Douglas Hall 2 v 2 Blackstone Rovers (aet), Douglas won 5-4 pens.
A shocking night for football, game was kinda dodgy beforehand. Gale force wind and driving rain with the hill. (Without knocking the fabulous facilities in Douglas, is it strange that a brand new all weather pitch isnt more level?) 1 of 14 goals scored in top goal in 3 games?
We started with the conditions and went close once or twice before going 1 up on the half hour. Started second half ready for backs to the walls but it didnt happen. We had more of the ball in their half and went 2 up after about 55. They pushed but we were comfortable. Had a big peno shout turned down. Got punished for our only 2 weather-induced errors on 79 & 81 (amazing finish). Nothing happened in extra time as we carried 2 injured men.
Penos - 9 of first 10 scored with our 5th one missed. Sickened but proud! Ola was ringing for an update but I was so wet that I couldnt even try and search my pockets for my phone! Easier playing Id say in these conditions.
Onwards and upwards. Our confidence will actually improve from last night. We did well, and were unlucky.
The Leeside v Ballyvolane game should never have went ahead. When it was cancelled after 15 minutes Tom Tully was correct in calling it. If the ball can't be placed it more or less justifies the decision. I'd say Dermot in goal just didnt fancy the high winds so didnt bother placing it correctly..............
Yeah, our placed balls wouldnt settle either.
Probably could have been called off or abandoned a few times - especially when the goalpost moved!
However, we played and should have won so no complaints
Remember a few years back Street finished runners up in the 1st Div (13 or 14 years ago). The manager changed the whole set up and brought them from being a pub team to a proper footballing team. He was a guy with a pony tail if I remember. During close season he was shown the door for no apparent reason. Voted out 2 to one. One family heavily involved that time. So its nothing knew.
Ya thats true, unreal. The Dublin schoolboys league advertised it wrong. It was down for Sat. on the daily Star and the dublin schoolboys website. Apparently they contacted the Castleview when they were outside the pitch wondering what was happening. Some mix up, cost them a fortune I'd say, they stayed over night.
SCAF see ye won yer appeal big three points for ye.
Hi lads, ive been watching this forum for over a year now and felt it was time to get involved, it seems like great banter and i hope it wont take me long to get in the swing of things. just ta give ye a background on myself, im a northsider and watch quite a few of grattan, castleview, bohs, and knocknaheeny celtic games. very sad to see knocknaheeny lose their semi final sunday, could have been a day out lads. pity to see grattan go through such a bad patch, when it rains it pours, looking forward to when their back on their feet. castleview playing very well last couple of weeks, pity they got off to a slow start. and bohs doing very well, i see alot of action in and out over last few weeks. the next few months should be very interesting for all the northside teams.
thanks dixie. not too sure how these quotes things or anything work but im sure i wont be long before i get the hang of things.
Yup can confirm our appeal was successful against Glenthorn and wer awarded the 3 points..........The tables are up on the aul site here https://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?...0E&hl=en#gid=0
WE ARE GOING UP I SAID WE ARE GOING UP!!!!! BOHS CHAMPIONS 1A 09/10
that must put ye in a great position now scaffa7. i know ye have a long way to go but those 3 points could be crucial come the end of the season. keep up the good work.
Heard earlier that AUL are meeting again during the week to deal with other problems concerning illegal players. Heard who one of the clubs is but dont think this is time to reveal. Clubs would want to realise that Cork is a small place when it comes to football matters...
all these clubs playing illegal players should be deducted points. its is not fair on the teams out there trying to play the game in a fair manner. who are the clubs replacing to play these illegal players??, only thier own dedicated players who have probaly served them through d good and the bad days but are probaly not the best technical players. loyalty seems to be going out the window, and the managers have to take the majority of the blame..
FAI JUNIOR CUP
The Coachford bus rolls into Wicklow on Saturday hoping to keep the flag flying lads. Best of luck from Coachford to Springfield who travel to Dublin to play Tolka and Park who travel to Limerick to play Pike in the MJC.