View Poll Results: Are you glad that Roy Keane is returning to international football with Ireland?

Voters
100. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

59 59.00%
  • No

41 41.00%
Page 10 of 15 FirstFirst ... 89101112 ... LastLast

Thread: Are you glad that Roy Keane is back? and all about him being back

Quote Originally Posted by brendy_éire
    No, the traitor is in England now, don't ye know.
    your edited post makes less sense then your first one about him being a Brit?

Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    Never mind him coming back, has he apologised for walking out on his country?! I'm sick to the pit of my stomach that that scum is going to wear an Ireland jersey again. I hope he is booed jeered and hassled until he shows his true colours and walks again. We don't want you Roy. You're not the player you were and you're not an Irishman

He’s the greatest player ever to turn out in the green and to call him “scum” is sacrilege… he’s been central to the teams greatest performances since right back to the ’94 WC… go boil your head you sh*tehawk

Lets face the facts and .................dance

If my memory serves me correct RK was out injured for the early part of 2002, coming back in April to lead the mighty reds to the title and european glory....................opps they won F*"K all

The rest of the squad had competed a full season in the Premier league and div1 and the idea of Saipan was to recharge............RK's season started again in April and cause the Mancs won nothing he was carrying that into the world cup as long as all the other baggage (Andy Cole ???)

Just cause the skips were late RK got the hump about the whole set up but did he complain over the previous years...........

Saw Fran the man on sky earlier "the FAI moved onto a new level" does he not realise if Mick hadn't taken the job back in 96 we would be competing with the likes of Scotland now.........................................

Looking forward to the fun and games ahead...........happy days
    CAPTAIN MORGANS GREENFORD Welcomes all Irish Football fans, live music every weekend

246 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Footie_Fan
    your edited post makes less sense then your first one about him being a Brit?
    Slip of the tongue (..or hand?). Should have left it as it was come to think of it.
    He might as well be a Brit. Lives in England, plays for an English team, gets paid by English people, panders to the wishes of a Scot, etc, etc.

Yes.
    Think he was wrong over Saipan, but him playing improves our chances of qualifying for WC 2006 and that's good enough for me.
    Maybe you should put her on a leash, agent-man.

246 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NigeSausagepump
    Yes.
    Think he was wrong over Saipan, but him playing improves our chances of qualifying for WC 2006 and that's good enough for me.
    We shouldn't sell ourselves short just because Roy Keane is a decent player. He might be one of the best 'Irish' players around at present, but that doesn't mean he has a god-given right to walk all over us.

(PS
    ...there's only 1 Ciarán Martyn! )

Are you glad that Roy Keane is back?

On balance No
    He let the country down in 2002. Should have played in the World Cup. And then on his return should have bitched about the preparation when he got back in a 6 piece expose in the News Of The World, or Irish Times they are both equally valid rags...

A bit of a Judas I'm afraid to say, cause in many other ways he is admirable.

P.S. Ciaran Martyn... now from where I am standing he is another Judas *******

Slip of the tongue (..or hand?). Should have left it as it was come to think of it.
    He might as well be a Brit. Lives in England, plays for an English team, gets paid by English people, panders to the wishes of a Scot, etc, etc.
    fcuk off back to england you!!!!!

are you tellin me if you were as good a player as he is you'd be playin for Derry or anyone else in the league???

wat if he was playin for real madrid??? i suppose you'd be callin him spanish then!!!

your some ****** boy!!!!

Brendy... out of order, son. Whatever your thoughts on Keane, there's plenty on here that live in England, work in England, etc., etc. And we're still of solid stock. Don't dilute your argument with nonsense. And rise above the personal insults.

PP
    Semper in faecibus sole profundum variat

246 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie
    P.S. Ciaran Martyn... now from where I am standing he is another Judas *******
    Ah sure he was only at UCD to get his accountancy degree.

Quote Originally Posted by cookie
    fcuk off back to england you!!!!!

are you tellin me if you were as good a player as he is you'd be playin for Derry or anyone else in the league???
    I would hope so, aye. We need to stop the flow of our best players to England, and retain them in the eL.

246 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Plastic Paddy
    Brendy... out of order, son. Whatever your thoughts on Keane, there's plenty on here that live in England, work in England, etc., etc. And we're still of solid stock.
    I'm well aware of that, PP. Plenty of my family living in England. Difference is they haven't turned their back on their country.

neither did roy... he was forced out!!

mccarty said if you cant respect me you can't play for me... how can you play for a ******** lik that and his schoolboy set-up!!!!!

he had no support from the 3 experieced players in the team!

neither did roy... he was forced out!!

mccarty said if you cant respect me you can't play for me... how can you play for a ******** lik that and his schoolboy set-up!!!!!

Source? Quotes?

Whatever the semantics, he not only walked out on McCarthy and his teammates, he walked out on every Ireland supporter. And that's something i) many people here are falling over themselves to forget, and ii) I for one will never forgive him for.

He doesn't deserve to wear the green shirt again. Ever. It's that simple.

PP

didn't walk d1ckhead was forced!!

Thats rubbish. Plently of Irish people reside and work in England but they are Irish to the core.

Who saw primetime? Funniest one ever!

There was Dunphy, some scruff from the "Irish Supporters Association" and Peter Byrne (washed up journalist) who looked like he was attending a funeral.

The scruffy guy said that we should have a referendum on the issue and that it was dangerous situation and that civil war was ready to break out (said this at least three times)

Byrne just waffled on about playing for the shirt or something.

Eventually after listening to the rubbish Dunphy snapped and asked the question that as on everyones lips "Where did you get these two guys from?"

Then the scruffy guy started clenching his fist and punching his hand at which point they cut it.

I'm still laughing!
    This sounds like that bloke, Alan Hunter, that people on here go on about occasionally. He claimed to be in charge of an Irish supporters club with a membership of 10K. I only heard him once ringing in on Sky after the tans hit Lansdowne, claiming that England should forfeit the following years European Championships and that the finals should go to Ireland instead. He got a good reception from the Sky interviewer all the same even though he sounded like some t'ik paddy from a 70's British comedian show. Your description sounds like him. Fair play to Dunph for asking whether he had just stumbled into teach mor.
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

Quote Originally Posted by lopez
    This sounds like that bloke, Alan Hunter, that people on here go on about occasionally. He claimed to be in charge of an Irish supporters club with a membership of 10K. I only heard him once ringing in on Sky after the tans hit Lansdowne, claiming that England should forfeit the following years European Championships and that the finals should go to Ireland instead. He got a good reception from the Sky interviewer all the same even though he sounded like some t'ik paddy from a 70's British comedian show. Your description sounds like him. Fair play to Dunph for asking whether he had just stumbled into teach mor.
    Alan Hunter that was his name. He was wearing an ancient wool top with an orange shirt and his tie was half way down his chest, the man was a mess!

didn't walk d1ckhead was forced!!
    Sine you've not punctuated your sentence, I'll presume you're calling Keane the ********.

Now, back to my earlier question. Source? Quotes?

PP

Wonder why?

Alan Hunter that was his name. He was wearing an ancient wool top with an orange shirt and his tie was half way down his chest, the man was a mess!
    RTE is a f*cking joke. They wheel this eejit on like some circus act. It's like Borak and Kazahk TV with the dancing dog on a hot plate that looks like Princess Margaret. Big up for his chancer qualities, though.

Page 10 of 15 FirstFirst ... 89101112 ... LastLast