Well lads a dissaponting result below in Madden Park, might sound suprising to some reading this but we felt we could get something down there.
We won the toss and decided to play in to the gale and we had a lot of the ball first 20 mins, kept it on the deck and pass it about but for all our play didnt test Hurley. Gave away a cornor that was cleared with a header , the defence ran out there righ winger beat the offside took a tame shot that was saved but put in on the rebound, very soft goal to concide.It was felt that if we could hold out till the half we we be grand cause some of our kick out through no fault of Crow were reaching 30 yards! very strong winds down there. Well we didnt got caught in posccesion of the ball outside our own box and late challenge abd a fre kick conceded. Up stepped Derek Mc to make it 2 nil.
2nd half we had all the ball but that was expected but the just mopped it up at the back and countered a few times. Crow came off injured so Eddie came on 10 mins into 2nd half. Kinsale broke down the left had numbers over, wipped across and contoleed ny the centre foward, Eddie came out , Cf got a touch and a penalty was the result. Derek Mc stepped up but saved. Taught this was the moment to drive us on. Gary Nolan took a wonderful curling shot from out on the right but Hurley pulled a marvellous save out of the bag with a diving tip over the top. Jonesy was a having a few rants on the Kinsale line and was sent off . Hurley had been talked to by the ref during the 2nd half for wasting time and was again warned. kick it out we got a header but out for another goal kick,he switched over sides , ref went in booked him something else happened at he got a red!! on came There asstaint Quinn and we pushed and pushed but to no availe the held through. Kinsale is a tough place to get anything anytime but the conceding of sloppy goals through indivdual mistakes is catching us. You got to give them credit were its due those boys know how to win games be it defend and break or through some magic from one or two, Well done to Kinslae on a deserved victory
Offside great result up in The Pale!!!!
delighted for ye. I dont care weather a Cork team wins 1 nil through a dodgy pen or a 5-4 flucky win , any win in Dublin is excellent. Great stuff. Hope ye keep going![]()
"Build it and they will come"
County Cup 2nd Rd.
Killowen 2 Corkbeg 3 (A.E.T.)
Fair play to both sides for an entertaining game in terrible conditions, a strong wind blowing up towards the top goal made it a lottery. We had the wind in the 1st half and were 2-0 up after 20 minutes. Conceded a sloppy goal after half an hour to make it 2-1 at the break. Corkbeg piled on the pressure in the 2nd half and equalised in the 65th minute. Both sides had decent chances near the end. They had one effort cleared off the line and we hit the bar from a free kick with two minutes remaining. We had the wind for the first period of E.T. and nearly scored with a couple of long range shots. When it seemed like we were heading to penalties Corkbeg struck for the winner in the 104th minute. Our keeper made a brilliant stop from a close range header but their player reacted faster to the rebound. We had claims for a penalty late on but nothing doing. Best of luck to Corkbeg in the next round.
"Garlic bread - it’s the future, I’ve tasted it."
Brian Potter - Phoenix Nights
i must agree with you here horse.. i feel there are only a small handful of men in the middle worthy of their fee.. and those referees are the ones who care about what they do.. the rest of them are only there because the fees are so handy for them.. they have no consideration for the clubs who have little money and are being crippled by these ridicolous fines.. a home game including referee, lining of pitch + washing of gear costs 85 euro as it stand, without these people dishing out yellow cards for fun and cippling clubs!!
i spoke to a few lads from yourselves yesterday and they all seemed to have a moan about the referee in question.. in relation to the game by all accounts it was suppose to be great to watch.. well done bohs, great win, keep up the good work.. killumney win 4-0 against a very very weak castleview this morning also..
TOLKA 2 - 3 SPRINGFIELD
Firstly, sorry for delay in posting, celebrating went on into wee hours of the morning and thus had a knock-on effect on the body today.
Scondly, thanks Cas for your comments above.
Set out from Cobh at 08.30 yesterday morning-arriving in Bewleys(Newlands X) for scrambled eggs tea & toast at 12.00. Out at pitch then for 13.00.
Facilities were unbelivable up there, dressing room, clubhouse(with bar & viewing area) and a pitch that was like a billiard table!. Weather also was ideal for a good game of ball.
Lively start and went 1up inside first 10mins(ball stabbed home from a long throw & flick-on). 2nil up before half-time, from a free kick near corner flag, ball crossed in bounced around the six yard box taking a few deflections and then stabbed home by one of our central defenders. In at half time 2-0, but we knew second half was going to be a battle.
Eraly on in we switched off for a quick corner for Tolka and we were punished when there no.10 picked the ball up at edge of the box and finished well. Response was more or less imminent. Great team play, midfielder(1) won possession in our half, played one-two with midfilder(2), then fed our stiker up top he did very well holdin the ball up and played a clever back-heel pass into the path of the on rushing midfielder(2) who beautifull chipped the Tolka keeper from 25yards out.
Tolka did have the greater overall possession but mainly across ther defence on the half way line, never really penetrated us that much. They did score from edge of the box after we failed to clear our lines. Set up a nervy final 15mins but we managed to hold on for a well earned victory.
Credit to Tolka and thier facilities - had grub laid on for us afterwards and the few pints in their clubhouse went down a treat.
Spirits were high on the bus trip home.
Awaiting outcome for the next round(prob another away trip to Dublin), Home next week to Abbeyfeale in Munster Junior Cup!!!
Last edited by offside rule; 13/02/2011 at 3:34 PM.
WILTON 6 VS MACROOM 2...
what a footballing lesson we got today by the best footballing team in the aul in my opinion...they up one nil after 15mins great ball from their centre half split our defence wide open great finish from the striker...they had more chances and really should ave been two or three up going into the break but we got back on level terms with bout 12 mins to go in the 1st half 1-1 at the break taught we were doing quiet well considering we were missing 6 players..but no excuse for what happened in the 2nd half.they tore us apart..gifted them three goals in side ten mins..shane o neill with a hat trick i think...4-1 they got two more not long after that gave the ball away too cheaply myself at fault....manged to get one back 6-2...lost to a far better team won and they will be up their at the end of the season......
Last edited by sharpshooter; 13/02/2011 at 6:14 PM.
Lads a couple of points. 1st with regards to that ref selling gear, I think we all know who he is, he's tried on numerous occasions to sell us gear. Ridiculious really. 2nd have to say Springfields result in Dublin was brilliant, have to congratulate ye Offside great result. Ye won't fear anyone now. 3rd wasn't at our game this morning but from talking to a few guys we were desperately short. Very dissapointing really as we had been on a little run of late. We had 1 suspended and 3 injured but still thought we'd give them a game. Never really got going and no complaints about the result, could have been more from listening to the match reports. Just put it down as bad day at the office and look to our next game.
Well done Springfield, great result up there. Hard luck to Coachford, any details on their tie up in Wicklow?
"Garlic bread - it’s the future, I’ve tasted it."
Brian Potter - Phoenix Nights
Cant understand all this hullabaloo about selling gear the man is trying to make a living at it i know he might be leaving himself open to a bit of criticism about favouring another team cause they bought "a set of gear from him" but he reffed our game yesterday and reffed it very fairly i thought and in this day an age a man trying to make a living and getting slated over it is a bit ridiculous..........oh ya the gear we bought of him was excellent and would have no bother doing business with the man again
WE ARE GOING UP I SAID WE ARE GOING UP!!!!! BOHS CHAMPIONS 1A 09/10
County Cup ( 2nd Round )
Innishvilla 3 - 0 Coachford
Today we got well beaten by a side that in my opinion will be playing Premier sooner rather than later !
We gave away a spotter in the first half which they converted, 1-0 at half time. They got a second which ( on a weekend that Wayne Rooney's strike will be remembered ) would grace any soccer pitch. We pushed for a goal to try get us back into it but unfortunately this left us wide open at the back. They got a third which ended the game as a contest
As said before they are a team heading in the right direction. They are a young team who from the goalie out to the centre forward can knock it around with ease. They have a fantastic set up down there and are well on the way to greater things.
Congratulations on your result today and best of luck in the future.
By all accounts our first tream were outclassed by the Wicklow boys, I think they had 3 ex Bray wanderers in their squad. Wicklow led 1-0, 1-1 and 2-1 with around half an hour to go . Inswinger to give a more detailed report.
Congrats to Springfield , What a result away from home, Unfortunately ye are on your travels again for the next round but sur' you'd never know how things may fair out. I think when you get to this stage of that cup a home draw is essential.
To escape criticism ~
do nothing, say nothing, be nothing.
scaffa i think there is a time and a place for everything. before games i dont think is right ..if cubs need to be contacted use sec book and sell the gear that way.
A tremendous result for the springers! Never easy to get anything in Dublin. From what i hear this side would not be out of place in our premier league - still flying the cork flag in the munster junior cup too! Hope all these games dont cost ye later in the league as ye will be playing 3 games a week, every week as soon as the evening games come in. Keep it going Offside and best of luck!
Good point Shetland, Referees cant be" doing business" with a clubs officers half an hour before doing a match with them involved! Crazy!
Good point Scaffa dont see any reason even mentioning the bloke trying to sell gear to clubs!
Hes trying to make a few pound like the rest of us on this site.
And if a club dosent want gear im sure he wont offence to it and punish you but if you come on here and slate him publically on the net you cant be doing your club any favours when you get him again!!
He isnt doing us any favours whether we do or not!! If he wants to sell gear to clubs maybe he should contact them in an alternative manner!! To be honest i wonder if it doesnt break some sort of code of conduct.
When i was involved with Hibs i was approached with regards gear - samples of gear etc were brought to my house and i had no problem whatsoever with that - but before a game is a COMPLETE and UTTER DISGRACE!!
And for those saying coming on here slating him is out of order - i think the AUL committee might be interested to hear what he is doing!!
Last edited by olachico; 13/02/2011 at 8:46 PM.
Code of conduct??
Ah Olac come on. Dont be bringing heat on the man for trying to make a few quid. He has bills aswell as the rest of us!!
Im not rubbing it in Olac but he asked two questions Sat one to ye and one to Bohs. Bohs said ya and bought a few bits and ye didnt. They didnt win for that reason!!
I dont think your players had the ref on there minds during the game thinking ''yer man has some neck dont he asking us to buy gear '' when ye left in goals.
Reffing a game bad is one thing but his business is his own!!
Ghost i work in the pharmaceutical industry - should i be peddling drugs on the sidelines???
I didnt blame him for us losing! I did also say i thought our second goal was offside - I said i thought he reffed the game badly!! Maybe he should focus on selling his jerseys and not so much on the reffing!
Totally agree ghost and the business we done with the said person was done on a Wednesday on the phone i think this whole topic is getting out of hand really as you said ghost his business is his own ........... this point was only brought up through a little snide remark towards us anyway
WE ARE GOING UP I SAID WE ARE GOING UP!!!!! BOHS CHAMPIONS 1A 09/10
Dont know why you think it was a snide remark towards ye! Can ye people read?? I thought he got decisions wrong for ye too!
But seriously Scaffa if you were looking at this as a neutral you would think it stinks - ye buy gear off him wednesday and ye are reffed by him the following match - ye are putting money in his pocket and we arent