Page 30 of 121 FirstFirst ... 2028293031324080 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork AUL 2010/11

Have to admit not the greatest fan in the world of littleman. Played against him a few times, actually played with him a couple of times. Does seem a little harsh on him though. Very early in the season to get sacked but obviously the Committee aren't happy. He has been a very loyal servant to Grattan. I wonder will he stay with the club? From what I hear littleman was the main driver behind the development in Grattan as well as the playing side of things. If so he would be a major loss.

Quote Originally Posted by killer"B" View Post
    well trouble if they leave they leave im playing with the b team so im not pushed who comes or goes
    Dont be so sure Killer "B" if players do leave and the First team cant get enough in you might become Killer "A" - i've seen it happen many times when i was in Hibs

normally i would take rumours with a pinch of salt so to speak but in this case id say there will be a few leave alright. but most of the team are playin with grattan a good few years and a few not so long. will any of them be good enough for senior or the top 3 teams in premier if they left?? then again the northside has so many clubs they could go anywhere!!

ghost must agree still a few good players up there maybe a few players gone past it but only one team making a lot of noises at the moment up north side and that would be bohemians.small club do not have big reputation as castleview or grattan but their improving fast and continously so maybe their the team to watch in the coming seasons and horse and view ye played against them do you think small team with big protential

well killer that statement alone seems to suggest that all is not well up there, it should be the ambition of all playing club members to play with the first team and your "them and us attitude is wrong"!! you should have an interest in how the club (which is based on first team results) progresses.....you also can't say he did well when you consider the players that left....players leaving is always linked to the manager for one reason or another, feeling not appreciated, personality clash, not getting a game, no belief in the managers ability, etc. also you question players loyalty when a lot of the players that left had ben courted by senior league sides for a few seasons and could have gone earlier so showing their loyalty to grattan....i know littleman as most of us do and he has been a good servant to the club but managers can't expect such things to influence their position, it has been stated many times it is a results business at any level and standards up there have slipped of that there can be no doubt, i know dean and was surprised at his appointment. no experience as far as i know and not played at any decent level of the game as far as i know but wish him and all up there well.....and yes it seems bohs may carry the northside flag but blarney street have made a couple of good signings as well......sorry about going on but it's been a quiet night here....

If Littleman walks away from Grattan then its the biggest mistake that Grattan would have made. Like others have said he more than anyone else has brought Grattan forward in terms of player power, facilites etc. I know from experience when small clubs lose key men then the club almost invariably suffers over time.

On a positive note, maybe he'll start posting again on here now that he is no longer manager. To be honest the forum is a lesser place without him and whilst he was totally biased to anything grattan he always gave good insight into all things non grattan related.

first of all pacman good post.. but littleman did ent walk way he got the sack as for been a clubman 100% im only there a season and half now and i got on very well with him we had our differences but who does ent i hope soon he find a good club and bring them to the level he broght grattan as for coming back on here i doubt it very much im not on this site long but i hear he got a raw deal when on here !!!

I know he got the sack killer, I just meant that now becuase he has been sacked will he walk away or remain on in the comitee etc like he did before he became first team manager.

So i'd imagine that will be a tough decision for him, stay loyal to club but this means staying loyal to the people who just sacked him.

As for him getting a raw deal on here. Not sure how true that is, there was one guy who no longer posts here used to give him a hard time but that was it really.

as i said pacman it only what i heard i know he could give stick just as well as take it ... but to be honest i dont think he would go on the comitee after them sacking him would you ??? this is all new to grattan lossing players and a good manager but the club will just have to pick them selfs up now and drive on grattan a no youths coming through so they are Depending on other players from other clubs to come in so id say it might be a long time yet before grattan are back to what they used to be !!!! and all the best to the new manager dean evans

21 Posts

Foot.ie!

Grattan have sacked their manager very early in the season.

This coming after a season 09/10 where he was in the running with Kinsale and Leeside for the Premier title until the 2nd last game of the season last May, and finished with 38 points in total.
    I remember winning the league with 36 points in 05/06 with Kinsale, so 38 is not a bad haul.

I hope he remains with Grattan in some shape or form and is not lost to the club he has enjoyed serving for many years.
    We can't afford to lose enthusiastic volunteers like Littleman as they are difficult to replace. I hope this type of carry on does not become the norm.

Remember, only 1 club can win the league - should the other 9 managers be sacked for 'not performing'?
    I don't know the ins and outs of the Grattan situation but if this was to become widespread we would soon lose a lot of very important UNPAID members of our clubs.

well shilts just back from grattan HQ tonite and it not looking good for grattan at the mo .... as far as news i heard and got tonite most of the A TEAM are gone and when i say most it about 6plus and counting

No offence killer B, thanks for keeping us all informed etc but do you think you should be broadcasting everything online??

CORK AUL FIXTURES 27th&28th http://www.corkaul.com/ well thebooboys weather you hear it online or from word of mouth yous still gonna hear it aint you so what the problem with my posts then !!! i tought this was a free talking football fourm ????
    Last edited by killer"B"; 18/11/2010 at 10:58 PM.

CORK AUL FIXTURES 27th&28th http://www.corkaul.com/ well thebooboys weather you hear it online or from word of mouth yous still gonna hear it aint you so what the problem with my posts then !!! i tought this was a free talking football fourm ????
    See Killer"B" i may have been right after all - you may have to change your name to Killer"A" ;-)

ha ha stop man i guess you might send up a few players from ye will ya lol

Thats unlikely killer"B" - very unlikely - we want to get to the Premier with those players ;-)

ha ha yer looking good in the league hard div to win aint it bohs looking strong to ????

71 Posts

Littlebigman

In the same way that every manager thinks he is the "Special" one, are we getting carried away as clubs by "sacking" volunteers?

Grattan have made a booboo in my opinion and I only hope they dont regret it.

I say that for a number of reasons:

1) Its November! 30% of season gone. I remember a few seasons back we beat UCC 3-1 in late Oct to leave them with 1 point from 3 games. They won 17 and drew 1 of next 18 to win the league! Anything can happen. Who knows who was set up to come in in December? Bohs were gone 3 months ago.............now it looks like they may be gone UP!

2) Why wait until he wins a few games and gets his best result of the season? He could have gone after losing to lower league Fairview or lower league Blackstone.

It will be difficult for him to go back to the club stalwart he was. Why should he spend his time working hard for club members who clearly didnt do him any favours? Why should he work hard for players who obviously dont respect him?

What use is this forum if it is only all fluff? I dont say everything I know, but I say 99% of it.

Killer, the abuse Littleman took on this forum was a bit OTT in fairness but I dont think thats why he stopped. His honesty bothered way more people than it should have.

Shilts, ye seem to be operating under the radar but flying along. Whats the grief with yer players and AUL selection if you dont mind me asking?

As Shilts says, most teams will lose more games than you win over a season. Only a very few will win more than they lose.

Condolenscences to the Bohs manager on his recent loss. Nice guy.

Village at the weekend for us. The influeneces from across the river seem to be helping the Village club. Pac, did ye play them last weekend?

trouble are you bohs biggest fan or what every post you write is about them?do you play with them?real pity bout grattan they have been a credit to the northside over the past number of years,as far as i can remember this happened another team reasantly and the lads that went up to the higher level done ok for themselves
    Last edited by goal-achio; 19/11/2010 at 3:24 PM.

What higher level are people referring to? Castleview Senior/Marys Senior??? No better than the top half of AUL IMO. Now D Hall, Rockmount, thats a different story.

Page 30 of 121 FirstFirst ... 2028293031324080 ... LastLast