Page 97 of 121 FirstFirst ... 47879596979899107 ... LastLast
Results 1,921 to 1,940 of 2414

Thread: Cork AUL 2010/11

I agree Pacman, I was no more than 10 yards away from the decision and to say that Aidan O Regan, who I consider to be one of the best refs in the league, got it wrong, was an understatement. At 1 - 0 it looked like we would see it out. The leagues now out of our hands and to be honest we need a miracle. For me Wilton are in the driving seat, I do think Kinsale will drop points but Wilton very strong. Other comments id love to make about our game today but dont think it wud achieve much, if you were there you'd understand what im talking about.....

Quote Originally Posted by thebooboys View Post
    I agree Pacman, I was no more than 10 yards away from the decision and to say that Aidan O Regan, who I consider to be one of the best refs in the league, got it wrong, was an understatement. At 1 - 0 it looked like we would see it out. The leagues now out of our hands and to be honest we need a miracle. For me Wilton are in the driving seat, I do think Kinsale will drop points but Wilton very strong. Other comments id love to make about our game today but dont think it wud achieve much, if you were there you'd understand what im talking about.....
    I thought the Coachford centre forward was bang out of order when Coachford went 3-1 up with his reaction to the Leeside line. I was on that part of the pitch and for the life of me i couldnt undertsand why he would have been so aggitated towards the Leeside line. Maybe I missed something earlier in the game

Quote Originally Posted by thebooboys View Post
    I agree Pacman, I was no more than 10 yards away from the decision and to say that Aidan O Regan, who I consider to be one of the best refs in the league, got it wrong, was an understatement.....
    After reading the last two posts I actually dont know who to quote or who to disagree with more. To someone neutral the last two comments may lead people to think Leeside were robbed of points today.
    As a keeper I have seen a lot of stone wall penalties given and not given, Todays incident with Leeside leading 1 nil was the correct one.
    Booboy, really and trully I dont know what angle you were approaching from but this time you are completely wrong. Your keeper ( which no offence to the man today but in my opinion if ye had a Top one ye would be in with a better shout of winning major honours ) came and completely caught the Coachford striker on the way around him. It had to be a spotter and red card.. The ref got this decision spot on..

Speaking about spotters and the refferee in question today,
    I actually couldn't believe he gave the Leesides spotter in the last couple of mins. In my opinion It was definetly Ball to Hand.

But then again maybe Im being BIASED.
    To escape criticism ~
    do nothing, say nothing, be nothing.

Quote Originally Posted by junglegym View Post
    After reading the last two posts I actually dont know who to quote or who to disagree with more. To someone neutral the last two comments may lead people to think Leeside were robbed of points today.
    As a keeper I have seen a lot of stone wall penalties given and not given, Todays incident with Leeside leading 1 nil was the correct one.
    Booboy, really and trully I dont know what angle you were approaching from but this time you are completely wrong. Your keeper ( which no offence to the man today but in my opinion if ye had a Top one ye would be in with a better shout of winning major honours ) came and completely caught the Coachford striker on the way around him. It had to be a spotter and red card.. The ref got this decision spot on..

Speaking about spotters and the refferee in question today,
    I actually couldn't believe he gave the Leesides spotter in the last couple of mins. In my opinion It was definetly Ball to Hand.

But then again maybe Im being BIASED.
    I would reckon your definitely being biased Junglegym. The leeside keeper clearly got a strong hand to the ball and was seen by the direction and distance the ball went after he touched it. The Coachford player who kept running simply then collided with the keeper.

As for the Leeside penalty the ball struck the palm of the Coachford player. I was facing it directly and couldnt have had a better view. To be honest it seemed like the Coachford player could have taken an uncomfortable ball to stomach but tunrned his hands to stop it. He visibly rotated his hand so the palm was facing outwards.

I have absolutely nothing against Coachford and to be honest they were the reason I went to the game. I know Malcolm and I know their northside players and as i said once they drew level they were fantastic. The ref did get this one wrong though

21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Shilts View Post
    Big Congratulations Innishvilla, from all your neighbours
    Enjoy the celebrations and best of luck going for the double!!!
    Or should we whisper treble after last weekends fantastic win, Innish?

An away win in Cobh is a great result for anyone, in any division.
    Last edited by Shilts; 18/04/2011 at 10:24 AM.

Unhappy

Finally some discussion and debate about a football match

Just on a few things before the match report, people will obviously think im biased but i have always & always will be honest in my match reports even the ones we lose. I do nt come on here to slate anyone and have a huge amount of respect for Leeside as a football team and everything they have achieved, they have been great representatives for the AUL winning the MJC recently.

On our peno which no doubt changed the match, i too was very near the incident when it occured, in my opinion the Leeside keeper (might have been Kieran Murphy if im not mistaken) came out to challenge Ruan Lenihan on a one on one, Ruan nicked the ball past the keeper, he got a hand to it diverting the ball to the right no more than 2 yards and proceeded to obstruct Ruan's progress in the follow through from the save,bringing him down therefore denying him a clear goal scoring opportunity. This is why the peno was awarded and the red card was produced.

On Leeside's peno near the end, sorry Jungle Jym and Keith but it was a peno, no doubt the players well struck shot was hit within close proximity to keith's chest and there was no time to react, but his hands were above his waist and i think it was just a natural reaction to protect himself, do nt think it was an intentional handball but a peno none the less.

On the comments your not making Boo, there were two teams playing, i could also make a few, but again at this stage i do nt think they ll achieve much, if you wanted do discuss it privately i would be glad to. I do disagree with you about it being Wilton's league, i cant see Kinsale losing it for the simple reason they do nt concede enough goals and would nt rule yerselves out of it, 42 points will take beating. We ll be going all out to beat Kinsale tuesday week.

Leeside 2 Coachford 3
    On a perfect morning on a great pitch for a game of ball, we took the spoils from a keenly contested game which our matches with Leeside always are. There's no doubt there's bite in them due to so many close encounters down through the years.
    We started reasonably well, with our best chance in the 1st half coming from a great header by Rob O Keeffe (noted for his arial ability lol, probably the smallest player on the pitch) that was heading into the top corner producing a great save from Leeside's custodian. Leeside got a peno, again the right decision, Raggy gave good advantage and player was taken down on edge of box, Hackett stepped up great save by Peter Riordan, 2 in 2 weeks for the big man. He has a good record in saving peno's. Leeside's opener came directly from a corner from one of the Keane's.
    Second half was tit for tat until the penalty incident, Michael O Sullivan defo making a difference for us when he went up top. Liam Eager expertly dispatched the peno, the Leeside stand in did get a hand on it but snuck into the corner.Our tails were up at this stage and started to play nice ball, Alan Molloy finished off superbly from the edge of the box into the far top corner. Conor "Luiz"O Neill with the 3rd after a great move and final pass from Rob O Keeffe, lobbing the advancing keeper with a header.Leeside never gave up in fairness and got their peno which Delea cooly converted, thought he was by far their best player on the day, great servant to them. Saw out the remaining few mins, one sent off from each near the end.

As i said last week we re looking to finish as high as possible and with Kinsale and Wilton fighting for the league and Knockavilla fighting for their lives, there are no easy games left. Huge win for Ballyvolane credit where its due as i had been one writing them off, a real dog fight now between themselves and knockavilla, Macroom need a result tomorrow night or they could find themselves in it too.
    Last edited by Inswinger; 18/04/2011 at 10:43 AM.

71 Posts

Blackstone 4 v 2 Leeds

I missed the game so a short and sweet report.

We went 2 up really early and 3-1 at the break.

Went to 4-1 and Leeds pulled it back with a wonder strike from somewhere near halfway. Our keeper saved a pen in the 90th minute.

We are now the only team of the 10 who will 100% be in the division next year!!

Quote Originally Posted by Shilts View Post
    Or should we whisper treble after last weekends fantastic win, Innish?

An away win in Cobh is a great result for anyone, in any division.
    Ah now hold your horses there while it certainly was an outstanding result to go to cobh and get the win against the most likely favourites for the cup, it still only qualified us for the 1/4 finals. Gives us a tough away trip to another 1st division side in Leeside B. But I will say that this squad of players will go into every match from now to the end of the season treating them like a cup final. They've already created history as far as Innishvilla is concerned, but the have the opportunity to really cap off the year.

Clubs No 1 priority even before the Saxone Cup final is to win the league. 4 games left 7 points to claim the title...
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

Quote Originally Posted by super_mario View Post
    Good point for ye donaldinho pity it's prob to late for us tho, ye have put a good enough run together since beating us down there maybe 2 or 3 games before us ye win aswell?? Must say I was impressed with killumney against us especially there wingers, still think they'll win it but greenwood have a serious chance now already promoted I think so the can drive on for the league!!

Well six yard box maybe you know something we don't regarding Crow to castleview juniors, maybe your putting 2 and 2 together seen as derek Daniels is being linked with that job and him and Crow are good friends??

I heard again that he is going to leeside and I personally think it will be a great move for him to be honest, top top team. Big loss if he does casilles as on his day there's none better!!
    you'd be on the ball with me putting 2+2 together there super. yup heard all about the leeside rumours too apparantly they'll be in touch soon aswell.. i hope he goes playing senior to be honest. one of if not the best in cork on his day..there'll be no shortage of takers anyway thats one sure thing.

Just to add I've quizzed everyone down in Leeside about this player ye are on about coming down next year and nobody has a clue where this one has come from.

Well booboys get yer skates on is what I'd recommend cos he'll be hounded and apparently he's keen on a move down there from talking to 1 or 2 of our own players!!

very hard one to call tommorrow night between wilton and leeside i think a draw would suit Kinsale

28 Posts
    Lads just going to put something to bed about Davy Crow he has nt said anything about signing for any team.He said Lesside would BE a great side to sign for but hes going to weigh up the possibilties at the end of the season and make up his mind then.
    WE ARE GOING UP I SAID WE ARE GOING UP!!!!! BOHS CHAMPIONS 1A 09/10

Right doing this nice n early coz need to get it off my chest. Wilton 2 - Leeside 1. Took the lead after 35 minutes header from 10 yards out bottom corner, absolutely bossed the first half, could have been one or two more. Wilton had one chance of note well saved by our B team keeper.

2nd half, nothing much for ten mins, then 2 goals conceded in quick succession between 60-70 mins. Then to make things worse got our full back sent off for second yellow. Right decision by the ref. However the refs performance for both teams was not good enough in the second half. He rode us for a good twenty minutes and did the same to wilton for the last ten or so. He really did try and be centre of attention, his comment before the game "i expected a crowd tonight, e15 a pop to watch me sure" summed it up ...........

Well done Wilton, good team and will take some beating.

20 Posts
    MACROOM 0 BLARNEY ST 1

great game for the neutral watching tonight.taught we played very well and at least deserved a point but for a mistake from our keeper with 13mins to go.true saying when your down by the bottom things dont go your way.really need to win a few games of we could b in trouble.ill leave the match report to you cas...

Hard luck sharpshooter, would like to see ye stay up as ye are a good honest bunch with a good attitude, if ye get a result against Knockavilla that should see ye right. Boo i feel your pain thats all im going to say on that matter! Two horse race so for the league, where was that game played tonight Boo a few of our lads went to the farm and said it was nt on there.

Kinsale 5 ballyvolane 1 kinsale bossed this game from start to finish 1 nil up after 20 seconds ,got two more before half time, another two in the second half followed and could have had another few before ballyvolane got one back from the spot.im abit surprised leeside lost against wilton i thought the it would end up a draw

20 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Inswinger View Post
    Hard luck sharpshooter, would like to see ye stay up as ye are a good honest bunch with a good attitude, if ye get a result against Knockavilla that should see ye right. Boo i feel your pain thats all im going to say on that matter! Two horse race so for the league, where was that game played tonight Boo a few of our lads went to the farm and said it was nt on there.
    cheers inswinger hopefully anyway playing them next tuesday night so its a must win park at home sunday so hopefully we will get a win.if we play like tonight i fancy us,but we are blowing hot and cold all season which isnt good enough,
    the wilton game was played at farranlea rd...looks like a two horse race alright and they still ave to play each other.

Macroom 0 Blarney St Ath 1

Some job getting down there on time lads I can tell ya!!! Big tail back outside Lasarda caused at least a 20 min delay for us. Got togged and ready with little over 10 to kick off so we expected to be a bit slow of the mark. Macroom had the better of the first 25 with Mr Sharpshotter havin his 1 on 1 saved!! no real good chances in the 1st half maybe a few half but i taught we got back in to it with Gary Nolan looking to run at there defence at every chance. IMO i taught we deserved the win for our preformance in the 2nd half a nd the chances we created from it. Gary Coughlan was unlucky with his header straight at the keeper, Nolans volley would have been a Goal of the season contender, Lawerences shot off the cross bar and a shane o Sull voley that got blocked. We scored with 10 to go, Larry Betts got the ball in the midddle of the park drove forward at hit a thuder bolt, there keeper spilled it and Gary Nolan follwed in and headed it in. Macroom had a few half chances but nothing of frutition.

We were delighted with the 3pts and look forward to no more away this season!! 3 home games left starting with Knockavilla Sat , Grattan on Tues and god knows when Kinsale!!

Sharpshooter I believe ye will stay up , its in yere own hands still with Knockavilla and Ballyvolane to play so good luck for the rest of the season

Ya looks alright like a 2 horse race now Boo.

Also a big congrads from Blarney St to all at Fairview on there St Micheals cup victory tonight {5 nil vs Grangevale} and still the City Challenge final friday week for ye!!
    "Build it and they will come"

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sharpshooter View Post
    cheers inswinger hopefully anyway playing them next tuesday night so its a must win park at home sunday so hopefully we will get a win.if we play like tonight i fancy us,but we are blowing hot and cold all season which isnt good enough,
    the wilton game was played at farranlea rd...looks like a two horse race alright and they still ave to play each other.
    Farranlea Road is apartments now is it not?

Do you mean Lee Road?

Page 97 of 121 FirstFirst ... 47879596979899107 ... LastLast