Page 39 of 65 FirstFirst ... 29373839404149 ... LastLast

Thread: Limerick Desmond League 2010/11

Shannonside inflicted Abbyfeale's only league defeat according to the paper.

I've heard a rumour Abbey B have pulled out of Div 1. It's only an unconfirmed rumour and there may be absolutely no truth in it whatsoever. Can anyone confirm/deny this ?

I think the title will be very close this year..shannonside will def be there towards the end but I can see Newcastle west pushing them all the way..I think Newcastle west will pip them for the league,especially when they have to play each other twice and I think ncw will win both games with the players they brought back..abbeyfeale will be there also and they have to play shannonside once more..I think abbeyfeale have to play Newcastle twice in the league but I'm not sure though...other teams could take points off shannonside, abbey and ncw like ncw rovers,broadford and rathkeale..they are no bad teams like...

What bout delegation this year?? Who do ye think will go down this year? I think glin and adare will go down this year.both teams haven't played well this year but adare got 3points at home to adare last weekend

It seems I was mis-informed about Abbey. Apologies. I would have to go for Newcastle to win the league, with Shannonside runners up. Adare and Glin look favourites to go down although if Adare get a run going on the back of last weeks win they have a chance. Ballingarry and any one of about 5 teams to come up

Don't mind who comes up as long as they have a good field and dressing rooms

That rules out 3 of the top 4 in div 1

Can anybody explain the rapid decline of Glin Rovers ?? Maybe theres somebody on here from Glin.

I predict them to stay up but only just.

Adare will not stay up. Hope Ballingarry come back up.Nice pitch and dressing rooms.

Yup I agree with el niño. Ballingarry have one of the best set ups in the league.great dressing rooms and beautiful field and astro turf also..st itas have poor field and dressing rooms,pallaskenry have poor enough field and dressing rooms,kildimo have dreadful field and dressing rooms..wouldn't mind seeing carrig come back up..good enough field and good dressing rooms...

Dunno what happened to glin..runners up in the league few years back and won Desmond cup..they are at the wrong side of the table..maybe they r not used to the field in tarbet

Have Kildimo dressing rooms? I think myself there are maybe a few too many teams in certain areas of the desmond league.The likes of Kilcornan and Kildimo could combine and make one good team that challenges annually instead of once in a few years.I am only using those 2 clubs as an example.I just wonder is the catcment area large enough at all.
    As for Glin I think the field in Tarbert wouldnt entice you to play soccer but with the players they have/had at their disposal I think they should still get results down there.

Sorry my apologies.last I heard kildimo don't have dressing rooms..had to change in the car on the side of the road..and a bad field with that..with the players glin have they shud be getting results no matter what kind of field they play on but they might get outta trouble towards the end of the season if teams above them stop getting points

Ive heard that the Carrig v Abbey B game is changed to Fri night in abbey can anyone confirm this?

Quote Originally Posted by mad4it View Post
    Ive heard that the Carrig v Abbey B game is changed to Fri night in abbey can anyone confirm this?
    Ya it is. 7.30k.o in Abbey
    Last edited by Have It; 21/01/2011 at 1:01 PM.

Couple of good games tomorrow NCW Rovers v NCW & Munster junior Abbey V Rathkeale. Any predictions lads? I think Rathkeale will go through V Abbey. Big test of where NCW are now, I don't think the Askeaton team last Sunday was the strongest, NCW Rovers will definately be a tougher game, Draw!

I agree with El Nino that clubs in low populated areas join up together. There is far to many clubs in the desmond league at the moment and this affects the overall standard.Every crossroad seems to have a team now. Also bring on summer soccer looks like we could have a lot of cancelations again tomorrow with frozen pitchs. How can any team expect to put a run of form together with all this stop start soccer,it surely dosnt give a true reflection of a team at the end of the season

Some shots from the youths v Limerick District tonight. Winning 2-0 when I left at halftime

Just heard that all Desmond league games are OFF tomorrow, but the MJC game Rathkeale v Abbeyfeale is still on @ 2.00pm.

Anyone know how desmond youths finished against Limerick district?

Any result from the rathkeale and abbey match

Abbey won after extra time

Fixtures

January 23, 2011

Fixtures 29/30 January 2011.

ALL FIXTURES are subject to alteration until published in the Weekly Observer.

Saturday 29th January
    FAI Youths Cup 3rd Round (extra time & penalties)
    Killarney Celtic V Rathkeale 2pm

FAI U-17s Cup 4th Round (extra time & penalties)
    Kilcornan V Villa FC 2pm (T. Fitzmaurice, B. Barry, P. O’Brien)

Youths Division 1 League Cup 1st Round (extra time & penalties)
    Ballingarry V Newcastle West 2pm (P. O’Connor)

Youths Division 1
    Abbeyfeale Utd V Newcastle West Rovers 230 (J. Roche)

Youths Division 2
    Creeves Celtic V Bally Rovers 230 (P. Manning)
    Pallaskenry V Glin Rovers 230 in Salesians College pitch (N. Allen)

Sunday 30th January
    Weekly Observer Premier Division
    Broadford Utd V Rathkeale 1130 (P. Manning)
    Abbeyfeale Utd V Killeaney 1130 (J. Roche)
    Askeaton V Shannonside FC 1130 (G. O’Connor)
    Newcastle West Rovers V Newcastle West 1130 (D. O’Gorman)

Weekly Observer Division 1
    Pallaskenry V Ballingarry 1130 (T. Fitzmaurice)
    Glantine V Kilcolman Rovers 1130 (S. Hartnett)
    Kildimo Utd V Old Mill 1130 (N. Allen)
    St. Itas V Athea Utd 230 (C. Dalton)

Weekly Observer Division 2
    Kilcornan V Feenagh 1130 (L. O’Connor)
    Knockaderry V Granagh Utd 1130 (P. O’Brien)
    Newcastle West B V Rockhill Rovers 2pm (P. Manning)
    Rathkeale B V Breska Rovers 230 (P. King)
    Creeves Celtic V Ballysteen 230 (L. O’Connor)

Weekly Observer Division 3
    Bally Rovers V Shountrade 1130 (P. O’Donnell)
    Glin Rovers B V Askeaton B in Lanterns Hotel pitch 2pm (P. O’Donnell)
    Ballingarry B V Broadford Utd B 230 (P. O’Connor)
    Adare Utd B V Ferry Rangers 230 (P. O’Brien)

Weekly Observer Division 4
    Shannonside FC B V St. Itas B in Shanagolden 1130 (D. Wallace)
    St. Bens V Newcastle West Rovers B 230 (S. Hartnett)
    Athea Utd B V Glantine B 230 (D. O’Gorman)
    Limerick Desmond League

Desmond cup draw ? On this wk or next ?

Page 39 of 65 FirstFirst ... 29373839404149 ... LastLast