Obviously people don't understand the concepts of "on-topic" and "polite". Try again.
Conor, it's not the first time as you're only too aware. Like I said, if you don't like the rules take yourself off somewhere else.
Yes
No
Come off it Conor, That's not an answer to anything I wrote. As I said, he was on his way back from injury, we all knew there was an arrangement for the Iran game, but your suggestion that the squad didn't is smoke and mirrors. He reacted to being called a faker when he wasn't one, not because he was 'outed'.Originally Posted by Conor74
When Keane came back from his last operation, I didn't think he'd make it to the end of the season (and I watch United every game I can, so I'm going to pull rank here and say that I'm in a better position to comment on that period of time than you are). He was wrecked, as Johnny Giles said when all this was going on, he overtrained on his way back and did more damage to himself. it's only since last summer he's been coming good again.Originally Posted by Conor74
Obviously people don't understand the concepts of "on-topic" and "polite". Try again.
Conor, it's not the first time as you're only too aware. Like I said, if you don't like the rules take yourself off somewhere else.
I probably fit into that meself.I'm okay with it I guess as long as the team the rest of the team are fine about it.Originally Posted by lopez
Just not looking forward to the fawning reception he's due to get at Landsdowne.He'll be championed as a hero while those who have stayed more loyal must carry on about there business in the shadow of Roy's limelight.....
<insert witty remark>
I'm one of those who believes Roy walked when it was within his power to stay and I'll always have a difficulty with him for that, BUT I think his return was inevitable and if Brian's happy to have him back and if Brians willing to forget that Keane wronged him 14 months ago before the Scotland game then who am I to not let it go.
I think we the supporters need this as a healing thing too as it's split us wide open. I've seen supporters here arguing that he shouldn't be back and he should be booed or whatever. Forget it lads. Bygones ARE bygones.
Roy's back. Let's just get on with supporting the team.
" I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"
Yet another RK thread has been locked and no doubt this one will go the same way, so I'll try to keep my composure. Judas...or perhaps a more apt biblical description (for now at least) the prodigal son...is not a friend of mine, is not planning to marry any of my daughters and I wish to have no contact with him on a personal level, and neither would I think does he. He's a footballer. Nothing else. And whatever he's done in the past at least he's not done what either OJ Simpson (in the interests of libel) was acused of or Gary Glitter did - neither I must add were previously my heroes. Call it fickle, but if he comes back and puts in the performances that certain posters believe are inevitable, he'll get my support, but I too am not going to give him a hero's welcome. Booing him - a favourite pastime amongst Irish supporters lately - will just undermine our efforts to ensure a trip to Germany. I hope for restraint on both sides whenever he feels bothered to turn out for his country again.Originally Posted by Beavis
This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!
GLAD TO SEE EVERYONE LISTENEDOriginally Posted by Éanna
I could not disagree with this attitude more.Originally Posted by Plastic Paddy
Football is about winning, end of story, anybody who is in any way competitive knows this. This is the problem with the Irish (and the English for that matter) . We are always happy to have competed upstandingly and given our all. We don't care about actually achieving anything. This is the attitude that resulted in 99.9% of Irish people being happy with our performance in the World Cup, a World Cup that was there for the taking.
Roy Keane would not have been happy with that performance, I was not happy with it, we could have gone all the way but the Irish mentallity was what held us back and this mentallity has resulted in us always being a nation that is always content to be second best.
I'll say it again, Keane is a winner and he will once again transform the Irish squad into a squad of winners like he did in the World Cup qualifiers.
Last edited by carnstien; 14/04/2004 at 12:57 PM.
Definately. The man is a F**kin legend!!!!!
We'll have to agree to disagree then. I've seen - on more than one occasion - people attacked and in one case nearly lose their life for the "winning" mentality you so describe. To paraphrase dahamsta, football is only a game. It's well worth remembering that sometimes.Originally Posted by carnstien
PP
Semper in faecibus sole profundum variat
I dont think we are going to change anybodys attitude here and i dont want to. But please tell me nobody is going to boo or diong anything daft that may hinder our chances in the matches coming up and our chances of qualifying. Like him or hate him our chances of winning football matches have improved. Now is the time to back the team. YOu dont have to cheer keano or anything like that but at the same time please do not boo him or any Irish player or even players on the other team. There is no place for that in football. We should all take a step back from this debate and not get so hot headed about it. It is football which we all love and enjoy. Now someobyd that lots of people either love or hate is back playing for us. I think the sensible reaction is to support your team through thick and thin. In the same way pro Keane people kept on supporting Ireland after he went i think anti keane people should support ireland still. I am not asking you to be happy about it, but talk of booing or boycotts etc should be put to the back of you mind and get on with the job of supporting the team
neil
well said pp.Originally Posted by Plastic Paddy
im involved with kids football and you have to instill that attitude into the kids or else after every game the losers would be in tears as they would like to win each match.
i know it doesnt sound great but you have to teach the kids to accept that it is only a game.
well what would you think if underage team turned up with no footballs......now think of an international team doing that......
now be a footballer in a cramped seat on an 8 hour flight while the suits sit in first class.........
now be a footballer taking orders from a manager who has done nothing but get team relegated........
now put them all together and you have fireworks....as fran rooney said a new fai, i'd like to thinks so but athlone -3 points so far isn't very good proof........
Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........
Call a meeting regarding industrial action and take a democratic vote amongst employees affected. Anybody not favouring such action perhaps needs some persuading. No problem here with Roy persuading people is there. Right, then go to manager (not McCarthy) stating 'No proper equipment, no football'! Wouldn't this happen at your work? It would happen at mine, and you know what, it get's results.Originally Posted by max power
the old guard at the fai were up micks ass most of the time so that would have been pointless, some people make a stand and stick to it and he did and when it cam eto the cruntch the other players were no where to be seen.......it was all a big mess, but if it sorted out some of the short coming within the fai it could all be worth it in the end....
Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........
I'd probably agree with you but still it's hardly reasonable for Pro Keanites to say whether to boo or not when yous jeered Mick against the Swiss...Originally Posted by NeilMcD
<insert witty remark>
supported ireland by calling for the managers head you mean?!Originally Posted by NeilMcD
Oh what pony! Where's the evidence that the old guard were up Mick's ar*e (no 'my mate's cousin's girlfriend's dad's brother's drinking pal is a suit' cojones). The suits are up their own arses. Keane done the right thing on the way to Cyprus and they caved. Why not the same in Saipan. And anyway, if the team aren't up for it or happy with the crap facilities, that's democracy. Either like it or...catch the plane home!Originally Posted by max power
Oh of course that was alright then!Originally Posted by Beavis
Well i think that happens at most clubs or countries that when they are not happly with a manager they boo him. BUt i think whathappened that night was booing the result and the performance. If ireland had of won the first two games i dont think they would have booed. I did not boo and i was ****ed off that we lost them two games. I was more furious about his mistakes early in his career when to be fair to him he got the job too early. He was just out of retirement and had a couple of years experience. It woudl be like giving Keane the job or something or steve staunton. I actually thought MC Carthy improved in the job as he went along and started to play 4-4-2 and the best players most of the time. All I am asking for is a bit of calm at the games and get behind the players and the team. We are the best supporter in the world and there should be no animosity between us and we should all unite in great songs great craice plenty of booze and hopefully a few games won too.
Originally Posted by lopez
He did catch the plane home didn't he.....hmmmm
Bring back the plank