Thread: The guards will have a heart attack!

1,104 Posts
    Rovers brought their own stewards on one of their last trips down and everything went smoothly from recollection. I'd imagine a bit of time away from playing each other competitively would have done no harm and there's closer on field ties with Rovers these days with a good few of our squad and staff having Rovers connections and some more players possibly on the way from them too.

123 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Town Legend View Post
    Well I've heard the Town are asking the FAI to either provide security themselves or to get Rovers to send down there own fellas to deal with them as they'd have better knowledge on who the trouble makers are within the travelling support.
    if you have to ask the fai or anybody else to sort out your security concerns you are basically saying that your club is not capable of providing the required safety and security measures so should not be playing in the LOI
    with a small bit of organisation and cooperation im sure this game will be no different than any other
    P.s. its shamrock rovers not the taliban

pps best of luck in the cup
    I wish i did not know then what I dont know now

220 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    Rovers brought their own stewards on one of their last trips down and everything went smoothly from recollection. I'd imagine a bit of time away from playing each other competitively would have done no harm and there's closer on field ties with Rovers these days with a good few of our squad and staff having Rovers connections and some more players possibly on the way from them too.
    Agree with all the above but all that could go out the window if the Town actually beat Rovers!! Now losing to de Town while we were a force is bad enough for them but to lose to a struggling First Division Town team might push some of their bad boys over the edge!!!

220 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by passerrby View Post
    if you have to ask the fai or anybody else to sort out your security concerns you are basically saying that your club is not capable of providing the required safety and security measures so should not be playing in the LOI
    with a small bit of organisation and cooperation im sure this game will be no different than any other

pps best of luck in the cup

Its up to Rovers to pin point the trouble makers in their crowd! Not the Town's.

220 Posts
    The Town stewards will have no problem f*cking out the louts before, during or after the game. But sure then you'll have them crying over how they were treated like animals by the Town stewards! We've had it before with them so I think it would be wise of the Town to request some Rovers stewarts to point out the trouble makers just to cover their own behinds! Sure don't they do it in internatonal football when England played Germany and the English sent over pictures of the trouble makers and stewards to Germany to keep them under control. So if its done in international football passerrby why not in the Airtricity league.

I don't agree - it's away of removing tension. There's been accusations of heavy handedness against "our" stewards in the past, so bring in independents or there own automatically removes one provocative element.

Quote Originally Posted by passerrby
    The Tallaban?

Quote Originally Posted by Town Legend
    The Town stewards will have no problem f*cking out the louts before, during or after the game. But sure then you'll have them crying over how they were treated like animals by the Town stewards!
    Some have been only too keen, that's been half the feckin problem imo!

123 Posts
    as i said in my post a little cooperation is all thats needed but my point is why would a loi club have to ask the fai for assasitance in running a match that every other club do every other week
    and in dublin its the taliban

861 Posts
    I must say that our stewards are top quality I remember last season or possibly the season before when we beat Athlone that the Athlone fans kicked off amongst themselves outside in the car park and the stewards were there like a light. They broke up the trouble put some of the lads in a taxi and had them whisked away while they held a few others for the guards so I dont doubt our stewards for one minute but im sure we all making a mountain out of a molehill and that there will be no trouble whatsoever and we will all enjoy the occasion.

as i said in my post a little cooperation is all thats needed but my point is why would a loi club have to ask the fai for assasitance in running a match that every other club do every other week
    I'm not sure as of now, but up to a few seasons ago the Dublin premier clubs all outsourced their security/ stewarding to Frontline, for every game, so it's not exactly unprecedented in the League of Ireland.

123 Posts
    firstly there is nothing wrong in cooperatating with the visiting team to seek assistance in stewarding
    secondly there is nothing wrong with using a private company to carry out your security requirements
    and finally i was responding to the post that indicated that the club may request the fai to oversee the security ,that would be wrong and would be sending out the wrong impression of your club

1,104 Posts
    I don't think the club will ask the FAI to oversee anything, they never have before. Occasionally the FAI involve themselves if they foresee any potential problems. Most likely Rovers and LTFC will cooperate and everything inside the ground will go off fine from a crowd point if view. It's not for another two and a half months there's no point in anybody getting too worked up about it for a good while yet.