Thread: What a load of manure.

techs
    Grand,i just find it hard that anyone would make comments like that especially a journalist.As i said before i was in the stand and didnt hear any disgusting comments like that.Those so-called reliable people had to be seated near me if they were near to that 'so called journalist.'Sure people shouted in at Alan about making changes but nothing vulgar.i think there is a big difference between a mans voice and a womans voice (one guy did have to be spoken to)...

I think the point is that a journalist should at least give the impression being professional, even when it's reporting on the club you support.

I thought we were well on top, and playing excellent football for the 10-15 minutes before they scored. The goal was bigger's fault, and after that chancing the game with 10 men we were alway liable to get hit on the break.

Typical fickle Town support. Matthews leads us to our best ever finish and first senior cup, and we ain't going to give him a break at the start of the following season when we're still doing okay? Cop the fook on...

macy i just want to take issue with one thing you said, all about last season....thats what it is, a manager is as good as his last result ( which wasn't bad on friday ) but he has to do it again this year and thats the problem with sucess, it breeds a hunger for more.....
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

Well I had hoped that everyone would get behind the team at home this season. If there's one thing that needs changing is that our home support is more supportive and this little incident proves that **** all has changed.

There is a marked difference in playing (and supporting) in Flancare to that of Shels, Bohs, St. Pats and even the few that went to Waterford last year.

Quote Originally Posted by max power
    macy i just want to take issue with one thing you said, all about last season....thats what it is, a manager is as good as his last result ( which wasn't bad on friday ) but he has to do it again this year and thats the problem with sucess, it breeds a hunger for more.....
    So he should've been sacked first game of the season then, as we lost? We're seven games in, and a grand total of 3 points off 4th...

Sack Matthews, and sack the board! We're obviously shíte...

you know what i mean, when it comes to fans as you said they are fickle and don't remember what you've done, only what you are doing right now.....

but last season is just that and its time to move on..
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

IMO Town fans are the most fickle in the league - their opinions differ from minute to minute nevermind match to match... Too many people believed the paper talk about our squad being one of the best - Even Drogs and Cork are largely full time at the moment... A couple of wins and we'll be right up the table, and the league will be as tight as last season IMO. Mid table is basically from 3rd to 9th, with little in between...

i agree with Macy theres nothing between teams with the exception of Shels, first 2/3 games of the season i have heard people shoutin for Matthews to be got rid of....its cr@p!!! at the rovers game one man turned and started givin out to me about Matthews and basically roaring at me......what the hell could i have done like......this same man had to be called to order again at the pats game at home.....its ridiculous and no need for it!!
    Ever get the feelin' you have been cheated?

1,103 Posts
    Something's got to change with the attitude of our home support, its making our players dread playing in Flancare, they've said this themselves, one player is upset by personal abuse he's been getting from sections of our crowd and reckons he's never been subjected to this before. Bear in mind that certain members of the team, of which this player is an important part are out of contract at the end of the season. If you're hearing your own fans personally abusing you that's not going to encourage you to sign again is it?. It's only a certain percentage of the crowd but these people have got to realise the impact they're having on the players. As this player said, "it's a pity they're the only ones we can hear". Something has to be done about the atmosphere at Flancare which is becoming increasingly poisonous, but i honestly don't know what..

Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian
    Something has to be done about the atmosphere at Flancare which is becoming increasingly poisonous, but i honestly don't know what..
    Force everyone to have Buckfast/ Quick Nips. They'll sing their heart out and think everygame is bloody brilliant

1,103 Posts
    Free bottle of Bucky/naggin with very ticket! Sounds like a plan.."Due to UEFA Licence regulations anyone seen not drinking their alcohol shall be removed from the ground"

with some of the decisions i've seen this season, certain refs must be having a quick nip before the game as well

agree totally that home supporter is poor.......i think the abuse our players and officials are getting is a disgrace and people may think they dont know but they do and have said they have heard the abuse! these people are then in the pub sucking up and so far up matthews a$$ that its not even funny! at away games our support is great with even a small number because once a few get behind the team.....everyone follows and we are all basically in the one area! in flancare the Section o lads are doin a great job with the chants and encouragement....the stand comes alive now and again with the same chant over and over but even then the abuse is louder......i know because ive heard it and its mainly the same people week in and week out! much rather b out in the ground less of a hostile atmosphere

Talking

Quote Originally Posted by Maz
    agree totally that home supporter is poor.......i think the abuse our players and officials are getting is a disgrace and people may think they dont know but they do and have said they have heard the abuse! these people are then in the pub sucking up and so far up matthews a$$ that its not even funny! at away games our support is great with even a small number because once a few get behind the team.....everyone follows and we are all basically in the one area! in flancare the Section o lads are doin a great job with the chants and encouragement....the stand comes alive now and again with the same chant over and over but even then the abuse is louder......i know because ive heard it and its mainly the same people week in and week out! much rather b out in the ground less of a hostile atmosphere
    does this mean that you will be goin on a free transfer to section o? All new blood welcome, we need new faces badly !

250 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Maz
    agree totally that home supporter is poor.......i think the abuse our players and officials are getting is a disgrace
    ive only been to away matches so far this year so i cant believe what im reading.the away fans ive met this year are all outstanding loyal fans who while not delerious with joy at every game always give a standing ovation to the team before and after each game.

its very difficult to get the negative people to kop on to themselves because
    in reality their humour is linked directly to results.as in ,they have no patience
    when things become a little sticky and demand instant results.

i think we could talk all day about the rights and wrongs of it but the real fans are just going to have to brave it out and keep the faith .

Quote Originally Posted by MARTINHO II
    does this mean that you will be goin on a free transfer to section o? All new blood welcome, we need new faces badly !
    have made many appearances over there before......if the price is right (weather is good) il be back martinho!!!

Quote Originally Posted by the 12 th man
    ive only been to away matches so far this year so i cant believe what im reading.the away fans ive met this year are all outstanding loyal fans who while not delerious with joy at every game always give a standing ovation to the team before and after each game.

its very difficult to get the negative people to kop on to themselves because
    in reality their humour is linked directly to results.as in ,they have no patience
    when things become a little sticky and demand instant results.

i think we could talk all day about the rights and wrongs of it but the real fans are just going to have to brave it out and keep the faith .
    its always the way away games always have a better atmosphere for us probably because the people who are so negative find it handier to travel out to flancare to shout abuse than to travel.......however i did state it is only a few but these are the few we dont need!!