Who have ye left now Holden? I know we have to go to Macroom?
i no i taught it was a certain goal but i was very happy it didnt go inthats good some lads could ave reacted a different way...
Who have ye left now Holden? I know we have to go to Macroom?
Good game at Turners Cross last friday night in the Mossie Linnane Final.
We won but were made to fight harder than the 2-0 scoreline would suggest.
Kilumney (we've played them 3 times) are probably the best Cork AUL team we've played this season (we've yet to play Wilton or Leeside though) and I reckon they will take some stopping in Prem A.
Our form in the Mossie was superb this year - only conceding one goal in the seven games and that consistency saw us through the hard moments on friday night.
Big shout out for Kilumney - their physio looked after one of our injured players after he came off in the first half. Thanks for that lads.
That's NINE premier trophies in nine years for Kinsale.
A magnificent achievement for any club.
Great to get some silverware on board and hopefully we will use that as an incentive to kick on for some more before the season is finished.
A tough ask with the fixture pileup ahead.
After this weekend we'll be 7 games behind Leeside in the league.
A good weekend was had by the seaside but its back to business this week with Kilreen away in the AOH QF. A tough away fixture, but it's great to be involved in the big games.
fairplay to ye shilts thats some record to have...
Home-Grattan & Kinsale
Away- Kinsale, Blarney Street, Macroom, Knockavilla, Leeside & Wilton.
No easy games there really.
A bit harsh View and it paints the wrong picture of the ongoing very good relationship between the two clubs.
I admire what the lads did after the Leeds no-game. A very brave move and not one you would see many clubs do.
Patsy played against us as well as one of the 10 players and though the legs may not move as quickly as they used to, the brain sure does. He played against us a few hours before a Senior game too.
One (JUST ONE) of our players overcelebrated the first goal and was soon put in his place. He had been told by Castleview and another 3rd division side that he wasnt good enough earlier in the season so he felt that he had a point to prove. As I said, he was immediately told by us (players & line) that he was in the wrong. I was in the View dressing room after the game, and none mentioned it to me. We have the relationship where they would have said it to me if they felt it was worth mentioning.
Cant say any of our line heard the comment about 5 more goals and the game was blown 2 or 3 minutes later as requested and discussed.
Hopefully just crossed wires and there seemed to be no issue when I spoke to one of your committee at 10am this morning on another issue.
So we move on and welcome ye on Saturday next.
Cas, whats this I hear about the club secretary not seeing any Match of the Week tickets? The official in question was glad when I cleared it up that the tickets should be given to the secretary!!!!
Why was there a change of official for your game?
INSWINGER grats have fews old faces back for last few games so there alot better last to weeks
Cheers Trouble, i was thinking there was something up when i saw the score for the Wilton match. Any idea what players have returned.
Hi Lads, I watched the Grattan on saturday and none of the lads mentioned above played. I do think Martin Doocey is the B team manger, and Eddie was there last week but was injured during that match.
Mid week Fixtures
Hi lads, Bluey and Boo i ld be very interested on what your opinion would be, we ve been doing a head count for our game against Kinsale away next Tuesday night . Due to work commitments, players not being able to get time off work and lads working shifts that the probability is that we will be handing Kinsale a walk over. I think this degrades the top league in the AUL and i certainly would nt think Leeside would be too happy.
We ve been on a good run ourselves lately taking 16 points from the last 18 and with Grattan at home to play Saturday have a good chance to win another game and whilst im not saying we re going to beat Grattan or win the league we can have a big say in where it will go, I ld imagine Kinsale would prefer to win 3 points in the best way possible as well.
Last edited by Inswinger; 28/03/2011 at 7:53 PM.
Well if that was/is the case inswinger Leeside or Wilton wouldnt be too happy and considering how ye have to play both us and Kinsale I dont think it will do ye're League ambitions, which are still legitimate given a good run, any good either. Looking at the fixtures and seeing where Kinsale migt drop points We were kinda hoping that ye could get a result against the defending champs out there. Unfortunately every team has the issues with players getting time off work, we have 4 or 5 who have already organised it so other teams could make some efforts there too. And if ye do believe that ye have an outside chance of the league or even to compete for runners up then I think individuals should do their very best to get free for matches, especially given the fact that this is ye're best position in about 3 or 4 seasons. Ye also have a B team and while their league position doesnt suggest they are world beaters surely one or two of them, not to mention the youth teams ye have had progress in the last few seasons, could come together to make the numbers??
Lads just looking at the posts above re players availability i tink 6 o clock is a very early time for agame do you think that for the sake of week most likely that they should have left off the mid week kick offs. to be fair in 2 weeks time they could get away with 6 30 kick offs. we are in millstreet and if we are at home itsworse than away. we have at least 5 players that are workin a t least an hour away.
Be prepared for a hefty fine from the AUL inswinger if thats the case. Was in that situation a few years back explained it to the AUL and were hit with a €100 plus fine when we didnt field a team.
As boo said I'd be shocked if ye couldnt get 11 players together between two teams assuming ye're B team arent playing the same night. Also I think with nearly 10 days notice surely most guys can come up with some arrangement with their employers like come in early, work through lunch etc. Evening games will probably be pushed back to 6.30pm from next week on so it would be a once off for most.
I think Kinsale would be delighted if ye didnt show up regardless of what anyone will say. Leeside and Wilton would be disappointed but the biggest losers of all would be Coachford themselves unfortunately.
Blarney St Ath 0 Leeside 1
Sorry lads for the late report but needed a few days to get it out of my system.
Game started at a tremendous pace. 90 miles an hour. Leeside started in a 4-5-1/4-4-1-1 formation which i yaught suited us as it afforded us to get the ball to our full backs and work it up, which we did. Had most of the poccesion and maybe 2 half chances, a Larry Betts header and a good tip over from a JP Thompson free kick. We were doing well, bar a few free kicks wide left giving away but dealt with them comfortable. All good for the first half an hour till should i say a moment of madness or as others might say a moment of stuipdness{is that a word!!} Street had the ball , knocked back from Babsy to Myself, took a touch and Delea was on top of me, hinesight I should have blown it away but went to push it passed him , he got control I made a challenge , Peno given, Delea stepped up and finished it. graham Keane had a chances for 2 nil 5 minsd before the half ended but was saved.1 nil Leeside at the half. Came out again all guns blazing , much the same as the first half but had a few half chances nothing very clear cut. the boys from the island were playing on the break mostly. 20 mims to go we got a man sent off. Im not gonna say it was wrong but it takes 2 to tango. Gettings was unlucky with a ball over the top that was read and a few corners and free kicks latter and the 3 ponts were Leesides. Taught a draw was afair result but thats football.
Away the next 2 games against Knockavilla and Grattan.
6pm kick offs a disgrace! plain and simple. Most leagues are on around 14 games played by the teams involved bar the premier. Im not gonna jump on Kinslae either cause the were succesful in the different cups. Any game called off was the same for most involved this year, weather. look at Premier a Kilumney are the same. We are down to play Grattan on Tuesday at 6, it is our derby and closet away game and we will be struggling to get fellas ready for a 6pm kick off. Could be a case of meet, tog out kick off!! Hopefully this will only be a first week problem.
Horse dont you were my old flower our secretary got the tickets!!! Came in to Brannigans at 5 and didnt return home till 12 hours later so no bothers there!!!
"Build it and they will come"
Kinsale 2 Kilumney 0 great win for Kinsale in linnane cup final friday night,not sure about the report on the star today i counted four other chances that Kinsale had during the match and these werent mentioned,Kilumney played well but thought Kinsale deserved it on the night
Why was your previous comment removed Skippy7??
Just on the Kinsale game lads, we genuinely have a number of players who are not secure enough in their posts to get time off work and a few others who are working too far away to make the game, at best they ld be there for the last half hour of the game which is far from ideal. As i said previously an away fixture closer to home would have been far more sensible.
I would have thought with the current climate that the Aul would have had known that teams in all leagues would have struggled with this 6pm kick off time. Do nt want to sound like a violin should be playing in the background lads just stating a fact. If we go ahead with it we could well have a large compliment of players from our second team togging out, with all due respect that really are nt at the standard needed to get a result in Kinsale.
What exactly did skippy say in his post as i missed it, is he a Kinsale man?