Page 28 of 121 FirstFirst ... 1826272829303878 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork AUL 2010/11

28 Posts
    Looking forward to saturday scaffa!!Should be good game!
    We needed that win saturday,pearse were like ourselves,couldnt buy a win,but it will come for them aswel,good side!
    Hows fairfield looking for saturday,weather shocking at the moment

Quote Originally Posted by olachico View Post
    Bit of copying and pasting -
    Cork A.U.L. 7 v 1 Cork Shipping League
    Strong collective performance with goals from Ricky Gettings (3), David O Callaghan, Kieth Holden, Kieth Shaw and Ivan Skillington. Man of the match performance from Colin Keane. Good displays from Aaron Kearney Centre Half, Cian Blake Centre Midfield and excellent work from Paul Condon Centre Half and Ricky Gettings in midfield
    Thats a good win but the Shipping League probably are the strongest side in the world.

Delighted to see Keith Shaw get a game and a goal. It's about time he's made the panel.

3 goals from Gettings from midfield is impressive but for some reason he never seems to stick around the squad for the year.

Paul Condon is also a banker for centre back, easily the best centre half in junior soccer.

Who does Kearney play for?

28 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pacman View Post
    Thats a good win but the Shipping League probably are the strongest side in the world.

Delighted to see Keith Shaw get a game and a goal. It's about time he's made the panel.

3 goals from Gettings from midfield is impressive but for some reason he never seems to stick around the squad for the year.

Paul Condon is also a banker for centre back, easily the best centre half in junior soccer.

Who does Kearney play for?

Plays with kilumney pac!Very good centre half!Played them few weeks back,very strong player!

28 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by donaldihno View Post
    Looking forward to saturday scaffa!!Should be good game!
    We needed that win saturday,pearse were like ourselves,couldnt buy a win,but it will come for them aswel,good side!
    Hows fairfield looking for saturday,weather shocking at the moment
    Was told tonight by our trainer that the pitch is a bit sticky in places and if the rain keeps up theres a chance it could be called but i dont think the wheather is that bad tomorrow so hopefully it holds out
    WE ARE GOING UP I SAID WE ARE GOING UP!!!!! BOHS CHAMPIONS 1A 09/10

Tough one for us this week away to Blackstone. Could probably do with someone easier to get some points on the board. As scaffa said its a very young team, mostly our own minors from last year & the year before. Manager happy enough with progress. They may need to go a little backwards before they go forwards. I'll be heading to Monard to watch both ourselves and the Blarney St. game. They have some good players and play good stuff, usual enjoyable to watch. I'm a bit worried about parking from whats been said. On the pitches out there - played there a few times against Blarney St. and Cresent. Found the pitches grand. Vincie and Ger Cronin always seemed to have it in good nick.

thanks view. we try to play ball as much as possible { can get us in trouble once or twice but Power encourages it so}. I will have to mention lenny Forde and his crew from Cresent who do a a lot of work there. Very honest bunch who are movin in the right direction both on and off the field, signed a few good players this year so keep an eye out for them people. On the parking issue! As id imagine yoy have been in Monard before the only problems that we are havin is

1 Cars are not to park on the road outside{ its a bad cornor }
    2 on the drive in to the pitch we encourage people to either come all the way in or just use 1 side of the road
    3 if you decide to come in just be aware of the lads asking you to park in a certain area

the reason for all of the above is for an ambulance been called or some one at a game having to leave in emergency. There is plenty of room but if cars park anywhere , those at the front dont have a prayer of gettin out. and we dont want a situation of a player vplaying a game , having to leave the pitch and move a car or something along those lines
    "Build it and they will come"

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The 'View View Post
    Tough one for us this week away to Blackstone. Could probably do with someone easier to get some points on the board. As scaffa said its a very young team, mostly our own minors from last year & the year before. Manager happy enough with progress. They may need to go a little backwards before they go forwards. I'll be heading to Monard to watch both ourselves and the Blarney St. game. They have some good players and play good stuff, usual enjoyable to watch. I'm a bit worried about parking from whats been said. On the pitches out there - played there a few times against Blarney St. and Cresent. Found the pitches grand. Vincie and Ger Cronin always seemed to have it in good nick.
    I can assure you that we are not silly enough to base our Castleview opinions on the league table. The scores seem to suggest that every game was close. We beat them 4-2 in the Mossie, but it was 3-2 and backs to the wall for long spells. A very young side, with plenty to time to get it right. The talent is there - its just a little experience, which can only come from playing games. That club has always been good to us over the years - nice bunch of people.

Greenwood are the perfect example. Practically the same team as last year with the younger lads a year older and a year wiser.

We have a fairly young squad ourselves, with a sprinkling of older guys. Last weeks 14 had 8 under 25, 4 under 30 and only two oul men......one of which is last years player of the year, and the other already bookie's favourite for this one.

scaf any truth in wat i heard that yer manager was offered castleview job at start of the season

28 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by trouble View Post
    scaf any truth in wat i heard that yer manager was offered castleview job at start of the season
    Trouble look all i can say is not putting the Castleview job down ......but seriously our manager is a legend 4 outa 4 this year so far top of the league .......plus 2 league championships in the last 4 years why would he!!!!!!!!!

Edit!!!!! ............Ya he turned it down!!!!!!
    Last edited by scaffa7; 13/11/2010 at 11:50 AM.

well scaf that good record 2 leagues in 4 season lad i work wit plays wit the view and we were talking about how welll yer doing and he was telling me but no derek myself he being wit bohs as long as i can remember and hats of to him he doing good job again this year and you speak so highly of him you must b looking 4 your game tomorrow joke scaf and no disrespect but ye have players that could play at higher level so for them players to sign he must b doing something right good look tomorrow if weather hold up i pop up

Throw in 2 cup semi-finals aswell it was a no brainer to stay with Bohs (no disrespect to castle view) but we said for last 2-3 years we just need 2-3 signings to make us a very very good team and we have the signings now and we are playing some excellent football...

hi mario think it would of being stupid for derek to leave and must agree players ye have signed r very good long may it continue do you play yourself mario

28 Posts
    Bohemians 4-2 Kanturk

Great game of ball played up in the Fairfield today wheather conditions wer perfect pitch was a bit sticky but both teams played some lovely football today.
    On the game Kanturk took the lead after 5 mins and completely ran over us the first 10 mins but somehow we dragged ourselves into the game and John Cronin levelled it on 20 mins with a great shot from 20 yards into the top corner started to get a grip of the game and Deccie Gostal added a bullit 2nd on 30 mins after been set up from a great run from Willy o Shea 2-1 at half time
    2nd half we should have added a 3rd after 55mins but somehow our centre forward John Cronin managed to miss a great chance from 2 yards! (he"ll love that now!!).Kanturk wer still playing some great football but could nt break our strong defense but levelled on 65 mins when a mistake at that back from a throw and scored a soft header.
    But again we found somemore and sub Christy Drisscoll scored with his 1st touch after a blunder at the back between Kanturks keeper and there centre half left an open goal which Christy cooly sloted home after 70mins
    Added a 4th after 75mins when another sub Robbie Cunningham shot low into the corner after been set up by John Cronin (the gaffer will claim all the credit here with the 2 subs!!)
    Infairness to Kanturk they kept playing some nice ball and kept pressing until the very end but our defense held strong.Probably the hardest game we played all season Dolandino dont know if you wer there but fair play to ye a great footballing team until the final 3rd of the pitch where ye probably came up short today.
    So thats 5 wins and still unbeaten and sitting nice and cosy at the top of the league.Pearce away next week so should be another tough one!

20 Posts
    ballyvolane 1 v macroom 4

went down one after 4minutes after we were well on top for the next 25 minutes scoring two goals.2nd half was more the same us playing the better football and scoring two more goals which killed the game.missing 3 starters myself inculded so great result for us.coachford win tomorrow and it will be a derby game in the next round...

"Winning isn't everything. Wanting to win is."

Quote Originally Posted by holden10 View Post
    .coachford win tomorrow and it will be a derby game in the next round...
    Unfortunately our boys came up short today Holden so that fixture is now a non- runner.

Coachford 1- 2 Killowen
    Lately I have been getting in some match practice with our 2nd team . We are stuck to the bottom of Div. 2A, But in my opinion we're a lot better than our position suggests. Today was a lack lustre performance but it was a game where we didn't deserve to lose in my opinion. Killowen's keeper made a fantastic save in the 1st half to keep the game scoreless untill half time. We gave away a needless free kick from which Killowen scored. We got an equaliser before Killowen scored from the spot with just 2mins to go. Sickening to lose out with time nearly up but as the old saying goes when your down around the bottom it seems to happen a lot.
    One footed will perhaps give a better a/c of the game, Well done and keep up the good work. Ye are after improving a lot in the last season.

Crescent at home next week for us, Another tough one no doubt..
    To escape criticism ~
    do nothing, say nothing, be nothing.

28 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by scaffa7 View Post
    Bohemians 4-2 Kanturk

Great game of ball played up in the Fairfield today wheather conditions wer perfect pitch was a bit sticky but both teams played some lovely football today.
    On the game Kanturk took the lead after 5 mins and completely ran over us the first 10 mins but somehow we dragged ourselves into the game and John Cronin levelled it on 20 mins with a great shot from 20 yards into the top corner started to get a grip of the game and Deccie Gostal added a bullit 2nd on 30 mins after been set up from a great run from Willy o Shea 2-1 at half time
    2nd half we should have added a 3rd after 55mins but somehow our centre forward John Cronin managed to miss a great chance from 2 yards! (he"ll love that now!!).Kanturk wer still playing some great football but could nt break our strong defense but levelled on 65 mins when a mistake at that back from a throw and scored a soft header.
    But again we found somemore and sub Christy Drisscoll scored with his 1st touch after a blunder at the back between Kanturks keeper and there centre half left an open goal which Christy cooly sloted home after 70mins
    Added a 4th after 75mins when another sub Robbie Cunningham shot low into the corner after been set up by John Cronin (the gaffer will claim all the credit here with the 2 subs!!)
    Infairness to Kanturk they kept playing some nice ball and kept pressing until the very end but our defense held strong.Probably the hardest game we played all season Dolandino dont know if you wer there but fair play to ye a great footballing team until the final 3rd of the pitch where ye probably came up short today.
    So thats 5 wins and still unbeaten and sitting nice and cosy at the top of the league.Pearce away next week so should be another tough one!

Well said scaffa,no complaints with that!Unfortunly involved in car accident thursday,nothing serious,so couldnt tog off today,but was in attentance alright!
    Were very dissapointed with today after starting so well,can take positives from 1st half,but dont think second half was good enough!We really have to start picking up points starting with greenwood saturday!
    Your man had some miss alright,just bounced in front do,there the hard ones!Best of luck saturday,cant realy see ye dropping points,but that the good thing about this league,no easy game!

28 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by scaffa7 View Post
    Bohemians 4-2 Kanturk

Well said scaffa,no complaints with that!Unfortunly involved in car accident thursday,nothing serious,so couldnt tog off today,but was in attentance alright!
    Were very dissapointed with today after starting so well,can take positives from 1st half,but dont think second half was good enough!We really have to start picking up points starting with greenwood saturday!
    Your man had some miss alright,just bounced in front do,there the hard ones!Best of luck saturday,cant realy see ye dropping points,but that the good thing about this league,no easy game!

Castleview and Blarney St. games off so I watched a little bit of the Bohs game. Good match but conditions were poor. That's 5 out of 5 for my friend Derek. I can confirm that he was offered the Castleview job but turned it down. Disappointed but good to see some loyalty which is rare enough. Scaffa I can see how you feel he is a legend but did you know it was Castleview who he learned his trait with, playing for about 5 years in the early 90's. Under the guidance of Deccie Meehan he played with some good players, Rodney Power, Jason McGillicuddy, Niall Drummond, who all went on to MSL but Derek left to join Bohs. The Committee felt he would have been a good choice as manager and would have had the chance to work alongside a real legend Patsy Freyne which I feel would have benefited his coaching skills. Also our club President Sean O'Leary is always at games to offer advice. Seanie won almost 30 AUL medals in his career. Played in 7 AOH cup finals, 2 Munster Junior finals & an FAI Junior Cup final. Founder member of the club in 1956 and still going strong, now that's what I call a legend. Castleview Junior team haven't been doing too bad over the last few years. Won a league in 2002 and the double in 2003 & 2006. But we won't be challenging this year so hopefully one of the local teams can. Hard to look past Bohs at this stage but along way to go yet.

Leeside 2 Wilton 1
    Just back from the game in little island and as a neutral it wasn't a great game to watch. Leeside went 2 up in the 1st half and were probably good for it but Wilton totally dominated the second half and desereved a draw out of it. That said for all their dominance they didn't really create much in front of goal and leeside defended well.they practically had everyone behind the ball second half but they coped well and seemed content to try and hang on to what they had.
    Fair play to Bohs again yesterday another good result and they are really the team to beat now in Prem A.
    Just seen on AUL site that glenthorns game was abondoned yesterday. Anyone know why?

20 Posts
    was at the game myself taught wilton were the better team.and deserved something out of the game...i think it was because too many red cards in the glenthorns game....

"Winning isn't everything. Wanting to win is."

Page 28 of 121 FirstFirst ... 1826272829303878 ... LastLast