Both Gallbaly and Cahir now confirmed as going down as league format stands,, Cahir's only hope is if League decide to only relegate 1. Cahir are in the crazy position of their season being over the first weekend in Feb!!! Maybe they wouldn't want to be saved by the league!
cahir should like to stay up but realistically with town and saints so strong best they can aim for next season would be 3rd place in premier, where if they go down they could realistically do a treble in league and shield and paddy purtill cup especially with borris going up there will be no real strong team in division 1 next season. i know which season i would prefer if i were a cahir player
if it wasnt for birds and booze id have played for ireland juniors!!!!!
That will not be decided till after AGM as only new Committee ie post AGM can decide on make up of leagues for 20011/12. They will have to rearrange all the leagues below Prem to balance out Div 1 if two go up and only 1 comes down.
Also the new AGE RULE that is expected to come in during the summer will have a big affect to youth leagues. New rule will mean players miss 1 year ie an U15 players this year will have to play youths ( U17 & U18 ) next season. They are changing date from Jan 1st of the season being played to 1st Jan before season starts. Any player U17 this season will not be able to play youths next season as he would moved to U19. A lot of players will be lost to Junior soccer as most will be to small or inexperienced to play at junior level. Maybe the youths could be split into an U17 league and a U19 league which would mean those U17 players and future players would have 1 more year to develop before having to play Junior soccer. This rule change is being pushed in by the FAI to get Ireland in line with FIFA.
Oh Christ! I log on to foot.ie this morning and see a banner advert for Fianna Fail. Is there no bloody escape.
congrat's to chris higgins and jimmy carr both st mich's and richie ryan clonmel town on their call ups for the international trial game all very deserving of their recognition and best of luck to ye on the 19th lads. does anyone think we might have an fai or munster junior cup coming back to south tipp this season saint's and town both going extremely well in both and i dont think pike would relish an away trip to either in the last 16 or last 8 of fai although i hear pike are winning handy every week so they could be hard to beat but in the cup on an off day anyone is beatable.
yeah your right cufc i wouldnt rule yourselves out of both either you are the reigning munster junior champions and have had a great few years down there fair play to ye. i hear ye are struggling to get some of your big players fit tho but if ye have full squad available ye can beat anyone on your day. could be some very interesting games between now and end of the season.
They are starting to come back three players came on as subs last sunday who didnt play in months, the squad is looking stronger again, we have Lagan Harps down sunday in FAI it is the biggest test so far, i'd like another slap at Michaels i felt we left it behind us last season they proved what they can do in defence when they grabbed the lead, its great to have 3 teams so close to each other competing for major honours
Three excellent teams in St.Michaels, Clonmel Town and Carrick Utd but can any of them stop Pike Rovers from a clean sweep. They are overwhelming favourites for both F.A.I. Junior and Munster Junior Cups and have strengthened their team big time this season with the intention of winning all before them. They seem to attract all the best players, many with senior experience. Quoted at 5/2 favs for FAI and 15/8 favs for Munster Junior. Difficult to argue with that but would dearly love to see any of the three mentioned above defeat them.
where are lagan from cufc? yes i was at that game when ye played saints and there were a few turning points in that game michaels firstly had a man sent off, then ye missed a pen, and then ye had a player sent off funny game it was, but i didnt think there was much between the teams and there prob still isnt. should be another good game if both meet again at some stage.
Anyone know the odds for the avenue/st micheals game on Sunday.
I was hoping it would be a bit better than 12/1.something like 33/1 would have been nice.no one thought we would beat ballina town 5-1 so you can never right off avenue to cause a major upset. We can't wait for the game.
Whos this lad from the league of ireland that Pike have signed he was playing for Limerick suppose to be handy apparetnly they bought the rest of his contract out for 9,000euro wheres all this money coming from?? Anyone hear anything about this?
It would be some turnaround by avenue after getting a thumping a few weeks ago by Michaels. I would say backing Michaels to win out the competition would be a better investment.
john tierney very good player played with cork city too for a while, serious player but no junior player is worth paying that kind of money for. i very much doubt they paid anything to limerick to be honest there is not even transfer fees for the likes of jason byrne etc in the premier division of league of ireland so cant see a junior club being able to put up that kind of money. Tierney top player but he will not guarantee an fai for pike. he plays up front or can operate on the wing. cause of his age limerick fc might be entitled to some compensation but 9000 thats crazy!!!!
if it wasnt for birds and booze id have played for ireland juniors!!!!!