Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: James Corden - Honorary Irishman

James Corden - Honorary Irishman

James Corden should be made an honorary Irishman.

On his new show on ITV he has what he calls a World Cup World Chart made up of all teams in the finals and represented by a person who supports but not necessarily from that country.

Anyway on the first show on Saturday night James announced that there was one team missing from his chart and that was France as they should not be at the World Cup as they are cheats.
    Therefore he put Ireland on the chart and brought on an Irish supporter to represent us for the 5 weeks of the show as in his opinion we should be there and not them.

He interviewed the lad last night who sounds as though he from up North somewhere.

This to me was one of the best gestures made by an English supporter on our behalf ever.

I think James should be honoured in some way for this by us Irish supporters. As a token gesture I am now supporting England for the World Cup.

The show also has a facebook book page so maybe we could post something on that to show our appreciation. I have also e-mailed the show.

By the way this thread is a bit of fun and if the mods feel it should be moved then fair enough.
    I have a head only Snow White would love

130 Posts
    Heard about that alright. Nice gesture but now the tournament has started its time to let it lie. Trust me am still far from happy about it but nothings gonna change now. Focus is on the campaign ahead. Will be interesting to see what the Slovaks are like in the WC.

As for supporting England, wouldnt say ill support them, in fact dont mind seeing them do well. Just dont want them to win it outright. However, as ever it looks like the English's greatest enemy are themselves. From a top notch qualifying campaign a year ago, it seems to be falling apart a bit now.

Who's james corden?
    I think I should the parachute, because I'm great.

In fact, I think I should get both parachutes, in case one doesn't work.

Quote Originally Posted by Torn-Ado View Post
    Who's james corden?
    The big lad from Gavin and Stacey.

P.S - really time to get over it now lads

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    people are actually watching this rubbish!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

366 Posts
    Never heard of the guy before but fair play to him, great stuff.

When the tornament ends, it should of course be buried forever. Until then, France are fair game for this kind of discourtesy and I'll enjoy their exit. The tearier the better. I think Irish fans are entitled to that.

P.S - really time to get over it now lads [/QUOTE]

To be fair I think most of us are but seen as the Cup is on now it has become topical again. You have to remember as well that the controversy wouldn't have had the same coverage or impact over there as it had here at the time.

It's all a bit of fun as I said in the opening post and not to be taken seriously and fair dues to him for taking our side on it.

As regards supporting England, I have a lot of family and good friends over there and also support an English team so what business would I have supporting the likes of Spain, Holland, Germany or anyone else. As well as that there are a fair few of the players with strong Irish connections so its not a problem for me to back them.

The one thing in the past that put me off shouting for them was the hooligan element but thankfully that has mostly gone and it was good to see them mixing and having the craic with the USA supporters on Saturday.
    I have a head only Snow White would love

Why stop there...let's get him in the next squad incase England call him up.

Quote Originally Posted by greendeiseboy View Post
    As regards supporting England, I have a lot of family and good friends over there and also support an English team so what business would I have supporting the likes of Spain, Holland, Germany or anyone else. As well as that there are a fair few of the players with strong Irish connections so its not a problem for me to back them.

The one thing in the past that put me off shouting for them was the hooligan element but thankfully that has mostly gone and it was good to see them mixing and having the craic with the USA supporters on Saturday.
    That drives me crazy, the worst of the anti-England brigade are the very same people who sit in pubs wearing Liverpool/United/Arsenal jerseys and cheering on Rooney/Gerrard etc... but when it's England suddenly their ''patriotic'' side comes out. Talk about hypocrisy. I'm going for England and i don't even support an English team.

In relation to their supporters in days gone by, i think it's harsh to blame that on the average supporter, these guys are just scumbags who grew up in areas where the club is the ''gang'', we can even see it here with a few clubs, the only reason the numbers are so small is because there's not much tradition of following LOI football. I'd say % wise the numbers here would be about the same as in England(20-30k at a game, few 100 trouble makers... here:1-2k at a game, 20-30 troublemakers)
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

2,771 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gilberto_eire View Post
    . I'm going for England and i don't even support an English team.
    i feel sorry for you that you didnt feel as happy as i did on Saturday when Rob Green fumbled the ball. It gave me so much pleasure (in a bar which was packed with England fans).

I hope England do okay but i love when they dont. A semi-final exit on penalties would be fantastic.
    Last edited by SkStu; 14/06/2010 at 3:52 PM.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

433 Posts
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

3,500 Posts
    clip of what happened

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,001 Posts
    That gave me a good laugh anyway, fair play to him
    Its really not that complicated!!!

446 Posts
    Ingleland football fans and James Cordon are about as 'entertaining' as each our;generally big, loud and an over-inflated opinion of themselves......

Btw, fair play to the producers of that show though, the Irish input is just a little 'joke' at France's 'expense'. Why shouldn't the boot be on the other, er, foot?

Taking of English tv I'm sure it been said before but has to be worth saying again that Jim Beglin is every bit as excellant a co-commentator as Mark Lawrence is an irritating dips**t.

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    I don't think it was intended as a nice gesture, just something that added humour to his show and an opportunity to take the **** out of the French.

20 Posts
    An English media-person making insults about the French? Gadzooks, stop the presses! Seriously, it's small crumbs of comfort we're reduced to if we're latching onto the "jokes" of the too-easily xenophobic English.

I'd rather move on at this stage & use our wronging as a catalyst for the next campaign, not wallow in the past. Oh wait, we're Irish, that's all we do.

48 Posts
    James Corden is also a grade A príck (Patrick Stewart is no better in fairness though).

366 Posts
    Riker would have decked him.

200 Posts
    He looks like a fat Robert Green

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast