Page 64 of 121 FirstFirst ... 1454626364656674114 ... LastLast
Results 1,261 to 1,280 of 2414

Thread: Cork AUL 2010/11

20 Posts
    ill just clear that one up lads i aint going no where...

WHat was the team last night lads?

Quote Originally Posted by shetland View Post
    ola come on and yes i know a win is a win and you can only beat whats put in front of you,,but i took in an hour of this game myself and the msl side were the worst i have ever seen,only as good as a normal aul one side.the best players of that msl team refuse to play according to manager of one of their sides.aul never tested at all condon and kearney had a stroll in the park with the lightweight forwards from msl.kearney is a class act,really showed his munster senior league experience.waS A little surprised to see graham keane play right full ,when he is one of the best play makers in the game.a lot tougher tests lie ahead.the quarters is a certainty ,then its the big boys.
    Do you ever have anything positive to say? And i spotted you heading off - you didnt even say hello :-(

21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Onefootednopace View Post
    Lordan played in goal for the Cork footballers in the recent Mc Grath Cup competition. It was basically a development squad that was formed to try and unearth new talent for inclusion on the senior panel for the upcoming national league and championship campaigns. By all accounts he acquitted himself well. Whether he makes the full panel is down to the selectors, as aside from Quirke who is first choice, they have Paddy O' Shea and Ken O' Halloran as back up keepers.
    So bloody what!
    Why do people think if a lad is a good gaelic football keeper he automatically is a good soccer keeper. This is not so.
    Playing in goal in soccer is far more difficult than the glorified ball boy that a GAA keeper is.
    All he does is get the ball back into play.

And as for anyone who gets within a sniff of a Cork GAA team, some people think he must be great at all sports. Busllsh1t.

I've seen good GAA players who couldn't trap a bag of cement when playing soccer, and GAA keepers who couldn't save stamps when they moved into "the big goal".
    Also, for what it's worth I don't rate Quirke or O'Shea too highly as GAA keepers either.

Well done to the AUL team last night especially the gaffer, sharpshooter...and the keeper of course :-)

Quote Originally Posted by Shilts View Post
    So bloody what!
    Why do people think if a lad is a good gaelic football keeper he automatically is a good soccer keeper. This is not so.
    Playing in goal in soccer is far more difficult than the glorified ball boy that a GAA keeper is.

And as for anyone who gets within a sniff of a Cork GAA team, some people think he must be great at all sports. Busllsh1t.

I've seen good GAA players who couldn't trap a bag of cement when playing soccer, and GAA keepers who couldn't save stamps when they moved into "the big goal".
    Also, for what it's worth I don't rate Quirke or O'Shea too highly as GAA keepers either.

Well done to the AUL team last night especially the gaffer, sharpshooter...and the keeper of course :-)
    And just to prove that the opposite is also true, Paddy O'Shea is an outstanding soccer keeper. I've played with him for a few years, and he is routinely courted by Rockmount and Cobh.

21 Posts
    I've seen him play with Villa and I certainly wouldn't swop him for our Keeper, Brendan Hurley.

Maybe, although I would have only seen Brendan the two times a year we played Kinsale I dont think I would be in a position to compare the two. Brendan never really stood out for me but I wouldnt base his ability on the relatively few times i saw him.

But I guess the fact that Paddy was with Cobh Ramblers as a senior, and also on the Cork panel would suggest there must be something about him. And of course the numerous matches he practically won for us on his own for Villa back in the day.

71 Posts

Sandwiches

Sharpshooter, Ola was gonna follow you in cos he thought that was the room with the nicer sandwiches!!

Dead right to stay in Macroom and hold out in the hope of a Blackstone offer!! Keep working hard!

The sniff of the Cork team proving a players ability is like the fact that every guy from Poland seems to have played with the Polish Under 21s!!!

71 Posts
    Oh yeah, I was disturbed mid message and lost my train of thought. Scaff, have ye appealed the game against Glenthorn?

So bloody what!

Shilts, I'm not praising the players ability in either code, I'm just replying to Shetlands post concerning Lordan's availablility for last nights game due to his involvement with the Cork footballers.

Quote Originally Posted by shetland View Post
    thats the very same david lordan of killumney ,surprised the cork footballers let him play.as alan quirke is injured.
    "Garlic bread - it’s the future, I’ve tasted it."
    Brian Potter - Phoenix Nights

Quote Originally Posted by olachico View Post
    Do you ever have anything positive to say? And i spotted you heading off - you didnt even say hello :-(
    ola i called it as i saw it and spoke to an aul comittee man today and he agreed with me.i didnt see you as i was leaveing as you were prob in the dug out.its all about oppinions and what about the rest of the posters who havent said positive things about last night ..,its ok for them.did i say a positive thing re mr kearney;;,.

20 Posts
    some people are never happy....might it a been the fact the we were far too strong for them and didnt leave them play every time they got the ball we were in their faces didnt give them a chance to play....roll on tipp..

lads re goalkeepers david lordan is a serious goalkeeper ,we played against him earlier in season and he was unreal.brendan hurley is a good keeper too.,but its lordan for me..

Quote Originally Posted by sharpshooter View Post
    some people are never happy....might it a been the fact the we were far too strong for them and didnt leave them play every time they got the ball we were in their faces didnt give them a chance to play....roll on tipp..
    sharpshooter call a spade a spade they were shocking ,come on in their faces ,out of their faces they were very poor.you will see that in the tougher tests that lie ahead.good teams will be able to adapt to players being in their faces.

20 Posts
    no doubt their is.we be up for it.dunno why im replying because ull find something to give out about anyway.makes me laugh haha

28 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Horse24 View Post
    Oh yeah, I was disturbed mid message and lost my train of thought. Scaff, have ye appealed the game against Glenthorn?
    Could nt tell ya horse im not involved with the committee side of things you "ll have to ring the gaffer up on that one!..................Did ya hear something i did nt about Glenthorn??
    WE ARE GOING UP I SAID WE ARE GOING UP!!!!! BOHS CHAMPIONS 1A 09/10

71 Posts
    Scaff, I was hoping you knew. I hear ye had appealed and wanted to know why.

On the AUL team, you notice in every tournament the winners improve as they go on. e.g Spain.

Winning is all its about.

71 Posts
    Scaff, I will just wait until your gaffer rings our team again!!

Well done to the AUL team after all thats said and done. A win is a win. Well done to Sharpshooter, on a great run.

28 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Horse24 View Post
    Scaff, I was hoping you knew. I hear ye had appealed and wanted to know why.

On the AUL team, you notice in every tournament the winners improve as they go on. e.g Spain.

Winning is all its about.
    We actually heard that down in kanturk aswell earlier in the week!Dont no why!!

On another note well done to cork aul last night,looks like a better panal from last year!
    Played against kearney earlier in season,some player!
    I cant see how some posters(maybe just 1) can slate team,when there wasnt a ball kicked this season!

Looking forward to welcoming ye saturday lads,pitch looking good anyway!