Page 32 of 121 FirstFirst ... 2230313233344282 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork AUL 2010/11

20 Posts
    your grand.must say now its prob one of the best pitches in the aul..and id say the leeside lads on this would agree as would horse and ola..what team are you with again ghost im very forget full..

"Winning isn't everything. Wanting to win is."

Quote Originally Posted by the ghost View Post
    Would agree with you Olachico/ 'View MSL premier is better than the AUL and maybe on a day kinsale or leeside would give a few top teams a good game but not on a weekly basis.

I dunno when we started talking about Munster Junior League its nothing compaired to the AUL and i dont think it has much of an attraction as the AUL. We were talkin about guys joining senior clubs to play senior not munster junior.

And on Facilitys lads dont be codding yourself saying they dont matter!! If your a club you will pride yourselfs on what you have built over the years probably from an idea in the corner of a bar one sunday to run a team next thing you have a 2nd team, then a pitch, dressing rooms and then if you start an underage team then your in the money!!! Then whats the next step?? Play senior premier with the big boys and get your kids coming through the ranks!! Example: Blarney United where playing in Monard AUL junior not so long go now look at them. A serious set-up one of the best pitches in cork, an all full weather pitch both fully lit. a big club house and and alot of kids teams.

Lads all of us on here love playing managing and watching our teams playing everyweek but im sure the commitees are working fairly hard to get facilities for themselves.

and Sorry for leaving ye out Holden forgot ye redone your pitch havent been there yet whats it like??
    Kind of missing my point - Boo was saying there are some 2nd Div/1st Div AUL clubs looking to leave the AUL - surely if these clubs were good enough to join the senior ranks they'd be in a higher division in the AUL - I'm not knocking facilities - we train in blarney and Castleview and I'm pretty sure most clubs envy them and would like what they have . But at the end of the day - players win matches - showers dont win matches!!!

oh right ya point taken Olachico my third peice was refering to the quotes below. but i didnt know 1st or 2nd div teams could apply to go senior. its a strange one as you said if they were any good they would be up the divisions. i know kinsale applyed for senior and got shot down. then Passage got as far as the MSL 1st division after leavin the AUL Premier when they were only average. What you think?

[QUOTE=thebooboys;1427130]Have to disagree with you Ghost. Apart from the top four or so in MSL Premier they're not much better than our top sides. Senior isnt the be all and end all. Kinsale, Wilton, Leeside ET AL would be more than able to hold their own in MSL prem. I have no doubt standards overall are better and facilities etc
    [QUOTE=goal-achio] I agree olalchio as a northsider i see a lot of mayfield,leeds and castleview games and i cant understand how these teams cant attract the players playing against them for other northside teams.Facilities mean **** in my opinion!!!!!!!!!!

A.U.L. 2A

Rylane Celtic 3 Killowen1

Another fruitless away trip. Rylane is a tough place to go at the best of times but we didn't help ourselves by going 2-0 down in the first 10 minutes. Eventually we got going and played well for long spells in the first half. Had legitimate claims for a penalty after a handball in the area but nothing doing. We forced two good saves from the Rylane keeper but he had little else to do. We pushed on in the 2nd half in attempt to get back in the game but we lacked penetration up front against a well drilled Rylane defence. Rylane were playing down the slope in the 2nd half and were dangerous on the break and it was from a counter attack that yielded their third goal with 20 minutes left. We pulled a goal back immediately but that was as good as it got for us. A.U.L. 2A is turning out to be a tight division with all teams capable of beating each other on any given day.
    "Garlic bread - it’s the future, I’ve tasted it."
    Brian Potter - Phoenix Nights

20 Posts
    AOH Cup 3rd Round

Carrigtohill Utd "A" v Leeds
    Blarney St Ath v Kanturk "B"
    Glanworth Utd v Rylane Cel
    Glenthorn Cel v Cathedral Cel
    Ballyvolane A v Knockraha
    Rathcoole Rvrs "A" v Park Utd "B"
    Blackstone Rovers v Passage
    Leeside "A" v City Wanderers
    Park Utd "A" v Killumney Utd
    Wilton Utd "A" v Brooklodge Utd
    Bohemians v Springfield "A"
    Castle Cel v Rathcoole Rovers "B"
    Ballincollig v Douglas Hall
    Buttevant v Kinsale "A"
    Knockavilla Cel v Macroom "A"
    Kilreen Cel v Greenwood "B"

28 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by holden10 View Post
    AOH Cup 3rd Round

Carrigtohill Utd "A" v Leeds
    Blarney St Ath v Kanturk "B"
    Glanworth Utd v Rylane Cel
    Glenthorn Cel v Cathedral Cel
    Ballyvolane A v Knockraha
    Rathcoole Rvrs "A" v Park Utd "B"
    Blackstone Rovers v Passage
    Leeside "A" v City Wanderers
    Park Utd "A" v Killumney Utd
    Wilton Utd "A" v Brooklodge Utd
    Bohemians v Springfield "A"
    Castle Cel v Rathcoole Rovers "B"
    Ballincollig v Douglas Hall
    Buttevant v Kinsale "A"
    Knockavilla Cel v Macroom "A"
    Kilreen Cel v Greenwood "B"
    Some nice games after popping up there Knockavilla should be tough battle for ye last years winners an all Holden and Springfield "A" will be no walk in the park for us either!!!!
    WE ARE GOING UP I SAID WE ARE GOING UP!!!!! BOHS CHAMPIONS 1A 09/10

28 Posts
    I see our b team got blarney street away!
    There a deciated bunch with 16-20 training twice a week,its great they got a premier team with nothing to lose!

21 Posts

Foot.ie!

[QUOTE=Horse24;1426964]Shilts, ye seem to be operating under the radar but flying along. Whats the grief with yer players and AUL selection if you dont mind me asking?

QUOTE]

No grief at all Horse
    We have 2 players selected at the moment
    These lads were on the squad last year.
    Most of the other players who we had playing for the AUL team last year are now playing for Bandon in the MSL (and good luck to them, I hope they do well).

The AUL manager picks the squad, not you or I.
    Everybody knows some player who they think is good enough to get in the squad.
    But only one mans opinions count in the end.
    Best of luck to Niall and the Cork AUL team for the season ahead.

20 Posts
    ya and away from home is well always a tough place to go to.any idea on when these games will be played?

Foot.ie! allo allo

hi lads just a few points after an exciting weekend!

Park Utd 1-1 Blarney St Ath

Travelled to Mitchelstown on Sat for an tough encounter. 16 togged out, keeper injured willie coughlan injured and judgie away for the weekend. Started slow , the were threanting down the left from the first minute and with a stand in keeper our hearts were in our mouths from the off, we were lucky a few times and some last ditch tackles saved us. got a corner in the 15th min, great delivery by Brutts, Larry Betts met it at the back post and got a good head on it over their keeper. game opened up then a bit and with Park playing a very high defensive line we were unlucky to be caught offside a few times. The one time we got it right Gary Coughlan broke free from the half way line in on goal but veered to the left and away from goal???????? taught we got on top with some good link up play and JP was unlucku with a header straight to the Gk. Park had a few breaks but no clear chances. 2nd half they settled the better and bossed ther middle, we played on the break and how we failed to sc ore from 3, i say again 3!!! one on ones ill never know They pushed for the equaliser but Neil Greany our stand in keeper was reading it well and solid when called upon IMO tiey did get it to 1 all but he was 3 yards offside but in fairness they did deserve it and could have/should have hading a penalty for handball.

A point earned in what is always a tough away fixture, Park will take a lot of points from teams down there so m\ybe an ok result

Coachford away in the Fai Sunday morning. looking foward to it already, owe them one for the Mossie group phase!!!
    "Build it and they will come"

On this on going debate of league standards which i think iv posted before, rockmount, douglas hall, blarney, avondale and st marys they are imo in a differnet class.

League wise this is how i rate them
    MSL Premier
    Aul Premier
    Msl 1st div
    Aul Premier A/Msl Junior Premier
    Msl 2nd div
    Aul 1st div
    Aul 2nd div/Business premier
    Aul 3rd div
    business 1st div

Im sure there will be a lot of differnt opinions on this. The Msl 2nd is a very poor standard for senior and the Msl Junior premier again in my own opinion is a better standard of football.

On teams from 1st and 2nd div Aul moving to Msl Junior i can see why. Playing every week on good pitches with the hope of building a teamand club good enough to go up senior in afew years. If the rumour is true i would imagine it will be Buttervant and Inishvilla are the two who have the facilities for it.
    "Build it and they will come"

Anyone seen the Cork AUL site? Leeside looking for management and players? Didnt know that they were in trouble? Any update boo?

No Trouble... Always looking for players, have 3 teams, A,B & C to fill sure. Unfortunately Management have decided to step down. I'd rather not comment until we see who the potential successor is. A few names been thrown about but wont go naming names. I would just like to thank the management team of John and Jimmy O Sullivan for all theyve done and Coleman Mulcahy as well who brought us to a different level i feel. Best of luck to em.

Big Time Charlie what a name!! good stuff!! ya your spot on with the league Casilles! did ye benefit from the Grattan ordeal??

Quote Originally Posted by thebooboys View Post
    No Trouble... Always looking for players, have 3 teams, A,B & C to fill sure. Unfortunately Management have decided to step down. I'd rather not comment until we see who the potential successor is. A few names been thrown about but wont go naming names. I would just like to thank the management team of John and Jimmy O Sullivan for all theyve done and Coleman Mulcahy as well who brought us to a different level i feel. Best of luck to em.
    Fair enough boo - but it still is not ideal to see a management team step down 2 months into the season... I would struggle to say "No trouble" if it was happening with Innishvilla...
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

[QUOTE=scaffa7;1427813]Some nice games after popping up there Knockavilla should be tough battle for ye last years winners an all Holden and Springfield "A" will be no walk in the park for us either!!!![/QUOTE]

Springers will certainly fancy there chances of claiming the scalp of a team from higher division. Already beat Coachford in a cup (early Season), have Blarney St. Ath in Munster Jnr Cup, Bohs now in the AOH, and Knockavilla Celtic in FAI Jnr Cup. Things going well for them in League so far - seen they have won 5 from 6, and the other being a draw. They would certainly be one of the favourites for League 1. Would be nice to see them in Prem next Season - nice pitch and facilities down there in East Cork.

27 Posts
    Alrite Boo, i hear all is not well in paradise!! May be 3 teams but you cant have scenario where the B team players refuse to go when called up! Ive been to a couple of games and rarely have i seen more than 1 or 2 on the line so there must be a numbers prob with team A. Often happens though if the B team are doing well themselves. Inside info tells me this may be going on ??

What about a new man? There's a good man free on the northside at present who would have a few players also id say, could be ironic timing all round. Hold the back page, i can see the headlines now!!!!!

No B players have refused to come with A's when required this year so ill nip that one in the bud. You are correct that Generally we dont bring 5-6 subs. no need to. as I said previously some very interesting names being thrown about. Speculate away......

Hey Guys, new to this so be gentle! just looking back a few pages and it has being an eventful few weeks in the world that is the AUL.

Page 32 of 121 FirstFirst ... 2230313233344282 ... LastLast