Page 46 of 121 FirstFirst ... 3644454647485696 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork AUL 2010/11

siting here looking out the window and not adrop of green i sight. surely this bad eather has to open the arguement for summer soccer.while not ideal it must be taught about again. we havent played for 4 weeks and it could be a real possibilty it could be another 4 weeks before we play again. and if you listen to the experts these winters are here to stay.

71 Posts

Summer Soccer

Fruice, just thinking the same today.

Makes sense. "Shutdowns" for anybody who has work is gone. As much chance of a fella missing on hols in September as July.

Only drawback would be school hols for kids have to tie into family hols. It may not affect the majority of 20 somethings but will affect some people. Maybe one month off in summer and 2/3 in winter? Feb to start Nov with August off is 8 months. half of Aug to start May is 8 and a half months?

Worth a big pro/con discussion. Doesmt some league up the west do it? I wonder how its working out for them.

Crescent went 13 weeks I believe without a game last winter!

it is definatly worth a disscussion.i know the smaller clubs will site players playing gaa will cause problems but to be fair our weather is brutal if its nor ice its rain. you can be sure after this thaw there will be plenty of pitches waterlogged and if not after one game they will be in an awful state. i know we had a game called off a couple of weeks ago a couple of hours before kick off because an underage game made rubish of as it hawed out.

The way the weather has gone over the past 2 seasons a summer season has to come in with a break in either July or August. going 8 or 9 weeks without a match or 3-4 weeks without training ins't helping anybody.

21 Posts
    Avondale 2 Kinsale 1 after extra time in the Munster Senior Cup today

Well lads would ye say some games might be on sunday ????

Sunday 2nd January Ko 10.45 am unless otherwise stated.

Lucozade Sport Munster Junior Cup 2nd Round
    Springfield A v Blarney St Ath, Pat O’Brien Pk, T.Tully
    Douglas Hall v Village Utd, Moneygourney, T.Thompson
    Lucozade Sport Munster Junior Cup 3rd Round
    Killumney Utd v Kinsale A, Killeady, A.O’Regan
    Wilton Utd B v Park Utd A, Lee Road, J.Thompson
    Glen Celtic A v Buttevant A, Glen Pk, M.O’Flynn
    Casement Celtic v Innishvilla, Casement Park, P.McAulliffe
    AOH Cup 3rd Round
    Carrigtwohill Utd A v Leeds, Ballyadam Pk, S.Joyce
    Knockavilla Celtic v Macroom A, Knockavilla, A.Mylod
    Ballyvolane A v Knockraha, Pfizer Pk, C.Long
    Saxone Cup Quarter Final
    Churchvilla v Waterloo, Kilmoy, Cloyne, S.Barry
    Presidents Cup 3rd Round
    Leeside C v Newmarket, Pigeon Hill, R.Bond
    Afton Villa v Knocknaheeny Celtic, Kileady, D.Donovan
    Corinthians Cup 1st Round
    Killowen v St John Boscos A, Killowen, M.Doody
    Ballinhassig v Leeside B, Gortnaglough, B.Buckley
    Inter City Celtic v Cork Road Celtic, Pophams Rd, G.Duffy
    Buttevant B v Rathcoole Rovers A, Buttevant J.Gaffney
    Ballintotis v Parkview Celtic, Ballintotis, J.Quinn
    St John Boscos B v Passage, Waterrock Pk 2.00pm, A.McDonagh
    Hillington v City Wanderers, Hillington Pk, T.McCarthy
    Premier League
    Leeside v Grattan Utd, Little Island, P.Murphy
    Coachford v Wilton Utd, The Glebe, D.O’Mahony
    Premier A League
    Greenwood v Blackstone Rovers, Clashduv Rd, 2.00pm, B.Noonan
    Kanturk v Pearse Celtic, Kanturk, Paul O’Sullivan
    Castleview v Glenthorn Celtic, O’Sullivan Pk, M.O’Farrell
    AUL 1
    Fairview v Postal Celtic, Monard, L.Murphy
    AUL 1A
    Donoughmore Ath v Glenvale, Donoughmore, M.O’Flaherty
    AUL 2A
    Millstreet Celtic v Crescent Ath, Town Pk, S.McDermott
    AUL 3
    Innishvilla v Carrigtwohill Utd, Knocknacurra, Innishannon, E.Mullins.

I would say alot will be called off, with the taw most pitches will be waterlogged

As of now Leeside v Grattan will go ahead as long as theres no more downpours. We trained on pitch today and its getting rolled friday. Should be on. We're looking to get as many games playead as possible, we don't want another costly backlog of fixtures like last season

Springfield 0-0 Blarney St Ath (AET).

Springfield win 4-2 on pens.

Good, competive, end-to-end game.
    Blarney St. reduced to 10men during 2nd half. Springfield probably had the more chances to finish game off in normal time!.

... anyone have any score from fairview vs postal game?(if it went ahead)
    Last edited by offside rule; 02/01/2011 at 3:49 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by offside rule View Post
    Springfield 0-0 Blarney St Ath (AET).

Springfield win 4-2 on pens.

Good, competive, end-to-end game.
    Blarney St. reduced to 10men during 2nd half. Springfield probably had the more chances to finish game off in normal time!.

... anyone have any score from fairview vs postal game?(if it went ahead)
    7-0 to Fairview

well lads hope all went well for the xmas for ye... back in action today against leeside down in there place and i must say what a battering we got 7 nil and blowing up early on top of that ex grattan player keith shaw getting 2 goals for himself hard times ahead for grattan id say !!!!

HERE ALL TODAY ACTION FOR YE :::

FULL RESULTS NOW IN:
    Lucozade Sport Munster Junior Cup 2nd Round: Springfield A 0 Blarney St Ath 0 (Springfield won 4-2 on pens aet); Douglas Hall 7 Village Utd 2.
    Lucozade Sport Munster Junior Cup 3rd Round: Killumney Utd 1 Kinsale A 1 (Kinsale won 6-5 on pens aet); Wilton Utd B 1 Park Utd A 3; Glen Celtic A 2 Buttevant A 2 (Buttevant won 4-3 on pens aet); Casement Celtic 1 Innishvilla 6.
    AOH Cup 3rd Round: Carrigtwohill Utd A 1 Leeds 0; Knockavilla Celtic 3 Macroom A 2; Ballyvolane A 2 Knockraha 1.
    Saxone Cup Quarter Final: Churchvilla 3 Waterloo 2.
    Presidents Cup 3rd round: Leeside C 1 Newmarket 1 (Newmarket won 4-2 on pens aet); Afton Villa 1 Knocknaheeny Celtic 8.
    Corinthians Cup 1st Round: Killowen 3 St John Boscos A 1; Ballinhassig 1 Leeside B 4; Inter City Celtic 5 Cork Road Celtic 2; Buttevant B 3 Rathcoole Rovers A 5; Ballintotis 3 Parkview Celtic 0; St John Boscos B 1 Passage 3; Hillington 2 City Wanderers 0.
    Premier League: Leeside 7 Grattan Utd 0; Coachford 1 Wilton Utd 3.
    Premier A League: Greenwood 0 Blackstone Rovers 1; Kanturk 3 Pearse Celtic 2; Castleview 3 Glenthorn Celtic 2.
    AUL 1: Fairview 7 Postal Celtic 0.
    AUL 1A: Donoughmore Ath 2 Glenvale 3.
    AUL 2A: Millstreet Celtic v Crescent Ath (off).
    AUL 3: Innishvilla 0 Carrigtwohill Utd 4.

Corinthians Cup 1st round

Killowen 3 St John Bosco's A 1

Our first game since November 27th and it showed especially in the 1st half. Not sure if it was down to a lack of match practice or a heavy pitch but we never got going in the opening half and allowed Bosco's in for a soft goal after 12 minutes. A good chat at half time seemed to do the trick and we were level within 10 minutes of the restart. Bosco's did their best to regain the lead but our keeper and defence held firm. We went ahead after 60 minutes after a nice move split their defence. Bosco's should have equalised after 70 minutes but their striker went for an acrobatic effort when he had time to take the ball down and pick his spot. Game over in the 88th minute as a superbly struck free kick sealed the win. Not a pretty spectacle but a win is a win and it starts the year off on the right note.
    "Garlic bread - it’s the future, I’ve tasted it."
    Brian Potter - Phoenix Nights

Quote Originally Posted by killer"B" View Post
    well lads hope all went well for the xmas for ye... back in action today against leeside down in there place and i must say what a battering we got 7 nil and blowing up early on top of that ex grattan player keith shaw getting 2 goals for himself hard times ahead for grattan id say !!!!
    Wow, that is bad going alright.
    Good signing for Leeside though, I heard a rumour that Colin Keane is heading to Leeside also. Boo, any truth in it?

Quote Originally Posted by pacman View Post
    Wow, that is bad going alright.
    Good signing for Leeside though, I heard a rumour that Colin Keane is heading to Leeside also. Boo, any truth in it?
    Stop pacman cant fault the lads that turned up in fairness all 10 of us yes 10 lol for the whole 90mins

were you playing Killer?

20 Posts
    knockavilla 3-2 macroom.
    very bad day today after 6weeks out.went up one nil going into halftime.second half we were shocking missing four but no excuse better team won on the day...

"Winning isn't everything. Wanting to win is."

90 mins??? try 70. I feel sorry for the true Gratts

Quote Originally Posted by thebooboys View Post
    90 mins??? try 70. I feel sorry for the true Gratts
    sorry boo that what i meant lol i feel sorry for them too !!!

Quote Originally Posted by pacman View Post
    were you playing Killer?
    right wing pacman i had a stinker of a game my self had flu all week but still i played crap !!!

Page 46 of 121 FirstFirst ... 3644454647485696 ... LastLast