Results 1,601 to 1,620 of 2414

Thread: Cork AUL 2010/11

Quote Originally Posted by Dixie's Cousin View Post
    Looking at the fixtures some teams have left the AUL have to look into moving the league to a summer league. It's makes sense!
    Never a fan of summer football always preferred playing in the rain but the amount of games called off in the last few years is ridiculious. Very hard to get a run going. Usually the more successful teams end up getting punished at the end of the season with lots of games together. It defineitly needs to be looked at or at least discussed at a delegate meeting.

21 Posts
    I think summer football is the way to go.
    Super surfaces to play on - encouraging a better brand of football.
    No games called off.
    Teams could opt to play on a thursday or friday night - leaving the weekends free.
    The league could shut down for 3 weeks mid summer for holidays.
    Definitely worth investigating.

We must have had 10 wasted weekends already this season - there has to be a better way.

Quote Originally Posted by Shilts View Post
    I think summer football is the way to go.
    Super surfaces to play on - encouraging a better brand of football.
    No games called off.
    Teams could opt to play on a thursday or friday night - leaving the weekends free.
    The league could shut down for 3 weeks mid summer for holidays.
    Definitely worth investigating.

We must have had 10 wasted weekends already this season - there has to be a better way.
    I think you may be right Shints , although any team that have hopes of a good run in the FAI & Munster Junior Cup's would be playing all year round. It would be hard for a team in January playing the likes of Pike or Calomel with no competitive games for weeks before.
    Be Champions

Pass&Move you are spot on but look at the russian teams in the champions league, I'm sure teams that play at the highest level wouldn't mind sorting out friendlies to get up to match fitness

& the last time a Russian team won the Champions League was?
    Be Champions

Quote Originally Posted by pass&move View Post
    & the last time a Russian team won the Champions League was?
    True I suppose, but facilities will have to get better rather than have weeks and weeks without matches

Shetland, do you suggest the manager comes from the AUL and give up his club job for the season to concentrate on the AUL team?

With regards to the AUL manager Niall. I know him personally and he is a good manager. The team were a shade unfortunate at the weekend but we must remember the AUL have only won it twice in 64 years. Not the easiest trophy to win. But I wonder did the AUL Committee open a can of worms letting a MSL manager manage the team. Is this a first?
    As I said before if they were going to let a MSL manager do it then ask Billy Cronin, John Caulfield, Patsy Freyne, Phil Harrington, etc. What do ye guys think? If they were going to cross the line should they have went all the way?

Quote Originally Posted by The 'View View Post
    As I said before if they were going to let a MSL manager do it then ask Billy Cronin, John Caulfield, Patsy Freyne, Phil Harrington, etc. What do ye guys think? If they were going to cross the line should they have went all the way?
    Wasn't he the manager of Knockavilla Celtic the year they were promoted?
    Be Champions

21 Posts
    Sometimes our expectations of how well the Cork AUL team should do are unreasonable.

No Cork AUL team has won the FAI Junior Cup (or even been close) in living memory.
    We usually win the Munster Junior Cup every 10 years or so (4 in the last 40 years).

The Cork AUL team won the Oscar Traynor Cup in 2009 for the first time in over 40 years.
    This 2009 group had better players than are usually available to Cork AUL team managers.
    Also, this team was extremely lucky to win the competition.

In view of the above, why do we think that we should be OT contenders EVERY year?

Tipperary have no senior league. They have teams like Clonmel Town and St. Michaels who are consistenly better than the top Cork AUL teams.
    They consistently have numerous junior and amateur internationals.
    We don't - not because of some anti-Cork bias, it's because over time our players have not been good enough.
    And those that are good enough are usually recruited by clubs in the MSL.

I wasn't surprised to lose to Tipperary, because there are better players playing in their premier division than ours.
    Ocassionally, like in last years QF we will catch them out, but usually they will beat us (in my opinion we were very lucky to beat them last year).

The manager can only do his best with what's available.
    Opinions will always vary about a couple of selected players but the majority of those selected will be correct decisions.

What I'm trying to say is - Jose Mourinho himself couldn't win the Oscar Traynor Cup for the Cork AUL as often as some posters here would like.

For a position without any remuneration, there are not a lot of positives to entice quality candidates to apply for the job
    -avarage players (at this level)
    - unreasonable expectations from league members
    - a lot of hard work for very little reward

Last edited by Shilts; 22/02/2011 at 3:34 PM.

Were you at the game shetland ?, if you were you will have seen that they brought on Skilington from Blackstone but to be fair to him it was a hard game to get into. Just dont understand why they opted for the high ball when it wasnt working.

alot of reports on the aul game thats fair enough , but naming the player above is totally out of order, could you do a better job himself playing there?
    Quote Originally Posted by super_mario View Post
    Cork AUL were beaten by the better team can have no complaints really, to many posers and not enough players with a bit of spirit if you ask me, my first time watching them this season and I wasn't at all impressed.. A team needs battlers and players that will drag the team on there own if needs be, today the so called big men went hiding if you ask me, all Kearney was short was a mirror on the pitch cos all he did was look at himself all day..

You need players of old like shinkwin maybe John betts, Brian o Sullivan and maybe Colin bevan who will fight for every ball for 90minutes and always stand up and be counted.... Thought the manager was very slow to change things aswell....

So 2 years and nothing to show for it, point proven you can't manage a team or pick players the way he did and expect to be successful!!! You have to be able to travel to atleast one or 2 games every weekend to see what's available and playing well etc, this thing about clubs sending players names by e-mail was never gonna work as every club thinks they should have 3 or 4 starting on it so the standard sent out couldn't have been great!!

theres definetly alot of pluses for summer soccer they could play the fai and munster junior cup during the summer, this wont be just in cork it will be all over the country in the next few years

Lads, let's move on from the AUL team. Niall O'Regan hasn't officially left the post as there is one more match to play. So it would be unfair to talk about who is going to succeed him.

25 Posts
    Lads, let's move on from the AUL team. Niall O'Regan hasn't officially left the post as there is one more match to play. So it would be unfair to talk about who is going to succeed him.
    What one more match have ye to play? Thought just one team came out of the group and TSDL had to win to stay in the competition.
    By the way the TSDL team consisted of 7 St.Michaels players, 3 from Clonmel Town and 1 from Clonmel Celtic.

71 Posts
    Well done to the AUL guys - a bit of luck in the first half and the game could have been different. Someone says the manager needs to watch the games to see the players in their best position. Did he not ask the club managers (the man who knows them best) to forward names of players "to be looked at"? Niall's 3 assistants see games every week, and I know for a fact players are recommended and have been called up on the basis of what they 3 guys have seen.

Were all 40 managers wrong before Minty?
    Would Minty take it again?
    Would the Kinsale manager travel to the city every Sunday to see games?
    On a serious note, would you be a candidate Shetland, if you plan to ease back a little?

27 Posts
    Not all rosey with summer soccer and i wouldnt be a fan myself. Shilts, ye might have a great surface but for some pitches the aul allow games on you would be as well playing on the road- clashduf rd springs to mind. Bone hard uneven surfaces lead to blisters, ankle sprains, knee problems etc. Also how many of us could tell her indoors that we have to plan our holidays in a 3 week window to suit the soccer!!! Might be a few permanent holidays after that!
    A close look and better organisation of fixtures would help eg, last weekend was a complete shut down of fixtures for the premier teams, why could they not have played the oscar game under lights on a friday night, and put fixtures on sunday?
    Successful teams will always have a backlog. Arsenal- looking at 6 games in 17 days, bet wolves would like to have this "problem".
    Nah guys, stick with the damp and the mud - what would we do in the winter without the beautiful game..... head to Garrettstown?

Quote Originally Posted by the owl View Post
    Were you at the game shetland ?, if you were you will have seen that they brought on Skilington from Blackstone but to be fair to him it was a hard game to get into. Just dont understand why they opted for the high ball when it wasnt working.
    yes i was owl and i agree skilly was brought on far to late in my oppinion.

28 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by overthehill View Post
    Not all rosey with summer soccer and i wouldnt be a fan myself. Shilts, ye might have a great surface but for some pitches the aul allow games on you would be as well playing on the road- clashduf rd springs to mind. Bone hard uneven surfaces lead to blisters, ankle sprains, knee problems etc. Also how many of us could tell her indoors that we have to plan our holidays in a 3 week window to suit the soccer!!! Might be a few permanent holidays after that!
    A close look and better organisation of fixtures would help eg, last weekend was a complete shut down of fixtures for the premier teams, why could they not have played the oscar game under lights on a friday night, and put fixtures on sunday?
    Successful teams will always have a backlog. Arsenal- looking at 6 games in 17 days, bet wolves would like to have this "problem".
    Nah guys, stick with the damp and the mud - what would we do in the winter without the beautiful game..... head to Garrettstown?
    Yep have to agree i know its a balls if you have a backlog of games at the end of the season, happened to us last year and nearly cost us the league but have to agree nothing worse than a rock hard pitch just take Greenwoods for example nothing against the team but we played on that surface and holy **** there was some bloody legs and injuries after that pitch it was like playing on concrete dangerous aswell and most pitches would be like that even our own ....cant beat a sliding tackle through the wet grass and mud!!!
    WE ARE GOING UP I SAID WE ARE GOING UP!!!!! BOHS CHAMPIONS 1A 09/10

Quote Originally Posted by Shilts View Post
    Sometimes our expectations of how well the Cork AUL team should do are unreasonable.

No Cork AUL team has won the FAI Junior Cup (or even been close) in living memory.
    We usually win the Munster Junior Cup every 10 years or so (4 in the last 40 years).

The Cork AUL team won the Oscar Traynor Cup in 2009 for the first time in over 40 years.
    This 2009 group had better players than are usually available to Cork AUL team managers.
    Also, this team was extremely lucky to win the competition.
    Shilts agree with some of what you're saying. Maybe the expectations are too high but we should probably always harbour some hopes of winning. The MSL probably do take most of the good players from the AUL and the likes of Pike Rovers, Fairview, Clonmel & St.Michael's usually have a lot of Internationals.
    When you say that the manager can only do his best with what he has is true but this is where the difference of opinion is. This is where the manager proves himself. I've seen some players who are very average win Senior medals. The manager sees what he has and sets up the team accordingly. The best 11 players don't always make the best team. Defineitly saw this in 2005 when Castleview won Senior league, I'm positive if it hadn't been Patsy Freyne in charge we wouldn't have won with the squad of players we had. He got the best out of a couple of very average players over the season.

With regards to the FAI and Munster Junior Cups you're right we don't do well but you're history is a little out. Teams have been close to FAI glory in living memory, I regularly chat to some guys who played in an FAI Junior Cup final. Outside of Castleview in 1962 there were 5 others in the final since then the last being Temple Utd.1987.
    The Munster Junior Cup has been won 18 times in the last 50 odd years by Cork teams with many more runners up. We're not as bad as 4 in the last 40 years.

Lads must say things have got a bit bitchy lately. Think the northside clubs so close to each other should be helping each other but on this site they seem to be at each others throats- Blackstone & Ballyvolane,Blarney St. & Bohemians.
    Last edited by dahamsta; 22/02/2011 at 9:10 PM. Reason: Please don't quote entire posts, and use MultiQuote.

Page 81 of 121 FirstFirst ... 3171798081828391 ... LastLast