looking at past teams, you have alot of players from the aforementioned teams PLUS players from the Manager's own team!

Do you really think any club cares about the oscar traynor team " el nino". Most people I talk to have very little interest in it and
    most managers would prefer if there players were not involved.If its such an honour to be part of the oscar traynor set up why
    was nobody interested in managing the team this year.
    This problem is not just confined to the desmond league,even the Limerick and south tipp league cant always get players from there stronger clubs to commit

Quote Originally Posted by last man back View Post
    Do you really think any club cares about the oscar traynor team " el nino". Most people I talk to have very little interest in it and
    most managers would prefer if there players were not involved.If its such an honour to be part of the oscar traynor set up why
    was nobody interested in managing the team this year.
    This problem is not just confined to the desmond league,even the Limerick and south tipp league cant always get players from there stronger clubs to commit
    To answer your question in a nutshell my answer is YES. You should be dame proud of being selected in the best 11 of your league and I always wished I was good enough to be selected but never was.I think maybe most people you talk to are not/have not being selected for the team and proably know they wont. Again I think its about having the right attitude and everyone should try to better themselves! I saw the Limerick City team in the Star paper, they had a very strong team on paper. A lot of LOI experience there and they are obviously showing an interest.
    Were you ever selected for the Oscar Traynor 'last man back'?

Division 1 was as good as it got for me El Nino never got within an ass's roar of the oscar traynor.

The farce that is the Youths league gets worse. NCW had a home game today. The away team and ref turned up, the ground was locked up and stayed locked as nobody, no player, adult or mentor turned up. The ref advised the away team to hang around till kick off, then everybody went home. NCW are certainly not the only club with problems at Youths level, ourselves included, but there is no excuse for not making a phone call to stop teams and referees traveling an hour before a game. Simple manners lads.

Same happened to us, We turned up for a cup game no manager or players were at the match so we waited til kick off and went home.

Draper, Im totally shocked at what you said and I can only go by what you said is true.Its a sad state of affairs for a club of the supposeable size of NCW.I find it hard to beleive all was locked up and closed on a Saturday! Was there no underages game on ?
    Is the Junior Ocsor Traynor manager the same guy over the youths? I could be wrong in saying that.
    Blue and Whit what game were you at?

And lets not slate NCW too much about it lads, they are just one club of many including my own that are experiencing major issues with their Youths team. Yes NCW were wrong to make no phone call but the fundamental issue here is the state of the entire set up. The Desmond League commitee need to radicaly change the whole set up starting next year. Change it to an U20 league? Summer soccer? I dont know the answer but I can see there is something very very wrong here.
    Draper, Im totally shocked at what you said and I can only go by what you said is true.Its a sad state of affairs for a club of the supposeable size of NCW.I find it hard to beleive all was locked up and closed on a Saturday! Was there no underages game on ?
    Is the Junior Ocsor Traynor manager the same guy over the youths? I could be wrong in saying that.

Bally Rovers vs NCW in the Fai cup. On the way in i saw ncw players who would have been youths players walking around the town.
    @draper changing to an u20 league wont help.What about the 17 year olds?playing against people 3 years older? that would turn off the younger players.

Yeah probably not Blue and White, I dont have the answers, I just know its broke and it needs fixing.
    Quote Originally Posted by BlueAndWhite View Post
    Bally Rovers vs NCW in the Fai cup. On the way in i saw ncw players who would have been youths players walking around the town.
    @draper changing to an u20 league wont help.What about the 17 year olds?playing against people 3 years older? that would turn off the younger players.

Quote Originally Posted by BoyBlue View Post
    I agree withyou on this draper a lot of youths teams are struggling to field sides,most are using U/16 players from what I hear. the league needs to overhaul the setup and maybe look at playing Sundays. This will not be popular with some junior teams that need their youths but as a league we are loosing too many players that either work on Saturday or play other sports. As a league we might benefit from this in the longrun with more players coming through to play junior football long term. Just an Idea to let players play out their age group, Might not be the answer just my opinion.
    The youths definately needs a total overaul, this was my opinion in November and i think it might be worth talking about at the AGM, but I think the powers that be won't be interested.

Newcastle west 4-2 askeaton

Daniel power with a hat trick and Luke o Brien...ncw up 2-0 and askeaton came back with 2 great goals..2 shots in the game and got 2 goals..good game but poor refereeing

Quote Originally Posted by buddygeary23 View Post
    Newcastle west 4-2 askeaton

Daniel power with a hat trick and Luke o Brien...ncw up 2-0 and askeaton came back with 2 great goals..2 shots in the game and got 2 goals..good game but poor refereeing
    Great win for ye buddy ye must be serious contenders for the league with the squad now after the 4 players transfering back. What Happened regarding your comment about the Ref?

Page 37 of 65 FirstFirst ... 27353637383947 ... LastLast