Thread: Limerick Premier Division 2010/11

37 Posts

Cool

Quote Originally Posted by Monster View Post
    big lads coming on here and slaughtering lads who have given ther time for free.. shane fitz managed a fairview b team to promotion he and the management team done their best and wer very unlucky..easy to criticise people when your outside the fence..most of yee havnt a clue and are not involved in football but great in front of yer laptops..
    great post,disgrace some of the stuff being posted.limerick very unlucky yesterday,thought the aul keeper the best player on the pitch made five great saves.fair play to all the players and the mgt they put some respect back into the oscar traynor setup.

Quote Originally Posted by Monster View Post
    big lads coming on here and slaughtering lads who have given ther time for free.. shane fitz managed a fairview b team to promotion he and the management team done their best and wer very unlucky..easy to criticise people when your outside the fence..most of yee havnt a clue and are not involved in football but great in front of yer laptops..
    Monster this site is about opinions if your not happy with opinions dont login, and i havent seen anyone slaughtered its just soccer opinions.

lads there are probably 60-70 players in town good enough to play for the oscar traynor team.you can only start 11.its no wonder alot of people dont want to be involved in it.the lads who played yesterday gave there all for there city and were beaten by a lucky goal.thats football.for a team who were meant to be useless the dublin aul side had enough of internationals in it.

Quote Originally Posted by theballboy View Post
    You are missing the facts there was still alot of players that wanted to play and were not picked, players that were better than the players that played yesterday, you surly must agree that both finals should have been won by limerick, Desmond league is a poor league and limerick should have won easy, Yesterday the wrong team went out on the pitch for starters and the changes were worse and i didnt think AUL were up to much, Limerick did have home advantage can anyone tell me who shane fitzgerald is i thought gerry mac mahon was Aidans assisstant.
    I agree with you they should have won the 2 finals but who are the players who wanted to play and were not picked i find that a bit strange.

Quote Originally Posted by blueboy2 View Post
    I agree with you they should have won the 2 finals but who are the players who wanted to play and were not picked i find that a bit strange.
    Shane Walters, paul quinn, willie o brien , robbie kel, pa moloney, john boyle these players are good enough to be on the panel they are playing premier football every week, ronan sherlock plays centre half with hes club why put him on the wing, hughes plays in the centre for hes club why play him on the wing.

played on the wing for 10 years ballboy.play centre half the last 6 months because we dont have another centre half.that should clear that one up for you.john boyle left the squad after 1 game this season.pa moloney has a broken wrist.would you play robbie kell ahead of alan barry or shane clarke? would you play quinny or willie o brien ahead of hartnett or kavanagh?with the exception of 1 or 2 the starting 11 was as strong in there positions as any manager could have put out.dont think any of the above would have hung around to be a sub when starting for there club teams.

jason hughes is also one of the best young players in town.he has league of ireland experience and has played alot on the wing also as far as i know so i dont see what difference it makes if he plays midfield for boro.he is good enough to be in the team

Quote Originally Posted by tedd11 View Post
    played on the wing for 10 years ballboy.play centre half the last 6 months because we dont have another centre half.that should clear that one up for you.john boyle left the squad after 1 game this season.pa moloney has a broken wrist.would you play robbie kell ahead of alan barry or shane clarke? would you play quinny or willie o brien ahead of hartnett or kavanagh?with the exception of 1 or 2 the starting 11 was as strong in there positions as any manager could have put out.dont think any of the above would have hung around to be a sub when starting for there club teams.
    I would have them on the panel at least how many midfielders were on the bench if hartnet or kavanagh got injured, pa moloneys wrist was broke in the fai final he wasnt on the oscar trainer before that, and shane walters ?

jason hughes is also one of the best young players in town.he has league of ireland experience and has played alot on the wing also as far as i know so i dont see what difference it makes if he plays midfield for boro.he is good enough to be in the team
    Can you name the subs.

Have to say well done to the players and managment of this years ot team very unlucky yesterday the game could have gone ethier way..All this talk about players and manager not good enough i bet not one of ye ever managed the ot team or played in the team so who are ye to judge..they had a great win in kerry in the semi and ye werent on slating them then were ye thats what is wrong with this city to many people want to see them lose..this time last year the only had 12 players against cork that was an embarresment to limerick look how much it has changed this year all thanks to aiden his managment team and the players he picked i thought they would have won but just unlucky on the day and definitly nothing to be disgraced about

Quote Originally Posted by booster 03 View Post
    very sad news after reaching me, Gerry Manahan has passed away earlier today, Gerry was the absolute heart and soul of our club for more than 20 years and Im sure lots on this site would know him personally, an absolute gentleman and will be sorely missed by myself and everyone involved with summerville rovers, and indeed Limerick soccer in general.
    Ya very sad to hear this nice man. Will be missed i'm sure by everyone in junior football and especially his family my condolences to his sons.May he rest in peace.

Can you name the subs.
    ian bennis-goalie-fairview
    john ryan-goalie-janesboro
    alan barry-striker-pike
    tommy heffernan-striker-kilmallock
    stephen grant-centre mid-carew pk
    ger burke-centre mid-mungret
    thomas clarke-centre back-janesboro
    ralph judge-winger-caherdavin
    mark slattery-full back-carew pk

how come john tierney and christy doyle werent in the team not to mind being in the squad??i expressed my doubts about conor moloney on this site after the semi final,yesterday i thought he was poor gave the ball away everytime he had to pass it,and lost his man for the goal imo...wayne colbert was outstanding again..

ian bennis-goalie-fairview
    john ryan-goalie-janesboro
    alan barry-striker-pike
    tommy heffernan-striker-kilmallock
    stephen grant-centre mid-carew pk
    ger burke-centre mid-mungret
    thomas clarke-centre back-janesboro
    ralph judge-winger-caherdavin
    mark slattery-full back-carew pk
    Would it be fai to say Willie o brien, Paul Quinn are better than Ger burke or grant in the centre, Shane Walters or john boyle has to be better than Ralph judge and playing at a higher level, Why have 3 keepers Ian,john,gary for one position.

Quote Originally Posted by rooney10 View Post
    how come john tierney and christy doyle werent in the team not to mind being in the squad??i expressed my doubts about conor moloney on this site after the semi final,yesterday i thought he was poor gave the ball away everytime he had to pass it,and lost his man for the goal imo...wayne colbert was outstanding again..
    Maybe those players were asked but turned it down.

yea wel considering they were at the match they must be interested,3 keepers in the squad is ridiculous,i dunno where people are going talking about shane walters hes not up to that standard imo.
    Last edited by rooney10; 06/06/2011 at 9:09 PM.

International Prospect abbeyvale's Avatar
    32 Posts
    Neville, colbert, mcgarry, moloney, cleary, hughes, kavanagh, hartnet, sherlock, grant, clarke. I was very suprised to see Sherlock playing he wouldnt get on any of the top sides in limerick i was very suprised.
    I thought Ronan Sherlock was playing centre half for Corbally these days (or at least he did v us during the season)...............
    68, 99, 08

32 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by theboywonder8 View Post
    Where was pat Boyle,miles better player,and eoin Hanrahan,for that matter.Sherlock must be great pals with A.Ryan.Barry should have been in ahead of the other 2 forwards as well,strange decisions indeed.
    Thats a bit harsh in fairness, Ronan's a good player and if he is picked by the OT manager then all he can do is his best when called upon.
    Everybody on this site would pick a different squad if asked to do so, so each to their own opinion, but for whats its worth I dont deem it fair for guys to come on here and have a go at Ronan...............at the end of the day he has done nothing wrong.
    Last edited by abbeyvale; 07/06/2011 at 11:21 AM.
    68, 99, 08

32 Posts
    Gerry Mc Mahon Managed prospect and does alot of work Oscar Trainer is to much for him sound bloke and not fair on him to be put in that position, I havent a clue who shane Fitzgerald is, who did he manage? or play with? is he from limerick?, did alan barry report injured before the game.
    No, Alan was fine...........
    Last edited by abbeyvale; 06/06/2011 at 10:20 PM.
    68, 99, 08

32 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by rooney10 View Post
    yea wel considering they were at the match they must be interested,3 keepers in the squad is ridiculous,i dunno where people are going talking about shane walters hes not up to that standard imo.
    You obviously haven't seen that much of him then.............Pa Barry (Boro) would also have to be considered imo.
    68, 99, 08