Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast

Thread: Latest Scores July 2nd

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by HulaHoop View Post
    sure we loved Ndo when he was playing for us. The reason he gets stick from us now is he's a former player who left to join Bohs, nothing to do with his skin colour.
    Do you sing 'the elephant washing' song at every ex-player you play against?

Ndo being an ex-Rovers player may explain him getting abuse, but hardly explains the abuse taking that form, does it?

Rovers have more ethnicities in our ranks than any other club in the country.
    And some of their best friends are Black

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    Do you sing 'the elephant washing' song at every ex-player you play against?

Ndo being an ex-Rovers player may explain him getting abuse, but hardly explains the abuse taking that form, does it?
    Did you read my whole post or just the last couple of lines? Specifically the bits in bold below

As for the alledged racism on Friday, I wasn't there so don't know what happened. Reports suggest a couple of ****s sang the elephant washing song (which is sung at adebayor by man u, spurs and chelsea fans accross the water) at Ndo and were promptly told to shut up. While I don't agree with singing that song I don't believe it to be racist in that it is not about the colour of his skin rather the place he is from. In the same way fans of country clubs are called sheep shaggers, fans of country clubs call Dublin clubs fans Dublin scum/knackers etc. Is calling someone from Africa an elephant washer any more racist than calling someone from Sligo a sheep shagger? As I already said it has nothing to do with the colour of skin rather it's a slight on where they are from.

If it was a white african would the elephant washing/hooring still apply though??

It's pretty obviously a racist chant tbf.

1,025 Posts
    When I said 'do you sing the song..', I meant you as in 'some Rovers fans', not you personally.

So a couple of ****s sang the song. You were not one of them obviously, but despite not being at the game, you still know that they were motivated by the fact that he now plays for Bohs, and the fact that the stick he got took the form of a song about elephant washing was 'nothing to do with his skin colour'?
    Last edited by osarusan; 05/07/2010 at 12:19 AM.

Reports suggest a couple of ****s sang the elephant washing song (which is sung at adebayor by man u, spurs and chelsea fans accross the water) at Ndo and were promptly told to shut up.
    Just to clarify, it was more than a couple of people. No one was told to shut up singing it(only time your fans told your other fans to shut up was when some sang 'You're not fit to wear the shirt' towards the end of the 1st half, fickle really and right to be told shut up imo), it was sung on at least 3 seperate occasions during the match.

While I don't agree with singing that song I don't believe it to be racist in that it is not about the colour of his skin rather the place he is from.
    Eh... i dont know what definition you are working off but that is still racism...its also a terrible excuse because you are only fooling yourself if you think anyone believes that if he was a white African man that he would be subjected to that song.

, I wasn't there so don't know what happened. . Sligo fans were calling O'Neill and Turner orange *******s on Friday - racist?
    eh???

I wasn't there so don't know what happened....... Sligo fans were calling O'Neill and Turner orange *******s on Friday - racist?
    I dont really want to get into a slagging match, but i was at the match and I didnt hear anyone call O'Neill or Turner orange *******s. Buts thats not to say they werent called that , but how can you say that when you werent there.
    Ye collected the 3 points on the night and if I were ye I'd be delighted too.
    The main problem I have on the night is not with Shamrock rovers but with the officals.
    Never have I come away from a game and felt as dejected as I did that night, unfortunately we are well used to getting beat but the manner in which it happened was hard to take i.e. officals had their own agenda

2,770 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The Lep View Post
    Plus posting what was posted on the ultras forum
    one post from one poster?? thats all you've got? Its pretty standard stuff for a foot.ie barney in fairness.

I like these Rovers v Rovers tiffs. Highly entertaining.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

230 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by HulaHoop;1373058

[url
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/magazine/6132672.stm[/url]

. While I don't agree with singing that song I don't believe it to be racist in that it is not about the colour of his skin rather the place he is from.
    ( It doesn`t really matter whether you agree or not , ethnic origin/race is included in the nine discriminatory grounds unde Equality legisalation. This nonsense was trotted out by other Hoops when they sang the "elephant" song to undermine and ridicule Ndo when he was at Bohs. Illegal then, illegal now)
    In the same way fans of country clubs are called sheep shaggers, fans of country clubs call Dublin clubs fans Dublin scum/knackers etc

( Thats just contrary to club/FAI rules , not illegal unless the Gardai form the view that it may lead to a breach of the peace)

. Is calling someone from Africa an elephant washer any more racist than calling someone from Sligo a sheep shagger?, nothing to do with his skin colour.
    Sligo is not another country ( or continent), Sligonians are not an ethnic group....Stop embarrassing yourself.

64 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    No he wasn't ffs. He was using it to have a dig at the (apparent) fact that Shamrock Rovers fans had windows broken on their bus.
    We know that but let him think what he thinks. I can't wait for the semi final. No doubt there will be a Sligo fan on here telling us how some poor bloke in a wheelchair with a few weeks to live was singled out and attacked by Rovers fans, or some eight months pregnant woman was chased down the road and battered. Ps, chants of 'Junkies' will be heard in Tallaght tonight, but I'm pretty sure Pats fans won't be getting a taxi home to get on the internet as quickly as possible to complain.
    False hope is worse than no hope. Ask Sligo.

238 Posts
    Just let both sets of fans get tooled up on the pitch after the game and get it over with, one hugely entertaining blood-bath, then at least there will be something to bloody well talk about.
    Such a pile of sh!te.

36 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by hoopy View Post
    Ps, chants of 'Junkies' will be heard in Tallaght tonight, but I'm pretty sure Pats fans won't be getting a taxi home to get on the internet as quickly as possible to complain.
    haha we'll just assume you's are talkin about your volunteers

186 Posts
    .. any more racist than calling someone from Sligo a sheep shagger? ..
    Sligo people are sheep shaggers - Dublin people are horse shaggers.

A nation of animal lovers us Irish.
    Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
    Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
    Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!

64 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by danthesaint View Post
    haha we'll just assume you's are talkin about your volunteers
    Excellent
    False hope is worse than no hope. Ask Sligo.

186 Posts
    Sligo fans were calling O'Neill and Turner orange *******s on Friday - racist? .
    Considering his track record he would take that as a compliment.
    Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
    Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
    Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!

147 Posts
    I love the Extratime.ie update from the 68th minute of the Monaghan v Devon game:
    Monaghan United 2 - 0 Salthill Devon
    68' - James Whelan has been fantastic for Salthill with a few good runs giving Mons players no chance and he was unlucky not to score after a run all the way up the pitch and past the mons defense. Monaghan have had plenty of chances, the best falling to Barry Clancy just in front of the goal but he didn't take advantage and hit the sh*t directly at the goalkeeper

LMFAO!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Last edited by WoodquayBoy; 05/07/2010 at 1:32 PM. Reason: clarifying where update came from
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

61 Posts
    If it was a white african would the elephant washing/hooring still apply though??

It's pretty obviously a racist chant tbf.
    What if it was a white elephant ?

3,488 Posts
    Any more accusations of assault or battery, among other things, need to be backed up by evidence - be it a newspaper report, a photo, a video - whatever. Otherwise, it's libellous. That's not us being nasty because we want to close our eyes to this kind of stuff; that's just the law of the country.

Any more posts along that line and this thread will be locked. I'm already close enough to doing so cos of the amount of crap - almost entirely by Sligo fans - that's been posted already.

Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast