Page 73 of 121 FirstFirst ... 2363717273747583 ... LastLast
Results 1,441 to 1,460 of 2414

Thread: Cork AUL 2010/11

71 Posts
    Douglas Hall 2 v 2 Blackstone Rovers (aet), Douglas won 5-4 pens.

A shocking night for football, game was kinda dodgy beforehand. Gale force wind and driving rain with the hill. (Without knocking the fabulous facilities in Douglas, is it strange that a brand new all weather pitch isnt more level?) 1 of 14 goals scored in top goal in 3 games?

We started with the conditions and went close once or twice before going 1 up on the half hour. Started second half ready for backs to the walls but it didnt happen. We had more of the ball in their half and went 2 up after about 55. They pushed but we were comfortable. Had a big peno shout turned down. Got punished for our only 2 weather-induced errors on 79 & 81 (amazing finish). Nothing happened in extra time as we carried 2 injured men.

Penos - 9 of first 10 scored with our 5th one missed. Sickened but proud! Ola was ringing for an update but I was so wet that I couldnt even try and search my pockets for my phone! Easier playing Id say in these conditions.

Onwards and upwards. Our confidence will actually improve from last night. We did well, and were unlucky.

Quote Originally Posted by Horse24 View Post
    Douglas Hall 2 v 2 Blackstone Rovers (aet), Douglas won 5-4 pens.

A shocking night for football, game was kinda dodgy beforehand. Gale force wind and driving rain with the hill. (Without knocking the fabulous facilities in Douglas, is it strange that a brand new all weather pitch isnt more level?) 1 of 14 goals scored in top goal in 3 games?

We started with the conditions and went close once or twice before going 1 up on the half hour. Started second half ready for backs to the walls but it didnt happen. We had more of the ball in their half and went 2 up after about 55. They pushed but we were comfortable. Had a big peno shout turned down. Got punished for our only 2 weather-induced errors on 79 & 81 (amazing finish). Nothing happened in extra time as we carried 2 injured men.

Penos - 9 of first 10 scored with our 5th one missed. Sickened but proud! Ola was ringing for an update but I was so wet that I couldnt even try and search my pockets for my phone! Easier playing Id say in these conditions.

Onwards and upwards. Our confidence will actually improve from last night. We did well, and were unlucky.
    sounds like it shouldnt have went ahead at all horse.we were rageing ours was abondoned ,and now could loose home advantage. not a fan of those all weather pitches very high bounce and even worse in wind id say,.

The Leeside v Ballyvolane game should never have went ahead. When it was cancelled after 15 minutes Tom Tully was correct in calling it. If the ball can't be placed it more or less justifies the decision. I'd say Dermot in goal just didnt fancy the high winds so didnt bother placing it correctly..............

71 Posts
    Yeah, our placed balls wouldnt settle either.

Probably could have been called off or abandoned a few times - especially when the goalpost moved!

However, we played and should have won so no complaints

61 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by olachico View Post
    Lads I can confirm that no one in Grattan placed that ad - was possibly placed by a disgruntled former player
    Been off line for awhile but I was told that as well by a close associate of the club. Terrible going on,in fairness.

61 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The 'View View Post
    Lost today 4-1 to Wicklow Rovers in FAI Junior Cup. Played well enough but our young fellows didn't have enough experience. 2 down but they had a man sent off. We got well on top but had a second yellow for one of our men to level things. Got a goal back after 60mins and had 3 great chances to level things. They got their 3rd in injury time and also their 4th. Their a good team but nothing major. On a better note our U-15 team won 2-1 today against Avenue Utd.
    Any truth in the story that a Dublin team came down on Saturday for a Sunday kick off. Strange if true.

61 Posts
    What about Conroy and Egar? From watching Blarney St. these were good clubmen. Not sure what Committe are at, seem to be looking at short term success, which will end in long term sorrow.
    Remember a few years back Street finished runners up in the 1st Div (13 or 14 years ago). The manager changed the whole set up and brought them from being a pub team to a proper footballing team. He was a guy with a pony tail if I remember. During close season he was shown the door for no apparent reason. Voted out 2 to one. One family heavily involved that time. So its nothing knew.

61 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Radiostar View Post
    I must say that the amount of players that are changing clubs is ridicilous, a lot of this is down to the antics of certain managers continually tapping up players, there can never be loyalty with a lot of these clubs as players who have been with clubs for any length of time are being pushed out of teams by the new flavour of the month. It is particularly bad in the Northside clubs at the moment and because of this carry on, good clubs with managers who don't go around tapping up other clubs players are paying the price. These managers need to remember they are not managing Premiership clubs, this is local football. In recent times we have seen Ballyvolane B, Glenthorn B, Leeds B and quite likely Grattan B all pulled out of leagues. Some of these fellas need to cop on to themselves and we all know who they are. I know Shetland rubs a lot of fellas up the wrong way on this site, but one thing for sure is that he would never carry on like some other fellas I know. The sooner this deadline is over the better for the honourable clubs that are left.
    Heard for a fact that Henry Healys postman had to get extra help all last week.

Quote Originally Posted by Glenbuck View Post
    Any truth in the story that a Dublin team came down on Saturday for a Sunday kick off. Strange if true.
    Ya thats true, unreal. The Dublin schoolboys league advertised it wrong. It was down for Sat. on the daily Star and the dublin schoolboys website. Apparently they contacted the Castleview when they were outside the pitch wondering what was happening. Some mix up, cost them a fortune I'd say, they stayed over night.

SCAF see ye won yer appeal big three points for ye.

Hi lads, ive been watching this forum for over a year now and felt it was time to get involved, it seems like great banter and i hope it wont take me long to get in the swing of things. just ta give ye a background on myself, im a northsider and watch quite a few of grattan, castleview, bohs, and knocknaheeny celtic games. very sad to see knocknaheeny lose their semi final sunday, could have been a day out lads. pity to see grattan go through such a bad patch, when it rains it pours, looking forward to when their back on their feet. castleview playing very well last couple of weeks, pity they got off to a slow start. and bohs doing very well, i see alot of action in and out over last few weeks. the next few months should be very interesting for all the northside teams.

Quote Originally Posted by Beany Boy View Post
    Hi lads, ive been watching this forum for over a year now and felt it was time to get involved, it seems like great banter and i hope it wont take me long to get in the swing of things. just ta give ye a background on myself, im a northsider and watch quite a few of grattan, castleview, bohs, and knocknaheeny celtic games. very sad to see knocknaheeny lose their semi final sunday, could have been a day out lads. pity to see grattan go through such a bad patch, when it rains it pours, looking forward to when their back on their feet. castleview playing very well last couple of weeks, pity they got off to a slow start. and bohs doing very well, i see alot of action in and out over last few weeks. the next few months should be very interesting for all the northside teams.
    Welcome Beany, you seem to get to alot of matches, you'll have everybody looking for info

61 Posts
    Ya thats true, unreal. The Dublin schoolboys league advertised it wrong. It was down for Sat. on the daily Star and the dublin schoolboys website. Apparently they contacted the Castleview when they were outside the pitch wondering what was happening. Some mix up, cost them a fortune I'd say, they stayed over night.
    Heard John Lenihan was up reffing your neighbours and told them to check on i phone.

thanks dixie. not too sure how these quotes things or anything work but im sure i wont be long before i get the hang of things.

28 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by trouble View Post
    SCAF see ye won yer appeal big three points for ye.
    Yup can confirm our appeal was successful against Glenthorn and wer awarded the 3 points..........The tables are up on the aul site here https://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?...0E&hl=en#gid=0
    WE ARE GOING UP I SAID WE ARE GOING UP!!!!! BOHS CHAMPIONS 1A 09/10

that must put ye in a great position now scaffa7. i know ye have a long way to go but those 3 points could be crucial come the end of the season. keep up the good work.

61 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by scaffa7 View Post
    Yup can confirm our appeal was successful against Glenthorn and wer awarded the 3 points..........The tables are up on the aul site here https://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?...0E&hl=en#gid=0
    Heard earlier that AUL are meeting again during the week to deal with other problems concerning illegal players. Heard who one of the clubs is but dont think this is time to reveal. Clubs would want to realise that Cork is a small place when it comes to football matters...

Quote Originally Posted by Glenbuck View Post
    Heard earlier that AUL are meeting again during the week to deal with other problems concerning illegal players. Heard who one of the clubs is but dont think this is time to reveal. Clubs would want to realise that Cork is a small place when it comes to football matters...
    all these clubs playing illegal players should be deducted points. its is not fair on the teams out there trying to play the game in a fair manner. who are the clubs replacing to play these illegal players??, only thier own dedicated players who have probaly served them through d good and the bad days but are probaly not the best technical players. loyalty seems to be going out the window, and the managers have to take the majority of the blame..

FAI JUNIOR CUP

The Coachford bus rolls into Wicklow on Saturday hoping to keep the flag flying lads. Best of luck from Coachford to Springfield who travel to Dublin to play Tolka and Park who travel to Limerick to play Pike in the MJC.

Quote Originally Posted by Inswinger View Post
    FAI JUNIOR CUP

The Coachford bus rolls into Wicklow on Saturday hoping to keep the flag flying lads. Best of luck from Coachford to Springfield who travel to Dublin to play Tolka and Park who travel to Limerick to play Pike in the MJC.
    Best of luck to both clubs.. Do Cork proud..

Page 73 of 121 FirstFirst ... 2363717273747583 ... LastLast