Page 98 of 121 FirstFirst ... 488896979899100108 ... LastLast
Results 1,941 to 1,960 of 2414

Thread: Cork AUL 2010/11

20 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by redandwhite View Post
    still not schoolboys played on farranlea road no?? but ya never heard of first team playing there....
    we played wilton out their this year lads..

61 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sharpshooter View Post
    we played wilton out their this year lads..
    Pitch is still there. A lot better than it was in the 70s and 80s.

Quote Originally Posted by Horse24 View Post
    Farranlea Road is apartments now is it not?

Do you mean Lee Road?

The old Wilton schoolboys pitch where schoolboy cup finals used to be played back in the 1980s is apartments now as you can see here:
    http://maps.google.ie/maps?q=google+...138.75,,0,3.11

The other pitch still seems to be there alright:
    http://maps.google.ie/maps?q=google+...,0.021136&z=16

Lads i am I they only one hearing these rumours of a lot of clubs leaving the Aul?

Park, Inishvilla and Buttervant all to the Munster Junior League

Shandon Celtic to the Business League

Glenthorn and Ballyvolane merging together

All Msl clubs with teams in the Aul will move too

Any1 hear anything?
    "Build it and they will come"

71 Posts
    I still cant picture the Farranlea Road pitch. If Im turning up into Farranlea Road from Victoria Cross, the old pitches were about halfway up on the left, where is the one being used now?

I didnt hear the first three rumours. We have two of the three represented here so maybe they can answer.

I didnt hear the Shandon one either.

I heard that merger one - might make sense.

Leeds, Castleview & Passage are the only 3 in the AUL with MSL connections I think are they?

I think Castleview & Passage have old school loyalty to the AUL, but what that is worth is to be seen. These AUL juniors cant play Senior so it does work against the clubs to be fair.

71 Posts
    Just on the 3 clubs going to MJL - it must be a stepping stone to MSL because their own league doesnt seem to care much about the MJL. Strange one for Buttevant who turned down Prem A before we were asked in 2009 because they felt they were not strong enough.

61 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by casilles View Post
    Lads i am I they only one hearing these rumours of a lot of clubs leaving the Aul?

Any1 hear anything?
    Was there not an agreement put in place between AUL and MSL to stop moving over a 5 year period. That was about 3 years ago. Stand corrected.

This is the final year of that agreement as far as I am aware.

Any1 hear anything?
    I'm an Innishvilla club member and follower (boots are currently hung up) so I can't speak for the club but personally I have not heard anything about this - so I suppose for all on here that's not much good as I can't confirm or deny the rumours. That said I think it was mentioned on here last year as well and there was nothing to it. Sometimes a rumour can start just because the clubs in question have good facilities...

On the others - for Shandon Celtic to move to Business League, what's their qualification criteria? does the squad all have to work in the same company?

I always found it strange that MSL teams had teams in AUL. There was a bit of fuss a while back with players playing both AUL and MSL and both leagues pretty much said it was up to the other to punish the offenders...
    Ballincollig, Ballinhassig, Lakewood Athletic, Carrigaline would be on the list also...

The other question is with the whole financial issue that's after occuring - will there even be an AUL next year? I hope so as despite the faults, it has done good things for grass roots soccer in and around Cork city.

Mergers can be good things but they can somtimes be tricky to organise. Innishannon and Knockavilla were investigating the prospect of a single club to represent the parish at both underage and junior hence Innishvilla - but only one club committed to it and put in the effort with the underage side - the other decided to stay as they were. Hasn't seemed to harm either club Knockavilla are doing very well and I can only see constant improvement for Innishvilla especially with such a strong underage club.
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

Any1 hear anything?
    First i heard of it, i could understand any progressive club that has a strong first team winning trophies with a big underage section wanting to move to the MJL. I personally do nt think that the aforementioned teams have been doing that in the top leagues of the AUL though. No offence Innis no doubt ye are on the way though! If Kinsale for example were to go up you could totally understand it, as Blarney before them who have set a good example of a successful juinor team making the transition successfully and the club benefiting from it at underage level.

Glad to see my advice a few weeks back in relation to Ballyvolane and Glenthorn being listened to, two teams in the one area who are both struggling in their respective leagues could become very powerful if allgemated.

Monday 2nd May Ko. 10.45 am
    AOH Cup Semi Final Second Leg
    Leeside A v Kinsale A, Little Island, D.O’Mahony,B.Noonan,Paul O’Sullivan

Monday of the bank holiday?! Are they for real? Spoil everybodys weekend. Who on earth would decide this?

Has the Cork Nightowls league disbanded, does anyone know?

Leeside B 2 - Inishvilla 1 (aet)

Good gaqme, 3 great goals, felt the B's deserved it but very impressed with their opponents, some very good ball players.

Kinsale 1 leeside 1 kinsale took the lead in the first half and were unlucky not to add to there lead just before half time,leeside equalised with there first corner of the match in the second half,kinsale looked the more likely team to win hitting the crosbar from a free and had shots cleared off the line.

Blarney St Ath 1 Knockavilla 2

It was one of those days!! started off extremly poor and free kick on there left whipped in Robbie walsh got a head on it, saved but he followed it in to open the scoring. We changed a few things and started playing a bit better. nothing really much in the 1st half, came out in the 2nd and gavea good performance kept going at them and there keeper made 2 great saves ,1 from a volley off Shane Sull and the other a Larry Betts header . Got the equaliser at the 70th min, corner over and Gary Coughlan rose highest to put it at 1 all. Felt we could go on and get the winner but the oppisite happened. 85 gone goal kick outt the knockavilla right it went , winger pulled it back and there Cf caugth it perfect, it was in before i hade a chance to move. We had another good chance but there keeper again pulled a ball out of the top corner, finished 2-1 to knockavilla. Fairplay they came up the hungrier for the 3 points imo and you could see by there celebrations what it meant to them.

Grattan at home Tuesday night and then god knows when Kinsale at home!!!

Watched leeds and Bohs this morning 2-2 it finished with both Scaffa and super mario/trouble playing !!! draw assured Leeds stayed up
    "Build it and they will come"

28 Posts
    Leeds 3 - 2 Bohemians

Good game played up in Leeds Park this morning had the bare 11 today even our manager played today and did nt disgrace himself haha Leeds took the lead just before the break with a long ball over the top felt he was offside but the ref did nt one of many mistakes from the man in the middle today...... did nt think he had a good game at all made a few dodgy decisions today towards both teams.Leeds led 1-0 at the break
    2nd half we started well and made it 1-1 when Christy Drisscoll scored a great diving header but 3 mins later Dean Buckley made it 2-1 to Leeds.We wer awarded a penalty around the 65 min when Christy Drisscoll was tackled in the box a bit soft but Niall Collins stepped up and struck it home to make it 2-2 anyway.But again Leeds came back up and scored the winner in the 75 min great run and strike from the centre half to make it 3-2
    A couple of half chances here and there but Leeds held out to claim all 3 points
    WE ARE GOING UP I SAID WE ARE GOING UP!!!!! BOHS CHAMPIONS 1A 09/10

28 Posts
    Blarney St Ath 1 Knockavilla 2

Watched leeds and Bohs this morning 2-2 it finished with both Scaffa and super mario/trouble playing !!! draw assured Leeds stayed up
    Whos Super Mario??? Whos Trouble???............cause i dont know!! Im always playing too!!!!
    WE ARE GOING UP I SAID WE ARE GOING UP!!!!! BOHS CHAMPIONS 1A 09/10

We were in danger off falling off the page so i'm posting for the sake of it.

I see Wilton beat Kilumney 4-1 in AOH away from home. That is a superb result. They are really flying at the moment.

I have a question about the guy Daly playing in midfield for them. Did he ever play at a higher level or have the opportunity to play at a higher level? His footballing skills clearly stand out at this level. A really superb two footed player, not the fittest guy in the league but has it upstairs and in his feet.

28 Posts
    KANTURK 2 GLENTHORN 1

A win to finish off the season,not much to report really,john dennehey with our 2 goals!

On the season itself,our aim was promotion,we want premier,but not to be,mid table finish!We were too inconsistent!
    When were good were good,but wen were bad were bad..

I dont thinks its kilumneys title yet,8 points out of 15 they need,bohs,blackstone,pearse all away!i think they will get 6 points out of leeds and glenthorn!

Not suprised with wiltons win to be honest!

Greenwood must be kicking themselfs with the 3nil lost against glenthorn last week,just shows there nothing between the teams!

Quote Originally Posted by thebooboys View Post
    Leeside B 2 - Inishvilla 1 (aet)

Good gaqme, 3 great goals, felt the B's deserved it but very impressed with their opponents, some very good ball players.
    Cheers - yes some good footballers there alright but I thought Leeside just shaded it. At 1 nil to Innishvilla I felt next scorer would probably win it. I agree though some cracking finishes for the goals - Especially the winner. Best of luck to Leeside - I think it is their cup to win now more so after seeing the semi-final draw - even though Ballincollig are going well in the third division as long as Leeside treat it like it is (a cup semi final) they should progress. Glanworth and Hibernians in the other semi - Glanworth have done well in the cups this year but league for is patchy. Hibs are the only side to take points off us this year in the league - we lost to them on the 2nd day of the season and have beaten them in the League and Saxone cup since but are a good side.
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com