AOH Draw

The draw for the AOH Cup semi Finals are as follows

Killumney Utd v Wilton Utd A / Carrigtwohill Utd A

Kinsale A v Leeside A.

1st Legs to be played weekend 23rd / 24 th April.

2nd Legs to be played 30th / 1st May.
    To escape criticism ~
    do nothing, say nothing, be nothing.

20 Posts
    two interesting semi finals you would expect wilton to beat carrigtwohill to face killumney and then leeside kinsale couldnt predict them two games i think...i think two legs are a joke is well one off game is a way better..

Should never expect anything in a one off cup game sharpshooter.........

Watched Kinsale last week in the Mossie thought they were well worth the win....On AOH QF tho i think if Alan Greaney of Kilreen can play like we all know he can he can bag a few goals against Kinsale. Also Wayne (Pooh) Dunlea formerly of Ballyphehane Celtic and last season Casement Celtic Senior team is back the past few games to tighten up the back four so they'll be hard to break down id go as far as saying he's the best Centre Back in the AUL...........Shock of the week i reckon...

good call must say!!

Murphy's Irish Stout Premier League
    Pld W D L GF GA Pts
    Leeside 11 9 2 0 30 10 29
    Coachford 11 6 3 2 29 14 21
    Wilton Utd 9 6 1 2 25 10 19
    Blarney St Ath 11 6 1 4 21 13 19
    Macroom 12 5 0 7 30 27 15
    Kinsale 4 4 0 0 10 2 12
    Knockavilla Cel 13 2 4 7 19 35 10
    Park Utd 9 2 3 4 15 17 9
    Ballyvolane 10 3 0 7 21 27 9
    Grattan Utd 12 1 0 11 11 56 3

Premier A
    Greenwood 15 10 2 3 32 15 32
    Pearse Cel 16 9 0 7 35 30 27
    Bohemians 14 8 2 4 25 19 26
    Blackstone Rvrs 15 6 3 6 27 24 21
    Kanturk 15 6 2 7 32 31 20
    Killumney Utd 8 6 0 2 22 10 18
    Castleview 15 5 3 7 23 38 18
    Leeds 13 4 3 6 28 32 15
    Village Utd 12 3 2 7 22 30 11
    Glenthorn Cel 13 2 1 10 21 38 7

Looking at today's tables, the Premier A promotion race looks like Greenwood have it in their own hands to get promoted and Killumney even with all those games to play look like favourites with Boh's losing to Pearse certainly not helping their cause. Glenthorn beating Village have given themselves a chance and Castleview beating Blackstone was a big result effectively ending Blackstone's chances of going up.

In the Premier, Grattan look like they could be joined by one from Knockavilla, Ballyvolane and Park although do nt think Park will be down there at the end. Any opinions on who's to go, big defeat for Ballyvolane this week end whats their camp like at the moment. The express train in Little Island motors on, huge game for Leeside next week against Kinsale, win that and its hard to see them being caught.
    Last edited by Inswinger; 04/04/2011 at 9:39 AM.

First weekend back refereeing in nine months on Saturday and Sunday.

First game was a Division 5 Men's all ages with unlimited rolling subs. Handled it quite well for first game back. Some might say i let a lot go, I say I let the game run. It was a very physical game but alot was 50/50 and honest challenges. One player questioned the physicality of the game and I said I had control, if I felt it would boil over I was in position to handle it.

I spoke to the players prior to the game, informed them that I was Irish, they might struggle to understand me, but ask me to repeat at any time. Told them if they had any questions to direct them through their captain and I would listen. Said I welcomed all opinions after the game. Had only three key issues to deal. During a kick out I approached a player and asked him to keep his hands down, he asked me to book him. I said i wasn't wasting a booking on him.

There was two shouts for a penalty. First one was a strong claim but there was no gusto behind the shout. Players chasing the ball to the end line inside the 18 yard box, one player from my view, I was 10 metres inside the half and directly behind it. i saw the attacking player run directly across the defender and they tangled. From the angle I had I could see run change and make the decision of no penalty but if I had been at a different angle I would missed the change of direction of the attacker and would've prob given the penalty.

The second shout, my positioning wasn't exceptional. My vision of the ball wasn't clear but going on instinct I judged the player to have thrown himself down under the tackle. Again the appeals were half hearted so that was clarification i got the right call.

I was meant to be assessed so referee association could rank me to their system. My assessor went home at half time.

On the subject of rolling subs, I see the value of it, players are fitter, stronger but I am not in favour of it. Too hard to manage. Its meant to be three same rolling players out of five without agreement.

An hour into the game with the intense heat was tough. If you asked me which team was which or to point which direction a line ball was to go I would've struggled due to dehydration and lack of fitness. Didn't have that problem Sunday I was filled to the brim with water.

Second game was a women's game, division one. Very high standard. I thought it was going to be a disaster both teams togged out in red. Bohs/Shels respectively. The goalkeepers had green and yellow kits. In my bag, I had a black, a yellow and a green jersey. So everyone clashed somewhere. In the end, I had to tog out in my Evening Echo sponsored Cork branch grey kit.

Neither team would accept responsibility for changing kits so I played the game. The clashes mattered little in the end. Biggest stats from the game was eight foul throws and a keeper who dropped the ball and picked up again to "restart her six seconds". I had no choice but to blow to correct her and award an indirect free kick.

The women's game was technically better than the previous game and I wonder if there are rules on women's nails that sit alongside with rings and chains. One player got a bad scrawl across the face from a trailing hand.

The card count for the weekend is 0, the brawl count for the weekend is 0.

On a side note, the teams send in their own team sheets. There is no cash exchange at the games instead the teams are billed in May for April's games and i get a lump sum in June which is really good.

Over here we are not locked to one league, we referee all grades and all levels except what would be MSL level.

This weekend I am nervous. I am refereeing and verbally punching above my weight. I am refereeing the equivilant of AUL Premier Division and its no exaggeration to say it is on par with Leeside v Kinsale. I have volunteered to referee a smaller level game in the morning before it as a pre test and to warm up.

Three games this weekend. Schools game in the morning, the big one Saturday afternoon and on Sunday refereeing Division one of the Asian League, which will be fun with a Cork accent.

One referee at the weekend here, abandoned his game after 27 minutes due to abuse from the home team. Captain called him a ****ing cheat so not sure if it was the referee or the teams, I not sure but he got fair stick at the meeting tonight for calling it off.
    Last edited by padjoe; 04/04/2011 at 10:32 AM.

Trouble just wondering seeing as you have so much interest in bohs if you feel the addition of Littleman to your management team has had a positive or negative effect on the teams performance ?

20 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by the owl View Post
    Should never expect anything in a one off cup game sharpshooter.........
    no disrespect ment owl just think wilton will be too strong..

HI all, Just a short note with an observation I've made recently. Firstly I'd like to make clear this comment is not aimed at Douglas Hall or any of their teams - it is just I live near their grounds so call up to watch the odd game while trying to get the little guy to go for his nap...

I've watched quite a few games (mostly underage games) and I am shocked that in almost all the games I've seen when the final whistle went both teams walked away from each other to their respective dugouts - no handshakes nothing - yes an odd player or two (sometimes). No "queue" of players to shake the referee's hand - what has happened??? And it is definitely both teams (i.e. not just the home side so I'm only mentioning Douglas Hall as that's where I see most games) By the time the away team does whatever (grab gear I guess) and comes back across the pitch the home side are typically gone as well.

I may not have got on with everyone I played against and I've had my fair few rows on the pitch, but it would never have left me to not shake hands with as many opposition players as possible and if the home side mentions a local bar for grub or just to consider supporting unless I was very pressed I'd always make the effort.

I trained an underage team before and if I saw them walking off without shaking hands with opposition and ref - I'd blow a fuse in the dressing room with them. Now I know you'll always get the odd player in the odd match where they storm off, but both teams...

Am I missing something here do both sides meet up to secretly shake hands in the dressing-rooms?

Seperate note - All the best to Innishvilla in their Saxone cup final against Churchvilla this weekend and also in their push for the clubs first league title (achieved promotion a few times but always as league runners up). 5 games left 10 points guarantees title.
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

28 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dixie's Cousin View Post
    Trouble just wondering seeing as you have so much interest in bohs if you feel the addition of Littleman to your management team has had a positive or negative effect on the teams performance ?
    Dixie as being Bohs player i might be able to help ya with that question Gavin came in a couple of weeks ago and has had a very positive effect on the team mainly on the training side of things but has helped on the pitch with tactics aswell on a bad run at the moment due to injuries and suspensions but we ll come good again hopefully tomorrow night against Killumney
    WE ARE GOING UP I SAID WE ARE GOING UP!!!!! BOHS CHAMPIONS 1A 09/10

20 Posts
    PREDICTIONS
    Kinsale v Coachford,KINSALE
    Wilton Utd v Ballyvolane,WILTON
    Grattan Utd v Blarney St Ath,BLARNEY ST.
    Leeside v Park Utd,LEESIDE
    Premier A League
    Killumney Utd v Bohemians,KILLUMNEY
    Castleview v Village Utd,CASTLEVIEW

PREDICTIONS
    Kinsale v Coachford,KINSALE
    Wilton Utd v Ballyvolane,WILTON
    Grattan Utd v Blarney St Ath,BLARNEY ST.
    Leeside v Park Utd,DRAW
    Premier A League
    Killumney Utd v Bohemians,DRAW
    Castleview v Village Utd,CASTLEVIEW

Should be an interesting chase for Kinsale, Leeside really setting a strong gallop towards the title, its always better to have points on board. Leeside vs kinsale should be a cracker. If Leeside win that, my prediction of a Kinsale title could be struggling!

Predictions

Kinsale v Coachford, Draw
    Wilton Utd v Ballyvolane, Wilton
    Grattan Utd v Blarney St Ath, Grattan
    Leeside v Park Utd, Leeside
    Premier A League
    Killumney Utd v Bohemians, Draw
    Castleview v Village Utd, View
    Be Champions

71 Posts

Blackstone 1 v 2 Castleview

Id swear I am posting and they are disapeering!

I didnt make the game last weekend but we got what we deserved is the common opinion. We had a poor first half, but went in 1-1.

Second half we were better and are disapointed in the winner. We had our chances, including two good ones. they could have nicked another too.

A different Castleview side with the Youths team involved. Good side by all accounts. A few Castleview fans had an away win at 3/1 with Cashmans too I believe.

Padjoe, great review from the whistle's point of view again but I am struggling to understand your point about the Ref having to stay wrong to not show weakness.(This was mentioned in a previous post).

The game at the weekend blew our very slim chance of being the team to pick up the pieces if any of the top three imploded. Even 2 wins against Kilumney wont get us up there.

A win for Castleview tonight puts Village in a lot of bother. Otherwise, they have 2 games V Leeds which will decide a lot.

Knockavilla Celtic 0 Blarney St Ath 4

Good solid win for us on Saturday after a dissapointing loss the week before. Pitch was a bit bobbly and wind was bad on the mountain!! :-) Started well and the two Garys upfront were linking very well. 10 m in should had had a spotter , Nolan rounded their left back then the centre half who took him down, no spotter??? Took the lead from agreat run from Babsy up the pitch who beat 2/3 and finished cooly, Got a spotter with 20 gone, made it two nil. A one to between Gary Coughlan and Gary Nolan , ball was squared and Larry Betts met it with a back heel!! Could have got 1 or 2 more before the half but keeper made a few saves. "nd half Knockavilla were a lot better ,came at us and created 1 0r 2 half chances. Danny q came on with 5 to go and would ya believe it scored from the rebound of a Shane Sull free kick. 4 nil .

On to Tuesday night away to Grattan, a Derby game that I know for sure a few up in O'Neill Pk are looking forward too. Well I can tell them were are too. local rivalleries are great and an extra incentive to win. 6 o Clock kick off so very tight for players managers and others to make but if there was anywhere we could have asked for it was O Neill Pk its closer than or own pitch :-)
    "Build it and they will come"

PREDICTIONS
    Kinsale v Coachford , Home
    Wilton Utd v Ballyvolane, Home
    Grattan Utd v Blarney St Ath, Away
    Leeside v Park Utd, Home
    Premier A League
    Killumney Utd v Bohemians, Home
    Castleview v Village Utd, Home
    "Build it and they will come"

20 Posts
    looks like killumney have taken another step towards promotion with a 6-0 with over bohs.what happened ye scaffa?

Just saw there on Billy Lyons site that park won in Leeside 2-1. Kinsale beat Coachford 1-0. If Leeside do not beat Kinsale on Saturday looks like Kinsale will win it again.
    I wonder if Leeside were more focused on Kinsale than they were on Park

28 Posts
    killumney 6 - 0 Bohemians

Jesus what can i say..... kick off at 6 o clock down in Killeady ridiculous really such a big a game for us had 6 players at the dressing room at 5:45 had 10 players on the pitch at 6 and the eleventh player just got on the pitch just when the ball kicked off so no warm up or team talk just straight into the match Killumney warming up half an hour before the game but look im not saying we would have beat them but considering wer playin Greenwood Saturday at home it beggers belief why these matches could nt have been switched common sense really .I know a lot of others teams will have the same problem but its not rocket science..........

On the game we got battered they led 4 nil at the break and could of been more got another 2 goals in the 2 nd half but this game was finished well before the 2nd half started....... fair play to them a very strong side dissapointed really started so well in this league but now need a miracle to get out of it but we"ll soldier on and another big game saturday should have our full team back so hopefully a big improvement from tonights disaster
    WE ARE GOING UP I SAID WE ARE GOING UP!!!!! BOHS CHAMPIONS 1A 09/10

Kinsale 1 Coachford 0 was at the game tonight it was very tricky conditions for the players tonight with the wind and rain, it was a good game to watch in the first half Kinsale had the better of the chances and had a few chances that on another night would have gone in, Derek mc scored the winner in the second half and Kinsale should have had a second only for the ref to blow for offside which for me was the wrong decision.Despite the speculation on here Coachford had 18 players tonight dont think there was any first team players missing for them.

Page 93 of 121 FirstFirst ... 43839192939495103 ... LastLast