Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Paul Green

Paul Green

Thought Paul Green was brilliant tonight in everything he did... Very excited about him... His zippy passing, the way he shielded the paul, his interceptions... and a goal too! 10/10 from me...

366 Posts
    Good addition. Reminds me of Mark Kinsella with his tidiness. At the very least he'll keep Andrews and Whelan on their toes. Andrews probably has more to worry about than Whelan.

Not to mention Gibson and McCarthy.

130 Posts
    Did well, some nice touches. I dont think he offers an awful lot more or different than Andrews and Whelan so dont expect any change in the XI for the competitive games. I still feel McCarthy and Gibson offer the greatest potential for the CM positions. Whether they will be able to fulfill that potential in the next qualifying campaign, im not so sure, may be a little too early.

192 Posts
    I think Green is the first Derby player to score for Ireland since Gerry Daly in 1980. Stapleton, Carsley and DeLap were capped as Derby players but none of them got a goal in those games.
    Last edited by EastTerracer; 29/05/2010 at 3:05 PM.
    "There's man all over for you, blaming on his boots the fault of his feet" - Samuel Beckett, Waiting for Godot

446 Posts
    Fair play to him for taking his chance on his debut.....

386 Posts
    10/10??!! Rubbish. He had a good game. Showed some slick passing and read the game well. Opposition were shocking, any1 wud have looked good against them. While being a useful addition to our squad, he is no more than 6th or 7th choice midfielder. Conference with Doncaster, upto the dizzy heights of Championship with Derby, you simply cant make a race horse out of a donkey. Good addition to squad tho

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    842 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tommy_c12000 View Post
    10/10??!! Rubbish. He had a good game. Showed some slick passing and read the game well. Opposition were shocking, any1 wud have looked good against them. While being a useful addition to our squad, he is no more than 6th or 7th choice midfielder. Conference with Doncaster, upto the dizzy heights of Championship with Derby, you simply cant make a race horse out of a donkey. Good addition to squad tho
    Ian Wright and Kevin Phillips both went from non league to the top of the game. Even in the Ireland squad its not that long ago since Keith Fahey was playing with Bluebell United.... stilll though I do agree with u that Green looks like he will never be any better than a decent back up player
    Its really not that complicated!!!

1,912 Posts
    I don't think anybody has said he that should start, but he has made a claim for a squad place, based on merit.
    He did very well in both games. He showed that he can come on a sub and fit into the action like a missing piece of the jigsaw and he can start a game.
    In both instances, Trap would have been well pleased with his contribution. He has the mentality and ability of a Trap type CM.
    Imo, Green is superior to what Miller could offer as back up.

McCarthy will be used by Trap in the qual campaign, he is the player with the ability who will be at the heartbeat of the team. But I don't think Trap will just throw him into the CM.

3,286 Posts
    Linked with Celtic in today's News of the World: http://www.newsoftheworld.co.uk/scot...aul-Green.html

dont think hes good enough for us tae be honest. would rather we concluded our deal with Nguemo before our option runs out to buy him at the end of this month.

I posted on the McGeady about how much of a talent he is but it seemed to have been deleted for some reason, anyway just to prove how two footed McGeady is check this goal out and this is when the pressure was on us big time to secure 2nd place ahead of Dundee Utd.

http://tinypic.com/player.php?v=1zldkas&s=6

I fear McGeady will only be a bit part player now under Trappatoni as he prefers the more robust and defensive Lawrence.

3,196 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Razors left peg View Post
    Ian Wright and Kevin Phillips both went from non league to the top of the game. Even in the Ireland squad its not that long ago since Keith Fahey was playing with Bluebell United.... stilll though I do agree with u that Green looks like he will never be any better than a decent back up player
    Mark Kinsella played Conference with Colchester for a year.

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    I was reading a Derby forum and some were complaining "Why doesn't he do that for us?" - lol.

366 Posts
    Steve Finnan is another. From Welling in the Conference, right through the English leagues and on to the Champions League with Liverpool and World Cup with Ireland.

Regarding his place in the squad, I think Green may already have endeared himself to Trap. I'm sure he sees guys like Whelan and St. Ledger as personal successes of a sort given he blooded them and they've yet to let him down in any way. (See Andy Reid for an example of what happens when he does feel let down)

And of course you know you've earned the Trap seal of approval when he compares you to your Italian equivalent!

Whelan - Gattuso
    St. Ledger - Cannavaro
    Keane - Totti

Standby for Green - Baresi

118 Posts
    Now if only he'd get a Pirlo equivalent into the team we'd all be happy.

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    842 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Murfinator View Post
    Now if only he'd get a Pirlo equivalent into the team we'd all be happy.
    Andy Reid
    Its really not that complicated!!!

certainly gives 110 pct but i still rate andrews,whelan,gibson,mccarthy,and maybe even fahey over him. he'll get his chances though

Quote Originally Posted by aidinho View Post

I fear McGeady will only be a bit part player now under Trappatoni as he prefers the more robust and defensive Lawrence.
    You forgot better...Lawrence is also better than McGeady.

Quote Originally Posted by kev mcq View Post
    maybe not based on talent, but lawrence gets the job done and is definitely a lot more consistent. mcgeady doesn't really get involved in defence.

Quote Originally Posted by kev mcq View Post
    that is absulute bull my friend.

only reason he gets in ahead of McGeady is because hes basically a right back come right winger and hes aboot 7 inches taller than wee Aido, and this suits right into Traps cattanaccio way of playing.

Yous are boring as **** and yous know it.

Disagree, Lawrence has scored twice in about 7 caps, and we're still waiting for McGeady's first goal after over 30 caps. on top of that I think he offers more to the team, and we look more balanced with Lawrence there. And Trap's Ireland boring? Maybe, but we all know how Mowbray's "sexy football" ended up.

Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast