Page 3 of 10 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: FAI Junior Cup 2009/10

Quote Originally Posted by faces View Post
    when a team is removed from the competition at the semi final stage for one blunder or another it is not the same winning without that team in it.people will always comment for years to come and say if pike were in it that year they would have won it especially if micks win it.
    very true,but no matter who wins it it is a tainted cup this year,even if pike had won it people would have brought up the illegal player thing for years also

Quote Originally Posted by mulla View Post
    very true,but no matter who wins it it is a tainted cup this year,even if pike had won it people would have brought up the illegal player thing for years also
    I disagree i think we have a great chance now that pike are gone it had nothing to do with us and we hammered ye in the semi the cup wouldnt be tainted if regional got to the final mullins.

Quote Originally Posted by trueview6 View Post
    I disagree i think we have a great chance now that pike are gone it had nothing to do with us and we hammered ye in the semi the cup wouldnt be tainted if regional got to the final mullins.
    exactly now that pike are gone.

Quote Originally Posted by blinkx View Post
    I wonder what it's like to win an FAI when you know you've already been beaten in the competition...
    I wonder what its like to have been knocked out of the FAI Junior Cup and then hear a few months later that the team that knocked you out had played an illegal player against you??
    'I can live with disappointment, its the hope I cant handle'

you obviously have me mistaken for a regional player,of course ye have a great chance sure there ain't many teams left

[QUOTE=mulla;1359297]you obviously have me mistaken for a regional player,of course ye have a great chance sure there ain't many teams left[/QUOTE
    Mullins concentrate on the lawson.

Of course its tainted when a team knocks 3-4 teams out of it with an illegal player then the fai says its fair for one of those teams to get back in. At the end of the day St. Michaels should not have been given a bye into the semi final.
    Mama Mia!!

Quote Originally Posted by Mega Tots View Post
    Yeah because calling Fairview champions already is a very respectful way to behave...pot kettle black
    Is that why they call ye st michaels because ye are saints.

132 Posts
    It really is strange to hear some of the Limerick posters here trying to claim that this years competition is tainted because Pike were disqualified. It's not. If anything, the competition should benefit from it, because now it will be won by a team who didn't break any rules to win it.

Pike fielded an illegal player. That is the long and short of the issue.

How would posters feel for example, if St Michaels turned up on Sunday with Shane Long playing up front, while he's home for his holidays after the end of the English season ?

It wouldn't be allowed of course. Because he would be an illegal player.

Pike are big boys. They've done the same before in the past to Clonmel Town if I remember correctly. They more than anyone should know the consequences of not having all your paperwork in order. So suck it up lads, and stop complaining. I can assure you, Pike will take a lot more care with the registration forms next year. And if they do, and win it, I will say fair play to them and wish them well. But they have no cause for complaint in this case.

132 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by widow View Post
    Of course its tainted when a team knocks 3-4 teams out of it with an illegal player then the fai says its fair for one of those teams to get back in. At the end of the day St. Michaels should not have been given a bye into the semi final.
    you are right there widow, but that would have necessitated going right back to round 1 and having the teams Pike beat play each other one by one until the correct opponents were found to play St Michaels. Given the timescale involved, this would probably have been impossible, though the team beaten in the last 16 might have a justifiable case for expecting a game against Michaels.

Or are you suggesting that Pike should have been allowed a replay ?

Quote Originally Posted by Insidetherock View Post
    you are right there widow, but that would have necessitated going right back to round 1 and having the teams Pike beat play each other one by one until the correct opponents were found to play St Michaels. Given the timescale involved, this would probably have been impossible, though the team beaten in the last 16 might have a justifiable case for expecting a game against Michaels.

Or are you suggesting that Pike should have been allowed a replay ?
    I think the team that pike beat in the round before the st michaels game should do through, st michaels have no grounds to go through to the semi final, anyone tell me who did pike play before st michaels.

Quote Originally Posted by mulla View Post
    Sorry mulla - It will be tainted if St.Michaels win it as it would have been if Pike had won it. They are all only "IF's" though. I hope football justice is done and Fairview win it.Different style of club altogether with the know-how to win the big one.Are you telling me that if ye had won the arbitration and went on to win the FAI ye would have said it was a tainted FAI???? No,ye would have been gloating ye'r heads off!!!! As Johnny Logan sings "What's another year" and lets hope the FAI muppets have their house in order for next season to avoid a repeat.

Quote Originally Posted by Insidetherock View Post
    It really is strange to hear some of the Limerick posters here trying to claim that this years competition is tainted because Pike were disqualified. It's not. If anything, the competition should benefit from it, because now it will be won by a team who didn't break any rules to win it.

Pike fielded an illegal player. That is the long and short of the issue.

How would posters feel for example, if St Michaels turned up on Sunday with Shane Long playing up front, while he's home for his holidays after the end of the English season ?

It wouldn't be allowed of course. Because he would be an illegal player.

Pike are big boys. They've done the same before in the past to Clonmel Town if I remember correctly. They more than anyone should know the consequences of not having all your paperwork in order. So suck it up lads, and stop complaining. I can assure you, Pike will take a lot more care with the registration forms next year. And if they do, and win it, I will say fair play to them and wish them well. But they have no cause for complaint in this case.
    but they were not ilegal against st michaels and its a pure farce that st michaels are still in it and its not st michaels im hitting at.if it was any other team i would say the same.what about the teams pike beat when they were ilegal they would have more complaining to do than michaels but good old delaney looked after his own.
    Last edited by faces; 17/05/2010 at 3:45 PM. Reason: f

[QUOTE=are you serious;1359329]

He aint mullins
    are you serious lol

250 Posts
    Lads,this is the new (and final) thread for the FAI Junior Cup,can we keep it on topic and looking forward instead of backwards.

I'm binning any stuff that's been talked about numerous times already as it's been done to death.
    Last edited by the 12 th man; 17/05/2010 at 4:07 PM.

132 Posts
    MOD EDIT/

See my post above.
    Last edited by the 12 th man; 17/05/2010 at 4:03 PM.

Expect to see a rule revision in the next 2 to 3 months from the FAI.

[QUOTE=are you serious;1359329]

He aint mullins
    thank you.some people don't listen

pike are back in the munster junior i hear,and am delighted for them hope they go on to win it now,and hope fairview beat clonmel in the fai final!!!!!!delaney will pull his hair out,nothing he could do there,previous rounds?????

25 Posts
    I think the team that pike beat in the round before the st michaels game should do through, st michaels have no grounds to go through to the semi final, anyone tell me who did pike play before st michaels.
    I think Pike beat Springfield (Cobh) in round 7. Springfield were drawn at home to Sligo team, Carbury Utd, in round 6 but Carbury didn't travel so Springfield and gave a walk-over.

Page 3 of 10 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast