Page 49 of 121 FirstFirst ... 3947484950515999 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork AUL 2010/11

County Cup 1st round.

Churchvilla 1 Killowen 2 (A.E.T.)

A hard earned win for us down in Cloyne. Scoreless 1st half, we started well and had a few half chances but Churchvilla got on top and finished the half stronger. We went in front just after the restart with a goal from a corner. Had a few half chances to add to our tally but didn't convert any. In fairness to Churchvilla they piled on the pressure but we held firm at the back until the 87th minute when they caught us on the break to get the equaliser. Could have won it minutes later as we got in behind their defence on two occasions but couldn't get a shot on target. Two tired teams faced extra time and the winning goal arrived midway through the 2nd period, we broke up the right wing and a superb cross was headed in at the back post. A bit of handbags near the end saw both sides reduced to nine and spoiled an otherwise sporting contest.

On a side note, word of praise to Churchvilla for their set up. They seem to be a progressive club, good changing facilites & car park and the pitch in good nick considering the recent weather.
    "Garlic bread - it’s the future, I’ve tasted it."
    Brian Potter - Phoenix Nights

FULL Results:
    FAI Umbro Junior Cup 5th Round: Bellurgan Utd v Kinsale (off); Carrick Rovers FC 3 Carrigtwohill Utd 0 (aet).
    Lucozade Sport Munster Junior Cup 3rd Round: Macroom A v Douglas Hall (off); Leeds v Springfield A (off).
    AOH Cup 3rd Round: Park Utd A 2 Killumney Utd 2 (Killumney won 5-4 on pens aet);
    Wilton Utd A 5 Brooklodge Utd 1.
    County Cup 1st Round: CFC Banteer 1 Donoughmore Ath 2; Leeside B 3 Ballintotis 0; Rylane Celtic v Rathcoole Rovers A (off); Hibernians A 5 Carrigaline Utd 3; Bweeng v Innishvilla B (off); Churchvilla 1 Killowen 2; Kinsale B 0 Hibernians B 0 (Hibs won 3-2 on pens aet); Strand Utd v Buttevant A (off); Rathcoole Rovers B v Macroom B (off); Newmarket v Castle Celtic (off); Passage 3 Springfield B 2; St John Boscos A 2 Watergrasshill Utd 3 (aet); Innishvilla A 5 Ard Na Laoi 0.
    City Challenge Cup 1st Round: Lakewood Ath 3 Postal Celtic 1; Casement Celtic 5 Knocknaheeny Celtic 3; Central Rovers 1 Glenvale 1 (Central won 5-4 on pens aet); Glen Celtic B 1 Wilton Utd B 7; Leeview Ath v Fairview (off); Blackpool Celtic 3 Glen Celtic A 2; Grattan Utd B 3 City Wanderers 2; Crescent Ath v Shandon Celtic (off); Afton Villa 3 Dunbar Celtic A 1; UCC B v Greenmount Rangers (off); Hillington 3 Dunbar Celtic B 1; Grangevale 4 Inter City Celtic 0.
    Premier League: Knockavilla Celtic v Grattan Utd (off); Ballyvolane 0 Leeside 2; Coachford v Blarney St Ath (off).
    Premier A League: Kanturk v Blackstone Rovers (off); Pearse Celtic 3 Castleview 4; Greenwood 4 Bohemians 2.
    AUL 3: Cork Road Celtic 4 Carrigtwohill Utd 0; Leeside C St John Boscos (off).
    AUL 3A: Ballincollig 2 Kanturk 0; Ballinhassig 3 Los Zarcos 2.

Ballyvolane B the first team to disband this season - heard mutterings of this the other day - sad to see - a few gone to Leeds I hear

That's sad to hear but let's hope they are the only ones this season!

71 Posts

The weekend

Another strange weekend in Prem A. Seems to be a story every weekend in our division. Greenwood beat Bohs. Probably the best result for us in 3rd place. We have our 2 league games done against Greenwood, and are mighty glad to be rid of them. (Last two years, we have met them in last 16 of AOH, so maybe not totally rid of them). They have now played 5 of their 6 games against the others in what could be loosely called the 4 favourites. Honoured to take the recent tipsters and their compliments, but we are not silly enough to go beyond any one game. Every time we think we might win, we get a rude awakening! I say that very loosely because Pearse were back in it after 2 wins in a row (Lost to Castleview at the weekend) and now, early season basement dwellers Castleview have won three in a row to be right back in the hunt. Glenthorn will win games as the season goes on and how will what looks like a full April affect Kilumney?

Im a Liverpool fan, and Berbatov cheated. I know however, that Gerrard would have done the same. What does it say about our beautiful game?

Non posters commenting about things said on foot.ie again. If you dont wanna post, then is it fair to take info from it or is that the make-up of forums?

Sad about Ballyvolane B - not sure what it was about. I dont think it was lack of numbers? Mr Shetland or those of previous allegiance - anything to add?

27 Posts
    Sad to see any team disband but guys have changed over the years. A lot of lads just want to play now, even when they dont train and throw a strop when left out. Loyalty, though not gone completely, is on the wane with so many clubs around and always somewhere else to go. What the story with Grattan, surely the next to go- only mustered 10 players last wk v Leeside even tho B team had no game, then A game off this wk and some of the same players playing city challenge with B Team? How long will this go on for? Grattan A away to Kinsale sat and B home to Rathcoole Sunday. Surely cant ask same lads to play both games.

27 Posts
    Heard the manager got tired of lack of commitment and even had to play himself recently. Nobody was training and numbers were getting tight after couple of lads moved to Leeds.

27 Posts
    Any report on the trip to Monaghan Owl?

Overthehill, The trip to Monaghan was diverted to Oriel Pk, Dundalk because Carricks pitch was frozen so we played on astro turf which really wasnt ideal but it was the same for both teams. the scoreline of 3-o doesnt really reflect the game as it was a tight tough, physical affair, and a hard game but not in anyway dirty. Both teams had chances in normal time to finish off the game but it just wasnt to be on the day. Fell behind in extra time but as always happens when a team is pushing for an equalizer they get caught on the break. Although the 3rd goal was about 10 yards offside its irrelevant really as the record will show that we lost 3-0. Great experience for our lads.
    Fair due to Carrick rovers for having a plan B for the game to be switched which is more that can be said for Kinsales opponents. Disgraceful that the game was not called off before Kinsale forked out a big expense to travel up.
    On Ballyvolane B, i know that manager personally and he had no other choice but to walk away as he received no commitment from players (not all) and for the time and effort he was putting in he was getting nothing back. Its a shame to see, being a former Ballyv player as you hate to see teams folding.

ballyvolane b

the update on ballyvolane b is that yes they have folded.have been struggling all year really.bare 11 on match days and training was a diaster.it was always going to be a struggle 5 left for carraigtwohil from last years panel with the then b team manager.,and it made numbers very tight.manager did his best with the cards he was dealt. 3 of the players have joined the A squad and 2 actually played v leeside.3 went to leeds who must have a panel of 30 now .i somehow thinkthat more teams will fold before season ends,and that next season numbers will be well down.

24 Posts
    It is sad to see Ballyvolane B fold, but was enough done to keep them going? The manager left for reasons some of which were mentioned here but some which were not mentioned. As far as numbers go I think they had signed more than 20 players at the start of the season, so numbers at the start of the season was not an issue. They had a strong start to the season but most of the good youth players from last year packed in very early purely because nights out mattered more than football. Players get ****ed off very quickly these days when things don't go in there favour either. I know both teams were training together because of lack of numbers training too, I never think thats gonna help either as you probably don't get the chance to work on your own team. I know that from experience.

28 Posts
    Alright lads laptop has been in the shop since the 19th of Dec got it back today thank god been going of my game!!!
    Have loads to read up on!!
    Sad to see wats happin wit Ballyvolane B was a fine team in its day knew a good few players there
    Beaten at weekend by Greenwood our 1st loss in the league they deserved it though got 4 excellent goals to be fair thought we could have snatched a draw at the end but they caught us on the counter to make it 4-2
    It was tough too considering it was our 1st game in 6 weeks but no excuses we"ll bounce back it makes the league that bit more exciting too!!
    WE ARE GOING UP I SAID WE ARE GOING UP!!!!! BOHS CHAMPIONS 1A 09/10

great to have you back radiostar,just to clarify a few points firstly 20 names signed as you know means nothing there was never that many at games or training.secondly your points that were not mentioned here,and that enough wasnt done to keep it afloat.their was an issue with aul as you well know re a players registration,that didnt go the way the manager expected,plus a meeting called with players that wasnt supported, i felt he had enough and decided to quit.the job was offered to his assistant who declined. i do agree that players in this day and age arent as committed as they used to be.one or two defeats and sunday mornings are a no show for most.add the fact that running a club is a tough buisness and requires help from club members and not left to the same few all the time.

lads must say fed up about hearing about how bad things are above in grattan no disrespect killer but it the b team i feel sorry for they were having great season til someone decided to shaft littleman many clubs down the years suffered same fate and had to get on with it all we seem to here is about what players have left why not worry about players that are there and just get on with it

Off the topic for just 1 post lads!!!

Just alerting all members of foot.ie that a Cork AUL player PÁDRAIG O SULLIVAN has decided to run in the General Election as an INDEPENDENT CANDIDATE in CORK NORTH CENTRAL. He has played for Leeside for many years and had a year on loan to Knockraha also. and anyone who knows him I'm sure does'nt have a bad word to say about him on or off the field.
    I would ask you all to visit his website @ [COLOR=#ae4c00]www.padraigosullivan.com[/COLOR] or follow him on twitter or facebook to see his ideas, policies, and how he's getting on.
    Its very rare that an honest, hard-working individual, and one that could be a good asset for Cork North Central and indeed the AUL would take this step.
    I know alot of people are fed up with politics in general but at the very least check this guy out and see what ye think. He's young, ambitious, honest and ready to help change politics in Cork for the better

71 Posts
    Sad about Ballyvolane B alright. Leeds picked up a few I believe.

Looks like Carrick did ok for ye Owl.

Will Kinsale get that money back from anyone or even a donation? Thats a disgrace. You gotta have an all-weather ready or else the ref makes the call on the day before and stick to it.
    Thats 2 years in a row this competition has been let down by officialdom. Somebody has to do or say something from the FAI to Kinsale's opponents. This cannot be allowed to happen again.

The Sligo team V Springfield last year couldnt afford to travel - how can their league let this happen? How can the FAI let their flagship Junior competition disgrace itself AGAIN like this? Little club gets screwed again. I dont blame the Sligo team if they havent got the funds. There should be some monies available or else go back to one team from a county before it goes national. Doing that means clubs like Carrig lose their day out though? How did ye fund it Owl - without being too nosey?

Bluey, no bother with your political post. Maybe, we need to use the power of our individual teams to get something out of it. People dont seem to have party loyalties anymore, so ask them to vote for who looks after your club.

The MSL rule of only signing 23 players - I cant remember what the advantages of that were when we voted it down. I still cant think of one. Does anyone know?

Boylesports Latest Betting

2-1 Pike
    7-1 Killester
    8-1 Sheriff YC
    12 Carrick
    14 St Michaels
    16 Clonmel Town
    16 Tramore
    20 Rock Celtic
    22 Athenry
    25 Westport
    25 Ballynanty
    25 ST Pauls
    28 Galway Hibs
    33 ST Peters
    33 Kilmallock
    33 New Ross Celtic
    33 Baldoyle
    33 Douglas Hall
    40 Wilton
    40 Kinsale
    40 Sandyhill
    50 Kilbarrack Utd
    50 Iorras
    50 Bellurgan
    50 Ballina
    66 Castleisland
    66 Springfield

each way 1-2 odds 1,2

From the KUFCMAN

http://www.tsdl.ie/news/?NewsID=1123

Draw for the 4th and 5th round of the Munster Junior Cup

Quote Originally Posted by keepers! View Post
    http://www.tsdl.ie/news/?NewsID=1123

Draw for the 4th and 5th round of the Munster Junior Cup
    Actually unusually the MUNFA are much better than FAI - draw is normally fairly up to date on their website
    http://homepage.eircom.net/~munfa/
    Not much else on the website - but compared to the FAI website where they still haven't put up 6th round draw for FAI Junior Cup and when they do (eventually) it will get no recoignition on the front page of the site - buried well deep in the domestic and grassroots section...
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

20 Posts
    tough game for ourselfs sunday morning ballyvolane at home hopefully will come out with three points with put us up to 3rd level with kinsale thats if they win which they should,3 wins from 5 wouldnt be a bad start at all.always goals when we play each other cant see anything different sunday...and yes i changed my user name.....

Page 49 of 121 FirstFirst ... 3947484950515999 ... LastLast