Page 89 of 121 FirstFirst ... 3979878889909199 ... LastLast
Results 1,761 to 1,780 of 2414

Thread: Cork AUL 2010/11

Fair play Padjoe. Best of luck down there. Should say that 99% of the refs I've come across in AUL are sound lads. The odd one might be behind the pace of the game but in the vast majority of cases, they are very fair and do their best.

That's an interesting one about the two red cards. Wonder did the NZ lads get permission from Sepp for that one? Is it given for backchat after you give out the first red card? Or could you give two reds for a terrible tackle?

alright lads quick 1 way off topic! are any of ye logging in on iphones lately to fing it goes to google ads??????????????
    "Build it and they will come"

Quote Originally Posted by casilles View Post
    alright lads quick 1 way off topic! are any of ye logging in on iphones lately to fing it goes to google ads??????????????
    There seems to be an issue with the forum the last few days. It only works intermittently. Usually have to refresh a couple of times for it to work.

Corinthians Cup 3rd Round.

Killowen 5 Dunbar Celtic (B) 4.

What a game, we went 1-0 up early on and had a few chances to extend our lead but didn't convert any. Lost our way a bit for the last 15 minutes of the half and allowed Dunbar in for two soft goals. Could have been 3-1 at the break but our left back came from nowhere to clear off the line. Got the equaliser early in the second half and then went 3-2 up just before the hour. Dunbar equalised from a corner soon after before we again went in 4-3 front with a fine strike from outside the area. Ref then awarded Dunbar a soft free out by the touchline, a superb delivery was headed in for 4-4. Still time for more drama, with 6 minutes left our midfielder made a great run into the box and was clipped by a defender. Ref awarded the spotter which was converted to make it 5-4 at the end. Great entertainment, shame about the weather.
    "Garlic bread - it’s the future, I’ve tasted it."
    Brian Potter - Phoenix Nights

If you find a tab on your phone which says "full site", click that and follow on from that.

Quote Originally Posted by scaffa7 View Post
    when our player was judged to have handled the ball on the line recieved a red card and penalty awarded to Springfield which they scored
    New here, but I watched most of this game on Saturday. Did you not think it was a penalty scaffa? Looked a blatant handball which stopped a certain goal from where I was so I thought the ref made the right call.

Agree the 3rd was harsh on Bohs though and only happened as a result of ye pushing after going behind.

"Should a situation arise where a player has been sent from the field, that their further actions warrant an incident report to be submitted and that action is of a serious enough nature to be deemed, in itself, to be a sending off then we ask….
    That you note on the incident report the nature of the second offence with exact explicit details, facts only, and state “the second offence would a sending off offence under the Laws of the Game” (that is a second red card offence)"

So in effect if you commit a dangerous foul that's one red card and then as you walk off and say you a cheating **** referee, you are biased etc etc then that would be considered as a second red.

Quote Originally Posted by Glenbuck View Post
    Saw one in last few weeks who gave an indirect free kick for obstruction. Fair enough I hear you say. "Referee" says one of the lads on the line, "the player was tripped". "Thats right" says the man in the middle, "his run was obstructed by the trip" . Incredible. Grant it,it was a schoolboy game but the official is reffing years.

the worst mistake i made was in 2002 when I was refereeing Under 12 in Avondale.
    Player went down for a penalty, I bought the dive, gave the penalty. Realised he dived as he boasted to his friends. SO i reversed my decision and kicked the ball back to the keeper for a kick out.

Five minutes later he was fouled in box, gave him penalty this time i drove it over the bar.

Worst of all the Star was there that day.

You know when you make a mistake, you know immediately but you have to stand by it no matter how stupid you look. We all have "senior" moments.

Last year in Park i gave an offside which was clearly not interfering with play. It was a long ball up the field out of defence but because my eyesight didnt process the trajectory and depth of the ball i gave the offside when there was no interference.

I felt ridiculous but had to stand by it.
    Last edited by padjoe; 22/03/2011 at 1:13 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by scaffa7 View Post
    AOH CUP

Bohemians 1-3 Springfield A.E.T

Scoreline does not do us any justice turning point in the game came 5 mins into the 1st half of extra time when our player was judged to have handled the ball on the line recieved a red card and penalty awarded to Springfield which they scored
    On the game Springers took the lead after a mistake from our Keeper who was playing his 1st game of the season in for the injured Tommy Martin good volley from the Springers man but should have been easy enough to catch but with the increasing rain making the ball very slippy the ball slips from his grasp into the net.Disaster as the game was even enough ..........
    Came into half time still 1 down but felt the game was there still for us.
    2nd half we started well had Springers on the backfoot and got our reward on 65 mins when Trevor Hallisey who was having a blinder of a game swung in a great corner and Deccie Gostal knocked in from 6 yards to make it 1-1.......
    Couple of half chances for both sides but the ref blew to send the game into extra time.
    As i said above the turning point happened half way through this half with the sending off and the peno stayed 2-1 till the end of the 1st half.
    2nd half we went out and attacked got a half chance with 2 mins ago but got caught on the break for the springers man to finish of the game with the 3rd goal
    Dissapointed with the result missing a few players through injuries and suspensions but felt we could have taken this game only for that one incident that changed the whole game on his head ........best of luck to Springfield in the next round
    Fairly spot on match report there Scaffa. On the day we were not two goals better than you, but the poor weather conditions hampered both teams from playing free flowing football and as the match progressed the pitch cut up badly especially through the middle. Unfortunate error by your keeper for our first goal. But with the possession we had we really should have pushed on and got a second before half-time!.

Fair play to ye, ye never gave up and your direct play had us under a bit of pressure for second half and I suppose ye get your just-reward with the equaliser, . . . Onto Extra Time.

Regarding the incident you claimed to have, ''changed the game'' . . .Your player did handle the ball inside the box, thus preventing a goal scoring chance (probably a caution in itself on top of penalty), but it was his and your teams foul and abusive language towards the ref along with your teams surrounding of the ref (ala, Roy Keane & Man Utd style, also Terry/Lampard and Chelsea style) that prob influenced the ref into the caution. . . Plus wasnt this player booked earlier during normal time!!!.
    So my look on the incident : previous caution, hand ball in the box(preventing a goal scoring chance(deliberate or not)) and foul&abusive language towards ref, should result in a sending-off.
    Third goal we got obviously was a break away after ye had committed everything forward to find a second equaliser.

Anyway, best of luck to ye for the rest of the Season. Great game and battle in Saturday, hopefully get a chance to renew rivalry next Season.
    Last edited by offside rule; 21/03/2011 at 10:21 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by padjoe View Post
    "Should a situation arise where a player has been sent from the field, that their further actions warrant an incident report to be submitted and that action is of a serious enough nature to be deemed, in itself, to be a sending off then we ask….
    That you note on the incident report the nature of the second offence with exact explicit details, facts only, and state “the second offence would a sending off offence under the Laws of the Game” (that is a second red card offence)"

So in effect if you commit a dangerous foul that's one red card and then as you walk off and say you a cheating **** referee, you are biased etc etc then that would be considered as a second red.
    Makes sense alright. A danger for refs maybe that the sight of a second red could drive the wrong kind of lunatic over the edge altogether. I don't envy youse the job overall.

28 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Learpholl View Post
    New here, but I watched most of this game on Saturday. Did you not think it was a penalty scaffa? Looked a blatant handball which stopped a certain goal from where I was so I thought the ref made the right call.

Agree the 3rd was harsh on Bohs though and only happened as a result of ye pushing after going behind.
    Hi Learpholl welcome to the mad house!!.......I was on the sideline (Suspended due to 4 yellow cards Grrrrrr!!) but did nt have a clear view of the handball as there was a player in my way but from what i was told it did hit him in the hand so therefore the correct decision was made

Quote Originally Posted by offside rule View Post
    Fairly spot on match report there Scaffa. On the day we were not two goals better than you, but the poor weather conditions hampered both teams from playing free flowing football and as the match progressed the pitch cut up badly especially through the middle. Unfortunate error by your keeper for our first goal. But with the possession we had we really should have pushed on and got a second before half-time!.

Fair play to ye, ye never gave up and your direct play had us under a bit of pressure for second half and I suppose ye get your just-reward with the equaliser, . . . Onto Extra Time.

Regarding the incident you claimed to have, ''changed the game'' . . .Your player did handle the ball inside the box, thus preventing a goal scoring chance (probably a caution in itself on top of penalty), but it was his and your teams foul and abusive language towards the ref along with your teams surrounding of the ref (ala, Roy Keane & Man Utd style, also Terry/Lampard and Chelsea style) that prob influenced the ref into the caution. . . Plus wasnt this player booked earlier during normal time!!!.
    So my look on the incident : previous caution, hand ball in the box(preventing a goal scoring chance(deliberate or not)) and foul&abusive language towards ref, should result in a sending-off.
    Third goal we got obviously was a break away after ye had committed everything forward to find a second equaliser.

Anyway, best of luck to ye for the rest of the Season. Great game and battle in Saturday, hopefully get a chance to renew rivalry next Season.
    I dont think he was booked but i spoke to him after the game and he said the ball hit him in the hand after it deflected of someone else and that he did nt do it deliberately.....
    But i know the language was uncalled for but id put that down to more frustration on his and the players parts with the decision which of course was right and as you said maybe a booking would have been a fairer result with the peno and as i said it did "change the game"
    But i could nt see any team scoring in extra time and had the feeling the game would have been decided by penos but as i said in my earlier posts best of luck in the next round think its Wilton so should be another tough game for ye!!
    Last edited by scaffa7; 22/03/2011 at 4:09 PM.
    WE ARE GOING UP I SAID WE ARE GOING UP!!!!! BOHS CHAMPIONS 1A 09/10

71 Posts

Gday

Nice to have you back padjoe. Stay in touch and we might learn something from each other. You can say whats going through a refs mind.

Should a ref not change his mind if he is wrong? He has a little time before the game restarts or whatever. I agree with what you did with the U12s.

If players etc know what a ref is thinking and the ref knows what the player is thinking it would help get rid of the us and them scenario.

Good point Horse. Wouldn't really see it as a weakness in ref if he changed a decision once he realised what had really happened. In the case I mentioned earlier, our feeling was the ref blew for a free kick, then realised it was in the penalty area, thought "oh ****" I'm not giving a pen for that and came up with the indirect free kick botch job. Or else of course he just doesn't know the rules. Would have been better if he had just changed his mind, decided not to award a free kick and dropped the ball.

Horse, what I done that day was morally correct but in practice it was foolish. I should've allowed the penalty and no one would be none the wiser.

If a referee looks weak then he is easily influenced from the line. Because I play I have adopted the attitude as to what i would like when I play.

I have often had quiet words with a player on the pitch to say to look mate you're going up with your hands and i'll have to blow next time or look mate stay on your feet cause the pitch is too greasy for a tackle like that and the players are generally acknowledging of the advice.

In times i have held my hand and said yeah I made a mistake it happens and we all make mistakes. Jesus playing in goals I dropped more balls through the gloves its a wonder i didnt take up refereeing earlier.

The problem i find with a lot of coaches, players and supporters is their ignorance to the rules.

You would be amazed at the amount of people who play the game who actually don't know the rules. Refereed on the northside last year, three attacking players chasing the one ball. The one in middle was offside from the start of run which was a ball over the top, the other two players were onside. The player in the middle got to the ball first and I had to blow for interference.
    Everyone screamed and roared at me, I stopped the game and went to sideline and explained and I got..."oh sorry about that ref, we didn't know...good call."

But from previous posts it seems it referees who are oblivious to some rules but also sometimes we don't know there is a rule for that until something happens. The best example is Mark Clattenburg refereeing United V Spurs earlier in the year. Sometimes we just get caught out.

20 Posts
    predictions

Mossie Linnane League Cup Final
    Killumney Utd v Kinsale,draw penos who knows
    Premier League
    Grattan Utd v Wilton Utd,wilton
    Coachford v Macroom,macroom
    Blarney St Ath v Leeside, draw
    Knockavilla Celtic v Park Utd, draw
    Premier A League
    Village Utd v Kanturk,kanturk
    Blackstone Rovers v Glenthorn Celtic,blackstone
    Castleview v Greenwood,greenwood
    Pearse Celtic v Leeds, pearse

I don't think i got any right last week:

Mossie Linnane League Cup Final
    Killumney Utd v Kinsale-Kinsale
    Premier League
    Grattan Utd v Wilton Utd-Wilton
    Coachford v Macroom-Draw
    Blarney St Ath v Leeside-Leeside
    Knockavilla Celtic v Park Utd-Knockavilla
    Premier A League
    Village Utd v Kanturk-Kanturk
    Blackstone Rovers v Glenthorn Celtic-Blackstone
    Castleview v Greenwood-Greenwood
    Pearse Celtic v Leeds-Pearse

On another note, a few notable absentees. Shetland and Trouble, lads where are ye gone? Trouble are you hiding because of Boh's bad patch? or is your computer broken...again!

27 Posts
    Lads, just saw the first set of midweek fixtures and someone correct me if im wrong, but is 6pm kick off the earliest ever? i recall 6.30 and even 6.15 but does anyone else think it turns the leagues into a farce? Coachford for example are away to kinsale! What time do these lads have to finish work to make this? There will be cars p...ing down roads all over the place, no warm ups being done, teams starting with 9 or ten players etc.. A 6.30 ko with 5mins for half time would make a tremendous difference and is perfectly feasible. More solid thinking from the AUL!!!!!! Any comments?

Quote Originally Posted by overthehill View Post
    Lads, just saw the first set of midweek fixtures and someone correct me if im wrong, but is 6pm kick off the earliest ever? i recall 6.30 and even 6.15 but does anyone else think it turns the leagues into a farce? Coachford for example are away to kinsale! What time do these lads have to finish work to make this? There will be cars p...ing down roads all over the place, no warm ups being done, teams starting with 9 or ten players etc.. A 6.30 ko with 5mins for half time would make a tremendous difference and is perfectly feasible. More solid thinking from the AUL!!!!!! Any comments?
    Holy Christ lads just saw that myself, thats a disgrace. How in the name of god are we supposesd to make a 6pm kick off in Kinsale and be properly prepared, thats turning the league into a farce.

Typically we ve a game this week end against Macroom and Grattan the week after as weekend fixtures, two teams reasonably close to us and they send us down to Kinsale on a Tueday night, does the fixture secretary have any brain in his head at all. Park as well to Leeside making a 6pm ko, How are lads supposed to get the time off work in the current climate.

I held my counsel over the season regading fixtures, but enough is enough, of the 8 games we have left after this week end, 6 of them are away, thats not making any sense to me.
    Last edited by Inswinger; 25/03/2011 at 9:04 AM.

20 Posts
    id agree with ye lads its a joke ye'd wanted to b meeting around 4:15 with work the way it is be very hard for lads to get off work.park lads is well.wouldnt it ave made more sence to play coachford vs macroom the midweek fixture.

Page 89 of 121 FirstFirst ... 3979878889909199 ... LastLast