Page 25 of 109 FirstFirst ... 1523242526273575 ... LastLast

Thread: Limerick Premier Division 2010/11

46 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nosebleds View Post
    was at the carew and boro game and taught it was poor enough carew had all the posession in the first half but were poor up front ontill o sullivan scored.boro came out fighting in the second half and had carew under serious pressure at the back and it paid off when gary higgins scored a cracking solo goal.then carew brought on colbert and coleman and changed the game again in carew favour and after some nice play from carew they got their rewards from a corner when coleman slotted home from the back post carew had a few half chances after that but will be very happy to come away with a 2-1 win the two teams will have to up it in their next matches if they want full points

yep pretty much spot on alot of teams struggle for the first few weeks until they get back up with the pace like tonight balla, view, pike, all hung on for the win.

Quote Originally Posted by thomas72 View Post
    yep pretty much spot on alot of teams struggle for the first few weeks until they get back up with the pace like tonight balla, view, pike, all hung on for the win.
    I opted to watch Kilmallock and Pike tonight, seemed the best game on. Pike didn't play well but certainly didn't struggle as suggested, did well in the 2nd half and were coasting at 3-1, the Referee allowed Kilmallock's 2nd goal somehow, about 4 players offside at various points in the move. Kavanagh did very well in his first outing along with Ahern and Edward O'Donovan. Davy Ryan was back as well coming off the bench.

Kilmallock will take alot of points off teams out there. Heard Fairview were lucky to escape with a win.

ya fairview were fairly lucky in fairness...they played well but team prob still need a bit o time to gel... Bobby Tier did well for a debutant and Macgarry was a powerhouse in the air- dont think he missed one header all evening...View were without Chucka,Heffernan and Daz... Star put up a good fight in fairness to them and my earlier prediction of 6-0 def had me eating my words... Also the ref was very very inconsistent... Paul Quinn also played very well in the centre...

I taught the View were very lucky and didnt play as well at all. For an fai winning team to spend the last 4 minutes holding the ball up in the corner said alot about their performance. I dont think Star will have any complaints about the penalty. the one good thing the referee did in the game was take his time before seeing where the foul was and awarding the penalty.
    Where Fairview did get lucky was making it 2-2. A huge deflection had John Ryan beaten. I know the view were missing a lot but they could do with getting James Hayes into the team. Bobby Tier did well but for all their movement and neat passing moves, they had nothing to cause the star defence much trouble.
    It will be interesting to see how Fairview fit players into the team. Last night they had Darren O'Sullivan,Tony Fahy and Jamie Richardson not togged out and there was no Chucka or Heffernan.

@ the star and view game also , star very organised and looked to be playing a 4-5- 1 formation , thought Fairview deserved the win as they had all the chances whereas star took theres , only had about 3. The Ref seemed to give a lot to star to be honest i was surprised he gave the peno. Centre back for star was very good small lad. Brian o Doherty in the middle and Butler on his own up front were good also , hard to pick out anyone from the view, the defenders won all there headers as to be expected , misfield were ou numbered and the forwars did not get enough ball, christy doyle looked dangerous when he got it.Star also brought on a little winger 'walters' who looked really lively

Very harsh result for Shannon yesterday, some shocking decisions by the ref to be honest, and two of them directly led to goals. One of them the ball must have been about 2/3 feet over the line and the Balla "linesman" never put up his flag. Some shannon players were getting very frustrated so they will need to learn to keep their cool. They had a player sent off with ten minutes to go and almost held on for the draw, Balla winner was a great finish my some small lad they brought on who was excellent and probably could have caused more trouble if he started. All in all it was a fantastic match to watch it was like two local rivals playing eachother everyone on the sidelines was getting very excited etc etc. I just hope Shannon don't let that result get them down too much and take plenty of positives as there was plenty to be taken from their performance.
    Last edited by ginge lyndz; 20/08/2010 at 9:56 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by nosebleds View Post
    was at the carew and boro game and taught it was poor enough carew had all the posession in the first half but were poor up front ontill o sullivan scored.boro came out fighting in the second half and had carew under serious pressure at the back and it paid off when gary higgins scored a cracking solo goal.then carew brought on colbert and coleman and changed the game again in carew favour and after some nice play from carew they got their rewards from a corner when coleman slotted home from the back post carew had a few half chances after that but will be very happy to come away with a 2-1 win the two teams will have to up it in their next matches if they want full points
    did young fella derek maxwell play for the boro last night, nick name is fred, he's from shannon.

Quote Originally Posted by the lobster View Post
    did young fella derek maxwell play for the boro last night, nick name is fred, he's from shannon.
    not too sure if he played, but i was shocked to see that boro had no subs on the bench, they had one player who was hobbling on one leg for most of the second half and could,nt take him off surly they could of calling up 3 players from the b team for their first match of the season.
    To be or not to be

Quote Originally Posted by blinkx View Post
    I opted to watch Kilmallock and Pike tonight, seemed the best game on. Pike didn't play well but certainly didn't struggle as suggested, did well in the 2nd half and were coasting at 3-1, the Referee allowed Kilmallock's 2nd goal somehow, about 4 players offside at various points in the move. Kavanagh did very well in his first outing along with Ahern and Edward O'Donovan. Davy Ryan was back as well coming off the bench.

Kilmallock will take alot of points off teams out there. Heard Fairview were lucky to escape with a win.
    God Blinkx you almost had me convinced there you were a nuetral for a minute.So you drove out 30 miles to watch a the game, fair enough. You stood right in the middle of the pike crowd, maybe just a coincidence! And then you reflect on how the pike players performed naming them separately ,come out of it. For a team that supposedly dominates Limerick soccer I was shocked to see first hand the brand of football pike played last night.It reminded me of a rugby match where Pike proceeded to drive it over the line,wave of high hopeful ball after another.You cannot deny that.

Fair enough ....the end justifies the means ....but given yer carry on on the line ye are no team to be proud of imo.A very young kilmallock side played a great game of soccer and deserved a point but it wasn't to be.Pike were just a bit more physical especially in the air.Still there is a genuine cause to be optimistic this season, well done all.
    Last edited by Baalbec United; 20/08/2010 at 4:39 PM.

Thumbs down

Quote Originally Posted by Baalbec United View Post
    God Blinkx you almost had me convinced there you were a nuetral for a minute.So you drove out 30 miles to watch a the game, fair enough. You stood right in the middle of the pike crowd, maybe just a coincidence! And then you reflect on how the pike players performed namely them separately ,come out of it. For a team that supposedly dominates Limerick soccer I was shocked to see first hand the brand of football pike played last night.It reminded me of a rugby match where Pike proceeded to drive it over the line,wave of high hopeful ball after another.You cannot deny that.

Fair enough ....the end justifies the means ....but given yer carry on on the line ye are no team to be proud of imo.A very young kilmallock side played a great game of soccer and deserved a point but it wasn't to be.Pike were just a bit more physical especially in the air.Still there is a genuine cause to be optimistic this season, well done all.

well said. hoooooooooooof comes to mind

Quote Originally Posted by white line View Post
    lads get a grip......for weeks people are giving out about pike giving sweetners to players, now it is their brand of football, next ye will be asking the league to award them just 2 points for a win....

stop the crap talking and go beat pike on the pitch if ye can , get over your obsession with them or get rid of the green eyed monster.....

play the ball on the pitch and see who prevails come May....
    'You should never have a bad game, off the ball.......'

Quote Originally Posted by Goals4fun View Post
    lads get a grip......for weeks people are giving out about pike giving sweetners to players, now it is their brand of football, next ye will be asking the league to award them just 2 points for a win....

stop the crap talking and go beat pike on the pitch if ye can , get over your obsession with them or get rid of the green eyed monster.....

play the ball on the pitch and see who prevails come May....
    Jaysus, that was my first post! I think ye might be a bit over sensitive over all the crap that has been going on there for the last 6months.For a team supposedly giving away sweeteners ye play fair SOUR soccer.Its just an observation no need to loose grip of yourself!This is a forum for discussion after all.

Did Nabs play for pike? is he signed with pike? he was playing in the Wesley Webb for newmarket last week

Quote Originally Posted by talisman View Post
    Did Nabs play for pike? is he signed with pike? he was playing in the Wesley Webb for newmarket last week
    He signed for newmarked...

FORMERLY: shannonman Lev Yashin's Avatar
    59 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by white line View Post
    I'd say last night, for most of the bigger clubs was about getting a result regardless of how they played.

And most of them did...Pike,View,Balla....

It's pretty much still pre season...with teams having new signings and finding their feet...its just about the three points.
    My Goal Is To Deny Yours...

Lads, the biggest game of the night was on out in dooradoyle. Regional and Mungret any report on that? Heard reg won 3-1.
    Mama Mia!!

Quote Originally Posted by Baalbec United View Post
    Jaysus, that was my first post! I think ye might be a bit over sensitive over all the crap that has been going on there for the last 6months.For a team supposedly giving away sweeteners ye play fair SOUR soccer.Its just an observation no need to loose grip of yourself!This is a forum for discussion after all.
    Pike were never known for playing brilliant football BUT they get results. And the last few years they have dominated as you said. How many times in a row have they won the league now?

Quote Originally Posted by gaidin View Post
    Pike were never known for playing brilliant football BUT they get results. And the last few years they have dominated as you said. How many times in a row have they won the league now?
    exactly they play to their strenghts nothing wrong with that.

[QUOTE=gommie06;1390012]
    Quote Originally Posted by thomas72 View Post
    well done pal great result did owens sign for ye??

what about ashling any good carew have them sunday

cheers pal..no he didnt he signed for aisling i think!!they're alright lik from what i hear ye've a new squad up there shud be no problem
    Dave Owns signed for Aisling, he could not play last night because his transfer from janesboro was not through in time.

Aisling dominated most of the game and if they took their chances they would have run out winners. Corballys opener was a mistake by the aisling full back but was finished well. Corbally got a peno in the second half, terrible decision by the ref. Aisling scored with 20 mins to go and missed lots of chances to get something from the game.

Aisling did not play well but when they gel they will be very good.

Quote Originally Posted by limpool View Post
    ya fairview were fairly lucky in fairness...they played well but team prob still need a bit o time to gel... Bobby Tier did well for a debutant and Macgarry was a powerhouse in the air- dont think he missed one header all evening...View were without Chucka,Heffernan and Daz... Star put up a good fight in fairness to them and my earlier prediction of 6-0 def had me eating my words... Also the ref was very very inconsistent... Paul Quinn also played very well in the centre...
    mcgarry signs on a tuesday night and starts thursday night..doesnt say much for the rest of the squad if they have been training all the time...could lose a few players if thats the case..not saying hes not good enough but a bit of loyalty to the rest of the squad is needed

Page 25 of 109 FirstFirst ... 1523242526273575 ... LastLast