Page 58 of 121 FirstFirst ... 848565758596068108 ... LastLast
Results 1,141 to 1,160 of 2414

Thread: Cork AUL 2010/11

71 Posts
    Yep - the reds count. Im not sure if the AUL game counts as one of their suspended or if it is just that you cant play if under suspension by league.

Refs are told if there is a brawl, minimum is to pick one from either side. Went against us earlier this year too.

Dunno if the assistants have the power to get guys on panel - might have a say in who goes training, but dunno if they could promise guys games.

If it is the same Pa O Connor, he is one of three excellent footballing brothers. Dave was with us for years and is a footballing genius. Steven packed it in way too early despite us trying to change his mind!

LEESIDE/KNOCKAVILLA BRAWL - Pacman, thanks for fair representation of story coz honest to God some knockavilla players were very luck to finish the game.
    Horse dunno who your source is but first red, pre brawl, was given to a knockavilla player for a stamp, then a sneaky kick to the head on that aforementioned 18 yr old player.
    Young fella can look after himself and is a physical player but the second knockavilla red was a disgraceful cowardly act more like assault. our player was grabbed by throat, didnt react, then knockavilla player punched him straight in face. Ref saw it. Big brawl, possibly 5 or 6 could have been sent but just the one from each. Half time came quickly after, things calmed down then. Baffles me how knockavilla centre half didnt go coz he was the most "active" swing left and right. Ref Paul O Sullivan handled it very well in fairness. Other issues which happended during and after the game also I will not comment on but perhaps another Leeside poster might, Iv said enough.

Scaffa heard down in the anglers that Littleman took a training session with Bohs during the week. Any truth in this and if so is he gonna throw his lot in with ye. If it is true good to see him back involved after the way he was treated. What's the chances of pa Connors starting on wend for the aul after today's developments in leeside/knockavilla game???

Quote Originally Posted by thebooboys View Post
    LEESIDE/KNOCKAVILLA BRAWL - Pacman, thanks for fair representation of story coz honest to God some knockavilla players were very luck to finish the game.
    Horse dunno who your source is but first red, pre brawl, was given to a knockavilla player for a stamp, then a sneaky kick to the head on that aforementioned 18 yr old player.
    Young fella can look after himself and is a physical player but the second knockavilla red was a disgraceful cowardly act more like assault. our player was grabbed by throat, didnt react, then knockavilla player punched him straight in face. Ref saw it. Big brawl, possibly 5 or 6 could have been sent but just the one from each. Half time came quickly after, things calmed down then. Baffles me how knockavilla centre half didnt go coz he was the most "active" swing left and right. Ref Paul O Sullivan handled it very well in fairness. Other issues which happended during and after the game also I will not comment on but perhaps another Leeside poster might, Iv said enough.
    I'd say it was a case of, we'll sort out the league leaders down here in west cork attitude.

If you're version is true Boo, which I imagine it is, then as captain of the AUL that is fairly disgraceful behaviour. Also given Leeside have so many on the AUL team how can they treat that player as team mate when playing together.

AUL 2A Result

Coachford B 3 - 1 Leeview Ath.
    Went 2 nil up after 15mins, They pulled one back before half time. Played some very good football in the 2nd half and we scored the 3rd with around 20 to go.
    This was our first game since before christmas so we are delighted to get back on track with a massive 3pts..

Looking forward to County cup clash with ye Innishvilla. Ye seem to be flying with what looks to be a very young team.
    Last time I played in Innishannon I'd say you were in your prime .

Our Premiers had a big win. No doubt Inswinger will have a report.

Lastly lads , Pa Connors was / ( still is ??? ) an exceptional player , I'm sure he will be a huge addition to any team he plays for this season wheter it be Grattan or The Aul squad.
    To escape criticism ~
    do nothing, say nothing, be nothing.

Quote Originally Posted by Horse24 View Post
    Yep - the reds count. Im not sure if the AUL game counts as one of their suspended or if it is just that you cant play if under suspension by league.

Refs are told if there is a brawl, minimum is to pick one from either side. Went against us earlier this year too.

Dunno if the assistants have the power to get guys on panel - might have a say in who goes training, but dunno if they could promise guys games.

If it is the same Pa O Connor, he is one of three excellent footballing brothers. Dave was with us for years and is a footballing genius. Steven packed it in way too early despite us trying to change his mind!
    Lads i'm also helping out with the AUL panel - The Blackstone captain was on the panel the last two years - including the year they won it - as you will see (and much to my dismay) he isnt on it this year - so lets nip this in the bud right now regarding Pa O Connor . He isnt there because the Grattan manager promised him a game!

Quote Originally Posted by olachico View Post
    Lads i'm also helping out with the AUL panel - The Blackstone captain was on the panel the last two years - including the year they won it - as you will see (and much to my dismay) he isnt on it this year - so lets nip this in the bud right now regarding Pa O Connor . He isnt there because the Grattan manager promised him a game!
    ola on one of your points.how many others are involved with this farse of a set up nothing personel here now but the grattan manager is no 2 your giving a hand ,i heard niall o reagan went and asked people who went to the training sessions to help out as for the panel itself 2 players have arrived as last minute additions and are on panel for game. graham keane and pa o connor and some of those who were involved in earlier training all through the winter are cast aside.ask the question why are kinsale players boycoting the panel. the current premier league champions and from what ive seen so far this year my tip for honors again.

61 Posts
    Thats all well and fine Olachico but explain why is he there ??? And what experience has the Grattan manager got to assist in the running of an inter lge team? Surely his priority should be getting a great club up and running again ??

Olachico there's only one guy saying he was told he'd be on it of he signed with grattan. I don't think that to be honest. But I'm just saying how can a guy that didn't play since when? Just walk onto a panel like that with the likes of Bevan and Joe Bloggs prob going to every training and game gettin the chop. How are you involved with the aul team Olachico??

Booboy from what I'm hearing on this forum that carry on is a disgrace!! And Sticking up for your team mates can get ya sent off and suspended. Trying to play ball doesn't seem to be working for them this year so there trying different tactics. Who is the Aul player involved from them??

very good point glenbuck. a total shambles,hopefully the aul will next season advertise the job on the net ,pick the manager for one year and if fairly successful maybe get another year.o reagan should have been gone after last years loss to clare.he discarded players from the oscar winning team of year previous. i bet many of us could pick an alternative team that would have a better chance than this one. i said this last year re mr o reagan and i was proved right then.the same beckons.

Lads don't know a whole deal about AUL team management set up but there seems to be an awful lot of people involved. With regards to Pa O Connor, he played with Castleview a couple of years ago. Good player but not very reliable. I have it on good authority that he's not even sure if he'll turn up for AUL squad. He didn't have the interest to play all season so what interest is he going to have in the Oscar Traynor. Horrendous choice by management team, will definetly turn players off turning up for AUL squad trials.

Quote Originally Posted by shetland View Post
    very good point glenbuck. a total shambles,hopefully the aul will next season advertise the job on the net ,pick the manager for one year and if fairly successful maybe get another year.o reagan should have been gone after last years loss to clare.he discarded players from the oscar winning team of year previous. i bet many of us could pick an alternative team that would have a better chance than this one. i said this last year re mr o reagan and i was proved right then.the same beckons.
    Shetland as i've said to you last year - if you dont like the way the AUL appoint the AUL manager why dont you send a letter to the AUL. Sorry for the repeated use of the letters A U and L but its just so it sinks in .I'm sure they would be delighted to hear your views on the matter!! I'm sure you are also aware Shetland that the AUL like to appoint a manager for 2 or more seasons! Niall was appointed last year and got the team to the semi finals!

Ps its spelt FARCE and PERSONAL - as you know Shetland i get to a lot of AUL matches - i've often seen you and Bieber at them! Last year i travelled to alot of the Oscar traynor teams games - in fact i was one of the few outside of the committee who travelled to Tipperary for the Quarter Final. I have recommended players to the panel since last year - some have got trials some have not! People criticised the AUL manager last year for not having more input from within the AUL and when he does he gets criticised again!

I'm sure your name will be top of the list of applicants too Shetland - nice to see you waved back the other day and that there are no hard feelings ;-)
    Last edited by olachico; 23/01/2011 at 11:11 PM.

With regards the AUL team, most of the core players i.e. definite starters come and go as they please regarding training etc. And many of them know they can get away with it too. The thing is, he knows the players he wants and he was quite happy to string along a lot of fellas to 1. keep clubs happy and show them that it doesnt matter what division you are in, you can make it 2. Make sure you have enough bodies for training and challenge matches so it doesnt look like a farce from the outside

Some fellas were told they didnt have to train. Other guys then are training for months when the manager knows they havent a hope of being in his final selection

100 percent agree with both the view and pacman.

View you echoed my thoughts exactly with your point but we'll just have to see if were wrong?

What do you do with the aul team Olachico??

Quote Originally Posted by Glenbuck View Post
    Thats all well and fine Olachico but explain why is he there ??? And what experience has the Grattan manager got to assist in the running of an inter lge team? Surely his priority should be getting a great club up and running again ??
    Glenbuck - I dont need to explain the squad selection process to anyone! Clubs were complaining that players werent given a chance yet when clubs were asked to send players for a trial they didnt .

It was there Centre Mid. Forget his name. Didnt realise he was AUL Capt. That makes it more interesting so given that we got large representation on Oscar Traynor. I hope ref puts it in his report coz the way this guy acted he deserves much more than the basic 3 matches. Condon was unlucky to get sent, as was said he was closest, reacted by shoving the knockavilla player etc and the ref said it himself afterwards that one from each had to go

with regards to AUL team most players train twice a week with club. I couldnt fault some for not wanting to train a third night.
    As regards to selection, best players should play. Thats if you want to win something. The players there at present are good enough to give anyone a game. only a few inclusions which i find questionable

Glenbuck - I dont need to explain the squad selection process to anyone! Clubs were complaining that players werent given a chance yet when clubs were asked to send players for a trial they didnt .
    But I guess that is whats annoying so many people ola, it seems all that has changed is that now there is a facade in place to give the impression that players are being given a chance but the reality is that maybe 90% of the squad is pre-determinded and the rest seem to be dragged along to bulk up training etc.

Now what i will say is that and especially for players from outside premier/premier A, even if they didnt make the final cut it was probably a good experience to train with quality players and get an insight into Nialls training methods which are top notch. So from this point of view i think players probably did get something out of it even if they are annoyed with how it ended.

ola bottom line he is the manager of a team from m.s,l, and should not be manager of aul squad at all.he has fellas like you doing his job.best way to see players in action is to watch them play with their clubs on weekends he cant do that as bandon are playing.trials and get togethers on all weather pitches isnt ideal.ive sen players be superstars on all weather pitches and only average on grass,.also i see a few others here agree, and dont worry i will let it be known at aul meeting.

Quote Originally Posted by pacman View Post
    But I guess that is whats annoying so many people ola, it seems all that has changed is that now there is a facade in place to give the impression that players are being given a chance but the reality is that maybe 90% of the squad is pre-determinded and the rest seem to be dragged along to bulk up training etc.

Now what i will say is that and especially for players from outside premier/premier A, even if they didnt make the final cut it was probably a good experience to train with quality players and get an insight into Nialls training methods which are top notch. So from this point of view i think players probably did get something out of it even if they are annoyed with how it ended.
    Pacman i was a delegate for Hibernians before i started my "club hopping phase" . At AUL meetings I had repeatedly said there should have been trial games as there are some very good players at lower levels in the AUL - Jack Walsh out of Innishvilla being one case that springs to mind for this year - a fine player playing at Div2 - someone i'm sure would have been in the squad if it wasnt for an injury