9 Rockmount v Douglas Hall m.s.l.
    10 Castle Celtic v Village United
    11 Postal Celtic v Millstreet Clt.
    12 Coachford F.C. v Glenvale F.C.
    13 Brooklodge M.S.L v Blarney St.Ath
    14 Everton A.F.C. v Knockavilla Clt.
    15 Carrigtwohill Utd. v Cathedral Clt.
    16 Springfield F.C. v Hibernians F.C.

Got this from the fai forum, home draw for us which is all you could ask for, do nt know much about glenvale. Im sure our city contingent will though!!

how many rounds of the F.A.I. UMBRO JUNIOR CUP are there ????

Quote Originally Posted by killer"B" View Post
    I guess cork will have 4 qualify for out of town section. Which is the last 64 of competition.
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

2nd post

Quote Originally Posted by killer"B" View Post
    About 57 i think thats before you get out of Cork

71 Posts

Questions

As we go through a quiet spell on the forum............maybe the beginning of the end..who knows!...a few general questions.

The crap with Rooney during the week ****ed off every premier league fan when it showed how little the club means to most of them.

In a local sense, for the city teams - do you have a catchment area and does it come into your thinking when signing a player? Do players who are playing with "their" club try harder? For the country teams, should your club stay local or bring in players from whereever they can?

Were Avondale & Rockmount right to move so far from their catchment areas or does it really matter?

AOH Cup

Grattan 0 -2 Blackstone Rovers - wasnt there myself due to work commitments

Quote Originally Posted by Horse24 View Post
    As we go through a quiet spell on the forum............maybe the beginning of the end..who knows!...a few general questions.

The crap with Rooney during the week ****ed off every premier league fan when it showed how little the club means to most of them.

In a local sense, for the city teams - do you have a catchment area and does it come into your thinking when signing a player? Do players who are playing with "their" club try harder? For the country teams, should your club stay local or bring in players from whereever they can?

Were Avondale & Rockmount right to move so far from their catchment areas or does it really matter?
    I asked a similiar question last year horse.
    To be honest I would say any city club that does not have an underage system will struggle to get massive loyalty from players. There are always exceptions, great club men who stick things out through thick and thin but for the most part in the city anyway players have grown up in different clubs and end up in a different club for a whole host of reasons. Players that come through underage and stick with their club do have more pride in the jersey i feel.

Its different for county teams as if you are playing for your parish there is always that sense of pride.

P.S. great result today. Were ye good or is the story of Grattans demise true?

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pacman View Post
    I asked a similiar question last year horse.
    To be honest I would say any city club that does not have an underage system will struggle to get massive loyalty from players. There are always exceptions, great club men who stick things out through thick and thin but for the most part in the city anyway players have grown up in different clubs and end up in a different club for a whole host of reasons. Players that come through underage and stick with their club do have more pride in the jersey i feel.

Its different for county teams as if you are playing for your parish there is always that sense of pride.

P.S. great result today. Were ye good or is the story of Grattans demise true?

Even the Parish pride seems not to be as strong as it was. It suprised me that a town like Ballincollig took so long to get pitches as an example. I always thought their was a strong town pride out there. Too many sports maybe?

Great win for us today. We are delighted. For me personally as a Liverpool/Blackstone fan, I had gone 11 games without a win!!!

We scored twice early, but both sides were attacking well. We just seemed to be coping a bit better - they hit the post with a long range bullet in a frenetic start. 2 up at the break, and could have had one or two more. Saw half of the second half. We defended for the first ten as expected, but then had a great chance to make it three, which we didnt take. We saw it home apart from the odd scare. Having just come through a rough patch ourselves, Grattan just look like a good team who are low on confidence. No hiding the fact that they have lost a few players, but they did ok today - one win will set them off.

28 Posts
    Kinsale B 2-3 Bohemians

The scoreline does not reflect that game one bit flatters Kinsale to be honest controlled the game for 80 mins led 2 nil at the break goals from Deccie Gostal and John cronin had us comfortably ahead.
    John added his 2nd of the game after 55 mins to make it 3-0 but infairness we should have been winning this game by 5 or 6.
    We got sloppy in the last 10 mins and conceded 2 goals but we should have added a 4 th before the ref blew for full time to give us a deserved win.
    Last edited by scaffa7; 24/10/2010 at 2:06 PM.
    WE ARE GOING UP I SAID WE ARE GOING UP!!!!! BOHS CHAMPIONS 1A 09/10

A.O.H. Cup 2nd round.

Killowen 1 Buttevant (A) 4.

We made our exit from the A.O.H. cup and our unbeaten home record also ended on Saturday. We were missing 2/3 regulars but no excuses as we didn't play well. First half was scoreless, however, our keeper was kept on his toes and made a couple of crucial saves. We conceded twice in the opening 5 minutes of the second half but pulled a goal back after 60 minutes to give ourselves a glimmer of hope. Buttevant converted a penalty with 20 minutes to go that virtually sealed the game. They added a fourth in the closing minutes to make it 4-1.
    "Garlic bread - it’s the future, I’ve tasted it."
    Brian Potter - Phoenix Nights

[FONT=Helv][SIZE=2][FONT=Helv][SIZE=2]A.O.H. Cup

Leeds 6 - 3 Corkbeg

The ultimate game of two halves.

We went 5-0 up at half time with four goals from Deane Buckley and one from Johnny Cooney. Played them off the park for the 45 mins and scored 5 great team goals.

Second half was a different story as we eased off and credit to Corkbeg for coming back out in the second half and taking the game to us. They brought it back to 5-3 before we had a man sent off. Terence Buckley tapped one in to ease our nerves towards the end making it 6-3.
    Overall a crazy game of football played on a great surface. (Why can't more teams have pitches like that?) Happy to be through to the next round but looking forward to getting back to the league at the weekend.

[/SIZE][/FONT][/SIZE][/FONT]

71 Posts

Move us up the list!!

Just to show I can moan when we win too!!!

I had a run in with the official at the weekend during our game. 100% my fault, a complete over reaction and I thought he put me in my place well.

In our few games involving this official so far this season, we have had all 50/50 and most 60/40 decisions go against us. Both games were against higher ranked teams, so I had a theory that subconciously he favoured the higher ranked sides. In the last day or two, I wonder if its anti-us. Not sure but one to watch.

I will again ask officials who read this forum to please put consistency as one of the items at the top of your list. I actually do not have an issue if an official decides he isnt going to blow for foul throws, as an example, or book for kicking the ball away. But he has to apply his decision to both sides. Two weeks in a row now, we have been caught.

I believe one of the Coachford B guys suffered a nasty injury at the weekend. Any update from the Coachford lads.

As a Littleman update, he came into our dressing room and was very gracious in defeat. Our lads were delighted with his few words. The Gratts will rise again, I have no doubt.

71 Posts
    Oh Yeah, I forgot.....................Mr Holden..............do you have to be in the front of EVERY picture!!!!!

20 Posts
    what picture would that be horse?????

"Winning isn't everything. Wanting to win is."

Quote Originally Posted by Horse24 View Post
    Just to show I can moan when we win too!!!

I believe one of the Coachford B guys suffered a nasty injury at the weekend. Any update from the Coachford lads.

As a Littleman update, he came into our dressing room and was very gracious in defeat. Our lads were delighted with his few words. The Gratts will rise again, I have no doubt.
    Yeah unfortunately for the player in question he had a nasty break, so best wishes for a speedy recovery. Was nt at that game and was away for the Ballyvolane game as well.

Big game for Grattan against Macroom, they really need a win as they look like they could struggle, which would have been unthinkable at the start of the season.

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by holden10 View Post
    what picture would that be horse?????
    The pics from the Holden, sorry I mean Macroom, awards on the Echo!

20 Posts
    big game for us also a win would be great 2 from 3 wouldnt be a bad start for us..only saw it today horse cam just seems to follow me haha...

28 Posts
    Castleview 2-3 Bohemians

Very phsical game played up Castleview today nobody was pulling out of challenges and there was a fair few yellows shown today!!
    On the game like last week we nearly wrecked this game led 3-0 and again went lapsy daisy and conceded 2 stupid goals when this game should have really been wrapped up.
    Went 1 up after 25 mins when Deccie Gostal got his head to a cross from Willy o Shea......Stayed that way till half time
    2nd half we started the better and I made 2 nil !!!! after 55 mins and soon added a third when John Cronin finished off a great move off a Deccie Gostal pass.
    But again like last week we seemed to take our foot of the peddle and fair play to Castleview they came back at us and scored 2 goals but infairness we had 2 more chances in the last 10 mins that should have finished them off
    So thats 4 wins from 4 and we sit nicely at the top of the table....... finished wit Castleview now for the rest of the season thank god it will be no easy place for teams to come up there and take 3 points!
    WE ARE GOING UP I SAID WE ARE GOING UP!!!!! BOHS CHAMPIONS 1A 09/10

20 Posts
    GRATTAN 3 MACROOM 5

what can i say lads what a game.when up 2-0 they hit us back with 2 before the break.ours heads were down a manager give us a good talking to at the break came out got the 3rd from another header.they scored again 3-3.made it four it an unbeliveable free kick wraped it up when 15 to go with the 5th and the 4th for myself..
    leeside at home next week gonna be an even tougher test...

Page 24 of 121 FirstFirst ... 1422232425263474 ... LastLast