I should nt have opened my mouth!!

F.A.I. UMBRO JUNIOR CUP 4th ROUND DRAW
    CORK AREA.
    1 Carrigaline Utd. "B" v Wilton Utd. or Rathcoole Rovers
    2 Park United v Ballyvolane F.C.
    3 Knockavilla Clt. v Springfield F.C. or Hibernians F.C.
    4 Kinsale F.C. v Village United
    5 Carrigtwohill Utd v College Cors.
    6 Douglas Hall m.s.l. v Grattan Utd.
    7 Postal Celtic v Castleview
    8 Coachford F.C. v Blarney St.Ath

Home draw though although i ld imagine Blarney Street will have no compalints in playing on The Glebe.

33 Posts
    I watched Glenvale last year and was well impressed with a few of their players, young and quick and could play football with one or two who played premier AUL for years and MSL also but i saw them earlier in the year and they looked totally different ...when i saw this fixture i tought ye would beat them fairly easy so they might have got a few of their players back...I watched Conor play a few times and i have to say he has some lovely touches and skill to die for so hes a good sign for coachford...Blarnet street will give ye a game down in the coachford...the are young and hungry but i think they need 1 r 2 experienced players and if they got that mix they would be very strong...should be a cracker

Blarney street will give ye a game down in the coachford...the are young and hungry but i think they need 1 r 2 experienced players and if they got that mix they would be very strong...should be a cracker
    Backpass I heard Blarney street have signed Willie Bruton.. If this is true then they have got one of the best players in Cork soccer both MSL and AUL. Could be that player that they are lacking. Seen them beat leeside earlier this year and they weren't bad. That should be a cracker alright

Quote Originally Posted by Horse24 View Post
    Scaff, I was over by my car when the first one went in so I cant comment! Dod is a brick wall - we have upto 7 defenders now fighting for the four spots. Good for me the fan - the 3 players not used may not agree!

Balla - maybe the likes of you not being there is some of the issue!!

2 weeks ago when they visited Crescent in Monard - one of them measured the penalty box and found it to be 16/17 long instead of 18. I have been in that situation with teams we have visited - you just get on with it. Both teams have the same conditions. Crescent made a mistake, but I guess they arent using laser measurement equipment! What did Springers do at 10am on the Sunday morning...............rang the AUL to get the game off! - I mean cmon - that smells of fear to me!

The following week against Fairview at Monard again, Springers arrived with 19 players. Unfortunately, our away facilities wont cope with that many. As I said its basic, but we are always looking to make them bigger and use the much bigger away facilities that the other teams give us when they arent using them (like yesterday for us against Greenwod.) Springers gave out, then moaned about the lenght of the grass..............a week later.none of the 28 players yesterday moaned. From what Fairview said, nothing gave them more motivation to beat the visitors which they did. Giving the other team motivation is not a good move by any manager now is it?

Bella, about the complaints - what I meant was I believe they were led by Eddie. I may be wrong but I dont think he founded Springfield or was there as they struggled at the beginning. If its the guy Im thinking of, he has had more clubs than Tiger Woods!

Overall which helps our local game - heping those who dont have or dissing them. I know what I believe is right

First of all in the instance I would separate the way you say Springers as a collective entity. It has to be said that there is a difference from the managerial side and players. I play for Springers now and have when Bella was at the club and since under 13 upwards so I can only speak for us as players. I cannot justify any of the PLAYERS being accused of these 'complaints', although I know we all have our own chin-wags with each other (like all other clubs) about different AUL clubs, players, refs, pitches etc. Can you really imagine one of us measuring the box while we're doing our warm-up? I for one didn't hear any of the lads complaining about the size of the box and doubt anyone brought a measuring wheel to the game. I actually thought the pitch was very good and kept in good condition, hence the ball was passed around nicely in parts by both Springers and Crescent. This is also the first I heard that an attempt was made to get the game called off. I know we are missing a lot of players at the moment but I for one was not "fearful" of playing against Crescent, or against any AUL team for that matter. How could you not be 'up' for a any cup game? This is why I take that comment personally, hence find it almost insulting regardless of the result.

To the Fairview game....we didn't have 19 players. I'm sure we only had 3 on the bench. I did'nt complain about the away facilities whole-heartedly but had a little giggle comparing the home section as opposed to the away one. Usually you would say that both teams are 'in the same boat' when a pitch or referee is bad but not when your getting ready. As i said this is only tongue-in-cheek, but i would be concerned for a team getting ready outside due to lack of space if it were raining. I thought that was the only game on in Monard so could the other facilities be used no? You have your information again mistaken because we played on the second pitch for the Fairview game. So yes within a week we played on 2 different pitches, those judged them both separately. The pitch was almost dangerous in my eyes. There is a certain section on the pitch where it dips dramatically almost the full width of the pitch. I for one attempted to cross the ball when I fell down what felt like a crevasse before i could even kick it, hence could have done some sort of damage. It was extremely difficult to play and pass on the floor due to the pitch. Springers pitch has a slight hill on it and is by no means Old Trafford either, and I don't expect to play on a pitch like Coachfords or Leesides every week, but when your falling in holes or grooves on a pitch it IS dangerous. I wouldn't be complaining about the pitch in public if I did not feel like I have to defend myself or Springfield as a club. I cant remember ever having to defend the club for something like this before.

I don't know what the situation is with the teams in Monard but I must say I did not have any problem with the Crescent game/pitch/facilities whatsoever but how can within one week this be totally different in the same venue...very inconsistent for one facility (Monard) in my opinion.

As for Eddie (Tiger Woods) I think you should get onto him yourself and let him explain his side because I can only speak for me as a player playing week in week out with the lads. I would finally like to commend Crescent for there pitch and manner and Fairview for there win in the Michaels Cup and hope this has cleared up any queries. Looking forward to playing Blarney during the week and against one of my footballing heroes, the one and only Willie Bruton.

My fingers are killing me now from typing ha!!!!!
    "Read not to contradict and confute, nor to believe and take for granted, nor to find talk and discourse, but to weigh and consider."

71 Posts

Slainte aris

Slainte,

Firstly I must congratulate you on a well written piece. Well thought out. I love it when a guy comes on and defends his club - even if its against a piece I have written.

To take your points in order:

I think I have to drop "Springers" as a tilte - Bella never fancied that!

I would normally refer to a team as a collective, but I accept your point on the players.

The point remains that someone did compalin to the AUL before the game regarding the size of the box (according to my first hand information), which I still believe was OTT. You say it yourself that the pitch looks fantastic, and Im sure it could have been fixed for any future games if it was mentioned to them.Both sides have the same pitch markings to deal with as you mention. Ringing the AUL was wrong in my opinion and I stick by it. One of our lads was there - and he told me it was an excellent high quality game from both sides, especially the visitors.

Again, my information on the numbers for the Fairview game was based on information, but it probably is not a big issue.

On the dressing room issue - when we first went to Monard, the changing facilities there were old but bigger. This facility was burned out by hooligans a year or two back and we replaced it with this one container, which cost us a few multiples of our 2010 profit! It may not be much, but its ours and we are proud of it, no matter what anyone says.

The away dressing room is too small, I agree, but we must work with what we have. The home dressing room is too small too. It is deceptive from the outside, but 1/3 of that space is storage and not used for changing. The use of the bigger away dressing room kindly being provided,when available, by Blarney Street/Crescent is in its infancy and there are some early teething issues. Thus answers your question as to why it was not available that morning.

I know what pitch ye played on for the Fairview game - its our pitch too. I take offence to calling our pitch dangerous - thats a big word to be using. We are well aware of our pitch's shortcomings - we see it 20 times a season. That dip you speak of costs a team playing there 20 times a year much more than once or twice. We are constantly striving to improve our facilities, and, in the last week, we have plans in place for remedial work on parts of the pitch for June/July next year already. We have other plans in place too, but way too early to make them public. The biggest crime is standing still and we cannot ever be accused of that.

In comparison to Crescents pitch (and I dont like putting one against another), ours is not as flat a surface. However, ours is probably one of the few pitches in the AUL that will be playable (and I mean really playable) during the bad winter spell ahead. We have been used as back-up by the previous Cork AUL PRO for years. If his chosen game was off, then he would head to Monard and our game, which inevitably was on. Thats a big plus come April and eveing games. Each pitch has its merits and faults. I also take offence with the pitch being hard to pass & play on. I have seen some passages of play this season from hosts and visitors alike, that would stand up on any surface. We would not be 3rd in Premier A if we were a kick and rush side. I understand that some of your football was very pleasing on the eye against Crescent and I applaud you for that. It may be harder on our surface, but it has and will happen there.

You mention that you never had to defend Springfield from something like this before - Slainte, it was not me who rang the AUL. I am but defending my club and my facilities.

You mention the inconsistencies within the one location and I accept that. However, the four clubs meet regularly to work together. We share what we have to make things better for everyone. I have already addressed the pitch issue above.

I broke one of my own rules by mentioning Eddie's name and I shouldnt have. I was angry, and must learn not to write when I am angry.

Send me your car reg Slainte, and I will have a good parking spot reserved for you on Saturday! I hope you take my response in the way I took yours - a man standing up for his club.

Willie Bruton - biggest signing for any AUL club in years in my opinion.

Pat O Brien park will always have a soft spot with me because its where my son saw his first Blackstone game!

Hi lads, new to this. Involved with Castleview. Don't play anymore but still go to a lot of their games. Just interested to hear about the hope of having linesmen at matches. From my experience the first problem is finance. A home game with 3 officials in the MSL is minimum 131.50 Euro. That's 1,315 Euro for refs for 10 home games, which most teams will probably have more than 10. The second problem is the linesmen don't get involved in the game. They flag the odd offside but mostly only indicate throws. Standing in out of the cold one morning before a game I heard the ref tell both linesmen 'don't flag for penalties or any dodgy offsides, leave them to me'.

21 Posts

Red face Cheer up.. it's only a game

We were out in Monard last sunday morning against Crescent in the FAI Jun Cup.
    I saw the line across the box where the old penalty box ended.
    The new box has been extended by about 1 metre.
    The pitch was fine.
    We've played on better ...and an awful lot worse.

The changing facilities were limited and a trip to Kinsale afterwards without a wash/shower is not perfect but we had a choice... turn up and put up with it, or stay at home and moan...
    Some facilities in the AUL are not perfect.
    But neither are the players...if they were they'd be playing at a higher level.
    Mr. Bruton excluded, maybe

If you're moaning and complaining are you enjoying yourself?
    If you're not enjoying yourself, why do you keep turning up?

21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Shilts View Post
    If you're moaning and complaining are you enjoying yourself?
    If you're not enjoying yourself, why do you keep turning up?
    ... obviously, please ignore all previous/future rants on my part

20 Posts
    try playing in the west cork league.then ye'll no about bad pitches and no showers.get on with it....

"Winning isn't everything. Wanting to win is."

Hi lads some health arguments here, my own 2 cents for worth its worth!

I play every 2nd week on the pitch in question{ for those not in the know , i play with the Blarney St}. We all agree the facilites arent great but they are the best that we can afford at this very moment. To those who have better I applaude ye, to those that have worse I have been there too , keep working at it. No 1 wants to go to games tog of in the car, play the game in lashings of rain and drive home but it happens, I love heading to Leeside ,madden Park ect knowing the shower is availabe after the game but it not the reason im there.

4 teams share Monard. Cresent/Blarney St on the 1st pitch, Blackstone/Fairview on the 2nd.
    The latter share a container which is split for home and away. Ourselves and Cresent have a dressing room each which we have an arrangement for whoever is playin that the away team can use the others dressing room.
    Parking!!! Now heres the fun aint that right Horse! If there is 2 games out there at the same time it can be hell!! The field can take close to maybe 30 cars give or take!!! The problem arises with access for an ambulance which fingers crossed we wont ever have to seee again. We try to make a passage way next to the dressing rooms for this so we hope all teams visiting monard will listen to the advice from the parking attendent who is employed their!!! He works hard for his few euros!!!!

As Horse has mentioned we are all working together to try make this facility better, some jobs take 5 mins others take alot longer. The great thing about it , is all involved out there have a love for the game and the need to improve not alone on the pitch but off it too.

On Brutts ! Class player, we hope to have 1 or 2 more like that in the future.

Springfield the team on saturday I look forward the game.

Linesmen! honestly wont happen reguarly anyway for a good few decades!!! just not enough refs. simple! and at E131 a game aint fesabile! At most Msl games that all 3 are there there is an entrance fee,can we really try start charging peolple to watch our games??????????
    "Build it and they will come"

Oscar Traynor News

Friendly game next Wednesday night: Cork A.U.L. V
    Cork Shipping League
    Next Wednesday's game is being played in aid of the National Suicide Research Foundation and the Munster Branch of the Special Olympics.
    The venue for Wednesday's game will be Mayfield’s all-weather pitch with a kick off time scheduled for 8.15pm.
    Five euro donations are being taken on donation cards on the night and all support would be greatly appreciated.
    For the month of November Oscar Traynor Manager Niall O’Regan will be organising fundraisers for the above organisations and all support would be greatly appreciated.
    Once again here is the list of players requested to attend.

Blackstone Rovers: Ivan Skillington, Colin Bevan.
    Ballyvolane: Colin Keane, John Corcoran.
    Corkbeg A.F.C.: Ronan Forde.
    Park Untied: Darren Lynch, Eamonn O Sullivan.
    Grattan United: Keith Shaw, Danny Donovan.
    Wilton: Alan Bellamadou, Packie O’Connor, Cian Blake, Shane O’Neill.
    Macroom: Keith Holden, Tommy Pittam, Darrell Holden.
    Innishvilla F.C.: Jack Walsh.
    Killumney F.C.: Aaron Kearney, David O Callaghan, Eamon McNamara, David Lordon.
    Kinsale: Terence Eade.
    Leeside: Johnny Barrett, Derek Delea, Ricky Gettings, Alex Nodwell, Paul Condon.
    Blarney St.: John Betts, Anthony Peelo, Gary Coughlan, Edward Kenny.
    Knockavilla: Hughie Donovan, Rob Walsh

Scaff, I was over by my car when the first one went in so I cant comment! Dod is a brick wall - we have upto 7 defenders now fighting for the four spots. Good for me the fan - the 3 players not used may not agree!

Balla - maybe the likes of you not being there is some of the issue!!

2 weeks ago when they visited Crescent in Monard - one of them measured the penalty box and found it to be 16/17 long instead of 18. I have been in that situation with teams we have visited - you just get on with it. Both teams have the same conditions. Crescent made a mistake, but I guess they arent using laser measurement equipment! What did Springers do at 10am on the Sunday morning...............rang the AUL to get the game off! - I mean cmon - that smells of fear to me!

The following week against Fairview at Monard again, Springers arrived with 19 players. Unfortunately, our away facilities wont cope with that many. As I said its basic, but we are always looking to make them bigger and use the much bigger away facilities that the other teams give us when they arent using them (like yesterday for us against Greenwod.) Springers gave out, then moaned about the lenght of the grass..............a week later.none of the 28 players yesterday moaned. From what Fairview said, nothing gave them more motivation to beat the visitors which they did. Giving the other team motivation is not a good move by any manager now is it?

Bella, about the complaints - what I meant was I believe they were led by Eddie. I may be wrong but I dont think he founded Springfield or was there as they struggled at the beginning. If its the guy Im thinking of, he has had more clubs than Tiger Woods!

Overall which helps our local game - heping those who dont have or dissing them. I know what I believe is right
    Hi lads- its been a while since I have been on and I have been out of the game for the last couple of weeks due to the birth of my son who is nearly ready to tog out himself However I was requested to attend the Fairview game to help with numbers on the bench as we were struggling- and so comes my first point Horse I don't know where you got the 19 players- I hope it wasn't the guy who told you the AUL were rang about the box.
    Moving on- I was made aware of the issues about the box when I attended the Fairview game but the lads were very complimentary about the pitch and even joked that the small box went in our favor because our center back gave away a free kick on the edge of the small box. It was not said to me that the AUL was rang and I speak to the gaffers regularly. If they were I would be a small bit embarrassed to be honest and had I been there would have said "welcome to the AUL" lads I have being playing AUL football for 10 years now and this is Quality Inn compared to some venues
    We did arrive for the Fairview game to find the dressing rooms were too small but I for one had already decided without complaint or hesitation to get changed outside. There was a few murmurs from one person but I quickly indicated that that was life at this level and some of us seasoned pros are well used to it.
    I do apologize for any offence caused and we are not the Chelsea of the AUL so please do not tarnish us as you are trying to do. Most of us are just normal guys who have supported AUL football for a long time and realize that this is the beauty of the level we play at. It keeps the football real- well away from the fancy boys who are ruining the higher levels of football in this country and think they should be spending their Saturday nights with Cristiano and Paris.
    Fairview are a good hearted hard working team who are now the only team to beat Springfield in close to 30 competitive games going back into last season and over 2 games this season have earned the respect of most of our lads- and I for one will definitely not be under-estimating them when we go back down to play them again later on in the season.
    I am gravely concerned about the press our team has been getting this season compared to that we received last season. It is a much changed team, a higher division and it is another level of pressure that has come with it. There is a heightened level of coverage and maybe herein lies the problem.
    We have been subjected to a disgraceful attack in the Echo Newspaper by a Referee/Jurno who in my opinion is no good at either (a bit harsh but this is rant time). To have an opinion about something is one thing as a referee but to go and relay that in a regional paper that is read by nearly every club man in the county and every referee is an absolute disgrace and a blatant personnel attack on a football team for no perceived reason other than a bit of dissent barely comparable to what you get when you go to any game in certain area's of the city and county. You either a referee or a journalist and surely un-ethical to mix both.
    This coupled with pieces like this by you Horse ( and i am not saying for one second that you are not entitled to relay your feelings but.....) it only heightens further the resentment that people might have for a club now being perceived as pre-Madonnas playing in AUL 1. I for one am not pleased with the unnecessary press (not saying undeserved totally) and it is press that may lead to important decisions and bitter resentment from people in the game who have the power to affect decisions.
    It dissapoints me an awful lot lads because if anyone knows me or Springfield as a club we are not resentful club with ideas above our station; just a small club trying to improve all the time. We welcome all clubs to Pat O' Brien and we always try to play the game the right way. We are no angels but we are certainly not Hell's 11.
    People who know them may not find our gaffers to be their friends and their paths may have crossed along the way due to the fact that they have managed and won many things with different clubs (3 wood, driver, 9 iron etc.). They are winners and sometimes winners tend to play on the edge of everyones nerves (mine included) and people take offence to this. That however is a personnel issue which should be kept between persons and not used to portray a team as a group of spoilt brats who think that they should be given 5 star treatment with massages and bath oils thrown in for good measure.
    As you have indicated horse and please respect that this a defense, of first and foremost my team and team-mates, and secondly my football club. Every club has its *******s but for the most our club is a proud and respectful club. If I have caused offence i apologize whole-heartedly and would like to finish by wishing you the best of luck in trying to make your football club a better place to play football for the young people of Cork who over the next few years may appreciate this work more as the "Celtic cubs" die off and we are back to the rogues who enjoy getting dressed on the bus or at the back of the cars, find it an adventure and don't complain about the luxury of a shed in Monard
    God Bless!
    Forget what YOU want and think about the CLUB before there is none.

71 Posts
    Cas, very nice of you to print the AUL squad...............you never did that last year!!!

Ram, something in the water down in Cobh - another well written piece. I take all you said and agree with your final point 100%......when the smoke clears who will be left standing?

I must admit Springfield's on the field actions are been talked about, but all that I have heard is complimentary. Excellent football v Crescent was from one of our own and many similar second and third hand info. I have not heard anyone wishing bad things on ye.

We all gave our opinion on the matter in the recent days and we must now ban all golf references!! & move on. Say hello if ye see me Saturday - I might be the parking attendant. Am I getting money Cas????

24 Posts
    I think the Springfield lads are all getting a little bit touchy.

Played recently at Monard against Blarney St and i have to say both teams played some great football on that surface so i dont know why people say its dangerous because if it was, im sure the clubs who play at home there wouldnt be risking their own players on it. This applies for any time i have played out there whether it was against Blarney St, Cresent, Blackstone or Fairview.

Cas, very nice of you to print the AUL squad...............you never did that last year!!!

We all gave our opinion on the matter in the recent days and we must now ban all golf references!! & move on. Say hello if ye see me Saturday - I might be the parking attendant. Am I getting money Cas????
    Horse I was ona bit of R & R for the last 12 months , if you care to check back previous years iv often posted the Oscar news!!! Just letting the people know whats going on! But there is a few names and clubs not what you would have called predictable there!!! I was working out if we had a form of payment in kind would that be ok???????? and if so you owe us cause your terrible at it!! ill be keeping a close eye on you saturday!!

20 Posts
    Cork aul 7,cork shipping league 1....

"Winning isn't everything. Wanting to win is."

Bit of copying and pasting -
    Cork A.U.L. 7 v 1 Cork Shipping League
    Strong collective performance with goals from Ricky Gettings (3), David O Callaghan, Kieth Holden, Kieth Shaw and Ivan Skillington. Man of the match performance from Colin Keane. Good displays from Aaron Kearney Centre Half, Cian Blake Centre Midfield and excellent work from Paul Condon Centre Half and Ricky Gettings in midfield

Just saw fixtures for weekend scaffa tough one on Saturday. strong team Kanturk that play good football should be good game plus just looking at tables don't think Castleview as bad as tables look you played them twice and beat them and both games were close, What do you think ?

28 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by trouble View Post
    Just saw fixtures for weekend scaffa tough one on Saturday. strong team Kanturk that play good football should be good game plus just looking at tables don't think Castleview as bad as tables look you played them twice and beat them and both games were close, What do you think ?
    Ya Trouble Kanturk only just missed out on promotion last year and we played them already in the Mossie Lin cup this year which finished 1-1 so expecting another tight game on Saturday afternoon.Their a big strong team which pass the ball well and won their 1st league game last week so there tails will be up and so hopefully the weather stays a bit calm and we get a good football game going on the Fairfield!

On the Castleview point i agree with you totally i said it before there a young team and will take a lot of points of teams up in there place so i would nt be pressing the panic buttons if i was them its still very early times yet.............
    WE ARE GOING UP I SAID WE ARE GOING UP!!!!! BOHS CHAMPIONS 1A 09/10

Page 27 of 121 FirstFirst ... 1725262728293777 ... LastLast