Page 47 of 121 FirstFirst ... 3745464748495797 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork AUL 2010/11

To see a top team in premier fall to what they have I'd a pity espically for the lads who have been grattan all there life. Where will they go from here? Honestly!! Is the b team gone or what? Shaw a class act from what I have seen so far and a v good signing for leeside. Delighted that he got 2 also today. Wasn't at match today but reports say it could of been double the score line before be blown up early. Alot of afters in grattan dressing room also I hear, that's a pity fighting between yourselves!

yes the score could have been double if it had not been blowing early and as for the B team been gone who knows ?? next weekend the 2teams are in action on saturday and sunday and we dont have the players for the to games simple as that !!! as for fighting between ours selfs that wrong there was a question put to a commtitte member and the whole thing got blowing up that all.. to be honest i was playing in that game and if things keep on going the way there going some of the lads will loose interst simple loosing 7 nil is some kick in the (footballs) let me tell you

Quote Originally Posted by pacman View Post
    Wow, that is bad going alright.
    Good signing for Leeside though, I heard a rumour that Colin Keane is heading to Leeside also. Boo, any truth in it?
    you have that one totally wrong paceman, believe me colin keane will be in the ballyvolane dressing room sat next in the league game versus leeside.

71 Posts

Greenwood 0 v 1 Blackstone Rovers

Happy New Year Football fans.

I missed our game the other day, but all the reports were good. 14 guys played well, and we were in good spirits from the beginning.

Isnt it funny how, in football, you have the results over some teams all the time no matter what form either side is in? We have lost 1 of 10 or something like that to Greenwood.........but their neighbours Pearse would have beaten us the last few?

We scored early second half and looked as ok as you can be with a one goal lead. They told our centre forward that their plan was to wind him up and get him sent off.........they told him!!! He had punch marks all across his back!

The two above us playing each other next week so 3 points in Kanturk will do us the world of good! Lets hope its a tad clamer than last year!

Are people making too big a deal over the Grattan thing? The only sure thing about teams who rise up the leagues is that they will fall again. Maybe, its because it happened so quickly. Dean's message on the AUL website was so good he said it twice - fair play Dean.

Good to see sense from the ref too in blowing up. Neither side would have gained from another 20 minutes. Goal difference doesnt count in AUL.........but counts in schoolboys - doesnt make much sense now does it?

Message on Cork AUL site from Grattan's Dean Evans:

A Message from Grattan United's Dean Evans.

Well, what can I say about the last number of weeks - entertaining, a challenge, eye opening and fascinating.

Grattan United, the oldest team in the AUL. With a history that goes back over 80 years, we look at the past and we have won everything, multiple premier league titles in the past decade and numerous cups. Right now people have the wrong perception of the club and I want to put that right. Let's be honest, we have lost players over the past few weeks and the club is going through a period of change and I personally don't see that as a bad thing. As a club we wish all those players the best with their new clubs and we hope to see them all in the near future on the battlefield. When one door closes, multiple doors open, we can see where we need to improve.

When recruiting new players we don't want just anybody that can fill the gap, we want somebody that will play football the way Dinny Pops would want us to play; fast and exciting football that is a joy to watch. Many fantastic players have come through the club and Grattan is known for developing players into fantastic talents. I've set myself some goals that only I and the committee know and we will keep them close to our chest for the time being.

Some people might think the club is on its knees, but nothing could be further from the truth in fact the club has just climbed the first rung on the way back to the top. The club is in the ascension. It won't be easy, but that's football and we love it. Well what can I say about the [past?] 6 weeks: entertaining, a challenge, eye opening and fascinating.Grattan United, the oldest team in the AUL. With a history that goes back over 80 years, we look at the past and we have won everything, multiple premier league titles in the past decade and numerous cups. Right now people have the wrong perception of the club and I want to put that right. Let's be honest, we have lost players over the past few weeks and the club in going through a period of change and I personally don't see that as a bad thing. As a club we wish all those players the best with their new clubs and we hope to see them all in the near future on the battlefield. When one door closes, multiple doors open, we can see where we need to improve.

When recruiting new players we don't want just anybody that can fill the gap, we want somebody that will play football the way Dinny Pops would want us to play; fast and exciting football that is a joy to watch. Many fantastic players have come through the club and Grattan is known for developing players into fantastic talents. I've set myself some goals that only me and the committee know and we will keep them close to our chest for the time being.

Some people might think the club is on its knees, but nothing could be further from the truth The club has just climbed the first rung on the way back to the top. The club is in the ascension. It won't be easy, but that's football and we love it.

well horse your true there if the ref did ent blow up early who knows what the score line could have been but it is still embarrassing get hockyed 7 nil it the second time this season for me and it not a nice feeling let me tell you i cant see many players wanting to join grattan but maybe i will eat my words and we get a good lash of players before the end of the window ????

Killer, good write up by your gaffer on corkaul. what do you think?

28 Posts
    Kanturk 4 Pearse 3

A very good win for us,we badly needed the 3 points!!
    Up 3-1 with 15mins left and we missed a penalty aswell,and wouldnt you no pearse score 2 to make it level!
    We scored in the 92minute id say!Must say pearse played some great stuff,got the ball down and played that way the whole match!
    A new year a new start,2011 cant be as bad as 2010 was!
    Blackstone saturday at home,no point winning against pearse if were not gona get something out of another home game!
    Dont worry horse we wont be provoking anyone saturday,we just wanna concentrate on our own game as we do every game!
    Hoping for a good game saturday,2 footballing sides!May the best team win

20 Posts
    your back bieber i mean shetland....

"Winning isn't everything. Wanting to win is."

Post xmas blues

Coachford 2 Wilton 3

Whether it was the xmas turkey or the result most of us out in Coachford felt ill to the bone on Sunday around 12.30. After a shocking start where we played as poorly as i ve ever seen us play, we went a goal down and were kept in it by a couple of saves from our keeper. Towards the end of the second half we equalised and began to improve coming into half time. The second half saw us get the better of them and took a deserved lead about 15 mins into it, a great free kick by John Hogan. With ten remaining they began to throw bodies forward and we had 2 great opportunities to increase our lead with 2 one on ones which we failed to convert. They equalised with 5 remaining and from the kick off we won a corner, hit the crossbar with a header from it, they stole it at the death with a cross/shot, i swear the way he kicked if he did it again and he tried it a thousand times again it would nt have gone in. The tide needs to turn in our favour at some stage!

Felt robbed when they equalised, nearly vomiting here now thinking how they won it! On Wilton an excellent footballing side, easily the best we ve faced this season, no disrespect meant to the others.

On Grattan kinda bored hearing about them lads, my only issue is that we did nt get a handy 3 points last week end against them. They ll go either of two ways lads, get better and improve their position or they ll get worse with lack of interest and get relegated.
    Last edited by Inswinger; 04/01/2011 at 4:33 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Dixie's Cousin View Post
    Killer, good write up by your gaffer on corkaul. what do you think?
    it not write ups the club needs right now it players that what i think !!! and as for inswinger feeling kinda board about hear about grattan problems dont read the posts then

Just responding to Horses question killer, no disrespect meant. Just looking forward to hearing from good reports on the field from yerselves.

Ah Shetland or what ever your going to call yourself these days........good to have ya back.

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by donaldihno View Post
    Kanturk 4 Pearse 3

A very good win for us,we badly needed the 3 points!!
    Up 3-1 with 15mins left and we missed a penalty aswell,and wouldnt you no pearse score 2 to make it level!
    We scored in the 92minute id say!Must say pearse played some great stuff,got the ball down and played that way the whole match!
    A new year a new start,2011 cant be as bad as 2010 was!
    Blackstone saturday at home,no point winning against pearse if were not gona get something out of another home game!
    Dont worry horse we wont be provoking anyone saturday,we just wanna concentrate on our own game as we do every game!
    Hoping for a good game saturday,2 footballing sides!May the best team win
    Wouldnt blame either side more than the other for last year's dust up Donald and didnt mean it to come across that way. We seem to get in scrapes when certain conditions exist, and these conditions do not exist for the game on Saturday......hows that for cryptic!

Ballyvolane v Leeside this sat is moved from pfizer pk to Ballyvolane pk. Does anyone know if the leeview v fairview game on sunday is also moved from pfizer pk. Just wondering is it closed down there or are ballyvolane bringing game to the ( big hill!!! )to stop leeside playin football??

Hi killer B, when do ye train? I'm looking into going back playing soccer after stopping for a while. I still played other sports so I'm fit enough.

bluey pfizers is closed this saturday ,i dont know about sunday and its due to a previous booking.i might also add that anyone who has played ballyvolane this year know that they play football as well as anyone.had to play knockrah in aoh cup as well their,.it was ted o mahony the fixture secretary that asked for game to be played in ballyvolane park as he got email to say pfizers was closed.

522 Posts
    shetland, you've already been suspended for having another account, if it happens again the account'll be deleted and so will anything that follows. That goes for everyone else too, having multiple accounts is against the rules.

So is taking threads off topic with unsupported allegations. If you think someone is breaking the rules on Foot.ie, report them in the Support forum or anonymously via the Report This Post button on every post on the site, and it'll be dealt with. Otherwise shut your mouth.

OT posts deleted. Get back on topic or I'm binning this.

Hi lads getting back to the football, where do people think the trophies will go?

Premier
    Early doors i know with so few games played, but im sticking with my pre season prediction that whoever finishes above Kinsale will win it. Leeside and Wilton being the obvious challengers.

Premier A
    Hard to see past Kilumney and a fight for second with Bohs, Greenwood and Blackstone slugging it out.

In the first divisions, Springfield, Douglas hall and Innishvilla all look to be punching above their weight.

20 Posts
    i think premier will go to the last few games again this year with kinsale,leeside,wilton each fighting it out..
    prem a said kilumney at the start goona stick with team with blackstone second...

"Winning isn't everything. Wanting to win is."

Page 47 of 121 FirstFirst ... 3745464748495797 ... LastLast