Page 14 of 109 FirstFirst ... 412131415162464 ... LastLast

Thread: Limerick Premier Division 2010/11

Quote Originally Posted by white line View Post
    tony fahy has signed for fairview another big loss for balla.
    carew park have suspposed to of signed another 2 very good prem players thursday night again nobody in the club is saying anything.
    fairview have a serious squad of players this season added some unreal players to there fai winning squad my tip to pip pike to the title.
    jamie o sullivan signed with carew

Quote Originally Posted by Blackpanther View Post
    Well said White Line, their not a club their a bunch of pre madonnas, poaching and raping all the real clubs who developed good players from schoolboys.How many of their players played schoolboy or youth football with them ?? Even the manager isnt a Pike man ffs
    Your obviously someone who's been out of the loop for the last 5 odd years. Pike have schoolboys at all grades upto U-17's, I could easily get into this argument but why bother, it's junior football. Their's no ownership over players last time I checked?!

Quote Originally Posted by blinkx View Post
    Your obviously someone who's been out of the loop for the last 5 odd years. Pike have schoolboys at all grades upto U-17's, I could easily get into this argument but why bother, it's junior football. Their's no ownership over players last time I checked?!
    so how many of the a team came through the ranks is what he asked

Quote Originally Posted by neverseenit View Post
    so how many of the a team came through the ranks is what he asked
    What does it matter exactly?!

Pike

I think the fact that your saying that it doesn't matter sums up the point being made. Look its plain obvious that very little of pikes successful team have come through the ranks. Most of pikes players over the last decade or so have been poached or moved from other clubs in their late teens or early twenties in search of some silverware.

What pike are doing isn't exactly wrong unless there is being money handed over. And of all the rumours there is no evidence of this. Because they had a poor schoolboy setup in recent years they have had no choice then to look to other clubs to get their players. However, this does go against the ethos of most clubs in all areas of sport as there is a lack of togetherness within a team, lack of community, the genereal characteristics that go with a team.

Nobody can predict what pikes future will be. They now have a developing underage system that is growing that will do wonders for the club as they can grow teams aswell as use their successful tactics that they are using now.

People get frustrated when they see pike for a number of reasons. Players from their own clubs have moved there in search of success, too big a squad with quality players sitting on the bench, often a sense of arrogance. It is also frustrating to see them dominate the league and not being a success at national level. \the simple fact is that they were too strong for the league in the last few years. With a squad that strong they should be at a different level for example the munster senior league, which i know is not possible for them now. It is at the stage now for pike that it will be a disappointment for them not to win the league.

I think the sense of a lack of togetherness is seen in the team though and players involved in the squad would admit to that. It is more a collection of individuals rather than a team, and look fair enough its been working to a certain extent. I just dont see how they can or ever will experience a the sense of achievement that another team with a core of lads playing together since young lads will feel when winning a trophey together.

As i said im not saying pikes set up is wrong but it must be easy to see how other teams in town have a dislike for them and why they are the constant topic of conversation. Pa Maloneys (captain or ex-captain) antics during the week are a prime example of the lack of loyalty, disrespect and petulance often being connected to the club.

Its junior football lads, not life and death

lads yer all quick to slate pa moloney for so called antics during the week,the lad is entitled to go or do what he wants to its junior football at the end of the day,its not hes fault he was wanted by other clubs,its the clubs involved that would want to have a look at themselfs,al pa done was go to another club didnt like so went back to pike.and another thing ye would want to talk to pa himself and get his side and believe me ye wouldnt be saying that pike are paying this fellow and that fellow,it would be quiet the opposite.the boro would not get a player in town to sign for them unless they come up the £££ they offered that young man........dont think there can be much more of this nonsence talk about pike paying players any more,alot has happened this week that will and should banish this talk of £££....personally i think pike can hold there heads up high on this one....so can pa moloney.

Quote Originally Posted by daisycutter View Post
    lads yer all quick to slate pa moloney for so called antics during the week,the lad is entitled to go or do what he wants to its junior football at the end of the day,its not hes fault he was wanted by other clubs,its the clubs involved that would want to have a look at themselfs,al pa done was go to another club didnt like so went back to pike.and another thing ye would want to talk to pa himself and get his side and believe me ye wouldnt be saying that pike are paying this fellow and that fellow,it would be quiet the opposite.the boro would not get a player in town to sign for them unless they come up the £££ they offered that young man........dont think there can be much more of this nonsence talk about pike paying players any more,alot has happened this week that will and should banish this talk of £££....personally i think pike can hold there heads up high on this one....so can pa moloney.
    well said heard myself from pa + boro man that boro offered him money and he said no next boro will say tommy lynch not gettin money hahahaha

Quote Originally Posted by allab View Post
    jamie o sullivan signed with carew

mark slattery also signed with carew two very good signings for carew.

two big players gone from boro

Quote Originally Posted by white line View Post
    mark slattery also signed with carew two very good signings for carew.

two big players gone from boro
    does anybody know what players have signed for the boro ? i personally havent heard of any?i can see them being in big trouble this season.can anybody from the janesboro club enlighten us?

heard Boro only signed 2 players from last seasons team and they now have to bring up players from the B team, I can see both Boro A and Boro B been relagated this season

and its a pity people cant mention the money thing on this site without getting a ban as it is now a part of junior soccer

Quote Originally Posted by skyguy19 View Post
    heard Boro only signed 2 players from last seasons team and they now have to bring up players from the B team, I can see both Boro A and Boro B been relagated this season

and its a pity people cant mention the money thing on this site without getting a ban as it is now a part of junior soccer

i think your jumping to gun a bit there saying the boro been relagation biggest mistake the boro made this summer is appointing a money man in tommy lynch woeful appointment IMO all he is interested in is money a bluffer. boro are a great club without doubt it could be a tough season for them but they will be nowhere near relagtion

Boro in serious trouble the storys comin from there dont make good reading but you reap what you sow eh john!
    Maloney left us down big time but i could see it coming a mile away anyways pa i'm big enough to say good luck he told a few of our lads he wont play against us this year we'll hold you to that waterboy nd dont forget striker 9(connie) slaggin you off

shannon are favs for the chop pal unless ye signed superstars...........

Quote Originally Posted by the real deal View Post
    shannon are favs for the chop pal unless ye signed superstars...........
    I'd say Star are to be honest, closely followed by Shannon, Kilmallock, and from the mutterings, the Boro.

Any team who comes up is going to have a hard time of it, there's a major jump in class between the Premier and Division 1.

And I'd say it's Tommy's English 'experience' that gets him the jobs, he's been round a good number of clubs at this stage hasn't he?

carew park seem to have strengthened their squad quiet a bit this year, and from what i heard they lost no one from last year, could do quiet well this year

FORMERLY: shannonman Lev Yashin's Avatar
    59 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by fifa pro View Post
    i think alot of teams will get a suprise from shannon town.. alot of very good signings this year.. If they blend well they will be a hard team to beat.. Around 7 or 8 new signings all coming from clare premier league and some from shannon hibs and limerick too..

ssssshhhhhhh!!! :d
    My Goal Is To Deny Yours...

Quote Originally Posted by blinkx View Post
    I'd say Star are to be honest, closely followed by Shannon, Kilmallock, and from the mutterings, the Boro.

Any team who comes up is going to have a hard time of it, there's a major jump in class between the Premier and Division 1.

And I'd say it's Tommy's English 'experience' that gets him the jobs, he's been round a good number of clubs at this stage hasn't he?
    we should be fine out here this year.hopefully with the few new signings and the lads that are always here we should improve from last year.

Quote Originally Posted by nosebleds View Post
    carew park seem to have strengthened their squad quiet a bit this year, and from what i heard they lost no one from last year, could do quiet well this year

steven grant to carew park

is he johnathan grants brother if its the guy im thinking of he also played with fairview a couple of seasons back????

37 Posts
    These players that joined,where were they before.As for having 25 signed the secretary will be busy with transfers inside a month.The players who got them up most will be discarded and will leave and if it goes belly up for shannon this year those fly by nights will be out of there as fast as they came in leaving shannon in a worst position than before.
    Watch this space for the results of this scenario.

FORMERLY: shannonman Lev Yashin's Avatar
    59 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fairkop View Post
    These players that joined,where were they before.As for having 25 signed the secretary will be busy with transfers inside a month.The players who got them up most will be discarded and will leave and if it goes belly up for shannon this year those fly by nights will be out of there as fast as they came in leaving shannon in a worst position than before.
    Watch this space for the results of this scenario.
    Worse position than before what?
    Look..its a simple thing..you have to improve your squad when you get into the Premier...we got promoted about 10 years ago and we didn't strenghten at all and we got 3 points all season....we all saw what happened to Geraldines last season.
    Anyone who was with us last season during the promotion has and will be given a chance to prove themselves...our managment team is not that niave. Its not a situation where we are paying players to play for us...they are togging out because they want too, because they see its a club going foreward and because they want to play in what is considered one of the best Junior leagues in the country.

As for your "watch this space" comment...whats your advice?? keep the players from last year, dont strengthen', but be happy that we are making up the numbers and that evreyone is happy to be getting a game?
    My Goal Is To Deny Yours...

Page 14 of 109 FirstFirst ... 412131415162464 ... LastLast