Results 1,101 to 1,120 of 2414

Thread: Cork AUL 2010/11

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by shetland View Post
    totally agree with you radio star.but its typical of players not in the cartel so to speak.ive always said the oscar traynor set up is a joke anyway,thats been proven wih a lot of kinsale players not makeing themselves available.as ive said before dont be surprised if players on this panel will be playing with bandon next season.ive said before and i will say again a ul should have given job to member of their own league..especially after the dismal performance in turners cross last year.
    I agree that the Carrig player was treated badly. The Kinsale question was answered earlier in the season by one of the lads, who said only one player had made himself unavailable. Shetland, I didnt apply - I dont think you did - and Im not sure I actually can name one person who did. Whether we agree with his decisions or not, we should be grateful we have someone. The season before, Santa Claus was nearly here before we had anyone.

71 Posts
    Forgot to add - why is it that Cork Teams struggle in the FAI Junior Cup? Yes, there is the senior question but its not like its huge Limerick teams who knock us out each year? Personally, our club struggle getting past the first round.............and I dont think we can blame the MSL for that! Why is it so long since a Cork team came really close. The Grattan run a few years ago caused some buzz around the northside.

I agree horse the our player was treated badly and i can only presume that there are other clubs with the same issue. He is a young lad and we were thrilled for him to get a chance to train with and hopefully represent the AUL team but seriously, what kind of message has been sent out. I have never been a fan of the selection process and i recognise the fact that it isnt easy for the management but if there was 17 that bothered to train, where were the other so called 33 players ??. As the view said, Pa O Conner, played one game this year and is in the squad ??. Im not questioning the guys ability but if that the way the squad is picked then why have training sessions at all. Im sure all our players have better things to be doing than going training on a Wed night trying to impress someone who obviously only has an interest in a select few, the tried and tested few. What impression do these players that are discarded disrespectfully have on the AUL Cork side ?????. I know what mine is.

61 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Horse24 View Post
    Cork U15s V Clare out in CSN on Sunday at 2. You wanna see these fellas - scaringly talented!
    Saw them at first hand Horse24. Scaringly talented is an apt description. Outstanding side.

Quote Originally Posted by the owl View Post
    I agree horse the our player was treated badly and i can only presume that there are other clubs with the same issue. He is a young lad and we were thrilled for him to get a chance to train with and hopefully represent the AUL team but seriously, what kind of message has been sent out. I have never been a fan of the selection process and i recognise the fact that it isnt easy for the management but if there was 17 that bothered to train, where were the other so called 33 players ??. As the view said, Pa O Conner, played one game this year and is in the squad ??. Im not questioning the guys ability but if that the way the squad is picked then why have training sessions at all. Im sure all our players have better things to be doing than going training on a Wed night trying to impress someone who obviously only has an interest in a select few, the tried and tested few. What impression do these players that are discarded disrespectfully have on the AUL Cork side ?????. I know what mine is.
    your dead right owl ,young lads would deff think twice about turning up again,and horse would you blame kinsale players for not turning up.dereck sully mc best striker in league and others has seen aul manager take some of their players to bandon earlier in season and i bet more will follow next year.it was a bad management choice by aul full stop.lucky to have him is a load of bull,.last seasons performance proves that .

blarney st 4 ballyvolane 1.going through a bad patch at moment .cant buy a win ,giving bad goals away as again today.3 down at half time .much better second half,willie bruton a class act,only plusses garry nolan got 90 minutes,john corcoran scored ,and alan murphy was brilliant when introduced at half time ,first game in over a month for him.blarney street bossed the first half and us the second. but a mountain to climb.
    Last edited by shetland; 22/01/2011 at 3:53 PM. Reason: spelling

61 Posts
    blarney st 4 ballyvolane 1.going through a bad patch at moment .cant buy a win ,giving bad goals away as again today.3 down at half time .much better second half,willie bruton a class act,only plusses garry nolan got 90 minutes,john corcoran scored ,and alan murphy was brilliant when introduced at half time ,first game in over a month for him.blarney street bossed the first half and us the second. but a mountain to climb.
    Willie Brutons best days are behind him. See if he does it against the stronger teams. No disrespect to Ballyvolane Shetland.

view i can clarify that one up for you there new manager is promising anyone that sign he get them in team and did i mention is nial regan number 2 oops

20 Posts
    your dead right owl ,young lads would deff think twice about turning up again,and horse would you blame kinsale players for not turning up.dereck sully mc best striker in league and others has seen aul manager take some of their players to bandon earlier in season and i bet more will follow next year.it was a bad management choice by aul full stop.lucky to have him is a load of bull,.last seasons performance proves that .
    cant see any players moving to bandon next season from the panel to be honest shetland..

28 Posts
    Kanturk 3 Village 2
    Massive win for us today!1nil up at half time,village drew level about 60minute,then they took the lead with 10 to go!
    We scored with 5minutes to go,and got the winner deep into stoppage time,after 1 of their players got sent off for swearing at the ref!
    John lynch(sweeper) with 2 today,coming back into now after long term injury,like a new signing!
    Thats two on the spin,and 3 out of 5,blackstone next saturday,which will be a bigger threat than what we got today!

Another thing aswell today,went they scored,your man took off the jersey celebrating,ref booked him,im not sure,but is that rule in local soccer!
    Someone might no!

Pitch was very hard today aswell,so credit must go to the ref today,for leaving as much time for it to thaw out!
    He went around to most players before the game and asked there opinion about it!

On another note our B team got team of the month for december,which is a fantastic accole for them!
    I think the win against blarney street had something to do with it!

61 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by donaldihno View Post
    Kanturk 3 Village 2
    Massive win for us today!1nil up at half time,village drew level about 60minute,then they took the lead with 10 to go!
    We scored with 5minutes to go,and got the winner deep into stoppage time,after 1 of their players got sent off for swearing at the ref!
    John lynch(sweeper) with 2 today,coming back into now after long term injury,like a new signing!
    Thats two on the spin,and 3 out of 5,blackstone next saturday,which will be a bigger threat than what we got today!

Another thing aswell today,went they scored,your man took off the jersey celebrating,ref booked him,im not sure,but is that rule in local soccer!
    Someone might no!

Pitch was very hard today aswell,so credit must go to the ref today,for leaving as much time for it to thaw out!
    He went around to most players before the game and asked there opinion about it!

On another note our B team got team of the month for december,which is a fantastic accole for them!
    I think the win against blarney street had something to do with it!
    Any ref will tell you rules are rules regardless of the level. On a brighter note great news for your second team.

20 Posts
    great win today for kinsale on pens..

Shetland I went out to Monard today after looking at the fixtures I thought this game had the potential to be a cracker but how wrong was I. 3-0 nil at half time the scoreline didn't reflect the game in all honesty. If Blarney went in at half time 6 or 7 up you couldn't complain. I'm not sure if it was them being that good or if ballyvolane were that poor but there was a big difference between the two teams. Blarney did open ye up time and time again and bruton was behind most things they done well. Glenbuck his best days might be behind him but his is still better than anyone in the aul. I would have no doubt he can do it against stronger opposition. Would be intersted to know if he was asked to play with the aul team. Must say I can't understand how pa Connors is on this squad. Disgrace if you ask me and totally agree with other posters on this. Does not encourage anyone to go up and play trial games when it seems they are irrelevent when it comes to picking the squad. Never really agreed with the choice of manager anyway. Lads I come from an msl backround and have to ask could you ever imagine the msl appointing an aul manager to be in charge of their representitive side. I don't think so. That said I wish them all the best wend night.

28 Posts
    I see Gratten got a big beating at home,were u playing killer?

Horse u were on few months back about pearse being your bogey team,every team has 1!Ours was village!
    Glenthorn beating bohs has opened the league big time,but must say good day for kilumney!
    But theres lots of ball to be played yet!

Quote Originally Posted by sharpshooter View Post
    cant see any players moving to bandon next season from the panel to be honest shetland..
    I have to agree - AUL panel/team players should be higher standard tham MSL Senior 2nd Division - that's the third division with Prem, 1st and 2nd. It might be more of a question if Bandon were a Premier division side but would moving from a Prem AUL side to a 2nd division MSL side be a step up? I don't think so...
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

28 Posts
    Glenthorn 4-2 Bohemians

What can i say about this game only that when you dont take your chances you cant win games.......
    Glenthorn took the lead afer 30 seconds and stayed that way after an onslaught of pressure and possession and chances for 44 mins before Trevor Hallisey scored a great goal to level the game just before the whistle blew for half time.
    2nd half kicked of when Niall Collins picked up the ball in his own half beat 4 players with a great run before pulling the ball back for Willy o Shea who smacked the ball home to make it 2 -1 to Bohs.But within 2 mins Glenthorn had levelled the game after a great ball put there centre forward through to make it 2-2
    Again we pushed on but wer caught after a bad mistake and Keith Kelleher on as sub for Glenthorn put in a great ball for the forward to make it 3-2 to Glenthorn.Caught on the break in the last 15 mins and Glenthorn took there chance to get the killer goal in this game to make it 4-2.
    Really dissapointed with the result considering the amount of chances and possession we had but fair play to Glenthorn they defended as if their lives depended on it and should have no bother staying up if they play like this every week.
    WE ARE GOING UP I SAID WE ARE GOING UP!!!!! BOHS CHAMPIONS 1A 09/10

Having checked the fixtures yesterday i was undecided what game to take in. Blarney St v ballyvolane in monard or glenthorn v bohs. I opted for monard thinking this had the potential for fireworks. How wrong was I. Shetland to say Blarney bossed the 1st half is the understatement of the year. If ye went in at half time 6 down you couldn't complain. They looked like scoring with every attack. I have seen Blarney twice this year and they looked a completely different team yesterday to when I seen them earlier. Not sure if they were that good yesterday or if ballyvolane were that poor but blarney looked very strong. Willie Britons best years maybe behind him glenbuck but he is still superior to anything in the aul. Anything Blarney done well yesterday
    he was behind. The 2 Peelos at the back were class. Nolan didn't get a sniff. Maybe ye were missing a few Shetland or just had a really bad day but they were well above ye. But still a lot of points to play for so if ye can sort it out then who knows. I left at half time but ye must have improved cause I was suprised to hear that it finished 4-1
    lads I have to say I come from an msl backround and I have to ask the question do you think the msl would ever appoint an aul manager to look after any of their oscar traynor teams. I don't think so. It's a touch farcical. His priorites are elsewhere. Intereting to know did willie bruton get asked on to this team. Don't know this guy pa Connors but is it fair to call a guy up after only playing one game.either way best of luck to them wend night.

Quote Originally Posted by Glenbuck View Post
    Willie Brutons best days are behind him. See if he does it against the stronger teams. No disrespect to Ballyvolane Shetland.
    glenbuck as the saying goes class is permanent .bruton is a serious player and i bet casilles will tell you same.dont worry he will shine against the better teams too.

20 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by scaffa7 View Post
    Glenthorn 4-2 Bohemians

What can i say about this game only that when you dont take your chances you cant win games.......
    Glenthorn took the lead afer 30 seconds and stayed that way after an onslaught of pressure and possession and chances for 44 mins before Trevor Hallisey scored a great goal to level the game just before the whistle blew for half time.
    2nd half kicked of when Niall Collins picked up the ball in his own half beat 4 players with a great run before pulling the ball back for Willy o Shea who smacked the ball home to make it 2 -1 to Bohs.But within 2 mins Glenthorn had levelled the game after a great ball put there centre forward through to make it 2-2
    Again we pushed on but wer caught after a bad mistake and Keith Kelleher on as sub for Glenthorn put in a great ball for the forward to make it 3-2 to Glenthorn.Caught on the break in the last 15 mins and Glenthorn took there chance to get the killer goal in this game to make it 4-2.
    Really dissapointed with the result considering the amount of chances and possession we had but fair play to Glenthorn they defended as if their lives depended on it and should have no bother staying up if they play like this every week.
    wouldnt be 2 worried scaffa i think we lost four or five games last year and still went on to win the league,anyone that puts a good run together in that league will be flying everyone will take points off each other.
    another good win for leeside yesterday unbeaten in 7 now going very well.....

61 Posts
    glenbuck as the saying goes class is permanent .bruton is a serious player and i bet casilles will tell you same.dont worry he will shine against the better teams too.
    Saw him in his final days with Avondale. In and out of team. Agree that class is permanant but I have my doubts about Bruts at this level. Needs some good players around him to get the best out of him. Not a man for rolling up the sleeves.