View Poll Results: Are you glad that Roy Keane is returning to international football with Ireland?

Voters
100. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

59 59.00%
  • No

41 41.00%
Page 1 of 15 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Are you glad that Roy Keane is back? and all about him being back

Are you glad that Roy Keane is back? and all about him being back

It is reported that Keane is to make a return for the start of the WC Qualifiers in the autumn. Statement expected in coming days according to RTE and the indo.

Lets hope this finally puts and end to the guessing game.

I will be delighted if he does.

If you are not interested in the topic just dont read the posts its really as simple as that. YOu are letting your personal opinion get in the way of the success of the Irish football team which is sad.

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD
    YOu are letting your personal opinion get in the way of the success of the Irish football team which is sad.
    It's as simple as that is it?!?If only.....Depends on where your coming from.Some(such as meself) think that the damage to the other players would far outway the contribution of the one in question.For example you can't expect someone like McAteer(in great form at the mo) to play with him and I'm sure there's more within the camp less well documented.

Maybe it is you who is letting personal opinion(ie mindless Keane adoration shared by too many) get in the way of the Irish football team which is sad
    <insert witty remark>

Quote Originally Posted by Beavis
    For example you can't expect someone like McAteer(in great form at the mo) to play with him
    i know what my solution to that would be, it's not that long since you all wanted Liam Miller on the right

it's been done to death at this stage, I hope he comes back, but i won't be heartbroken if he doesn't. i'm just looking forward to a definite decision once and for all!

McAteer? You are joking, every now and again he pops up with a performance.
    Keane would help us build our new midfield for the future by passing his vast experience to the up and coming young midfielders. Also we need someone commanding in the midfield, someone who stamps authority on the match. Which we do not have as yet.

One more campaign and then he can retire

SOrry how do u know if i have mindless keane adoration, I dont i am not a man utd fan, i think he is a flawed character like most of us are, we are not all perfect. I think he can contradict himself at times but I do think he is a great central midfield player and was at one time the best defensive midfielder in the world. Now he is a very good player but not up to the standard that he was 3 years ago. However Jason Mc Ateer is crap and has always been average. Look at him against Milwall he got bossed out of the game by Denis Wise and Cahill so do we really want him in the midfield. Whereas at the same time Keane was beating patrick viera and arsenal in the FA CUp. So which do we want from a footballing point of view. That is the only criteria i use. As i said before i would have adolf hitler up front for us if he was good enough. As tom humphries said this morning on radio, footballers are quite shallow individuals and just want to win and nearly all the players in the squad would want a winner back, keane, duff, cunningham have all said they woudl welcome him back, so would john o shea, The only two i can think of that may be against it are matt holland and jason mc ateer. One for obvious reasons, as he would take his place, and the other for personal reasons.

We need Roy back to get stamp some authority on our lightweight midfield.

We need Roy back to get the Mickey Mouse Ole Ole Brigade back after the shambolic end to the last qualifying campaign.

For such a stong character he has a hell of a problem making up his mind.

This is all an insult to our intelligences. The K (or J) subject does nothing but set each of us at each others' throats. Like Tiktok, I'm out of gas on this c*nt.
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

Quote Originally Posted by davros
    ...Speculation will exist whilst RMK stays playing...
    another reason I hope he comes back, end of the speculation, i just want it over, and NOW!

Keane is 33. In 2006 he will be 35 and probably passing the time at Celtic. How many 35 year olds have made a great impact in World Cups?

roy is back !!!!!

from www.rte.ie ( you should see the smile on my face )

Roy Keane, the Manchester United captain who departed from the Irish international team in controversial circumstances two years ago, is ready and willing to play for his country again.

A statement released to RTÉ this afternoon, said: "Following discussions with Brian Kerr and Alex Ferguson, Roy Keane has agreed to make himself available for selection international games in the future."

The statement was given to RTÉ's Tommie Gorman by Keane's agent, Michael Kennedy.

Reports last week suggested that Irish manager Kerr had been in contact with the Manchester United star over a possible international comeback and it seems that, following those talks, Keane is ready to play for his country once again.

Keane hasn't played for Ireland since his infamous bust-up in Saipan with former manager Mick McCarthy just before the start of the 2002 World Cup. Ireland's next match is a friendly away to Poland in Bydgoszcz on April 28, however, it remains to be seen if Keane will be part of the squad to travel to Poland
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

We don't want him.
    Champions!

I have nothing to add except.........

this statement is offical and from what you said on the other thread your not interested so don't dampen what is a good day for irish football.......
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

colm, want and need are two seperate words...i noticed you didn't mention need in your statement ???

We didn't need him during the World Cup.

We don't need him with a dodgy hip.

We don't need him when he realises its his last chance to play in a wc.

we don't need him at 33, 35 or 75.

Today is a great day for Irish football. The greatest player to ever put on the shirt is back! F**K all the begrudgers Roy, the real Ireland supporters want you back.

Is he back for Poland or Cyprus? I can't wait for Romania now.KEANO KEANO!

244 Posts
    AH JAYSUS no,here goes the next two weeks

miller and keane is the middle for ireland me thinks, we deserve the best and he is the best.....name one irish midfielder better than keane, nuff said..

Page 1 of 15 12311 ... LastLast