Absolutely delighted!! 3 more points and giving us a good push to get back in the chase by the time the break is over.
game ended as expected handy 3-0 win for the saints,
thought we failed to get out of 1st gear 2nite, bray did have a few decent half chances
i liked the look of the number 11, kelly?? seemed decent
i feel sorry for bray fans, fair play to those who travelled out 2nite.
Amond notched up another onelovely stuff man.
Ahhh
Good game in Tallaght last night. End to end with both teams trying to win it at the death. Though we should have killed it off way before that. First half we were superb and completely controlled the game. 2nd half Rovers obviously came into it a lot more but we still had the chances to kill it off when we went 1-0 up. Fair play to Darius though. We're a totally different animal now.
I think, maddeningly, that Dundalk's defeat an be traced back to Friday's debacle in the cup which left 3 players suspended from a small squad. Dundalk were excellent in the first half and should have had the game wrapped up. Early in the second half an injury forced a sub and we only had kids on the bench. Midfield was conceded immediately and fair play to Fingal they took advantage. Both teams playing football for the most part, which was nice. Tom Connolly... shudder.
It was announced at the game as Ventre, alternatively RTE's report is pretty detailed, alot of info in a short space of time.
Quickest League goal in the UCD Bowl. Sligo Rovers the only team UCD havn't taken points off.
Sligo Rovers deserved their win, we never got the penetration we needed to catch them up. Although we saw alot of the ball.
Chris Mulhall had a great game out on the left wing and when his crosses did land to a UCD player we shot from distance over the bar.
Trademark double substitution on 55 minutes. Evan McMillan hit the bar in the second half, maybe if it went in.
Good crowd supporting Sligo, alot of colours being worn aswell.
Every team has now played each other, so finally, finally the League table is representative of performance. UCD have to watch both ends of the table at once.
" I'll go right up to here,
it can't possibly hurt.
All they will find is my
beer and my shirt."
Buttimer was 25- 30 yards away from the Shelley"peno" and could not have have had a clear view. I thought he was going directly to book Sheppard for diving as well. If distance was Buttimers excuse for that crap decision, he was perfectly placed for his other howlers, including those mentioned above (two yellows or straight red for Killian would have been justified, O `Donnells midfield assault on Brennan in the second half was also a straight red imo). I enjoyed the game though, despite the ref and the equally incompetent assistants. I think Galway could catch UCD if they can hold on to their players in the transfer window.
Great game in Tallaght. Bad, erratic referreeing - but we don't expect anything else.
There were two older Sligo fans in front of me; I got the feeling they were reserve taem coaches or involved in some official capacity from talking to them. They called it straight away as a red - said the studs were up, end of story. Our player had to be subbed off, so I don't think you can use the "Won the ball" argument - the point is that those sort of tackles can cause serious injury, so you clamp down on them even if they don't. That said, I was surprised to see a red given alright.
Bit of a strange game. Sligo were set up very attacking - I don't think I've ever seen a team line up 4-2-4 before, which is more or less what they did when they had the ball. Closed us down very high up the pitch too, but still managed to get bodies back to defend, which was impressive. And yet for all that, they only scored from two keeping mistakes, and we hit the bar.
I think we'd have been in fourth had we won. Instead, we're thankful for late equalisers against Drogheda and Galway.
I didn't think it was a red either, Keane seemed to win the ball and his following leg caught the UCD lad. I don't think it was Keane's fault he was down for so long, he think it was the way he hit the ground, he fell awkwardly. Have to say that Mulhall lad is quality, absolutely raped Dav every time he had the ball, we really struggled against him. Very impressed with the UCD team, they probably have the best midfield in the league. Wasn't sure about Bolger's red (or second yellow or whatever), wasn't watching. Was looking at two lads in front of me with the same haircuts, considering the style myself.
Bolger's red was for a second yellow; he followed through on the keeper when cutting in along the by-line. From watching it on the video (haven't watched the Sligo red yet, but it'll be up on YouTube later this week), it looked a little bit harsh - didn't seem to be much in the way of connection, but it did look careless when already on a yellow. At worst, I'd say the two reds balanced each other out; they were more for what could have been done rather than what was done.
Mulhall was superb first half until it came to making a telling pass. The bit where he got your number 3 booked was quality; turned him two or three times in the one go, got away and was just hauled back. He faded badly in the second though. Don't know was it cos he was far side of me and I didn't notice as much or did ye have someone new on him or did your 3 just improve an awful lot at the break.
Ndo was quietly superb. Rarely gave the ball away, and was regularly involved at both ends of the pitch.