View Poll Results: Are you glad that Roy Keane is returning to international football with Ireland?

Voters
100. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

59 59.00%
  • No

41 41.00%
Page 8 of 15 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast

Thread: Are you glad that Roy Keane is back? and all about him being back

Quote Originally Posted by rolo
    i just thought that when mick mccarthy said "i've sent him home" it was pretty clear that roy didn't leave of his own accord...

maybe thats just me.
    ok, just supposing you're right. what I was really referring to was when Brian Kerr met him and offered him the chance to return. He walked out of that room saying he'd come back and then phoned Kerr to say he'd changed his mind. In what way is that NOT walking out on your country. You tell me

Quote Originally Posted by adamcarr
    How can yu be Pi*sed off with the return of Keano. Or do you want Ireland to fail ya LANG*ER!!!!!!!!!!!
    Earth to L*nger land! No I don't want Ireland to fail you pre-dropped cojones f*ckwit. I'm scared that bringing him back we will fail. He's past his best, he's caused too much damage, and he's a walking bottle of Nitroglycerine. No, I'm not going to boo him. In 23 years of watching Ireland I've never booed an Irish player and I'm not going to start now, but just when you think (with the Czech result especially) that Kerr is getting to grips and forming a team with potential he has to bring up this sh*t. In two years time I hope you can come back and enlarge that big smilie with the tongue and tell me 'I told you so'.
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

WELCOME BACK ROY

Damn. I thought this a thread about the Fermanagh Fumbler. He can stay away warming his arse on the ManU bench, actually
    They're red, they're black
    The hatchetmen are back.

We'll support you evermore
    Though you never score...

oh yeah. just meant to say. can we leave the insults and the debate about what he did or didn't do for the other thread please. we can just vote and look at the results here, and debate our opinions there.

thanks

Quote Originally Posted by davros
    Ouch!
    Got to give this kid some respect (check out his dob). Man he's got huevos, even if they haven't dropped yet.

522 Posts
    Any more personal attacks will result in bans. Nasty, instant bans with no appeals, no dupe accounts, no nothing. This applies to n00bs and old-timers alike. Don't annoy dahamsta, he's not taking it today.

Quote Originally Posted by Duncan Gardner
    Damn. I thought this a thread about the Fermanagh Fumbler. He can stay away warming his arse on the ManU bench, actually
    Duncan...please...stay out....you don't want to get involved in any of this...just be glad that Craig and Carson did their bit and that civil war has passed you by.

Hm, is this the fastest thread ever on foot.ie. I think this is post 176 since lunchtime. Only a w@nker like Roy could provoke so much debate
    If at first you don't succeed, redefine success.

Quote Originally Posted by lopez
    Duncan...please...stay out....you don't want to get involved in any of this...just be glad that Craig and Carson did their bit and that civil war has passed you by.
    I'm hoping he comes to Eason's in Belfast for the 2002-postponed book launch. The Linfield boys want a word, but I don't think most of your fans up North are too impressed with ould Roy either...
    They're red, they're black
    The hatchetmen are back.

We'll support you evermore
    Though you never score...

A resounding YES!

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Oh someone who's walked out on his country and lied about his health but decides to come back should be allowed back without an apology, but you want everyone to conform to your gnat's ar*e narrow minded view or else they get a life long ban. Go f*ck yourself, tw*t!

Walk out? WRONG.
    He was sent home.

Lied about health? WRONG.
    He clearly had an injury which needed surgury.

Apology? WRONG
    McCarthy is no longer manager and is unlikely to apologiise for sending Roy
    home.

The rest of your post is also wrong and abusive, isn't it a little early
    for you to be ****ed out of your brain? Probably not
    I assume you have drank your breakfast.

unfortunately, its a yes

I won't boo Roy but could understand those who choose to do so.This will bitterly divide fans and team alike.....

And for the Romania game,oh jesus 'the homecoming' ,the Man Ures will be in their element..Keano Keano Keano...There's only one Keano..... la,la,la,la,la,la,la,la,la Kean-no

Kenny C MUST remain captain

Quote Originally Posted by Conor74
    As for his surgery, would this have been between missing the World Cup qualifer in Tehran and playing 90 mins in a CL game for Manchester United 5 days later? The 5 day surgery? Up there with the miracle back injury cure...
    Don't forget his 90mins of the critical tie with Leceister City just 36 hours later?Irelands biggest game in recent history or a run of the mill home league game against a side United would beat with their third team...Does this not spell out his dedication to international football!??!
    Last edited by Beavis; 13/04/2004 at 7:14 PM.
    <insert witty remark>

i have to say i've major mixed emotions about his return and i certainly don't welcome him back with open arms ... but anyone who boos a member of an Irish Squad does not deserve to call themselves a true supporter of our national team.

any negative response is hardly going to help matters on the pitch (where things really matter)

the irish team is not about any one individual

if only Roy could have remembered this in the first place
    Last edited by deadman; 13/04/2004 at 7:23 PM.

Dublin or lost in a backwater called England

Every team evolves

Evey team evolves ... roy has had his time, the team has moved on.

He 'may' have been sent home but he didnt need to retire, surely if hes all seeing then he would have seen mccarthy being f**ked out the door in his crystal ball (or his hip replacement, im sure they do see through ones).

so if he comes back into the team and we make it to germany would roy be able to last until the world cup starts, if he decides that he is past it then are we going to see another argument and quotes of 'you used me to get to the world cup' ??

Plus didnt that sir alex at man ure have some say as to if roy should retire or not? he wont be too impressed with roy being taken away for friendlys when man ure could be challanging for chuff all.

Quote Originally Posted by deadman
    unfortunately, its a yes
    Couldn't do it, I'm afraid. I stand by my principles, inasmuch as however "RMK" (thanks Davros for the neutral-sounding epithet) enhances the team, and I've no doubt he will, I'd rather eleven one-footed Kevin Kilbanes played for Ireland. At least you'd always know that, however limited the talent, you had eleven men ready to sweat blood for their country.

PP
    Semper in faecibus sole profundum variat

Quote Originally Posted by deadman
    i have to say i've major mixed emotions about his return and i certainly don't welcome him back with open arms ... but anyone who boos a member of an Irish Squad does not deserve to call themselves a true supporter of our national team.

any negative response is hardly going to help matters on the pitch (where things really matter)

the irish team is not about any one individual - if only Roy could have remembered this in the first place
    I couldn't put it better myself on all counts. That said, he's still a scumbag, but unfortunately for those of us with principles, the most talented player we possess.

I'll never boo him, but from this point on, as long as he's on the field for Ireland, I'll only be cheering for ten players. It's just a shame Brian Kerr didn't tell him to go **** himself after the Scotland incident.

PP

522 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tricky_colour
    isn't it a little early
    for you to be ****ed out of your brain?
    I'm going to let that slide because it was posted in response to lopez, who posted before my warning. Do it again and you're dust.

no wonder the trains are quiet and I haven't got Plastic Paddy's old mates wrecking the place
    Oi you, leave me outta this!

Other than that Lopez, you pretty much have my full backing. And as for those who would call us "begrudgers" for being bitter about RMK's prevous treatment of us, well lads, it's a shame ye have goldfish memories. (And that's not meant to be in any way personal to anyone, dahamsta, it's just wry commentary on the way yerman continues to split this board. A shame.)

PP
    Last edited by Plastic Paddy; 13/04/2004 at 7:50 PM.

Page 8 of 15 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast