Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Cork City FORAS will be no more !

Does the new CCFC also get the honours list that the old club had or does it start from scratch?
    we looked from Montrose to Swords, from swords to Montrose and from Montrose to Swords again but already it was impossible to spot UCDs right winger

415 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mr.untitled View Post
    Does the new CCFC also get the honours list that the old club had or does it start from scratch?
    Only if they bought them from the liquidator

never knew that.. wonder will they do that?

1,552 Posts
    Don't see why they wouldn't get the honours list, Derry carried everything over from the old club.

Quote Originally Posted by HarpoJoyce View Post
    Including your Dignity.
    My dignity? Nah, liquidation was nothing to do with me.....

I better check it with the liquidator, no-one's dignity seemed to be on the list of things we bought. He could be holding out on us....

33 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by micls View Post
    My dignity? Nah, liquidation was nothing to do with me.....

I better check it with the liquidator, no-one's dignity seemed to be on the list of things we bought. He could be holding out on us....
    The bullish attitude is starting back up already.
    If the club have none, probably should start investing in some. You'll get more sympathy from other fans.
    " I'll go right up to here,
    it can't possibly hurt.
    All they will find is my
    beer and my shirt."

1,552 Posts
    I don't think it's really fair to have a go at FORAS. They did their level best to keep the old version of the club going in the face of one of one of the worst dirtbags ever to get involved in football in this country and indeed if anything maybe should have broke with him sooner. They applied for a club license on time etc and were successful- what else could they do, just not have a Cork club any more? Had FORAS done nothing before the old version's demise I would probably be inclined to agree, but they tried to put in place a solution only to be blocked by TNB's lack of any grasp on reality.

If you don't think they should be in the league your argument is with the FAI, not FORAS.

Quote Originally Posted by HarpoJoyce View Post
    The bullish attitude is starting back up already.
    If the club have none, probably should start investing in some. You'll get more sympathy from other fans.
    Get a grip man.

We've worked incredibly hard to get to where we are now, after our club was decimated by a scumbag.

I won't be feeling guilty about what I consider a great achievement cos it annoys some UCD fan and I certainly won't feel guilty about the actions of a deranged lunatic which we tried our best to prevent.

Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    Don't see why they wouldn't get the honours list, Derry carried everything over from the old club.
    Well, everything except the bills.

1,552 Posts
    Yeah- I should have said 'everything they wanted' rather than just 'everything'.

Fair play to Cork and Derry for reincarnating themselves and I hope they do well but as far as I'm concerned both clubs are brand new and have won nothing.
    we looked from Montrose to Swords, from swords to Montrose and from Montrose to Swords again but already it was impossible to spot UCDs right winger

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mr.untitled View Post
    Fair play to Cork and Derry for reincarnating themselves and I hope they do well but as far as I'm concerned both clubs are brand new and have won nothing.
    The FAI agrees with you too. In the Media Guide for this season's FAI Cup which was issued on the night of the third round draw, and also forwarded to all members of the press, it gives details of all 32 clubs in this season's third round. Under each club it gives some basic club details and also their 2009 FAI Cup record. Under both Derry and Cork they have stated: "2009 FAI cup record: Did not qualify." So, in the eyes of the FAI, both these clubs only came to exist in 2010.
    Last edited by harps1954; 03/06/2010 at 2:30 PM. Reason: typo
    Up the Harps!!

Quote Originally Posted by micls View Post
    Get a grip man.

We've worked incredibly hard to get to where we are now, after our club was decimated by a scumbag.

I won't be feeling guilty about what I consider a great achievement cos it annoys some UCD fan and I certainly won't feel guilty about the actions of a deranged lunatic which we tried our best to prevent.
    I'd argue that Cork City FC was decimated by Arkaga long before TNB was involved, weren't club debts around the €1.3m mark when that bunch of chancers washed their hands of things back in 08?

3,491 Posts
    They were all written off in examinership as well. TNB started with a clean slate.

Quote Originally Posted by Munster Saint View Post
    I'd argue that Cork City FC was decimated by Arkaga long before TNB was involved, weren't club debts around the €1.3m mark when that bunch of chancers washed their hands of things back in 08?
    Arkaga was arguably the high water mark of langer egomania aswell if memory serves.

Quote Originally Posted by redcardrory View Post
    any players?limerick need a few,all we have are boxers (hughes v judge this friday nite at 7.45 jackman pk round 2)
    Should get the big bang in as a coach, make it a boxing club altogether.

We all knew deep down this football mumbe jumbo wouldn't fly.

Quote Originally Posted by Munster Saint View Post
    They were certainly the start of the end but Coughlan had basically a fresh start and managed to mess it up, even worse.

why bother buying the name back, im assuming ye paid for the name, why not just make up a new name and save a bit of cash, and now yer just gonna pass this cost onto all the fans that have bought there CC FORAS CO-OP FC merchandise, kick in the nads if ya ask me, limerick37 done the same when they bought back the FC name,

if i was the creditor to CCFC theres no way in hell i would want that name on any future statements id be writeing up,

if anything cork, limerick and derry should burn there bridges and forget about all there cities previous clubs that all went to the wall, and move forward ensureing this club is gonna last the test of time, yer all young clubs, ye all have clean slates, your name should represent that your not CCFC, DCFC or LFC, not go around showing that these failed clubs have re-emerged
    Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds.

23. Thanks From:

82 Posts
    We used to always slag Drogheda fans and say "you can't buy history". Guess we were wrong as a brand new club just bought some

Quote Originally Posted by harps1954 View Post
    The FAI agrees with you too. In the Media Guide for this season's FAI Cup which was issued on the night of the third round draw, and also forwarded to all members of the press, it gives details of all 32 clubs in this season's third round. Under each club it gives some basic club details and also their 2009 FAI Cup record. Under both Derry and Cork they have stated: "2009 FAI cup record: Did not qualify." So, in the eyes of the FAI, both these clubs only came to exist in 2010.
    AFAIK the board are trying or will try to get the FAI to allocate the honours won by Cork City since 1984 to the "new" club. Seems a perfectly reasonable request to me.

Fiorentina went bust a few years back and a "new" club started in Serie C. I don't think anyone would seriously suggest that the history of the current Fiorentina club started only then or that the current club has no right to claim the history of Fiorentina up to when they went bust.
    I'm what? I'm ants at a picnic?

26. Thanks From:

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast