Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Cork City -v- St Pats

Quote Originally Posted by Dr.Nightdub
    Jesus, Vito, you've way too much deconstruction going on there, you're trying too hard. Subtlety obviously doesn't register with you, so I'll give you a helping hand...

"Cork may not be the biggest city..." is a reference to a recent amusing TV interview given by...?

Edinburgh is indeed the capital of Scotland. It's also unusual in that regard (though not unique) because Glasgow is the biggest city which makes Edinburgh the...?

The retreat from Moscow that has gone down in history was Napoleon's. You know, the fat autocratic bloke? You raised Stalingrad because...?
    I didn't try too hard, it's too easy to spot all the hypocrisies.
    Unfortunately, I get so flustered at the rubbish that ye spout, it causes me to miss things like the reference to Dolan, the cast iron fact that Edinburgh suffers from second city syndrome and to put the icing on my cake of inaccuracies, I actually have the cheek to make up the fact that you make reference in your 'classy' article to the Red Army hence leading me to believe that you had a 20th century event in mind i.e. The Battle of Stalingrad. You got me baby!

Yeah you're bang on about my subtlety issues - oh... oh, i feel another off-the-cuff forthright statement coming out:
    NAPOLEON NEVER FOUGHT THE RED ARMY.
    Don't know what that has to do with anything...
    Sorry, i'll try and keep a lid on it in future.

Lara has done the world record, needs 8 to be the first person ever to score 400 in a test match. Then i'm off to see my culchies play against the magnificent Dubs. And i'm wasting time on you why?

Patsh, I don't agree that programmes should be a humour-free zone.
    Neither do I.
    If you ever come up with anything humourous, be sure you send it to the program editor.

And how do you know whether Ronan's piece was a windup or not?
    You're not overly familiar with the genre.

don't see what the fuss is all about. city completely outplayed Pats, outsung them and basically outdid them in every way an away team can. Pats are a pathetic shadow of their former selves. If they hate Dolan that much that they'd rather be a midtable bunch of cloggers with 800-odd silent fans than the "Supersaints" then thats their cake to go and eat. Personally I loved it when our games against Pats were battles between two good teams with little to choose between them and there was great banter between 2 sets of vocal fans. We've moved on, they've moved back. Guess we just got bigger fish to fry nowadays........starting with playing teams who's manager people actually know of

p.s. hi doc

Quote Originally Posted by vito_golightly
    FourFiveOne has begun a section dealing with the inept standard of programmes found at other clubs. Tonight's Issue 26 deals with the classy (cough!) Longford Town offering.

But since Dr Nightdub has come on here spouting more waffle, it’s topical enough to show up his pathetic article for what it really is here and now rather than saving it for Issue 27 -

<Long winded boring $hite>
    Are 4-5-1 printing that?

Just to comment on the reaction to the piece on UCD last year: I wasn't happy about it (although that's obviously the point). I don't think it's the kind of piece that's at home in a match programme, it's the sort of thing that would fit much better in a fanzine. Humour in the programme is one thing but that piece was the same tired $hite: "UCD are $hit, you've no fans, you're all gay, etc." which gets boring pretty quickly. The one funny part, the blanket bit, I'd read before when you posted it on JW's message board after the game.

Personally, I thought complaining to the FAI about it was OTT and from what I recall (a bit of a lottery at the best of times!) it was Paul Doolin who did the complaining and you can probably guess what we think of him!

P.S. Hope you enjoy the games against our replacements in the premier this year.

Quote Originally Posted by Schumi
    Are 4-5-1 printing that?
    Not now

Yeah maybe I was being long-winded and obviously the better approach is to be brief and to the point and thus more effective.
    But the doc's article in the programme was so poor and leads down so many avenues of hypocrisy that i tend to get carried away.

You see, we too get the same tired old abuse (and we give it too it has to be said) that you complain of so if there is an opportunity to undermine it then you can't turn your nose up at it.

it's hard to deny that i was being long-winded - that's for others to judge but i won't be accepting your opinion any time soon since your attention clearly wanes after the first couple of lines which clearly state that my ramblings would not be going in the next fanzine:

Quote Originally Posted by Me
    it’s topical enough to show up his pathetic article for what it really is here and now rather than saving it for Issue 27
    sorry i bored you

Quote Originally Posted by vito_golightly
    i won't be accepting your opinion any time soon since your attention clearly wanes after the first couple of lines which clearly state that my ramblings would not be going in the next fanzine:
    It kept my attention for the whole thing, I just thought that by 'not saving it' you meant that you'd put it up here as well as in the next fanzine, obviously I was mistaken.

Youse are just easier to wind up than almost anyone else in the League

I'll wind you up you 1/4 ish Corkonian you
    Who are ya? Who are ya? Who are ya? Who are ya?...

Peadar, we've had this before - because a man's mother is born in a stable, it doesn't make him a horse.
    Revenge for 2002

because a man's mother is born in a stable, it doesn't make him a horse.
    Good thing for you that she was, otherwise you'd be just like all the other inbred jackeens.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123