Page 8 of 12 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast

Thread: FAI Cup

22 Posts
    thought the first sending off for Dundalk was a inbetweener you see reds dished out for those tackles but I wouldnt have been incensed if he had stayed on the pitch either, as for JJ Melligan the man is a moron he deserved what he got the last time we played Dundalk is richmond he was at it aswell.

Quote Originally Posted by pauliek View Post
    Whens the draw, Monday? Longord or Limerick away please
    Won't be for a long while i'd imagine

238 Posts
    Harps were superb in the first 20 mins, scored 3 and hit the post.
    Completely took the foot off afterwards and cruised to win 3-0.
    Crumlin are a handy side and never stopped trying to play the ball on the deck.
    Kevin McHugh looking to be back to the player he was 5 years ago. That's 8 goals in 9 at home for him now.

3,491 Posts
    Drogheda have improved a lot on the times we played them earlier in the season. We passed it around really well though; one superb goal and one which was superb if he meant it! MNS will show all. Drogheda could maybe consider they did enough to earn a draw - Billy had to make a couple of good saves, although apparently we were denied a clear peno in the first few minutes - but all in all, a good day's work.

Sligo only scoring one against Athlone was interesting. Hopefully that's their scoring spurt out of the way.

1,025 Posts
    What's the story with a couple of posters wanting to be away to Limerick? Is it just Sligo fans?

We're obviously not the easiest away draw, considering the Belgrove V Avondale United tie.

I can only conclude people want to have the Jackman Park experience.

36 Posts
    good game of footie in dundalk last night
    the 3 sending off were sending offs
    the first one came over the ball with his studs
    2nd stuck his finger up at a pats fan
    3rd he kicked out at guthrie

i think dundalk deserved what they got, did anyone else notice just before half time there were ball boys at all ends of the pitch, none for the 2nd half
    disgraceful time wasting ploy by dundalk.

cracking save by cherrie from the header, think it was from alex williams, we hit the post twice and crossbas as well

on the dundalk fans, they have some neck branding the renter fans as hooligans, after last night, throw stuff onto the pitch and the abuse was so strong towards buttimer he couldnt go back in after the full time whistle

by the way dundalk fans there is 2 L's in till, their banner had Dundalk Til I Die

forgot to say as for that scumbag of a steward putting one of our fans in a headlock, for celebrating the goal, although he was on the pitch, what a little knacker he was
    Last edited by danthesaint; 05/06/2010 at 12:33 PM.

MNS will show all.
    I thought you were supposed to be videoing the game!

apparently we were denied a clear peno in the first few minutes
    Really? I don't remember that at all.

Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    What's the story with a couple of posters wanting to be away to Limerick? Is it just Sligo fans?

We're obviously not the easiest away draw, considering the Belgrove V Avondale United tie.

It's the only league ground I haven't visited, so I wouldn't mind a game there either.

108 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by danthesaint View Post
    by the way dundalk fans there is 2 L's in till, their banner had Dundalk Til I Die
    Yes there are two l's in till.

But that's a different word altogether. Til is a shortening of until, apostrophe optional.

i think dundalk deserved what they got, did anyone else notice just before half time there were ball boys at all ends of the pitch, none for the 2nd half
    disgraceful time wasting ploy by dundalk.
    Don't know why people complain about this. Every single club i the world has done it mulitple times

138 Posts
    Ive never been to an away game in Limerick and its far away from Dublin so makes a break from the repitition of travelling to the pale or one of its suburbs every other week.
    If we dont get Limerick away heres me hopeing for Cork away.

36 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Don't know why people complain about this. Every single club i the world has done it mulitple times
    because its time wasting, at one stage, there was a kid going to kick another ball onto the pitch so the game will be held up.

we dont do it, there is always someone in the camac or shed that will get the ball

82 Posts
    good game of footie in dundalk last night
    the 3 sending off were sending offs
    the first one came over the ball with his studs
    2nd stuck his finger up at a pats fan
    3rd he kicked out at guthrie
    The second two were definite sendings off. The first was not a red card. It wasn't nearly as bad as this tackle that Buttimer only considered a yellow card offence http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gygQaKe-QI8 (45seconds in).

forgot to say as for that scumbag of a steward putting one of our fans in a headlock, for celebrating the goal, although he was on the pitch, what a little knacker he was
    Stay off the pitch! Wish they'd get some of our fans in headlocks too
    Last edited by Louth4sam; 05/06/2010 at 1:41 PM.

36 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Louth4sam View Post
    The second two were definite sendings off. The first was not a red card. It wasn't nearly as bad as this tackle that Buttimer only considered a yellow card offence http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gygQaKe-QI8 (45seconds in).
    ah the first was a red card, muller should have went too for that tackle

Quote Originally Posted by passinginterest View Post
    Despite losing 5-1 Wexford Youths played some brilliant football for 20 minutes in the first half against Rovers, possibly the best I've seen from any team in Tallaght all season. Sadly the difference between amateur and professional was all too evident in the second half as they tired dramatically and the defence, which was shaky all along, was ripped apart at times. Youths have some great attacking players and have possibly the quickest forwards in the country, sadly their full back are not nearly good enough and without Anto Russell they were not organised enough at the back either.
    Wexford didn't really deserve to lose 5-1, there wasn't that much of a difference between the 2 sides in terms of ability. Shams were just clinical with their chances. Your forwards did cause their defence all sorts of problems, particularly Sheehan, and should've scored more than 1.

Quote Originally Posted by Louth4sam View Post
    Except Mulcahey won the ball. Not much in it granted

dan, we absolutely tmewaste when we need to. Same as every club. nearly 20 years ago I was ball boy at Pats and we were told to leave when Pats were 1 up and hanging on. Dundalk spent the entire second half doing everything they could to get a draw. If it was Pats in that situation I'd expect us to do the same. All's fair...

Oh and the problem with the steward wasn't that he put the lad in the headlock (which was slightly OTT) but that he then tried to get into the Pats crowd to start another fight

What's the story with a couple of posters wanting to be away to Limerick? .
    I think people want to see for themselves what life was like in the nineteenth century
    Good result for yous last night though.

I was like that last year. until I went there.

Now I'm hoping for a home draw v some non league crowd.

The craic is guaranteed in The Flansiro, havent been to Limerick for a game and id imagaine its good craic.

Sheer Voyuerism.

People hear about these type of places in their newspapers and what not without ever experiencing them.

Actually going to living, breathing, Limerick and seeing actual Limerick people will be a great conversation starter at dinner parties for months to come.

Paul Williams has carved a career out of this sort of nonsense.

Bohs away for me please, we no need no crummy cup run.

399 Posts
    I think on reflection and after a day, I will say Pats did deserve that win, to be fair they plugged away patiently all during the second half and the goal when it came although very disappointing for us, was inevitable. So good luck to them for the rest of the cup. 49 years is a long wait !

On our supporters behaviour, I dont like a small element in that shed who appear intent on causing trouble, 2 plastic bottles thrown on the pitch last night for eg, and some indentified as the same crew from the UCD game, I would hope the club can go one bit further now and ban them. It is a very small element, and I think Danthesaint is making quite a sweeping statement re 'on the dundalk fans, they have some neck branding the renter fans as hooligans, after last night, throw stuff onto the pitch and the abuse was so strong towards buttimer he couldnt go back in after the full time whistle

Yes there was a lot of vocal disapproval of the ref at the end, and he did indeed have to be escorted off, but a lot of this was high emotions at the end of a very dramatic game.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

Page 8 of 12 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast