View Poll Results: Are you glad that Roy Keane is returning to international football with Ireland?

Voters
100. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

59 59.00%
  • No

41 41.00%
Page 12 of 15 FirstFirst ... 21011121314 ... LastLast

Thread: Are you glad that Roy Keane is back? and all about him being back

one of the mopst sensible posts yet on this topic
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

Quote Originally Posted by max power
    no bother paddy, only negative thing about roy is that he's fan of a certain scotish team
    easy now...

PP
    Semper in faecibus sole profundum variat

Quote Originally Posted by davros
    Incidentally,the ONLY person to be booed(apart from a few people moaning @ Bertie's "jokes"),@ the opening of last year's Special Olympics......was a certain R.M.K............................................. ...........
    As one unKind individual suggested.....he should have been a participant,with his lack of scruples.However,this would have been unkind to the other handicapped competitors....
    DavrosI was there that day ...I don't remember him being booed.....can't have been to many...I heard alot of cheering to be honest...and thats not selective hearing ..I just didn't hear it...i did hear the Bertie Boos though....I don't like bertie but was disgusted by it
    Bring back the plank

Drinking Indcidents ok let me deal with that ponit, Paul Mc Grath missed matches due to alchol abuse, yet people love him. I am one of those that think he is great but you can have a go at keane for drinking and support Mc Grath or basically any player that played for Ireland in the last 25 years they all liked a drink and some had or have problems with it, None of our business really and some like Paul Mc Grath have a disease so who are we to judge on that.

"he walked out on the team". Well i do not agree with his initial threat to going home but in the cold light of day he did say he woudl stay. This showed i suppose that he was prepared to put his country before himself as he regretted probably threatening to go home. HOwever Mick Mc Carthy was not happy at that and decided to call a meeting where he basically riled keane into reacting. What person woudl not react to be been told you let your country down and you faked injury. i.e. Iran game, even though keane, mc carthy and ferguson had agreed that due to keanes injury he woudl not travel to iran if the result was pretty safe. If mc carthy had reservations about that why did he not say it then rather than in a heated row which he instigated.

Thirdly "he faked injury". Well i dont remember keane ever faking injury for competitive matches and i dont believe he has ever faked injury for ireland. I think he may have decided some times that it was not worth the risk to go over for a friendly match as he may aggravated his knee etc. Apoligies for the rot in hell remark it was not serious, but dont worry i can be level headed and put forward logical arguments. And thanks for the compliment from max there too.

Pogsly
    Quote Originally Posted by Declan_Michael
    Keane is 33. In 2006 he will be 35 and probably passing the time at Celtic. How many 35 year olds have made a great impact in World Cups?
    Roger Milla (41 in Italia 90 )

Originally Posted by davros
    Incidentally,the ONLY person to be booed(apart from a few people moaning @ Bertie's "jokes"),@ the opening of last year's Special Olympics......was a certain R.M.K............................................. ...........
    As one unKind individual suggested.....he should have been a participant,with his lack of scruples.However,this would have been unkind to the other handicapped competitors....

Conor 74 i dont see you having a go at nonsensical remarks like this. YOu should not just have a go at pro-keane remarks and leave the anti keane ones go with out comment. If you main argument is for sensible debate it shoudl be across the board. And the above quote is probably one of the most offensive one could issue on this debate which after all is only about football and is not life and death here.

We should all just watch Primetime again and laugh.

Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    I'll tell ya what- come up with a well thought out argument as to:
    1. why I should be glad Roy Keane is back.
    2. why he shouldn't have to apologise.
    3. why he was right to do what he did and all the other players were wrong
    I'll try and do as sensible a pro-keane post as possible.

1. He will strengthen the squad. He's one of the few players we have that will handle a French midfield to start with, he's played against the likes of Zidane more than any other irish player and has been on winning teams against them. The reason Man Utd fans come out in favour is bias, but also week in week out, they see how he helps to progress the younger players around him, players like Liam Miller and Andy Reid have already comeout in favour of his return, they know he'll help them along to become better. Like it or not, he never, ever gave less than his all while wearing an Irish shirt.

2. I think it would probably help 'the healing' if he issued a statement saying he regretted the Saipan affair, but has McCarthy apologised for his part in it? (and they were both in it, as I've said before i still wish some senior member of the squad had the balls to knock there heads together and tell them to cop on and save it for four weeks).
    As for the injury 'faking' that brendy_eire has been hinting at, he's nothing to apologise for. He still doesn't play two games in a week for united. His hip was and is dodgy, but he's come through it to a degree and has recovered a bit of form, He's not the player he was before the WC, but he's still the best CM who we have available.

3. This I can't convince you on. Everybody has their own idea where the right and wrong lies in this argument. There are merits to both sides of the argument, McCarthy shouldn't have confronted him in front of the team, bad man-management, Keane shouldn't have reacted the way he did, both should have been big enough to put it aside for four weeks.

In the end, if Keane was coming back from a long lay-off through injury, I think we'd all be admitting that he'd be a positive addition to the squad. It's personal feelings that prevent people from recognising that it's good news for our chances of qualifying for the 2006WC.

I'd be totally against taking the captaincy from Cunningham though.

Yes. We'll be a stronger team with him present.

Pogsly
    Quote Originally Posted by brendy_éire
    I'm not calling for booing of the Irish team, just Roy Keane. I don't want him representing me or my country. By booing we can show that he doesn't represent us, our country or what we stand for.
    Why can't he apologise? He lied in order to avoid playing. Now, for some reason, he wants to play again, and he should say sorry for lying to us.

My only consolation is that he won't be playing beyond 2006.
    You're full of sh*it . I can only presume that you have seen all of RMK's medical files or physio reports since you are so sure that he lied to the nation of Ireland about the state of his injuries . Sure maybe he just missed soem of Utd's matches for the craic like. G*bsh*t .

Quote Originally Posted by petef
    We should all just watch Primetime again and laugh.
    Yeah! I'm in love with that babe that had the misfortune to babysit those three eejits. 'Dangerous...civil war...referendum...(punches palm).'
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

Quote Originally Posted by Conor74
    Your main point in Roy's favour being that you thought Peter Byrne's clothes were too dark!
    That wasn't a point about Roy at all I was just pointing out the comedy that was primetime.

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD
    Lets list who are in favour of this

Brian Kerr
    Fran Rooney
    Kevin Moran
    Ray Houghton
    Mark Lawrenson
    Frank Stapleton
    Damien Duff
    Kenny Cunningham
    Robbie Keane,
    John O Shea
    Liam Miller
    Jason Mc Ateer
    Niall Quinn
    You can add
    Graham Kavanagh
    Chris Hughton

They were both on Newstalk supporting the decision.

522 Posts
    Pogsly banned and IP blocked. NeilMcD and Conor74, drop the "rubbish" and "nonsensical" remarks. If ye can't debate politely either take it to PM or píss off somewhere else.

Last edited by dahamsta; 14/04/2004 at 10:57 AM.

well I though conor was debating politely to be fair to him, i just pointed out that if he is calling for good polite articulate debate from pro keane he should be calling for the same for pro keane. BUt to be fair to him he is not said anything offensive.

522 Posts
    Conor, if you don't like the rules, take yourself off somewhere else. I'm tired of your fight teh poweh routine.

Quote Originally Posted by Conor74
    As for faking, remember his not travelling to Tehran. Remember playing 90 minutes against Bayern the following Tuesday for his club? Remember his admission that he had an agreement with McCarthy not to play (and shame on McCarthy for agreeing to the scam)? Come on, you can put two and two together surely...
    I also remember being delighted that he was available for the first game after having been out injured for the previous four weeks and not playing for United. He wasn't faking Conor, he came back early, Fergie didn't want him to play in either International game and could legitimately have refused to release him, hence the deal that was struck.

The thing is, no-one in the country expressed any anger at this (or even doubted the injury) until after McCarthy accused him of faking (even though he was well aware of the real story) and that's what set Roy off on his rant.

Keane To Play In Big Games Only ?

Fergie seems to think Keano will only be playing in the big competative games.
    I can't see Keane going to Poland this month with Man U still in the FA Cup but i reckon he'll play against Romania at LR next month.

http://www.teamtalk.com/teamtalk/New...809420,00.html

....99% of the people on here are reasonable.......
    I'll do a realistic Anti-Keane one.....He's an arrogant,dirty,petulant,lying,selfish,egotistical w*nker...who behaves like a spoilt brat & just wants to sell a few more books,with that pr*ck,Grumpy!Plus he has communication skills,which make Paisley look like a diplomat!
    that leaves you in the 1% so D, yeah?

Yeah to be fair to conor he has posted sensible comments and my only gripe with him was his consistency to carry over to the pro keane comments. I think conor you should come out and say more that "come on davros" as his comments were totally non-sensical. LIke which ireland supporters are only here for the craic and the drink. There have been some over the top posts and I think the one about handicapped people has to be the most offensive and i think that should be dealt with first and foremost rather than going for conor who is contribuing to the debate with positive comments.

Page 12 of 15 FirstFirst ... 21011121314 ... LastLast