Page 20 of 29 FirstFirst ... 101819202122 ... LastLast

Thread: What the FAI thinks of progressive clubs:

didnt Daniel McDonnell write for the star before the indo.. one of the best journalists around .. and always speaks well on 3e too!

Thank f#ck there's no club like Wimbledon looking to locate to Dublin or the FAI would probably take their arm off if offered a few euro

From Extratime.ie

"The Provincial Associations/Junior Council Committee, which represents the four provincial football associations and all junior and youth football through 37 leagues across Ireland, met yesterday in Dublin and have issued the following statement in relation to recent actions by some League of Ireland clubs.

The statement reads:

The Provincial Junior Council Committee has been a strong supporter of the five-year merger between the FAI and the League of Ireland and has backed the massive investment by the Association in the senior game since 2007. However, our support for an extension of the merger beyond 2011 should not be taken for granted.

The Committee is extremely concerned at the manner in which Limerick FC behaved during its recent disagreement with the FAI over the decision not to grant permission to play a friendly match against Barcelona FC at Thomond Park.

As an important part of the Association, we know that significant funding is invested into the running of the Airtricity League clubs but the actions of some last week was disappointing. The commercial benefits that will be derived from the control of large club friendly fixtures at the Aviva Stadium stand to benefit all affiliates of the Association as well as the Airtricity League.

It is also disappointing that Limerick FC deliberately chose to go public at the same time as the Aviva Stadium was being officially opened and their recent actions are unhelpful to improving relationships between the professional and amateur games.

The Committee hopes that all League of Ireland clubs will take on board its concern at recent events and recognise that we expect the FAI to act in the best interests of the entire football family and not just one particular club.

Under the leadership of the FAI, all levels and sectors of Irish football have made tremendous progress in recent years and we are pleased at the manner in which our sport has been governed since December 2004. "

I wonder who told them to issue that statement.
    "I'd rather play in front of a full house than an empty crowd" Johnny Giles

Once again, the tail wagging the dog...

No disrespect to anyone involved in jumior ball but we're dealing with different worlds, and they must not be allowed to control the league.

I wonder would a statement like that have been released if the FAI refused the friendly between DunmanwayTown and Liverpool last season. Sorry i forgot that friendly benefited the whole of Irish football

Sounds like they are licking the FAI's arses if you ask me. After the recent mess in the FAI Junior Cup you'd think the FAI would be last people they'd be praising.
    Last edited by Jofspring; 26/05/2010 at 1:37 PM.

427 Posts
    Sorry, is that my tongue up your ass Mr delaney ? Junior football must really have improved if its only concern is an embarrassment of Delaney et al. As for the "tremendous progress at every level" - highly debatable is putting it mildly.

It is a joke that these clowns have the audacity to infer a threat to funding of the League and the only thing the clubs should "take on board" is to tell them to butt out.

1,551 Posts
    Very disappointing that the junior council and provincial associations would release such a complaint only days before an Ireland home friendly. The negative publicity that will surely follow will only detract from that match, which will of course provide money for all affiliates of the FAI.

1,551 Posts
    Also- I love the December 2004 thing. Guess who came to power in December 2004? Go on, you can do it if you put your mind to it.

You really could not make this stuff up!

238 Posts
    In reply to that statement:

We the League of Ireland clubs wish to use your statement and tell you to shove it up your h*le.
    If you want to kiss Delaney's arse, please do so in private and not in the public eye where young innocent children could be exposed to your drivel.
    That is all.

2,771 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sam_Heggy View Post
    In reply to that statement:

We the League of Ireland clubs wish to use your statement and tell you to shove it up your h*le.
    If you want to kiss Delaney's arse, please do so in private and not in the public eye where young innocent children could be exposed to your drivel.
    That is all.
    In furtherance to that statement:

Yesterday the League of Ireland clubs issued a statement telling junior clubs to shove it up their holes and stop kissing Delaneys arse. On reflection, this was not what was intended to be said. To clarify, we think the FAI has done an excellent job at promoting the game and will, in due course, be forming an orderly queue and puckering up to kiss Delaneys arse.

ENDS
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

522 Posts
    Lads, ye sound like a bunch of kids. What exactly are ye hoping to achieve with the above, cos if it's humouring people ye'll need to try again.

123 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dahamsta View Post
    Lads, ye sound like a bunch of kids. What exactly are ye hoping to achieve with the above, cos if it's humouring people ye'll need to try again.
    we are on a football forum talking to ourselves there is nothing in the world we would hope to achieve, if we wanted to achieve something we would get a life
    lets face it the only reason most people come on to a place like this is to have a pop at others from the safety of there workstations .
    and as for the jounior council they are to be admired and respected what a press release nearly as good as a ryanair press release (of the past)
    I wish i did not know then what I dont know now

522 Posts
    And that would be an example of why football is as disorganised and to a certain extent corrupt as it is in Ireland. Irish people being Irish, bitching about it all in the pub and on forums and doing feck all about it. I guess hearing about it is as bad as doing it though, eh?

(I certainly don't have the answers, but I would've thought that 1 amongst the 1,000 members that visit Foot.ie every month would have something more credible to say on this topic than the likes of "we should cut their head off and eff them with a broomstick ha ha FACT".)
    Last edited by dahamsta; 26/05/2010 at 5:48 PM.

I'd say less than 10 people have said somethign like that.

If ony 1% of posters are nutjobs, then we're ok.

Others have said its a terrible decision, but realise that it isn't the worst decision that was ever made (sorry limerick lads)

123 Posts
    is that because it was not that bad of a decision or they have made really bad ones in the past
    I wish i did not know then what I dont know now

Quote Originally Posted by passerrby View Post
    is that because it was not that bad of a decision or they have made really bad ones in the past
    Both. Not for one minute am i sticking up for the FAI but the reason why there hasn't been a dahamsta style coup, isn't apathy. its because people realise that for all their faults, the FAI is still the best option.

Well bar the 1% obviously

522 Posts
    Saying I'm arguing for a coup is overstating things a tad Dodge, as ever. All I'm saying is that any action is better than no action. Poking (lame) fun here or coming up with "let's start a chant at the next international, that'll learn 'em" isn't action.

Your argument is the same as the dog in the street "sure all politicians are the same" guff, which is why our country is in tatters. You're an intelligent guy, I don't get why you continue to parrot the kind of garbage written in the redtops.

Again, I don't have the answers. But Delaney and his cronies as the best option? I don't think so.
    Last edited by dahamsta; 26/05/2010 at 8:39 PM.

2,771 Posts
    what is action then? Some Bohs fans had banners up at Richmond last Friday. Thats action in my book even if it was of little effect. Theres also the Maxi type action. Im sure Dodge could co-ordinate some "action" but, really, who would care outside the LOI community? The league clubs could and should have taken the lead here, taken a united stand, and they didnt. In fact, they actually backed up Delaney and his goons. Is it any wonder posters here dont have the appetite to take it upon themselves?

If there is apathy and frustration here that spills over into (attempted) humour, it is because of the apathy of the Irish public in general towards the League and the struggles that the clubs face. So what? Look at the way this whole fiasco panned out. Sometimes all you can do is laugh.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

522 Posts
    You can't convert the Irish public to football, the football has to convert them, and that's not going to happen while it plays nth fiddle in the FAI. Your post has one simple activity though: if the clubs won't stand up for themselves, give them a hint of what a ground looks like without fans for one match.

I'm sure that's lame; again, I don't have the answers. All I know is that Delaney's been around for years and people've been bitching about him since year one, yet he's still presiding over clusterfecks like this. That doesn't make any sense to me. But then neither did Bertie. Don't even get me started on Cowen.
    Last edited by dahamsta; 26/05/2010 at 9:08 PM.

33 Posts
    As an important part of the Association, we know that significant funding is invested into the running of the Airtricity League clubs but the actions of some last week was disappointing. The commercial benefits that will be derived from the control of large club friendly fixtures at the Aviva Stadium stand to benefit all affiliates of the Association as well as the Airtricity League.

This is the bit that really takes the biscuit. Way, way, way over-stepping the mark. It you want real wheeler-dealing and mud then these Junior crowd put the League of Ireland in the shade. Talk about black kettles and burnt pots!!! It is a well known fact that certain players prefare to stick to the 'Cobh Ramblers' mode (I have nothing against Cobh Ramblers but this is the route that landed them in the mire.) because there are more backhanders and blind eyes cast plus rolls of money floating about in the junior circles.
    Aon, dó, trí, bhí mé i mo luí, thit mé den leaba, he! he! he!

Page 20 of 29 FirstFirst ... 101819202122 ... LastLast