Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: v Limerick

Any chance we can be put in the cage Saturday??

This stand of yours sounds awful.

220 Posts

It's bad and getting worse. I just hope somebody tries to put a stop to it. Think of the kids!! Somebody please think of the kids!!

We'll have a lot of kids with us Saturday and they have never heard swearing before in their lives.

So please Longford Town, think of the children, we could have 70 or 80 fans up there, do you really want them all going back to Limerick with tales about how rough Longford is??

On an aside are your crowds really so awful that we could outnumber ye??

106 Posts
    have to say I was very impressed with the report on the match in the leader, very honest, factual and pulled no punches.. well done to the writer concerned.

As regards some of the supporters in the stand (and I dont want to start another stand debate) but some of them have no clue whatsoever about football or how its played. As much as they berate cousins if the players were to follow their instructions, you would have a mix between ufc in terms of physicality, u-10 community games football (or sheep in a field all huddled around eachother), and a re-incarnation of jack charltons long ball game.

I'd say you'll be out of luck there mate. By sounds of things come Sat night most Longford supporters will be locking Cousins and Kieran Burke up in that cage!!

861 Posts
    At the end of the day were all Town fans and we all want whats best for our club.

205 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Kieran Burke View Post
    Ah I dont think thats fair most of the fans in the stand are life long and the most loyal Town fans you will find and there entitled to their opinion.

There is a certain section of fans were I sit and we are the only fans in the stand that get a bit of atmosphere going. When we start a chant no one else in the stand joins in which is a bit strange.

And the support the lads received VS Waterford was amazing the crowd knew we needed a push to get over the line and the crowd picked the noise levels up a notch and it was one of the highlights of the night in my mind.
    In fact its very fair. The supporters in the stand are very hard to listen to and I'm getting quite sick of it to be honest...
    Quote Originally Posted by Town Legend View Post
    Was in the stand a few times myself when the weather wasn't the best and had to leave at half time. Nothing but abuse shouted at the players. And to listen to them tell the players what to do is a joke!!! I had to laugh listen to a few of the eejits shouting!!!

On the game Sat we'll be lucky to keep within 2 goals of Limerick, 3-1 away win.
    Exactly Town Legend. Abuse is all it is, and they telling the players what to do is laughable...
    We had a minute to clear the ball between our two foul throws and Monaghan's first goal last week! Not the refs fault!
    Sporting F*ck All!

861 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by L.T.F.C. View Post
    In fact its very fair. The supporters in the stand are very hard to listen to and I'm getting quite sick of it to be honest...

Exactly Town Legend. Abuse is all it is, and they telling the players what to do is laughable...
    We had a minute to clear the ball between our two foul throws and Monaghan's first goal last week! Not the refs fault!
    The refs decision to reverse the throw was a poor one in my opinion but the defence feel asleep and we conceded a terrible goal so while the ref played a part your dead right the defense should have cleared it away with ease.

205 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Kieran Burke View Post
    The refs decision to reverse the throw was a poor one in my opinion but the defence feel asleep and we conceded a terrible goal so while the ref played a part your dead right the defense should have cleared it away with ease.
    It was the right decision... He was asked to move back twice and he didn't. Tough ****.
    Sporting F*ck All!

861 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by L.T.F.C. View Post
    It was the right decision... He was asked to move back twice and he didn't. Tough ****.
    But the Monaghan player was showing dissent by not given the ball back and then moving it up the line to where the Town player took the throw from so the ref should have stepped in there and had a word with the monaghan player and that would have given him enough time to tell the Longford player to move back properly ..... but anyway that game has come and gone lets forget about it and hopefully move on to a win this weekend.
    Last edited by outspoken; 27/05/2010 at 9:42 PM.

Anybody know if there is any decent bands or anything on in the nightclub next to PV's Saturday night?

Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    Anybody know if there is any decent bands or anything on in the nightclub next to PV's Saturday night?
    Last time I was in Longford there was a banjo festival on.

I kid you not.

1,104 Posts
    Yeah mock it all you like LTID it's a big earner for the town, it's jammed that weekend!. In answer to Jofspring yeah there's always a live band downstairs in the nightclub on Saturdays. Usually a good at what they do covers band.

Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    Yeah mock it all you like LTID it's a big earner for the town, it's jammed that weekend!
    I'm not mocking, just thought twas gas.

Like Cork having an arrogance festival.

Or Derry having a know it all festival.

Or Limerick having a firearms festival.

1,025 Posts
    Or Limerick having a firearms festival.
    that was on in st. john's square just a couple of nights ago.

1,104 Posts
    A case of sticking to what you know I guess!

112 Posts
    My first game of the season.. hoping to start off with a win.
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

Yes some fans in the stand are absolutely ridiculous with some of the comments they make, but there's also a dope or 2 to be had in section O, and other areas of the ground. 1 person in particular should have been thrown out last week imo with some of the stuff they were coming out with.

861 Posts
    It could be worse DE Town we could be like the Rovers fans fighting amongst ourselves and others

81 Posts
    I don't think it could be worse

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast